Sultry Cut Out Dress

$104 to buy
$345 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size130
Small90
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2012
A truly sexy dress that is completely true to size!
This dress is great when you need to be conservative but also want to be a little sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Daring Dress
I rented this dress for New Years and it definetly is for the daring. The straps are very unique but prevent larger chested girls from wearing it as the cleavage pushes the straps from where they should lay on the shoulder, creating a weird bulge. Definetly for ladies B and under. Good as far as length but I ended up not wearing it and buying my own dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Perfect backup/
This was my backup from a BCBG dress that sadly couldn't fit. It was OK. Totally safe. I felt comfortable in it, and that's all that matters, cause I was dancing most of the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2012
LOVE this dress!!!!!
This dress is absolutely amazing! It is so classy but has a subtle hint of sexy. The dress hugged me in all of the right places and I cannot wait to rent it again. To be honest, I would even buy this dress it was so fabulous!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 21, 2012
so sexy
hugged my curves in all the right spots...loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
August 21, 2012
classy but sexy
fit really well, the double strap on one side definitely made it more interesting than any little black dress. But that shoulder strap was a little big on me and slid off a few times throughout the night. overall a good dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 20, 2012
Cute dress
I didn't get to wear it because it didn't fit me properly. I have a short torso so I think that's why it didn't fit right. This was my back up dress anyway so it didn't Matter since my first option fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Got lots of compliments in this dress!
I really liked this dress! I got a lot of compliments in it. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it was a little tight around the rib cage, but it was still comfortable. The slit was higher than I thought it would go, but it never caused a problem. I'd highly recommend renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Nice in theory...
I didn't end up wearing this dress but I wanted to so bad because it is just so beautiful and modern. Unfortunately the cutouts just didn't work with my body. The leg opening was very high (even though I am fairly short) and the shoulder opening was so low in the back that I would not have been able to wear a bra. The shoulder strap was also too long for my torso. Had I worn this dress I would have needed the bigger size but it just didn't work for my body type. I do not recommend this dress for shorter and curvier women, it would have been better on a taller and straighter body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 15, 2012
I was complimented all night on how classy and sophisticated this dress was
I wore this on a date to the Four Seasons for a birthday party and it was perfect! Very chic and sexy at the same time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Sexy and beautiful!
This dress was HOT!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 44
August 14, 2012
pretty, but way off
this dress is really pretty, but, unfortunately, it runs way too small. i am typically a size 4 and ordered a 6 as a back-up. neither fit, and i'd be hard-pressed to believe that an 8 would even fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Cut-outs fall in strange place
This dress runs small compared to other dresses by this designer and the cut-outs fall in all the wrong places for someone with a big bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Great Dress...
This was my backup dress, which I loved. I didn't actually wear it as my original dress I loved as well; however, this was great dress. I'm generally a 4, but based on reviews ordered a 6 for the "assets". Top fit fine but the rest was a little big. Also, at 5:10 this fell to my knee and is sexy but appropriate for more conservative events. Would definitely rent again as a primary dress, but woul dperhaps try the 4 as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 6, 2012
The on-time shipping and the ability to rent two different sizes for the price of one. I think that's the best part of what you offer.
The dress is stunning! Looks great on someone like me who has curves. It's classy and elegant, with a touch of sassy. Comfortable and easy to wear. I recommend it to anyone.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2012
My fiance loved me in the dress!!
Edit: Rented this for a second event bc my first dress didnt work. Size 6 fits perfect and I received lots of compliments. Sexy and classy, you can go wrong! This dress was so fun! I wore to a very upscale wedding in Beverly Hills where celebs were present, and this made me feel glamorous! This dress does run small though, I normally wear a size 2, but ordered the 4 and backup 6 due to other reviews recommending the same. I am so glad I went up a size, as I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 barely fit around my ribcage. Would not recommend for women with large busts bc it was def snug on my smaller bust. This dress hugged my booty and boobs haha!
JulieDecember 5, 2014
Totally agree. I am 105 pounds and ordered the 0 and the 2 and both were WAY TOO SMALL. :( I'm having another dress overnighted. So sad this one didn't work. I'd order 2 sizes up!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2012
Getting to tell everyone about RTR after they commented on my dress!
This dress is perfect for a classy evening when you still want to feel sexy. It did run a bit small (I wore the 2 even though i'm usually a 0), but the bigger size fit really well. I didn't notice in the picture, but the dress is a bit long (well, for a short person like myself), but I still loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 29, 2012
I really wasn't expecting this dress to flatter my body as much as it did, but I was delightfully surprised!
Can I just say... for the price of this rental, WOW. This dress = style + class meets sexy. You really don't see as much leg when you are wearing it dress, unless your stance is like the one pictured on the RTR model or if your legs are crossed. The length is great and I would really recommended it if you have a thin frame. Also, since it's plain black, you can add a pop of color through your shoes and accessories. I am 5'5" and 105-107 lbs., and this dress was able to allude to my assets without showing too much skin!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2012
The dress received many comments!
This dress is very simple yet so elegant! Its my second time renting it and I would rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
February 21, 2012
My date stopped mid-sentence when he saw the dress, to tell me I looked beautiful..
Based on other reviews, I thought this was big on top, small on bottom. I experienced the opposite. I usually wear a 4 & the 4 fit through the hips, but too tight to zip on top. The 6 was loose in the hips & still quite tight on top, but I got them in LOL. I kept fidgeting with the neckline, as it seemed to have extra length on the straps that slipped off shoulder, but tight around chest. I think I noticed it more than anyone, as I received several compliments - the dress is lovely, I just felt very chest conscious at the event, but after dinner drinks at HRH it was more appropriate.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2012
Perfect LBD!
I rented this dress for a NYE party and absolutely loved it! The dress is gorgeous on! I received a lot of comments on the dress and everyone wanted to know where I bought it. Of course mentioned RTR and told everyone to check the website out. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone that is looking for a very sexy and very classy look. Just remember to size up because the dress does run small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 5, 2012
Exciting when box arrives!!! Arrived at 8 am delivery day & packaged nicely
Wore to a NYE wedding & had guests tell me they liked it! Not sure how it would look on a shorter person because of the very high leg slit. Wore w/ a nubra b/c of the back. Wore with black tights & short gray boots. I did have to keep pulling it down b/c it was so fitting, but I think the material is high-quality and flattering. Order a bigger back-up size. VERY happy with my first RTR purchase!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2012
Great dress for taller women
I ordered this dress for a NYE party. Unfortunately I had to return it the next day because it didn't fit. While I love the look of this dress.(The cut outs are fantastic!) It just didn't work for my body type. The shoulder straps wouldn't lay correctly, it was too long for me, made me look boxy. I would totally recommend this dress for the taller ladies!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2012
I will always think of RTR for my special occasions now. Everyone who saw the dress said it looked amazing. Thanks!
I absolutely loved this dress. This was my first rent the runway experience and I have been promoting the website ever since to all my friends. I received a ton of compliments. The dress was elegant but beautiful. I rented a size 4 ( the 6 was sold out) and was a little nervous because of other reviews saying it fit tight. The 4 fit just fine luckily :).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2011
Totally Rocked it!
AMAZING dress! I wore this for a wedding, and I was the envy of every girl in the room. I even outshined the bride! (whoops) Perfect LBD - its unique, classy, and subtly sexy... and comfortable to boot! I danced the entire night. Runs a little snug in the hips, so I had to size up. The slit is quite high, so I tended to sit with my jacket over my lap at the church and dinner. I paired with red 4" heels and a red clutch to spice it up a bit too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2011
One of my Favorites!
Great dress! It was perfect for the party and I received numerous compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 23, 2011
Feeling and looking amazing
I rented this dress for my boyfriends holiday party. It is absolutely amazing. Just the right amount of sophistication and sexiness! I am usually a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. I'm glad I ordered up because the size 4 was too tight on my hips (which are 40") but perfect on my torso and chest! The size 6 fit my hips perfectly and a padded strapless bra helped make the top less big. The slit was a lot higher than it looks in the photo, and it took a little while to get used to, but I would rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
December 1, 2011
great dress, fab friends!
loved this dress. a great twist on the LBD. really sexy but not too much. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the zipper seam kind of popped out in this one spot, in both the size I wore and my back up which was a size bigger. Loved it overall though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
Seriously Sexy & Flattering
This dress is amazing. Definitely size up, as I am a petite 4 and wore the 6. It looked so good, I rented it twice and got so many compliments. Really sleek and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2011
Not as classy as you'd want...
I got this dress after reading the reviews about how fantastic it looked and, I must admit, it wasn't as showstopping as I hoped. I ended up wearing a friends dress after my backup didn't work out either and I must warn you - the slit is much higher than it looks on the model. But I will admit the cut on the back is awesome...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2011
Va, va, vavoom! Very sexy dress. I weigh 125, the small fit like a glove. Fun dress to wear!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2011
Dress runs small. Quality fabric.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding having never worn a dress by this designer before. Though the size 4 fit it wasn't flattering. The seam in the middle didn't hit my natural waist, it was too long and the side slit was awkard. It somehow managed to look trampy and frumpy at the same time. Also, the material wasn't very nice. I ended wearing one of my own dresses
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 26, 2011
I LOVE this dress! I've rented it twice--once for a wedding and once for a big night out. it fits well, is comfortable wear and always gets lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this dress!!! Wore it to a wedding and received many compliments, very sexy without being too revealing. I ordered the size 4 & 6 and the 6 fit like a glove and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 19, 2011
This dress is sexy but elegant. The slit on the back was very pretty. I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner and it made me stand out. My only complaint is that the slit does come up very high on the thigh. Also, plan ahead if you need to wear a bra--you will need to get stick-'ems!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 13, 2011
Loved this dress, even if it wasn't my final choice for the wedding I attended. Plan to rent it again for a date night since it lives up to its "sultry" title! The form fitting was perfect, and I suggest sizing up for your 2nd option. Also recommend a body shaper since this is so form fitting around the waist line. Will rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 8, 2011
This dress was amazing! I weigh around 115 and I got the dress in a size 2 and it fit really well. It was classy, yet sexy at the same time.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2011
Loved the feel and look of this dress. Unfortunately I felt that it ran a bit small and was unable to wear either sized shipped. The slit on the side was very high as well...So not great for a conservative church wedding I was attending. Although I didnt get to wear this dress - I still loved RTR service. They shipped me two new dresses overnight just in time for the wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2011
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a cocktail party and got so many compliments. It definitely runs small. I typically wear a size 2 or 4 in designer dresses, but actually wore this one in a size 6.
See more reviews:
5 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×