Gold Idol Gown

$185 rental
$1200 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Style is taken to another level in this gold lace gown. This ruched style by Carmen Marc Valvo will make you the epitome of chic at your next black tie event! Bring out the gold with earrings like Oscar de la Renta’s Etoile Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Gold Stretch Lace (100% Polyester). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt with ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
110 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size80
Small14
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
December 23, 2014
The gown made me feel super glamorous!
Beautiful fit
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2014
Unique and sophisticated!
I am wearing a 2R in the photo. I think a 4L would have been perfect. The arms seem to be a little disproportionately tight, but it fit on mine and I do have bigger arms. It was also a little short to wear with the 5 inch heels I wanted to wear. It would have maybe worked with kitten heels. I don't think pictures do this gown justice, as the gold pattern on the dress was stunning in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2014
Compliments all night
The dress fits perfectly. It's got stretch and is very flattering while still being incredibly elegant, so you get comfort and glamour all in one dress. The length was great with heels. The sleeves were a perfect length. I wore this to a formal gala and was still getting compliments a couple of weeks after the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 25, 2014
Great night, felt great!
Fit true to size, showed curves and was very comfortable, no one else had on gold so it really stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2014
Beautiful ruching in the bust and waist - compliments all night long!
I was 133 lbs when I wore this dress to a formal winter wedding. Stretch fabric hugged curves in all the right places. Not too hot (temperature) either!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 23, 2014
Easy to return! Love this app
Gorgeous dress, comfortable, makes the booty POP ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2014
The Belle of The Ball!
This dress was stunning!!! Definitely a show stopper and worth renting again! This is my 3rd time renting from RTR and I will be using the services again in February. The compliments never stopped all thru the night. "Your dress is Gorgeous." "Where did you get this remarkable frock?". And the best one of the night..."The Diva Has Arrived and Time Has Stopped!". Knowing I was going to use RTR again this year, I convinced one of my very good friends to rent her dress from RTR too. Of course she loved it! The fit of this dress was perfection! The 10R was a little too big but the 8R was a perfect fit and accentuated my curves. I'm 5'1, wore a 3 inch heel and the length was spot on. This dress was the embodiment of elegance, class, and timeless style! No need to give it another thought, Rent It. =)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 110lbs
November 15, 2014
The compliments were ENDLESS. the caterers, wedding party, friends, family, people I didn't know
This dress is more perfect in person! End your search here!! I was a little skeptical at first only getting 1 size in bc the size both up and down were take for the weekend but it fit and turned out beautifully! I wear a 2 in other formal gowns and this was a too also, true to fit. I was called a Kardashian from a TABLE of people... Oh God. But it was stunning and so worth every penny. Will return to RTR! But maybe only for this dress again haha it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 14, 2014
Comfortable and felt Amazing to wear
I wore this dress to a camo-themed gala for Duck Dynasty. I needed something that would match my husband and daughter's camo attire. This dress was perfect because the beautiful gold lace pattern was outdoorsy enough to pass as camo. The long sleeves were comfortable and the ruching at the waist was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
November 10, 2014
The dress was stunning. The movie premiere was great! I had a blast I did not want the night to end
The fit of the dress was okay. The slip under the dress was too long. I wear a 6 but that was way to small. Not a lot of room for my boobs but I made it work in a size 8. The earrings were gorgeous!!!! I will be renting from here very soon. No one had on my dress, which I absolutely loved. I looked classy, sophisticated and sexy without showing to much skin. The dress was light weight but perfect for Ohio weather. I made the dress come alive! I loved this dress!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2014
Compliments all night!!
This dress was incredible--- flattering in all the right places, received compliments all night!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2014
Beautiful Dress. However, please not the dress came with a hole in the arm that I had to sew up.
The fit was so amazing. The dress Runs short and I will order a L if I ever wear again. That was the only downsize to this beautiful dress,
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
October 19, 2014
I got SO MANY lovely compliments. One guest said she thought it was the best gown at the event!
This dress looked exactly like The picture. The fabric was gorgeous and the gown was beautifully made with nice details like hidden zippers at the wrists. I wore spanx but could easily have gone without them as the shirring at the midsection was very flattering. The drape of the whole dress was in fact just lovely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 18, 2014
It was a "fairytale wedding" and I had to have the right look! Sophisticated & Elegant!
True to size! I am in my late 50's, 5'7" 123 lbs....wore a 6L. Let me tell you, no one would believe my age, especially in this dress.... My decision was based on a customer's picture and comment, Rent this Dress! I can now truly say the same thing....Stop wasting time, rent this dress...it is beautiful...a show stopper! A lot of the comments from just the picture of us was "It looked like an actress showed up to the wedding!"... Everyone and I mean everyone commented on how beautiful this dress looked...And, you feel so beautiful in this gown! I am convinced and will definitely use Rent the Runway for every event I attend! Well worth it! The service is great too!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 13, 2014
Beautiful dress! Very glamour and true to size. Great fit. Definiteiy flattering!
The dress was very thin, but appropriate, not revealing at all. The down side is that you could tell it has seen better days. Not sure how many times it had been rented, but was still in reasonable shape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 3, 2014
loved it!
Fit great and got a ton of compliments. Was a tiny bit big around my waist but i used a safety pin on the inside that made it perfect. Very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 31, 2014
This dress was so beautiful, unfortunately I couldn't wear it because it was too small from the top
Runs small but rent a size up and should be fine. I wished I had rented a bigger size unfortunately I got this at the last min.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
July 20, 2014
Tons of compliments all night and was great in photos!
Overall the fit was true to size, except for the length. I'm not super tall, but even the LNG was above my ankles.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 6, 2014
A perfect gown to wear to a black tie event and feel beautiful and comfortable at the same time.
I found the dress fit true to size and sits well on a body accentuating the figure. I wore the dress with high 5" heels and the length was perfect (I'm 5'5" tall). The dress moved well and was comfortable for dancing. I received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 14, 2014
Way too short!
I'm 5'9" and ordered a 6L. It was really short on me, even without heels! It was comical! Do not rent if you are over 5'7"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 182lbs
May 30, 2014
Dramatic and Beautiful!
Dull gold beautiful lace dress fit beautifully and looked great! The only downside was that the fabric was a bit rough on my skin.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2014
Many compliments! Loved the gold shimmer.
The wedding was held at an old mansion. The dress definitely fit the theme of the wedding. I loved how comfortable this dress is!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014
The Dress is truly amazing! I fell in love with the dress when I first saw it! Fits well
The dress Fits amazing, can't complain the dress is amazing
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
April 28, 2014
I got more compliments than I expected. When I tried on the dress, I kept on saying "I LOVE IT"
I wore a size 4R and I usually wear either a size 4 or 6, but I went with the 4 because I wanted it to look a little more fitted, but it wasn't too tight. The fit was PERFECT. Make sure you pick up your dress when you walk though, my heel got stuck to it several times throughout the night, but other than that, I loooooved it. I didn't want to take it off.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2014
I wore this to a gala in hosted in a ballroom in the financial district in NYC!
Dress was gorgeous and photographs beautifully! I would have given it 5 stars but I returned the 8R for an 8L and still, with my kitten heels, it was not floor length and i am not tall at all. Otherwise, this dress is perfect for any formal affair. RENT IT!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2014
Comfortable and Classic
I had a great many compliments even though I was not feeling well. As it was a winter event, I did not have to worry about being chilled. The cut allowed for a regular bra and was very form flattering. I found that the rouching hid my imperfections rather than accentuated them. I would have given it five stars, but I found the zipper on the sleeve a bit agitating on my wrists. Otherwise, it was a low stress dress and I felt comfortable and confident all evening.
RTR CustomerApril 20, 2014
do you think this dress is too sparkly/fancy for a formal evening event? It's an engagement party but not incredibly fancy...
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
April 7, 2014
Beautiful dress that stands out in the crowd.
I wore the 16L as it fit just a little nicer and the length was much better. I also ordered the 14R and could have worn it. It was exactly what I was looking for and had a lot of compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2014
This dress was as comfortable as it was beautiful!! People came across the room to complement!
The dress length runs a little on the shorter side. No problem- a 2" comfortable heel was in order for the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
A zillion compliments!
A bit stretchy, and more forgiving than you might expect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 31, 2014
This dress was so elegant! I had many compliments, and felt gorgeous all night long.
The dress fits true to size. I wore a spanx underneath, but it really wasn't necessary. The dress is form fitting, but the fabric stretches enough that it's easy to move comfortably. It looks even better in person--the gold lace on chocolate brown background is lovely, and sparkles enough that one doesn't need to accessorize much. I chose to wear only drop pearl earrings. The dress was perfect for the event-a corporate formal party. this was my first RTR rental--I'll be back again, and would certainly consider this dress again for a different event!
RTR CustomerApril 21, 2014
do you think this dress is too sparkly/fancy for a formal evening event? It's an engagement dinner w/ 30 people or so but not incredibly fancy...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 26, 2014
Best dressed besides the bride!
This dress fit so well and was so comfortable! I'm about 5'1" and wore 3" heels and the length was perfect. I received so may compliments, everyone said it was gorgeous...my husband was blown away!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2014
Stunning and fantastic dress to party the night away!!
Amazing color, great shape (literally - the best shape dress for my body!) and good stretch in the body of the dress. Would recommend and I wish I could buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2014
A little too matronly for my taste
My first choice dress at the last minute was unavailable. This dress was chosen for me as a substitute by Rent the Runway. The dress hugged my curves, was the perfect length with 3 inch heels, and was comfortable but, overall, I felt it made me look too matronly and I wore my second choice instead.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 15, 2014
This dress is truly STUNNING - a MUST RENT! Expect tons of compliments!
Perfect fit up top and on bottom. The 4L was the perfect length to the floor, in flats, which didn't allow me to wear heals but that was perfectly fine by me because I found some gorgeously elegant sandals that matched great. My feet were happy all night and my confidence was boosted with every compliment I received on the dress - and there were many!
RTR CustomerApril 21, 2014
do you think this dress is too sparkly/fancy for a formal evening event? It's an engagement party but not incredibly fancy...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2014
Effortless for returning.
It fit like a glove. Exactly the look I was going for.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
Loved, loved, loved this dress!
I'm 5' 11" tall and usually wear a size 10L - exactly what I wore in this dress. I wish it had been just a little longer - I was only able to wear a 2" heel and I even thought that was too high.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2014
I looked like an oscar! Tons of compliments from total strangers - that's the sign of a great dress!
I loved this gorgeous, glamorous, glistening gold gown! Felt fantastic all night. Super comfortable and 'easy' to wear. The long sleeves were perfect for this polar vortex winter in NYC!
RTR CustomerApril 21, 2014
do you think this dress is too sparkly/fancy for a formal evening event? It's an engagement party but not incredibly fancy...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
March 2, 2014
Beautiful in the dim lights and photographs well! Great fit!
Very true to size and great dress that accentuates your figure perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 27, 2014
Beyond flattered to have received multiple, "best dressed " compliments throughout the evening.
This dress far exceeded my expectations!!!. Even more fabulous in person than online! Incredibly comfortable and loved being able to wear a normal bra and not having to deal all night with tapping, pinning, adjusting, etc. Only suggestion is to be mindful of the length. I am only 5'5 but had to go with the long. Had to run out at the 11th hour to purchase 2.5" heels in order for it to hit the floor at the appropriate length.
Cinna StyxOctober 29, 2014
shoes??
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 70
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2014
I felt like Cinderella. The dress was just perfect! Assessories were not hard to find.
I am 5'4, about 145 lbs. The forearms were a little tight, but I think I need some toning. Many people I've known more than 30+ years commented on face book how good I looked. Of course I gave Rent the Runway and my solon Fuze credit for the success. Would rent again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×