Carmen Marc Valvo

Golden Leaf Gown

$95 – $125 rental
$1,275 retail
Stylist Notes

Make your moment unforgettable in this oh so glamorous Carmen Marc Valvo gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-16 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable fit at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Gold and black lace (40% rayon, 40% nylon, 20% metallic, 20% metallic). Sleeveless. V-neckline. V-back. A-line skirt. Hidden back center zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% acetate). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
234 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(151)
Small
(27)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Simply stunning!
It fit well. It wasn't as clingy as I prefer . The glow it gave me was everything! I felt like a million bucks. I love this site cause that dress is so memorable I could never wear it again. I left a lasting impression . I can't wait to order again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
March 13, 2015
This dress stands out and hugs the body in all he right places!
The dress itself fit beautifully and I got tons of compliments throughout the night. The lining of the dress was tight around my hips and made it a little difficult to sit comfortably, but when I tried on the 12L, it was way too big. The lining did not bother me at all while I was standing and the dress was comfortable to dance in all night (this wedding was over 7 hours long and I was comfortable dancing all night!) The length of the dress was a little shorter than I expected, especially because it was the long size. The hem of the dress was right below my ankles, but it made it really easy to change into flats later on because my dress was not dragging on the floor. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone attending a formal event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 19, 2015
Tons of complements, very Gatsby glam!
The neckline was a bit of a challenge--the back was too low for a regular bra, so I ordered a backless brace with adhesive. I was a little self conscious with the cleavage, but it seemed to be a hit. Snug fitting and clingy in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
April 27, 2015
Showstopper
I had received this dress because the backup of my original couldn't make it, and I almost ended up wearing this one! The front did have a very deep v and I definitely wouldn't have been able to wear a standard bra, but it wasn't too much. If you if wear it, fashion tape is definitely needed for the top. The length was just an inch too short when I was wearing 4 inch heels, but if I had been wearing 3 inches the shape would've been dead on. And it will stand out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 4, 2015
I led the glamour train!
This dress is beautiful. It's two layers; a burnished gold lace overlayed against a black lining. The effect is dramatic. The neckline, back, and fit create a stunning silhouette. Unfortunately, there is no stretch to this dress, but in this case, that was fine. I usually wear a 6, but when I tried the 4 versus the 6, my husband said "no question!" I wore the 4. The 4 was in better condition, too. The six had some tears and opened seams, though the four had a torn lining. The torn lining didn't matter at all because it was on the skirt if the dress, and with black Spanx, no one could tell where the dress ended and the Spanx started. I really wish the dress were longer. I'm 5'8" and wore 4-5" platform heels, and my entire shoe was visible. If it came in a long, I'd rent again.
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
September 8, 2015
Perfect Dress to Celebrate my wedding anniversary.
The dress compliment my curves. It was a little too big by the breast area, I wore the perfect black bra that had a decorative design which went well with the dress. I absolutely loved this dress. I got great compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
February 18, 2016
Beautiful & comfortable!!
This dress was overnighted to me after my first choice dress was damaged. RTR customer service was great & worked with me to find a great dress. I & my husband both liked this dress much better than my first choice. It fit like a glove. I was comfortable all night sitting at dinner & dancing for hours! The long did not hit the floor on me with my 4 inch heels, but it was fine because I loved my shoes & they matched the dressed perfectly. And I didn't have material impeding my walking or dancing. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 18, 2016
So pretty
The dress was so gorgeous on, but it runs short. The long length still came above my ankles with bare feet. I didn't wear it because of the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 16, 2016
Beautiful dress!!
This dress fit great! Very low in front and I added a little lace in front. Received many compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2016
Gorgeous
I ended up not using this dress bc it was just too formal for my event but my family was Raving over it and made me take a pic. They loved it. Very comfortable. Definitely shows off curves. Runs true to size. This dress needs a body tho so if you are straight up and down prob should skip this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2016
Beautiful but simple.
I'm a typical size 6 and this dress fit like a glove. I'm 5 ft 4 in and would normally order a regular but only long was available so that's what I ordered, and it actually worked just fine. I didn't end up wearing this dress as my backup was a little more special. But beautiful dress!
CaraJuly 26, 2016
I am 5 foot 5. I like this dress but don't want to wear really high heels. Do you think a regular length dress will be long enough?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 7, 2016
A definite confidence booster! But must be busty for this number!
Loved this dress! The only downside was the bust was a bit loose, you really need to be able to fill this dress out and that is coming from someone who is a bit bustier. The dress also loosens a bit as you wear it which I didn't mind since it was more comfortable to sit and move in as the night went on. This piece definitely made me feel amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 11, 2016
Perfect for short women
The material was not stretchy at all and the mermaid skirt under the gold embroidery was very tight. But the dress looked amazing and no one could tell how uncomfortable I was. It was very beautiful dress but just not the easiest to move in. I wore flats because heels would have shown.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
October 17, 2016
Fabulous fit! Many compliments!
This dress was stunning- such beautiful fabric. The fit is definitely meant to show off your figure, so be ready to flaunt it in this stunner! Also I am 18 weeks pregnant and it beautifully showed off my growing belly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2016
Gorgeous New Years Eve gown!
Fits like a glove. Go for extra length if your height is borderline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 199lbs
December 12, 2016
Runs small surprisingly
I tried this on but it wouldn't zip AND it was too short. Gorgeous though and would love to rent again in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
December 15, 2016
Beautiful elegant dress
This was one of my options for a Ball I was going to. Loved the fit, but added a black belt to it and it hugged the right places :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 22
Age: 29
December 20, 2016
Glamorous
I rented this for a winter black tux wedding. It fit ok but it looked amazing anyway. It was snug on the hips, loose in the waist and very loose in the chest/shoulders. I ended up using double sided tape to keep it down around my boobs. I didn't wear a bra with it because it was so low cut in the back. For the tall ladies: I'm 5'6" and I ordered a "long". The dress grazed the ground is when I was barefoot. In 4inch heels it was just right. I would advise against getting this dress if you're over 5'8 and plan on wearing high heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
December 31, 2016
Runs extremely small
I didn't think I would even have to touch the 18 and even it didn't fit over my hips- I'm very pear shaped. It was also way too short- about three inches off the ground (I'm 5'9" and got the long length). Ended up sending back and not wearing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2017
Elegant dress!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding. It would work for a winter wedding with a shaw or fur over the shoulder. It was very elegant. The dress fit well, but the slip under the dress sometimes seemed a bit too long for the layer of dress material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 10, 2017
Very flattering
Rented this for a gatsby themed formal and the material was very sturdy and hid all my imperfections (except the arm fat haha)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
July 26, 2017
Perfect Old Hollywood Glamour
This dress came as a backup, and it did not disappoint! I received compliments all night, and I felt so beautiful. This dress is pretty low cut, so I was showing a lot more cleavage than I had originally intended, but I mean hey, why not. If you can - get a size or 2 larger than normal because it doesn't stretch AT ALL, so sitting and walking up any stairs had me having to adjust my dress so I could do so properly. Other than that, this is a total showstopper!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Age: 29
December 12, 2017
Sexy!!!
Overall was great. Very low cut but with tape I was able to wear it with a low cut push up. I'm 5'5" and wore 2 inch heels, could have gone higher and it would have been a little better. The straps slipped off without tape. Very elegant though and definitely the fanciest I've ever looked. Pretty easy to walk and dance in, comfortable other than having your boobs way out lol. Lots of compliments. Great for a black tie wedding in the winter
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Compliments all night, really plays up your curves
I've been teetering between a 4 and a 6 so I got both just in case and ended up going with the 4. The dress was a little big on top and although I don't usually have problems filling in that area, I found myself in one of those rare occasions where I actually had to wear a padded bra to make sure the dress would stay up. I think the dress looked much better in person than in the picture on this site. Very Jessica Rabbit :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 9, 2013
Great dress!
I really enjoyed the beautiful shine and shimmer the dress elicited. We did have a little trouble with the top. It was a little big around the bust. Everything else fit perfectly.
Lena May 14, 2013
Hi there! I'm teetering between a 4 or 2. Can you tell me your hip measurements? I have a bigger bottom :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 16, 2013
I felt feminine and glamorous!
I normally wear a six, but I wore a 4 in this dress. Even though I am only 5'6" the long was the right length. LIke the description says, the dress does not have any give - you'll need to have the right size for it to fit. I have a relatively straight body shape and this gave me curves!! I got so many compliments on the dress throughout the night - I felt like a movie star!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
February 25, 2013
Unfortunately, I could not wear this dress.
This beautiful dress did not fit me through the bust even with some padding and the fashion tape.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 28, 2013
This dress was a hit!
I got compliments all night long! I was glad that I got 2 sizes since the 6 would have been too large in the bust. I wore a low-cut push up bra to give myself some shape. The neckline is low, but not so low that I was uncomfortable. I was outside in Miami and worried about being hot in this long dress, but I was very comfortable all night. The length was perfect with my 3 inch heels and I had no problem dancing the night away. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2013
I felt very glamorous & elegant, perfect for a formal occasion. Loved it!
I fell in love with this dress when I first saw it on the site! I was worried initially about the fit since I have very wide hips but thankfully, that wasn't a problem. However, the dress is very big in the bust area; even with a padded bra, I felt it was a bit loose up top. Overall, the dress received a lot of compliments throughout the night - I had a wonderful experience & will hopefully be renting from RTR again soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2013
Gorgeous dress!!!! amazing fit for an hourglass figure!
If you are between sizes, go one size down (i'm usually between a 4 and a 6 in dresses and the 4 fit perfect). The only issues I had was that it is very low in front so tough to find the right bra to wear with it. I'm 5'1" and wore with four inch heels and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
November 4, 2013
Fantastic dress..I got compliments all night long. And to top it off....very easy to move around in!
The dress was amazing it fits really well in the body..snug but not too tight. I would probably have the same criticisms as other folks: 1. Oddly enough even with a full bust the straps on top where to big....fashion tape was a must. 2. If you've got a full bust...you've got to love the ladies to where this gown. Be prepared to show a little flesh. 3. Get the long if you resemble anything near 5' 5" and/ or if you have curves. I originally purchased the regular then went back and read the reviews again and called to have it switched...best decision ever...given the heels I was wearing (approx 2.5") the regular would have been too short. Overall, fantastic dress easy to dance and move in and a show stopper...highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2013
Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove, many compliments.
I don't consider myself a 4 but it fit perfectly through the top and hips. Fabric is very good - no bunching or tugging. Other reviewers are correct - it does run short. With 3" heels, the long just skimmed the ground. And the liner does hang below the dress length so I used tape to secure it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 154lbs
February 20, 2014
The deliver was quick. The dress was packaged well.
The dress fit really nicely I received compliments all night. Only thing was the top fit me kind of big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 4, 2014
Rocked the Red Carpet at the Academy Awards!
My first time renting from Rent The Runway was phenomenal. I flew to Los Angeles from NYC for the event, and my dresses were ready at the front desk of my hotel when I arrived. I ordered a 14L and a 12L (I usually wear a 10-12 in clothes, and a 12-14 in dresses) and it actually ended up being pretty large on top. I DO recommend a backless bra as it's a bit low in the back. Overall, this gown is an absolute stunner. Hugs the curves but is relatively forgiving, and the swishy fishtail at the bottom is to die for and makes it glam. If you're not big busted, I'd recommend some dress tape to keep everything in place on top. The fabric is gorgeous - a beautiful subtle gold, but not gaudy at all. In this dress I was able to hold my own at the Academy Awards and Governor's Ball after-party and made my look effortlessly gorgeous. Thanks for helping to make this an unforgettable night - can't wait till my next event to rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 17, 2014
Perfect for fundraising gala - felt fabulous, received many compliments!
I note in my profile that I typically wear a size 4 dress and now I know why - usually there's a little give/stretch. Not in this one. And that was just fine. The 6L was long enough for my 5'8" frame and provided just enough give to comfortably sit down and dance, dance, dance!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2014
Great color and cut.
This dress was actually too short! And I am 5'1". But the shoulder to V was too deep. Just didn't fit right on my smaller frame. I was going to a work event and needed to be modest and held in by a dress. Wore a Halston Heritage instead. Really cool lace overlay. I wanted so badly for this one to fit.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
April 16, 2014
My experience wasn't he greatest, but I still look forward to renting in the future.
I wasn't overly impressed- my 2R ran too big and my 2Long ran too small! So neither dress worked perfectly. I ended up wearing the 2Regular, pinning it up, and wearing flats. It worked, but I definitely wouldn't say I was blown away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
May 15, 2014
Cute but..whoa! Low-Cut!
The dress was beautiful and well made, but SO low-cut! I was not prepared for that level of plunge! Fashion tape was helpful but I still felt a little uncomfortable since this was a work event. Not a modest dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Just a little too big/revealing :(
I got this as a last minute backup after being sent the wrong length of my original rental. While this is a gorgeous dress, I really needed an 8 (or possibly a 6) in this one. The top gaped a little too much to be appropriate for a wedding, and since it was delivered the day of the event, I didn't have a chance to get the necessary fashion tape. I am just glad I was paranoid and bought an extra extra back up dress. I ended up needing it.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
July 30, 2014
great dress, rec'd LOT of compliments just ran big...
hides flaws GREAT... figure flattering... just runs too big
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×