Catarina Bombshell Gown

$38 to buy
$495 retail
Stylist Notes

Look drop dead gorgeous in this Carlos Miele black vixen gown. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Jet Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Brazilian French Sizing.

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust area has a good amount of stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with slightly flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Halter neckline. Ruched body. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(30)
True to Size
(26)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 9, 2014
Drop dead sexy
This was my back up dress and I ended up wearing it because my main choice was not long enough. I am 5'10" and it is very hard to find a dress long enough to hit the floor while wearing heels. This dress hit the target in that category. I wore 3" heels and it just brushed the floor. Felt very sexy in it and received many compliments (mainly from women, oddly enough). Now for the "not so great" for this dress. it is just like every other review says: 1) the top is large (thank goodness I have a DDD bra size), I wore it with one of those stick on bras but could have gone braless honestly. Otherwise, pinning it up behind the neck works well if your hair is down to hide it. 2) The material is VERY see through. Not a big deal in low lighting situations but it did show through in photos with flashes. Bottom line: if I owned this dress, I would definitely wear it again after getting the top altered.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
March 6, 2014
Dress was great. You must be ok with a lot of cleavage showing.
I liked how the dress fit. The gathered fabric was very flattering around the waist where many women are a little self-conscious, however, the fabric at the top moved around all night long. I was constantly making sure things were staying in the dress and covered. I wore sticky, fabric bra cups that clipped together in the middle and, though they worked great for such a low-cut dress, the dress didn't stay put so I was constantly checking to make sure the bra cups were not showing. length was great for a 2 inch heel. Flats would have made the dress drag on the ground.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2015
Very sleek and slimming
The neck line was a bit low
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 19, 2012
Great customer service.
I was advised by my stylist to order a long in small and medium. I wore 3 inch heels but both were too long for my 5'5 frame. I called and spoke with customer service, they apologized profusely for misadvising me and rushed me a small regular, which fit well except that the front was a little too low cut for my comfort- the tape that was provided by RTR worked perfectly. I felt amazing in this dress. Oh- forgot to mention that I was 4 months pregnant at the time. The jersey material hugged my curves well and I felt amazing despite the pregnancy
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
January 24, 2016
wedding reception for good friendw
low cut in front
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, great fit
The dress fit beautifully. It was low cut, but not so low cut that my girls were falling out! I was also glad that it wasn't too tight around my thighs. It really looked beautiful. As soon as I tried it on, I knew it would be perfect for the wedding that I was attending - and it was!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 27, 2013
Attended an Adult Prom with friends.
This dress was very comfortable and I felt amazing. Only negative was the length - I am 5'10 and I would have liked it to hit the floor like the picture shows online. It was about ankle length.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2015
This dress was super sexy yet comfortable.
I usually wear a 6 and this dress fit a tad loose but wearable except the top. I wear a 34DDD and the top was super loose. The halter isn't adjustable and was too long. But I just pinned it to adjust it and it fit. I have long hair do it wasn't noticeable. I wore 4 inch heels which made the length perfect as well. I think a small would have fit better. All around this dress was gorgeous and got loads of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2014
My backup dress that didn't work for me
This is a beautiful dress but please be aware that it definitely is low cut and there isn't any way to tighten the halter to lift it up. I chose this as a backup for a wedding rental and there is no way that it would have been appropriate for a wedding without actually tying the halter to tighten the top. It was way too revealing for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
May 2, 2012
Too stretched out
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in a dress and felt confident that a small would be suited for my shape. But this was completely falling off me. I have an above average cup size but this hung completely loose at the bust. I had to run out and buy a very expensive adhesive pushup bra and tape the dress to it using fashion tape--which gave it a sloppier look than I intended. I got nice compliments through the night, but it was a far more stressful and expensive experience than I had bargained for. I was pretty lucky in that I didn't have to walk very far, otherwise there could have been a total wardrobe malfunction. Also, the material is very sheer--this wasn't necessarily a problem for me, but it's not at all evident from the picture
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
RTR makes everything so easy!
I saw that this dress ran a bit big so I got both the small and the medium. I ended up wearing the medium because the small felt a little tight, but it fit in the top and the length was right. I had to pin the halter back so it would fit and even with 4in heels the dress was still long. Despite the minor adjustments I had to make I loved the dress and the whole RTR experience. The night was amazing and I looked beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
Everyone tell me how gorgeous I looked!
This is a great dress. Very flattering and slimming. The material was great and so comfortable. The halter needed to be pinned a bit in the back to make it fit - but that wasn't a big deal. I wore it with a deep plunging bra and spanx. The long length was perfect with my heels. I got many amazing compliments. I definitely recommend this dress.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 13, 2013
I loved the whole Rent the Runway process, but the dress didn't fit.
This dress was just too long.. I couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2013
It was my first time renting and I was very surprised how easy the whole process was.
It was a little long for me even with my heels but it fit perfectly. The fabric is very stretchy.
Size worn:
36L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
September 21, 2014
Comfortable, but runs large. I had to tie the halter at the neck to take in the slack at the neck.
The fit was large, and very roomy. I recommend going down one size at least.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 23, 2015
I wore this to a military ball- so many handsome men in uniform!!
This dress was gorgeous! The style was very flattering, and the dress itself was very comfortable. I'm a large busted woman, and but this dress covered while still being quite sexy. I am short, and short in my torso (I have issues sometimes with swimsuits), so the halter part was a bit long, but I was able to pull it up and secure with a hairband in the back. I used a halter bra- the strap showed a bit in the back, but I was wearing my long hair down, so it was fine. My measurements put me right at the cusp between medium and large size, but I wore the medium and it wasn't tight at all- this dress does seem to run a bit big, so as the other reviewers say, order smaller than usual.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 27, 2015
The easy rental and return process made getting a great dress for the event so easy. Thank You!
This dress fit perfect. Definitely gave my body great curves because of the design and fit. I was very happy with the length and overall look of the dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×