Carmen Marc Valvo

All Eyes On You Gown

$105 – $125 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Pair this gown with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting and Davis’ Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and the red carpet will roll out for you at the party. This breathtaking Carmen Marc Valvo is for sure a showstopper.

Also available in navy and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Red crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported.

Share
694 reviews
Fit
Large
(211)
True to Size
(388)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 12, 2012
Elegant and striking dress! Felt like a celeb in this dress
I would agree 100% that this dress fits true to size. I was very nervous how it would fit given my wide bum and full hips, but it was perfect! I could have picked the 8R and worn average 3 inch heels, but I selected the 8L and had to wear some crazy tall heels - which was fine in the long run. The dress hit the top of my toes and it's long in the back with a slight train. All in all - very elegant and stunning dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 13, 2012
LOVED IT!
I will be renting this dress again, AMAZING. Got compliments all night. Beautiful dress, made well, fit well. There was a small stain on it when I received it but wasn't well noticeable. Otherwise, it was perfect!!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
This dress made me feel immediately glamorous!
Great fit, very true to size. it is a heavy dress but I only felt the weight of it in the lager size, which it a reason I liked the smaller size. it's an elegant dress that made me feel beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2012
.
The dress fit perfectly! I wore it to a Marine Corp Ball and everyone gave me compliments all night long. I originally ordered a 4L as my primary size, but due to weather problems and a date change for the event, my back-up size of a 6L was the only size that they were able to send me. The dress was a little big, especially around the chest. The company sent me double sided tape, which I placed on the areas that were loose and it held perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2012
"Once again, the lady in red brought silence and grace to the room.Stunning, absolutely stunning!"
The dress wa above and beyond in elegance. I requested a size 0, but the 2 worked jsut fine with a tuck in the should under the ruffle where no=one was the wiser. I loved the longer length inthe back. Beautiful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2012
Great customer service, last minute over nighted for the marine corps ball!
I'm glad the dress I ordered ran small, I would have missed out wearing this great dress! Fit amazing, great not too thin material. I felt so comfortable in it all night. I used a stick on bra for support, felt like a million bucks. Perfect for the birthday ball.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141lbs
November 19, 2012
Elegant and Dramatic (or at least that's what everyone else said)
I ordered this as my backup and to my surprise actually wore it to the wedding. Many people recommended ordering this dress in the long. My advice DO NOT. It is true to fit and if you don't want to trip over yourself all night the regular works perfectly for a girl my height. I wore 4" heels with it and it was exactly the right length. The fabric is lovely and hides any imperfections but you might want to break out your spanx just in case :) I have a very small waist and my only complaint was that though the overall fit is true to size for an hourglass girl its a little roomy through the ribcage and waist. This leads to an amazing frontal view but not an awesome profile. Though I was just happy with the dress everyone else at the event raved about how dramatic the red was and how elegant and sophisticated I looked. It definitely makes a statement and as a mother of two young ones, it was the appropriate one to make
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
November 22, 2012
Beautiful color. Received lots of compliments. The dress was very elegant. I felt like a star.
The dress ran a little big in the waist, but overall the fit was very relaxed. It's a very classy dress. I loved it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2012
absolutely stunning dress.
Perfect fit, felt like a million bucks. I would rent this again in a second.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
VERY NICE
Fit great, if anything a little big in the waist area. Great length in my 4 inchers. Very comfy for dancing, champagne and eating wedding cake!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
I actually ordered the Issa Gold Cassia Gown, but it was unavailable. This was my back up and it was lovely. I'm glad I got the 2L...I'm 5'6 and I needed the extra length. My husband said I looked 'STUNNING'. I also received numerous compliments throughout the night. The most incredable thing about this rental is that it was sent 2 days after hurricaine Sandy hit NYC. . Really didn't expect to get a dress, but RTR came through...truly amazing. Thank You!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2012
What a special dress for a special night!
The dress is gorgeous! It feels great and looks very classy and elegant. I got so many compliments all night long! The only con is that there wasn't a long available, so I had to wear the regular even though I am 5' 8" and I couldn't wear heels (which I don't like doing anyway) - I had a great night thanks to this great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Perfect dress for holiday party!
The 6R was very large, 4R fit well but was a little tight around the shoulder. Overall a very comfortable, easy to wear dress. Received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2012
Wow. So many compliments..the dress is a knockout!
This dress was my back-up but when I tried it on I was in love! I was complimented all night long. I wore this to a black-tie fundraiser and it was the most beautiful dress there. The color and cut is gorgeous. I normally wear an 8 but based on the reviews I chose a 6L. The dress was plenty roomy in the midsection and the length was perfect (I'm 5'7" and wore 3" heels). I opted for "mystery bling" and the Badgley Mischka Showstopper earrings were perfect. I added my own bracelet and loved the look. I did need to use earring backs from some of my own jewelry because the mismatched ones that came in my order were not tight enough to stay on the earrings. But this was easily corrected. I would wear this outfit again in a heartbeat!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 170lbs
December 3, 2012
It made me feel like a celebrity.and received compliments such as 'breathtakingly beautiful'!
The dress fitted comfortably and was easy to wear. The cut was flattering to my body shape and actually made me look slimmer.I got some many compliments and was happy to tell others of my experience working with Rent The Runway. From the moment I walked in for my fitting/appointment through to dropping the mail in the USPS box - EASY! I am happy to say I look forward to another wonderful experience with RTR and your professionals at work (Thanks Chelsea).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 4, 2012
Elegant; I received tons of compliments regarding the cut and hue of this dress. Loved it!
The shipping was prompt. Very professional fabric. Fabric had great movement and felt nice on my skin.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 5, 2012
This dress looks amazing on and I loved it!
I rented this dress for my dance studio's Holiday Ball and got TONS of compliments on it the entire day. The fit is very flattering for a woman's body because it's fitted at the top, but then flares out gracefully in a bell-curve at the bottom; I also really love the one-shoulder design of the dress. The color is the perfect shade of red, and the ruffle across the one-shoulder gives it that little something extra on the design which just added to overall elegant and classy look of the dress. Moreover, it's a GREAT dress to dance in because it was so comfortable and the bell-curve at the bottom flares out beautifully when you twirl and spin in it. I felt like a celebrity at a red-carpet event in this dress - what more could a girl want? :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2012
Wow! The dress fit perfectly.
I'm 5'4" and was concerned about the length since my heels were 1-1/2" (I can't wear heels due to a medical condition). The only drawback it that I had to return it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2012
Went to a charity ball with my favorite guy...my nine-year-old son! We stole the scene at the event!
Loved the dress, it was very elegant. Although the fit was a little big, it was still classy, and perfect for the Venice themed masquerade ball. I got several compliments throughout the evening. I am a little on the shorter side, but the 6P was not available that day, so I went with the 6R, which may have been why it was slightly big on me, but nevertheless, it was still a great gown...I would definitely recommend this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 10, 2012
I loved this dress and received a ton of compliments.
Wore the dress to by boyfriend black tie holiday party. The dress fit great and looked amazing.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
This dress was amazing! I was stopped all night by people wanting to comment on the dress!
The fit was very true to size, and the length was perfect for me at 5'6" with 4" heels. The dress looked amazing. I was happier than I had expected to be. I was being stopped all night for people to comment about the dress. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 62
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
The Best!
Wore this to a Beautiful Black tie Wedding in DC. Got so many compliments on the dress and its was so comfortable. I loved this dress. Thank you RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
Best dress I've ever rented from RTR
Looked and felt incredible. Such a beautiful silhouette, would recommend to anyone. The color is not quite fire engine red, a tiny bit more muted than shown perhaps, which was very flattering.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2012
Worked well for a Holiday wedding.
The dress was a great color and material. The length was good too. It was a little big in the bust but nothing a few pieces of double sided tape couldn't fix. Overall I would say the dress was very classy and glamorous and I enjoyed wearing it. I would suggest that RTR ask guests what event they are attending when they rent since someone else rented the same dress from RTR.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2012
I LOVED this dress. It was perfect for the military ball I was attending.
I definitely needed the long. Fabric is great! Heavy and doesn't not show bumps or lines. I was sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
December 15, 2012
Loved this Elegant Red Dress!
LOVED this dress and the color (a true red). I am so happy I ordered the long...even though I am not tall. You have to wear seamless underneath. The material was quality and heavy, but will show every bump. I thought the sizes were true and I would suggest getting a smaller size as your second over a bigger size. I am so happy with my renttherunway experience and will definitely be back for the next event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2012
Went from dancing in the ballet to a work party. Bravo, RTR, you've done it again!
I dance in the nutcracker every year, and this year my *real job* Christmas party was just hours after a matinee performance. I whisked off my costume, peeled off my false lashes, threw on this Carmen Marc Valvo gown, added a couple alstromera and pine spriggs to my hair, and off I went! I fell in love with this gown as soon as I saw it on the RTR site, and knew I had to have it. It arrived in perfect time and perfect condition, and everyone that sees me in my usual work environment (as a technical writer) was completely stunned at the transformation. Bravo, RTR! You've made me look like a million bucks again and again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on this dress and the boyfriend loved it!
It hit the floor perfectly with a pair of heels and hit my curvy figure at all the right places
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
December 19, 2012
This dress was perfect for prom. I will definitely rent again next year!
The dress fit perfectly, however I would recommend wearing some form of running spandex or spanx to make everything flow nicely no matter what size you end up renting. I am 5'9'' and the dress was slightly short with heels, but still looked quite nice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2012
Gorgeous color
Really liked this dress. First time I'd worn such a bright color, and it was great. Fit well and wasn't too clingy. Ruffles on the top strap looked well pressed and was not in the way, and the slight train was a nice touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect birthday dress!
This was a lovely dress to rent for my Christmas day birthday. The color was a perfect shade of blue red and the fabric was thick enough that it hung perfectly. The dress was a little large in the tummy which allowed for room to eat. I loved the shoulder detailing which fell perfectly and the little train. The only reason why I am not giving it 5 stars is that after consulting with a stylist she insisted I rented the long. I told her I am 5'3" and usually wear 4 inches heels. I wore 5 inches heels and it still dragged on the floor. But I loved the feeling of picking up my dress and received compliments on the way out of the restaurant. I felt like a movie star and would love to wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
Excellent dress - would recommend it or even rent it again in a heartbeat!
Should have ordered the 4L as a second size but made the 6L work... Overall the dress was perfect for a formal work affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2012
Great service hands down!!!!
Fit is great except this dress runs LARGE and has great stretch and room to grow so def order smaller size as back up. Material is heavy enough, perfect for any time of year! Wish I could have worn it, beautiful red.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
This dress is a show stopper! In a sea of black, you will really stand out and turn a head or two!
I'm VERY long waisted and this dress fit like a dream! I don't typically wear any dresses with a fitted waist because they are never at my waist. This dress flared right at the waist and draped beautifully over the hips. Be sure and use the secret tape to avoid a gap on the off the shoulder side when you lean over the table to hear the latest gossip. ENJOY!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 31, 2012
Company is amazing! managed to get me my dress even during Hurricane Sandy!
I was very nervous about ordering a dress online, seeing other women's pictures really helped me. I am normally in between and 10 and a 12 thanks to my thick field hockey thighs. The 10 fit beautiful, I felt like a million dollars and my date had such a WOW look on his face, was totally worth it and I can not wait to rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 1, 2013
Statement Making Dress PERFECT for a Formal Affair
My last few experiences with RTR the formal dresses have all been off in fit, so I decided to be safe and rent one size up, this dress definitely runs a little big but because of the cut and style it still works. The dress drapes you and is absolutely stunning. I wore it on New Years Eve and received a ton of compliments AND I felt great wearing it! This is definitely perfect for a formal or even cocktail affair.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 71
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2013
FANTASTIC GOWN, FIT LIKE A GLOVE, MORE COMPLIMENTS THAN I COULD COUNT!!!!!
OK - you guys are AWESOME!!! This was my first order with RTR and after some address confusion you sent it to the Resort that I was staying at. I wore this for New Year's Eve and everyone, yes everyone complimented me on the gown. Men even walked up to my husband and said "your wife is very successful in that gown". What more could a girl want!!?? Great experience, very helpful CS reps, and renting again for a breast cancer gala in February. Will never buy another formal gown....you guys are the BEST at what you do.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 2, 2013
Great Dress !
A few people (strangers and family alike) came up to me to tell me how good I looked. Two people even told me I was the best dressed person at the wedding. Comfortable, forgiving and elegant. Would totally recommend it to friends and family members.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
January 3, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I got many compliments at the party I was at and afterwards from the pictures!
Oddly, I ordered the 6L and the 8L and the 6L felt bigger in the top. Not sure if it was from previous wear but anyway, I went for the 8L. I'm usually an 8 or a 10 depending on where the dress is fitted (bust or hips). The dress is very flattering for many figures. One warning is there is a bit of a train so if you're going to be walking around / up and down stairs a lot it's something to think about.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2013
I did not end up wearing this dress. The material reminded me of curtains.
This dress ran large and the material was very heavy. It is not as flattering on as I had hoped.
See more reviews:
3 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×