Carmen Marc Valvo

All Eyes On You Gown

$105 – $125 rental?
$745 retail
Stylist Notes

Pair this gown with accessories like Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting and Davis’ Silver Mesh Glam Clutch and the red carpet will roll out for you at the party. This breathtaking Carmen Marc Valvo is for sure a showstopper.

Also available in navy and black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size yet short in length. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - very loosely fitted in bodice
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist and back
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Red crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with ruffled shoulder strap. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported.

Share
700 reviews
Fit
Large
(212)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Gorgeous but too big
I rented this for a formal event, but it was too large. I have gained a little weight and was shocked when the 6 was too big. It seemed almost like ti was stretched out. The fabric looked fine, but it was just too big in the bodice (and I am a 36D). Order your regular size and a size down as your back-up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Gorgeous but too big
I rented this for a formal event, but it was too large. I have gained a little weight and was shocked when the 6 was too big. It seemed almost like ti was stretched out. The fabric looked fine, but it was just too big in the bodice (and I am a 36D). Order your regular size and a size down as your back-up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2012
Gorgeous, but chose another
I got this dress when the 10 I ordered in another dress (Singapore Sensation Gown) wasn't available. I wouldn't have picked this up but I am glad that I tried it on. I was a fantastic dress. But I chose to go with the other dress because this one was too big and too long. If I was ordering it would go down a size just because when I tried it on, even with 4 inch heels there was at least an inch on the ground. Also because it was too baggy. I wouldn't have minded if it was slightly loose, but It was way to loose. I loved the dress but not one me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Caught the bouquet!
Ordered this dress months in advance for a Black Tie NYE Wedding. I felt like I was on the red carpet. Though in some angles in pictures, the dress looked overwhelming despite being 5'8/ 5'9.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
August 16, 2012
Couldn't be more pleased to have placed 1st runner up at a local pageant in my Rent the Runway gown!
I absolutely loved this dress! Rented it for the evening gown portion of local preliminary pageant. It fit true to size and I loved the ruffle shoulder detail
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 16, 2012
Dream Dress
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras ball and loved it! The dress does run a little big and a little short. The 2L was a little big and I worried that the 0L was a little tight on my hips, but I forgot about it and felt great all night. The fabric was forgiving and comfortable. It is such an easy dress to wear and still makes a statement.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
August 17, 2012
It made me feel like a million bucks!
It was true to size! Wonderful red color. I'm 5' 11" and when I wore this with flats, it was the perfect length to touch the ground!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 21, 2012
elegant!
This dress was my first choice for the event (military ball), but unfortunately I needed the size 4 and that was only available it the Navy blue version of this dress. I would definitely consider renting this one again in the proper size. I typically wear a 6 but this dress I wore in a 4. It's very comfortable and super flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 28, 2012
Gala fun
I rented this dress for a formal affair for my husbands company. It ran a bit larger so I was glad that I had ordered two dresses and had a back up. It was very pretty though, just a bit big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
September 6, 2012
Not Long Enough
The dress is lose in fit and definitely not long enough even with flip flops. the train in the back barely touch the ground for me. It would look a lot more elegant if it's long enough
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Definitely stood out in red but it was such a flattering dress. Elegant yet comfortable!
Loved this dress! Perfect fit, ran true to size. I got many compliments all night about the dress! RTR was extremely helpful throughout the entire process and it was simple to return. Renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
September 10, 2012
Black Tie Wedding
The dress runs very large. As in more than a size and a half at least. I usually wear 8, barely ever squeeze in a 6 and in this dress the 6 was loose. Especially around my waist, however, I do have a somewhat uncommonly small waist in proportion to my hips. Regardless the dress runs very large. I'd recommend getting at least one if not two sizes below your usual. Oddly, it also runs short. I wore the 6L and I am 5'10" yet barefoot the dress would graze the floor but in heels (any height at all) the shoes were immediately visible. There is no way not to wear heels with this one, it is just too formal. On top of the poor fit, the color is not quite the same shade as the picture suggests. It was a bit of a darker more muted burgundy red. Nonetheless, I received many compliments throughout the evening and it is indeed quite comfortable. Only wish it fit a bit better.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 11, 2012
This dress is fantastic!
This is a beautiful dress and sits very well on the body. It is elegant...the color is beautiful and pops without being gaudy. I wore my hair down (my hair is black) wore four inch black heels -- felt like a princess and got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 13, 2012
It's a head-turner. Beautiful dress! Rented it for a Mardi Gras black-tie affair.
Simple, classy and elegant. The color adds the WOW. True to fit. Rich heavy fabric ensures great flow. Rent this dress... you won't be disappointed.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
Loved it!
The dress is absolutely beautiful! I wore it for a Military Ball and I got many compliments. The dress is also very comfortable.
MandyOctober 10, 2012
Hi there, I am usually a size 4 as well and 5'6". Do you think I will also be a size 4L? I am 34c though...
RTR CustomerOctober 12, 2012
Hi Mandy! This dress does run true to size, but slightly short in length, so I would also suggest the 4L for you. There is comfortable room at the bust and this dress is a great fit for any cup size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
The dress was beautiful just like the picture and fit perfectly
Fit perfectly for my full bust
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 20, 2012
I wore this dress to a military ball and felt comfortable and confident all night!
I was initially a little freaked out receiving a dress last minute. I ordered both a 6R and a 8R, as most reviews said it ran big. Usually I would probably wear an 8 over a 6 in a dress. The 6 I slid right into, zipped up perfect at the side bust, and it fit like a glove. The material was of noticeably better quality and I didn`t feel insecure about a thing! Ultimately though, my problem came with length, as I should have ordered a 6L. The 6 was showing too much of my shoe in the front so i wore the 8R for length alone. The 8 fit exactly the same up top in the bust, I had a tad more fabric in the middle and sides but not so much that it was a problem. My boyfriend couldnt even tell the difference between the two sizes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress!! Fabric hung perfectly...
Dress was great! I'm 5'5" and with 4 in heels, the dress was a perfect length to just graze the floor. Lots of compliments... the fabric is nice and heavy with a little stretch so it hangs nicely and doesn't hug any lumps
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
I felt like a goddess in this dress and got compliments all night long! Definitely a great choice.
This dress runs big and short. I am usually a 4-6, and I had extra room in the 2L. Be sure to order a size or two down. I'm 5'5" and would definitely order the long if you're anything other than short. This was the most comfortable formal dress I've ever worn!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2012
I felt like a movie star all night!
The dress fit like it was custom made for me! It arrived clean and in perfect condition and returning it couldn't have been easier! I would highly recommend Rent the Runway to anyone looking for a "one time use" dress, but I am seriously considering renting the exact same one for next year's Gala, which happens to be the 40th (Ruby) anniversary! I loved it that much.
NikkiOctober 11, 2012
HI! What type of heels did you wear? You and I are about the same height...were they tall heels?
RTR CustomerOctober 12, 2012
Hi Nikki! If you are around 5'2" we recommend ordering the Regular length and wearing 3-4" heels. If you do want to order the Petite, I would suggest wearing a 4" heel or higher. I hope that helps!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
This dress fit perfect. It's simple but looks amazing when on
This dress fits true to size, the shoulder isn't too big or too small. It fits perfectly and looks great on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 1, 2012
Wow factor!
This dress makes you stand out in a crowd! It's got great draping, so it's incredibly forgiving and even has a little extra room. I couldn't believe how many compliments I got in this - can't wait to rent this again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2012
It was incredible!!! Beautiful!!! I was so wonderful that made the pages of NFocus.
If fit perfect. I am short and I was worried about the length and I had no problem! The color was a beautiful red and the details stood out with little to no help from jewlary!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Great dress...great SERVICE !!!
Great dress, in great condition, the service is exceptional
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 10, 2012
Wore this to a formal affair. Everyone said the dress was stunning and complimented it.
Fit well, good length, I would definitely recommend spanx or something similar underneath to keep everything smooth. It is not super fitted or tight, but does lay right on the skin and spanx smooth everything out perfectly for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2012
Classic red gown.
Gorgeous dress. Simple sleek lines, substantial fabric that does not cling. It does run very long. I tried this on with 3 inch heels and it still draped the floor. Unfortunately the gown did not work with my shape. I am short waisted with amazon length legs so it bunched up at my lower back. Very sad....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
October 14, 2012
Most gorgeous girl at the charity gala, hands down :)
countless compliments all night, hands down the most gorgeous dress at the entire event! :)
BrittanyJanuary 29, 2013
What height heels did you wear and did you think the dress was long enough?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
x
amazing dress. better than i thought it would be
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
great color
I got it in a 2 and 4...the 2 fit my body better but was too short with heels on so I wore the 4, but it was a litttle big, and I am normally a 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
October 16, 2012
Seeing the opera at the Met with my husband.
The dress was a little long in the front, but other than that it fit great. Loved the heavy weight of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
Beautiful, showstopper dress!
This was a beautiful dress and stood out in a sea of black. I was so sick and tired of wearing my black dresses year after year. I received many compliments. This was my back-up dress, which turned out to be a God-send because the other style I had picked wouldn't even zip up in a size 8. I wore the size 6R in this style, though I had both the size 6R and 8R delivered. I wore 3 inch heels, and it skimmed my toes with a little train in the back. The 8 was too long - I would have had to wear 4+ inch heels and not been as comfortable. This dress was very comfortable and not too revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
So fun to wear a long, red dress!
I wore a 2R, which wasn't a choice in this drop down menu. It wasn't tight, but draped nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
October 25, 2012
PERFECTION!
LOVED this dress. People raved all night about how pretty the dress was and how great I looked in it. This dress did seem to run a little big. I would normally wear a 12 but the 10L fit like a glove. I do recommend wearing SPANX just to give the dress an overall smooth look and to cinch the waist. This was a wonderful overall experience and will use RTR for any future events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 28, 2012
This dress was perfection! Comfortable, flattering and classic!
This dress was perfection! Comfortable, flattering and classic. What more could you ask for? I danced the night away and felt great! I'm 5'4", weigh about 125, and wear a 34C. I wore the size 4 regular. My shoes had a 4 inch heel. I got the size 2 as my backup, and while it "fit", it was shorter and tight, and not as comfortable around the arms (Just 'cause it zips don't mean it fit, ya know?). The 4 was perfect, just enough room that I could dance and it wasn't constricting. I did wear a body slimmer underneath, but just so I didn't have panty lines to worry about. The fabric of this dress is heavy and skims the body nicely. Two of my friends wore RTR dresses as well and we all had a wonderful experience! Going to the ball every year, I know that I will be using RTR again! It's genius! I felt special and beautiful in my gown, and received compliments not just from my husband and our friends, but strangers too!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 3, 2012
Very comfortable dress!
I ordered the 4R and 6R, based on the reviews. The 6 was a bit big and the 4 was perfect! I wore with 4 inch heels and the length was fine. The size 4 might be a bit snug on top for someone with a larger chest.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2012
Gorgeous dress
This dress is stunning! I felt beautiful in it and received several compliments during the night! The quality and fit is far superior to the department store dresses I've worn in the past. I didn't feel like every bump and bulge was being showcased to everyone! This was my first rental with RTR and I can't wait to rent again!
sweetJanuary 4, 2013
I am 6' 1'' and I would love to rent this gown. Was it long enough to be worn on some one as tall as me ?
RTR CustomerJanuary 8, 2013
Hi! This dress will most likely be too short on you unless your planning on wearing flats. The long length measures 61" from shoulder to hem. If you would like to call us at 1-800-509-0842 we would be happy to suggest some other styles that may work better!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 5, 2012
This dress makes you feel like you are a movie star at the acadamy awards!!
I got the 8L and 6L sizes. I usually wear an 8 but it was way too long, so went with the 6 and it was loose but fit nicely, would have like to try the 4 but it might have been too short then. I wore 4 inch heels and the length for the 6 was perfect. If you don't think you will wear high heels go with the normal length. Loved the experience with RTR and the dress...will recommend it to everyone I know...cant wait till next year for my annual formal red carpet gala to rent another dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
November 5, 2012
Perfect!
Ever since having my daughter I am in between a 2 and 4 - the 2 fit perfect and wasn't tight at all. I'm 5.2 so the P was a perfect length. I did get a R 2 as a back up and it would have been ok - but the P was perfect!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2012
The fit is true to size, I felt glamourous at the opening night of the opera- lots of heads turned!
paired it with Oscar de la Renta green/gold drop earrings from RTR
BarbaraNovember 15, 2012
I am exactly your height and weight. What type of shoe did you wear?
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2012
I loved this dress! Elegant and sexy
The dress was perfect for this event. The dress flowed on the dance floor. I am a standard size four in a dress. it fit perfectly. However the arm was very tight and uncomfortable. I am athletic build. If you have bigger arms this dress will not work.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×