Carmen Marc Valvo

Gold Idol Gown

$185 rental
$1200 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Style is taken to another level in this gold lace gown. This ruched style by Carmen Marc Valvo will make you the epitome of chic at your next black tie event! Bring out the gold with earrings like Oscar de la Renta’s Etoile Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Gold Stretch Lace (100% Polyester). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt with ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 60
Large 3
Photos 64
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 4, 2014

Any outfit that gets complimented by strangers is a GREAT outfit!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would have liked to get the long length but unfortunately they weren't available for the date I wanted. The regular length worked fine I just personally prefer a longer length so I can wear higher heels and not see so much shoe. The sleeves have absolutely no stretch so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone that has thick arms. There is a lot of extra fabric in the middle and I would have preferred it to be a bit tighter. There is also a small train which you don't really notice in the photos. Unfortunately both dresses had holes in the sleeves which I do understand why since they are so tight. I stitched the sleeves up the dress quickly and it was fine all evening. All of those helpful tips mentioned I absolutely LOVED the dress!! I wore this to the Princeton Museum of Art Gala and the theme was Baroque so the gold and pattern was perfect with the theme. I got so many compliments and stares it felt like that Cinderella moment when everyone stops and stares when you walk in. I felt absolutely fabulous. I wore it with short nude heels and chandelier earrings with a low messy bun. Absolutely loved it.
Monica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

It was great quality

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The best way to describe the dress is like the difference between that two-dollar bottle of wine from Trader Joes and a fifty dollar bottle of wine...I got what I paid for: a big difference in quality. The pictures don't do the dress justice. It is gorgeous. The dress was perfect for a nighttime, Winter formal affair. I wasn't cold; I didn't have to bundle up in a shawl to stay warm. It didn't require buying extra special undergarments. The size 4 fit my hips/waist/butt better but I have bigger arms and broader shoulders from working out a lot so my arms didn't fit into the size 4. This was the perfect way to wear a great dress I wouldn't normally purchase.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

So very flattering, loved wearing this dress rent!!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'7" and rented the 14L all I could wear for shoes was flats or it would have been to short! Fit just perfect, so many complements a real stunner of a dress!
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Stand out dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was true to size and form fitting to the body. Much more striking in person with the gold color. The dress did have a little more of a train then I anticipated but overall comfortable and easy to wear running around a gala all evening. Stand out from all the black dresses!
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

The event was an awards ceremony for the Cinema Audio Society - fab folks! 4 STARS.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received many, many compliments on the dress, even the next day when i wasn't wearing it. I had to wear the size up that I'd ordered. Since this is the third time I'm considering that the "up" size is now my true size. Haven't gained weight but...who knows. Anyway, the 6R was quite comfortable. I'm 5'6" but chose the R size because I don't wear heels higher than 2/1/2 inches. My feet definitely showed but I prefer that to concerns about tripping. The fabric is delicate - in fact there was a small hole on the right shoulder but wasn't very noticeable. The back hem became slightly torn when my heel caught it. Hopefully those things can be repaired - because it is a wonderful dress. I wore Spanx but the shirring probably makes it possible not to. Anyway, wear this and you'll get compliments.
Lea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

I felt like Cinderella. The dress was just perfect! Assessories were not hard to find.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4, about 145 lbs. The forearms were a little tight, but I think I need some toning. Many people I've known more than 30+ years commented on face book how good I looked. Of course I gave Rent the Runway and my solon Fuze credit for the success. Would rent again!
Savanna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Beyond flattered to have received multiple, "best dressed " compliments throughout the evening.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress far exceeded my expectations!!!. Even more fabulous in person than online! Incredibly comfortable and loved being able to wear a normal bra and not having to deal all night with tapping, pinning, adjusting, etc. Only suggestion is to be mindful of the length. I am only 5'5 but had to go with the long. Had to run out at the 11th hour to purchase 2.5" heels in order for it to hit the floor at the appropriate length.
Adrienne
Age: 31
Mar 2, 2014

Beautiful in the dim lights and photographs well! Great fit!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very true to size and great dress that accentuates your figure perfectly!
Diana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2014

I looked like an oscar! Tons of compliments from total strangers - that's the sign of a great dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this gorgeous, glamorous, glistening gold gown! Felt fantastic all night. Super comfortable and 'easy' to wear. The long sleeves were perfect for this polar vortex winter in NYC!
RTR Customer
Mar 3, 2014

Effortless for returning.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit like a glove. Exactly the look I was going for.
Becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 15, 2014

This dress is truly STUNNING - a MUST RENT! Expect tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit up top and on bottom. The 4L was the perfect length to the floor, in flats, which didn't allow me to wear heals but that was perfectly fine by me because I found some gorgeously elegant sandals that matched great. My feet were happy all night and my confidence was boosted with every compliment I received on the dress - and there were many!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 24, 2014

Stunning and fantastic dress to party the night away!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing color, great shape (literally - the best shape dress for my body!) and good stretch in the body of the dress. Would recommend and I wish I could buy it!
Karen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

This dress was so elegant! I had many compliments, and felt gorgeous all night long.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits true to size. I wore a spanx underneath, but it really wasn't necessary. The dress is form fitting, but the fabric stretches enough that it's easy to move comfortably. It looks even better in person--the gold lace on chocolate brown background is lovely, and sparkles enough that one doesn't need to accessorize much. I chose to wear only drop pearl earrings. The dress was perfect for the event-a corporate formal party. this was my first RTR rental--I'll be back again, and would certainly consider this dress again for a different event!
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

A zillion compliments!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A bit stretchy, and more forgiving than you might expect
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

This dress was as comfortable as it was beautiful!! People came across the room to complement!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress length runs a little on the shorter side. No problem- a 2" comfortable heel was in order for the night.
Megan
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Apr 7, 2014

Beautiful dress that stands out in the crowd.

Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the 16L as it fit just a little nicer and the length was much better. I also ordered the 14R and could have worn it. It was exactly what I was looking for and had a lot of compliments all night.
Nagela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 22, 2014

I wore this to a gala in hosted in a ballroom in the financial district in NYC!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was gorgeous and photographs beautifully! I would have given it 5 stars but I returned the 8R for an 8L and still, with my kitten heels, it was not floor length and i am not tall at all. Otherwise, this dress is perfect for any formal affair. RENT IT!!!
Mikaela
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

I got more compliments than I expected. When I tried on the dress, I kept on saying "I LOVE IT"

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a size 4R and I usually wear either a size 4 or 6, but I went with the 4 because I wanted it to look a little more fitted, but it wasn't too tight. The fit was PERFECT. Make sure you pick up your dress when you walk though, my heel got stuck to it several times throughout the night, but other than that, I loooooved it. I didn't want to take it off.
Em
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014

The Dress is truly amazing! I fell in love with the dress when I first saw it! Fits well

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress Fits amazing, can't complain the dress is amazing
KC
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2014

Many compliments! Loved the gold shimmer.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The wedding was held at an old mansion. The dress definitely fit the theme of the wedding. I loved how comfortable this dress is!
Anya
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

A perfect gown to wear to a black tie event and feel beautiful and comfortable at the same time.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found the dress fit true to size and sits well on a body accentuating the figure. I wore the dress with high 5" heels and the length was perfect (I'm 5'5" tall). The dress moved well and was comfortable for dancing. I received a lot of compliments.
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Tons of compliments all night and was great in photos!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall the fit was true to size, except for the length. I'm not super tall, but even the LNG was above my ankles.
Jane
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

It was a "fairytale wedding" and I had to have the right look! Sophisticated & Elegant!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size! I am in my late 50's, 5'7" 123 lbs....wore a 6L. Let me tell you, no one would believe my age, especially in this dress.... My decision was based on a customer's picture and comment, Rent this Dress! I can now truly say the same thing....Stop wasting time, rent this dress...it is beautiful...a show stopper! A lot of the comments from just the picture of us was "It looked like an actress showed up to the wedding!"... Everyone and I mean everyone commented on how beautiful this dress looked...And, you feel so beautiful in this gown! I am convinced and will definitely use Rent the Runway for every event I attend! Well worth it! The service is great too!
Pamela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Oct 19, 2014

I got SO MANY lovely compliments. One guest said she thought it was the best gown at the event!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked exactly like The picture. The fabric was gorgeous and the gown was beautifully made with nice details like hidden zippers at the wrists. I wore spanx but could easily have gone without them as the shirring at the midsection was very flattering. The drape of the whole dress was in fact just lovely.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2014

Beautiful Dress. However, please not the dress came with a hole in the arm that I had to sew up.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was so amazing. The dress Runs short and I will order a L if I ever wear again. That was the only downsize to this beautiful dress,
KSJ
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 3, 2014

Compliments all night!!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was incredible--- flattering in all the right places, received compliments all night!
Cinna Styx
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

The dress was stunning. The movie premiere was great! I had a blast I did not want the night to end

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of the dress was okay. The slip under the dress was too long. I wear a 6 but that was way to small. Not a lot of room for my boobs but I made it work in a size 8. The earrings were gorgeous!!!! I will be renting from here very soon. No one had on my dress, which I absolutely loved. I looked classy, sophisticated and sexy without showing to much skin. The dress was light weight but perfect for Ohio weather. I made the dress come alive! I loved this dress!!
Francoise
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

Comfortable and felt Amazing to wear

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a camo-themed gala for Duck Dynasty. I needed something that would match my husband and daughter's camo attire. This dress was perfect because the beautiful gold lace pattern was outdoorsy enough to pass as camo. The long sleeves were comfortable and the ruching at the waist was very flattering.
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

The compliments were ENDLESS. the caterers, wedding party, friends, family, people I didn't know

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is more perfect in person! End your search here!! I was a little skeptical at first only getting 1 size in bc the size both up and down were take for the weekend but it fit and turned out beautifully! I wear a 2 in other formal gowns and this was a too also, true to fit. I was called a Kardashian from a TABLE of people... Oh God. But it was stunning and so worth every penny. Will return to RTR! But maybe only for this dress again haha it was perfect!
Q
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 23, 2014

The Belle of The Ball!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was stunning!!! Definitely a show stopper and worth renting again! This is my 3rd time renting from RTR and I will be using the services again in February. The compliments never stopped all thru the night. "Your dress is Gorgeous." "Where did you get this remarkable frock?". And the best one of the night..."The Diva Has Arrived and Time Has Stopped!". Knowing I was going to use RTR again this year, I convinced one of my very good friends to rent her dress from RTR too. Of course she loved it! The fit of this dress was perfection! The 10R was a little too big but the 8R was a perfect fit and accentuated my curves. I'm 5'1, wore a 3 inch heel and the length was spot on. This dress was the embodiment of elegance, class, and timeless style! No need to give it another thought, Rent It. =)
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Easy to return! Love this app

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress, comfortable, makes the booty POP ;)
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Beautiful ruching in the bust and waist - compliments all night long!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a formal winter wedding. Stretch fabric hugged curves in all the right places. Not too hot (temperature) either!
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Great night, felt great!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size, showed curves and was very comfortable, no one else had on gold so it really stood out.
Courtni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Compliments all night

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits perfectly. It's got stretch and is very flattering while still being incredibly elegant, so you get comfort and glamour all in one dress. The length was great with heels. The sleeves were a perfect length. I wore this to a formal gala and was still getting compliments a couple of weeks after the event.
Kara
Usually wears: 4
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Unique and sophisticated!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am wearing a 2R in the photo. I think a 4L would have been perfect. The arms seem to be a little disproportionately tight, but it fit on mine and I do have bigger arms. It was also a little short to wear with the 5 inch heels I wanted to wear. It would have maybe worked with kitten heels. I don't think pictures do this gown justice, as the gold pattern on the dress was stunning in person.
SARA
Dec 23, 2014

The gown made me feel super glamorous!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful fit
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Feb 3, 2015

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Because of a storm I received this dress literally 10 minutes before the military ball I was attending started. This was supposed to be my backup dress, but as soon as I put it on I loved it! I got so many compliments and it was honestly hard for me to send it back! I am 5'5 and usually a 6R, but if I had to do it over again I would get the 6L. This dress seems to run true to size, although I could have probably worn a 4L in it because it is stretchy. This dress looks great with olive skin and dark hair. I highly recommend it!
Kristen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

I LOVED this dress! It was extremely comfortable and fabulous in every way! SO many compliments!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was extremely comfortable and fabulous in every way! I received so many compliments. It was a great dress for dancing and definitely stood out beside all of the LBDs! The only negative is that everyone will remember this dress so I could not wear it again...that is why I love Rent the Runway!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Great for NYE!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I stood out at a NYE gala as I was the only one in a long sleeved dress, and it was extremely comfortable. I ordered the 12, but I've recently lost weight and ended up wearing the 10 as it was more form fitting. The only downside of the dress is the mermaid cut- I ordered the long but both the 10 AND the 12 were right at my ankles in the front, but too long in the back when I wore flats.
WANDA
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

This dress fits FABULOUS!! I received many compliments. Thanks to the stylist who picked it out.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
#Fabulous #AllEyesOnMe
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×