Rent the Runway

Carmen Marc Valvo

Gold Idol Dress

$30 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Carmen Marc Valvo dress is perfect for any occasion, who could say no? Gold lace will make you the envy of the night! Simply add Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings to complete your look for the night.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 2 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold Stretch Lace (60% Polyester, 40% Nylon). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching at waist. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

125 reviews

Fit
Small 49
True to Size 63
Large 3
Photos 62
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Beautiful in candle light!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is an elegant dres that is surprisingly comfortable. The gold lace looks especially good indoors under low lighting & candle light where it catches the light. It does run small and is fitted without necessarily looking fitted due to the rouching in the right places (stomach-mid section and derriere). I normally wear a 4 but wore a size 6 and even that was snug although was not tight/constricting. It has to be snug for the shoulders to stay in place, which they did comfortably. There is a nude slip underneath that keeps the dress from being scratchy but the slip did peak out from the lace in the front. I used some double sided tape to "hem" it. I was concerned that the dress would be too long on me (I'm not very tall) but it hit just below the knee on me which was fine. I rented the Whiting & Davis gold mesh clutch as well. I loved this dress and would rent it again.
BostonGirl
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 67
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

If you are a redhead, this is your dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was the first time I've used Rent the Runway and plan to do it again and again. Lots of compliments on this dress! A beautiful, sparkly, green-gold beauty. Classy but sexy. It runs small. I usually wear a 4 but was glad I also ordered a 6, which is what I ended up wearing. Arms are tight, but necessary to keep the bodice in place. If you are a C cup or larger, you'll probably need a strapless or long-line bra. The extra material on the back enhances your booty. It's an unforgettable dress, which is why I'll be renting it again for a different event with a different crowd.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

Very elegant - perfect for a formal evening event

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: flattering for almost any body Cons: runs a little small; color is brighter in person; not that comfortable
ATL
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Dec 2, 2013

Tons of compliments at my high school reunion.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was the perfect style and color for my 15-year high school reunion which was a nighttime, cocktail-attire, holiday party. As for the fit, I am so glad I got a second (larger) size! I tried on two similar CMV styles in the Henri Bendel showroom but not this exact dress. The 12 seemed like it would be good to go (and I'm about a true 12 right now) but in reality the neckline was too tight. I wore the 14 and it was comfortable, even roomy, in the body--it seems the 12 would have been best for my torso/hips (and I am very hippy/pear-shaped), but there is no give on the neckline at all. My husband remarked, when zipping me up, that it felt like a wire, it was so taut. If there had been a little bit of stretch there, especially because I am tall and presumably have a larger frame, I could have worn the 12.
Mia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Love the lace detail and color!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event and even though there weren't any initial reviews, I was confident that it would be a great dress for my body type. I did try on the 10 but it was too snug in the shoulder area. The 12 fit like a glove when accompanied by my spanx and nylons. I received lot's of compliments and the color was perfect for the holiday event we went to! I work black heels and chose not to wear a necklace as the pattern is pretty busy!
DivaD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Sharing dresses with my mom

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My mom LOVED wearing this dress… she did a mini-concert for an anniversary. And it looked amazing on her! That's me in the background in the white RTR dress.
Lmal
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

RTR experience was great! Dress arrived on time and in great condition

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Overall the dress was very nice the only problem was the under slip kept twisting causing the dress to bunch and ride up.
Emily
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 10, 2014

I wore this to a work event. Loved it and received tons of compliments, even from strangers.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Came to just below the knee on me (5'3"). I thought the arms were a little tight but otherwise it was very comfortable.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 28, 2014

Even the bartender asked me, "Did you intend to have hottest dress here?"

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Originally was going to wear the 12, because it have me more space for my broad shoulders and not-so-petite upper arms, but the belly was too loose. So, I squeezed into the 10, which fit perfectly except for the upper arms and shoulders. However, the dress is very forgiving and flattering. I got so many compliments all night- loved it. This dress is great because it is sexy and attention-grabbing for sure, but the long sleeves and knee-length made it appropriate for a black tie wedding with family present. Overall, it was great, and I'd definitely recommend this dress to a friend.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Prettier in person

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Baggy in certain areas. The lining was longer than the lace.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress!!! It something that no one else had!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove! It was a modest length, but the fit, rouching, and neckline made it very sexy.
JJ
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

This dress is all kinds of fabulous. I felt super glam, comfortable, and polished all night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pair this puppy with some fab earrings, some big girls shoes, and you're SET. This dress is super flattering, particularly around the middle. I have a DD bust, and I was fully contained, but not squished with a strapless bra. Length hits just above knee. Sleeves have cute little zippers on the side, but the sleeves were also good for stashing my lipgloss and phone all night!
Frances
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

I felt gorgeous the whole evening!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm at my "fluffiest" currently. I blame it on the winter, and living in New England, so going down to SC for a wedding was intimidating. I typically fluctuate between a 6 and 8, so I took the advice of the other reviewers and got a size up for my backup dress. I gain most of my weight in my hips and thighs, so I was a bit worried about the tapered skirt. I was sure I would have to squeeze into the 10 after reading the reviews, but it ended up being too baggy around the waist. The arms were a little snug, but overall the 8 fit like a glove. It is very difficult to walk up and down stairs when you pair this dress with high heels, but it is worth it. You won't be able to lift your arms up very high, but I could still get food and drinks to my mouth so it didn't bother me much. The hanger loops (or whatever you call them) are kind of a pain. They are short and sewn in such a way that it's impossible to keep them tucked in. I was sure I wasn't allowed to snip them off so I just pinned them in place and hoped I wouldn't suffer a small stabbing around my underarms that night. Anyways, this dress is perfect for showing off a beautiful natural curvy figure. Personally I think it suits my body type just as well (if not better) than the stick thin model it's shown on. I know I should branch out a bit, but I just want to keep renting this dress for every event. Beware of other people's jewelry though, bracelets and rings kept getting caught in the lace during hugs.
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Love the dress! Received many compliments even with the earrings I added to dress. My hubby loved it

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, was able to move with dress when dancing. Earrings were a little heavy but worth it!
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Wonderful, unique dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a reunion. Very comfortable. I received many compliments. The dress is unique....it was nice not to have black on like most women. In order for the shoulders to stay put, the dress is snug up top. The opening at the bottom is also snug, so if you are going to be going up and down stairs a lot, this might not be the best dress to wear.
Aimee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

The dress is gorgeous. It fit snug and showed all the right curves.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The arms were snug but okay. The whole dress is obviously very fitted. I didn't need a bra- the dress kept everything in place. The bottom has a narrow opening, I felt like Morticia Adams. The dress is gorgeous. I felt great in it.
Jill
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Pretty, but hard to move in!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress. It has a bit more black in it than shows up in the photos. The fabric is not stretchy at all. As other reviews pointed out, the arms/shoulders are tight. The hem is also very tight, I had to hike it up a lot to get in and out of the car. Not recommended if you'll be moving around a lot. I was afraid I'd rip it!
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Didn't arrive in time

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore the long version instead. Color of this dress is great!
Samantha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Great for a work holiday party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was great for my work holiday party. It kept me covered, but the very fitted style and metallic sheen made it feel fun and festive! It is very fitted (even the sleeves zip!), so the size 4 was plenty small and I typically wear a size 2. Also, the photo online made it look like it should be worn off the shoulder, but when I put it on the construction looked like it should be on the edge of your shoulders.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Elegant and old Hollywood glamorous.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for the wedding venue - Langham in Pasadena. It was elegant and ornate, but not over the top which is what I love about it most. The neckline was not too flattering on broad shoulders which is what I have, but overall, the dress was a hit and too gorgeous to pass up even so.
Jennell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove. It was classy and perfect for my company holiday party. The color was great (especially for redheads) There were some reviews about the lining coming out the bottom and the dress being itchy but I did not experience either of these things. Great dress!
Neta
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the longer version of this dress before and rented this one for a wedding. I loved these dresses! I got tons of compliments on the long dress. The fabric is flawless and antique gold with a beige fabric underneath. I'm ususally size 6 , sometimes 4 and size 6 was tight on me. If you have bigger hands, you won't get in to the sleeves, they are too tight. My bust is 34 DD and it was very tight there. Size 8 would probably fit me the best, but it wasn't available. I recommend it 100%!!!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Fun dress but a little tight!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm normally a size 4 in RTR but could not squeeze into this one! Wore the 6 back up size and it was much better. I attended a fundraiser in this dress during the holidays; loved the color, got lots of compliments, and was not too short on me! (5'-11") I wouldn't rent this again like some of my other favorites, but the price was right and it did the trick!
LucyLooHoo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 30, 2014

Runs small

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Reserved this for a New Years Eve party-- the 14 was very small. Small as in "no-way-this-is-zipping-up-be-grateful-it-fit-over-your-hips- holy-cow-is-that-your-stomach-on-display". It does appear much more black than gold-- but still very pretty. In terrific condition. RTR is sending me the next size up so I'll see how that one fits....
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Very fitted

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I wanted it to work but the dress was very fired didn't realize it wasn't as stretchy as I wanted it to be. I'm 27 weeks pregnant it didn't work out for me this time
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Shipment arrived way ahead of schedule, which gave me enough time to try it on.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
It was a very fun dress to wear for NYE and it was very flattering. The main reason why I gave it 4 stars was because the hanger strings were a bit unruly and kept peeking out of the dress.
bbg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Tons of compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
small through the arms and shoulders, so I had to do my back up larger size.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Fancy dress fit great and looked sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Pro: Great fit with the six. Felt and looked sexy. Hugged curves perfectly. Could wear with or without strapless bra. Con: Hard to zip the dress on my own. There are zippers on the sleeve, I'm not entirely sure way. But they didn't really get in the way, I was just surprised by them. I ordered this for a surprise birthday trip. I didn't wear it on vacation because it was too fancy (and not warm enough) for a ski lodge, but I wore it for a date before we left and it was a big hit. A lot of cpmpliments. It was comfortable, classy, and sexy. I would rent it again for another event.
Junnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Beautiful dress. Great fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved the fabric, rouching and overall "give" of the fabric. I highly recommend renting this dress!
Mandi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Feb 1, 2015

Beautiful dress! Perfect for my birthday party :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
If you are a gal with toned arms, be prepared to order a larger dress. The sleeves have no give.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Tight Arms, beautiful dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered the 6 and the 8, have worn Carmen Marc Valvo dresses on two other occasions and wore a 6 in both gowns. This dress however lovely, was not what I expected. Arms were very tight and fabric was really scratchy compared to other embellished dresses I have worn by same designer. I ended up wearing my own dress for this event, which was unfortunate as I wanted something special to "wow" my guy. The dresses I ordered were sent to San Francisco Hotel in timely fashion. I have rented many times from RTR, but order always came to my house. This order gave me great confidence in being able to travel and have my dresses waiting for me at the hotel instead of traveling with them. LOVE RTR!!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 23, 2015

Unique dress, many compliments - not the most comfortable!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am usually a size 10, especially on the bottom, but the size 10 was tight all around, so I'd say it runs small. Even on the 12, the top was super-tight on my chest, but I am large on top. There was absolutely no give in the material whatsoever. As others noted, it was hard to get up and down the stairs, as well as into the car because the dress is fitted at the bottom, and the length was just below my knee. I didn't have trouble with the arms - maybe the larger sizes are more proportional since a lot of other people seemed to have that problem. My arms are definitely not skinny. As usual with my RTR picks, I received many compliments over the course of the night. The neckline was very pretty, and the dress is a unique gold color that you rarely see. A nice, non-black option for winter. I wore it with black patent shoes and a black clutch.
Kaycee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Mar 12, 2015

Awesome. Flattering, form fitting, not too flashy.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a fundraiser with a Vegas theme and it was a hit! At first I thought it was to small but it loosened up (in the arms especially) and looked and felt better an hour or so after putting it on. I'm tall but had no worries about length. Very nice dress that is better than black without being over the top.
Sivan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

I'm pregnant and the dress was a perfect fit.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
all pros
rosalyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 30, 2015

This color looked terrible on me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a natural blonde with light skin. I put this on, and it made me look sallow. It was not a good combo. I ended up wearing a black wrap dress I own.
Candace
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Everyone loved it! A little tight up top, tho.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everyone loved the dress! It was a little tight in the upper arm area, but I still went with the 2 because it hugged me better.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

I didn't actually like this dress and didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress, on the model, is beautiful. My best friend who is 5'9" tried it on and it was great on her too. I'm a short girl, 5'4" and this dress is definitely designed for someone taller with a longer waist. I was sort of swallowed up by this dress and it didn't give me any real shape. I tried my backup dress on, and the size wasn't the problem, it really was the cut of the dress. I've been pleased with other rentals from rent the runway, but this one just didn't work. Sadly, by the time I realized that the dress wasn't going to work, there was no time to return it to RTR in time to get another dress.
Ambrielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

I felt very beautiful in this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was a perfect fit! I would definitely rent it again.
na4a1ie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
May 9, 2015

So many people complimented me on this dress. I felt like a goddess!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit wonderfully. Very comfortable, light material. The ruching across the front was very forgiving of my soft spots. Although it was off the shoulder, I did not feel overly exposed across the top. The sleeves had zippers at the cuff, which was a unique detail.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190 lbs
May 14, 2015

Classy, elegant, sexy. I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've worn this dress before for another event. It was perfect for a late winter/early spring formal event. I love the neck line and arm coverage. I feel really sexy in this dress, it hugs in all the right places on my tall, athletic/hourglass frame. The first time I wore it the dress was perfect. The second time I rented it the waistline was stretched out making my stomach appear larger than what it is. It made me self conscious throughout the evening. Had I realized it earlier when I first tried it on I would have returned it, but I didn't notice it until the day of. I would recommend this dress, just make sure it's in good condition before heading out for the evening.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×