Rent the Runway

Carlos Miele

French Quarter Batik Gown

$70 rental
$1400 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Change up your typical formal look with this lady like gown from Carlos Miele. Wherever you go, you'll be sure to bring a vibe of elegance.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up due to fitted sweetheart neckline; padding in bust area as well
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt works well for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padding for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up due to fitted sweetheart neckline; padding in bust area as well
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt works well for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padding for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blue printed silk(100% silk). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Tiered skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

66 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 36
Large 10
Photos 41
Juliet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

I felt like a celeb

Size worn: 34R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is soft, beautiful, delicate and glamorous. It was a bit long but I expected that since I am short. (I had to hold it up all night thats the only reason I took off a star) The fit was precise... leaning a little on the constricting side but I thought it was worth it instead of risking a wardrobe malfunction. I received many compliments. Short girls be prepared to wear a tall heel!
Wendy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 1, 2012

Loved this dress

Size worn: 38R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress; it was absolutely beautiful. I was surprised that it ran on the large side because I ordered a 38 and 40 assuming I would be fine, but I wish I ordered the 36 and 38. I was so happy I rented the dress.
char
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2012

Paisley gown

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress moves beautifully and is very flattering!
CPG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 25, 2012

Beautiful, flattering dress

Size worn: 40R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie Mardi Gras themed party and loved it! It looked just like it looks on the model. I normally wear a size 6 and wore the 40R. It was a little big, but worked just fine. I think the 38R would have been perfect, so this dress runs a little large. I'm 5'6", wore a 4 inch heel, and the R length was perfect - L would have been way too long for my height. It is such a beautiful dress with a unique print, and I got compliments all night long. The ruffles are very flattering and have a slimming effect, especially if you are trying to hide any tummy flaws. And I totally agree with the other reviewer that you can eat whatever you want at the event and still feel very comfortable in this dress. My husband loved it and I was sad to send it back!
Loved it!
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

I wish I owned this one!

Size worn: 34L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and wanted something nice and flowy. I was a little nervous that it would be too big and fall down because I usually wear a 32. When I tried it on, it actually took some work to zip up, which was great because there wasn't even a chance of it falling down. It hugs your ribs very tightly! If you have a bigger chest, I'd recommend getting a size up! I got the longer version because I wore really high heels - it perfectly covered my shoes, so if you're planning on wearing 4/5 inchers, definitely go with the long. I 100% recommend getting this one if you're going to a formal event/wedding, trust me, you will look stunning.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 9, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 34R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a July wedding (106 degree day). I had read the dress was much better in person and it did not disappoint. The blue is a deep blue and the material is silk with a very flattering fit. My only complaint was the zipper was difficult to zip and being larger chested (took an extra 10 min just to get it to finally zip) did not fit well in the top (the back up size was not available). However, this is a very comfortable and flattering dress choice!
Jill
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 6, 2012

Gorgeous, light dress

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect. Wore to an outdoor wedding on a 90-degree day and was cool the whole evening. Very light. The dress hangs just right - no awkward bulges even with all the flowing layers. I would rent this dress again. Also, the regular length with a 3" inch heel was perfect for me (5'3").
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Amazing!!

Size worn: 34R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I figured this dress would be beautiful (and it is!) but I was really surprised by how FLATTERING it is! Really emphasized my hourglass shape. Becuase I'm shorter than the model, the waist hit lower on my body (closer to my natural waist . . .the model looks like the dress is a bit more of an empire waist) that really highlighed the smallest part of me. The ruffles are light and fall gracefully, I was a bit worried the extra fabric might make me look bigger, but not the case at all. The dress strikes the perfect balances between looking dressed up but effortless all at the same time. I will DEFINITELY rent this one again!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

mixed feelings

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous ... and while I did get several compliments during a beach wedding (layers are perf for this) .. I have to say some of the details made it not fun to wear all night. As other reviewers noted - it ran extremely small in the rib cage at one point. The 34 would have been perfect but I couldn't zip it. The 36 was then too big/loose in the top and the top of the dress rolled over (so the inside showed) and I kept on pulling up the dress all night. The boning was also not right on the non-zipper side of the dress causing it to do this weird pucker. It was fine but not perfect.
Madeleine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Gorgeous Dress

Size worn: 42R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a NYC wedding over Labour Day and even the bride was telling me she loved my dress! Felt amazing in it!
acv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

best dress ever.

Size worn: 38R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I want to buy this dress. This is how much i loved it. Everyone at the wedding that I went to complimented me on this dress, even the bride! I didn't bother wearing a strapless bra, and I didn't have to pull the dress up the whole night, even with all the dancing and running around. I love love love this dress. I wore pretty 4" heels with this dress, and I'm 5'7. My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off of me. It looks the best when you're twirling around on the dancefloor. This is my most favorite dress from RTR! hands down!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

great, but TINY around ribcage

Size worn: 34R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
it's beautiful, and i so wanted it to work, but it's absolutely tiny in the ribcage. a shame because it fit so beautifully everywhere else. i guess that's why, in a perfect world, you'd buy a size up and have it tailored. if i only i could've bought it. but truly, for the itty bitty, it's gorgeous!!
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Want. Need. Stat.

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress - fits like a glove. Warning for all the short ladies – this dress is a little long even with 3" heels, so if you plan on dancing, this dress might not be your best choice.
Vy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

The dress is beautiful but uncomfortable

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bust is not a good fit for chesty girls. I would have worn a 34 but had to size up, which was then too big and required a good amount of double-sided tape to prevent "wardrobe malfunctions." Also, the side boning sticks out at the ends, which hurts after a few hours of wear.
Lori
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

GORGEOUS!!! A perfect gown for a breezy, waterside affair.

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this gown for my rehearsal dinner, held at a venue on Miami's Biscayne Bay. I thought I would need the 34R (size 2) as I usually wear a size 2, but the 36R (size 4) fit like a glove. I wore tall, 4 1/2" heels. I received so many compliments throughout the evening, many commenting that I looked like I was floating/gliding as I walked.
Cameo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Neither size worked!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
After my original choice became unavailable, I rented this dress for my wedding rehearsal & dinner in 36R and 38R. Unfortunately, neither size fit! I was able to zip up the 36, but it was too tight around the rib cage. The 38 was too big all over, and the sweetheart neckline area kept rolling down. I can't comment on the length, because I took both sizes off before even noticing. The dress does have positives: the silk fabric is lovely and light, the blues are rich, and the ruffles fall beautifully. Overall it was a disappointment.
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

I was really nice being able to have this dress as a back up, glad my main dress didn't fall through

Size worn: 36L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really wasn't sure what size to wear, so I guess that is my fault, But it ran very small on me, the zipper wouldn't even close. I believe the length was fine, I'm just so glad I got this as my backup and that the dress I wanted to wear worked out fine.
NDJ
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 2, 2013

People could not believe I had had a baby 6 months ago! Dress enhanced and hide the right things!...

Size worn: 40R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was awesome, I felt so comfortable and beautiful. Bonus the ruffles hide what was left of my post -baby belly weight!
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

Stunning gown!

Size worn: 40R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love love LOVE this dress! The blue is much darker in person than the photo, but it is truly a stunning dress. I wore it to a friend's wedding and I had so many people stop and tell me how beautiful it was! It was comfortable and fit wonderfully. The only this I had trouble with was the very top of the dress would keep folding over throughout the night. Even with fashion tape i had a hard time keeping it on. I have a smaller bust, so maybe that was a factor. But I would still rent this dress again, I may even consider buying it in the future!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

Simply stunning.

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pics do not do this dress justice. Fit notes: I wore a corset underneath so I wouldn't have to pull it up during the night, which you'd have to do w most strapless dresses not tight on the hips. This worked great. I'm topheavy but this dress still looked great, if a leetle bosomy. It's even better for bottom heavy people as it's totally forgiving in the hips.
Louise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

Flirty yet Fancy

Size worn: 36R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to the rehearsal dinner of a black tie wedding. The wedding venue was at a beach town, so it definitely worked. I was a little put off my the material, it felt a little cheap, but with the pattern, you could notice.
Vicki
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

This dress is gorgeous!

Size worn: 34R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my daughters wedding and received so many compliments. It was an outdoor wedding in Austin, TX and I walked her down the isle. the fabric is beautiful, the ruffles are elegant and the dress photographs beautifully. The only thing I would have changed would have been to go up one size, it took two people to get me into the dress because of the bust! Once I was in the dress, I didn't want to take it off. I felt beautiful and confident and was so happy with my choice. You will not regret renting this dress!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 20, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: 36L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress. Bust runs a bit small. Zipper sticks.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

ugh this dress... nope, wasn't having it.

Size worn: 36L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was so gorgeous, but such a let down when i finally zipped myself up and had a wrestling match to get it around my ribcage to pull it up, then to consequently have my chest get totally flattened out. had to return it and get an emergency back up style overnight shipped for my senior prom, thank god i was able to pull that miracle out of thin air. and i thought the white would be brighter, but it was kinda dingy over all. thank heavens for the exchange option!!
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 9, 2013

Beautiful Dress + Lots of Compliments! But had to size up because the bust is so tight.

Size worn: 38L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the size 4L and 6L (36L and 38L). I am usually a size 4 and am quite flat-chested, but this dress didn't even zip up past my bust! I was surprised and went with the size 6 instead, which was a bit too loose and hard to dance in because I would slip out of it. It's an empire waist, too, so the bust is really the only size concern. I wore flats and it was the perfect length - just brushing the floor.
Denese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jul 3, 2013

Very feminine...

Size worn: 42R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I attended a Formal Society dance...and thought this dress looked fresh compared to so many formal dresses I've seen. I asked for the size 40 and 42 R...and although both fit, the 40 was tight on my bust...and the 42 was big on my bust, but I safety pinned the side of the bodice, and for the most part, it worked well. Did have to continually pull the front up because the fabric tended to turn down..(I suppose after much use, that shouldn't be a surprise.) Thanks RTR for sending the double sided tape! The dress flows very well, and as others have suggested...you don't have to worry about it fitting your waist. I wore a colorful jeweled necklace with it(predominately blue) and received compliments on my look all night. It's a very feminine dress and I'd recommend renting it if you don't want to look like everyone else!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×