Black Halo

Sultry Cut Out Dress

$43 to buy
$345 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off some shoulder with this sexy Black Halo dress. To make a real statement, add on Nicole Miller's Black Crinkle Clutch, AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Crislu's Crystal Tear Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with seam
HIPS: Very fitted - stretch cotton cinches in hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear- wear SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch gabardine. One shoulder neckline with cut out detail at strap. Cutout detail on back. Front vent. Hidden side zip.

Share
227 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(130)
Small
(90)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
October 8, 2013
General consensus: "HAWWWT!"

First things first, I got compliments all night. I did have a few fit issues. Normally I do fine in a size 4 but really wished I got a 6 instead of a 2 as my second size, as the 4 was mighty snug. But because I have a shorter torso, the shoulder part was loose and if I had gone with a 6, I'd have risked a nip-slip due to the cut-out detail. The hem went slightly below my knee but I found myself tugging the skirt down because of the slit, which was well over my upper thigh.This was my first dress since giving birth & I'm still trying to figure out what works best with my body post-baby. While I had my own issues, everyone else-- thought it looked "smokin hot" on me.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2014
Sexy and classy LBD

I wore this dress for a wedding and loved it! It was comfortable and it looked great. The cut out detail in the back is really nice also. It runs a little small (I had to have my friend's husband zip me into it). I still ended up in my typical size, but I would order your normal size and the next size up to be safe. I am also pretty short (like 5'2) and it was still a perfect length. A great dress for when you want to look sophisticated, but still sexy!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 20, 2014
Very sexy but loose straps

Very sexy and shows off shoulders. Very tight in the chest/ribcage (32C/34B), had to move up to a 2 however then the straps were too loose. I had to stand up straight the entire event and I felt like a robot.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 18, 2011

This was such a hot dress! I wore it to my Rehersal Dinner the night before my wedding, and it was sexy, but not overly so. I would say that it was even classy being that it is a LDB. It was a great choice! I ordered both a 8 and a 10, and it was form fitting in the 10. With dresses I buy at Macys, I usually get a 6 or 8. Keep this in mind when ordering! =)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 2, 2011
Great dress, would rent again!

Great dress! I wore it to an evening wedding and received lots of compliments and questions about where I found the dress. It is sexy but not too revealing. I usually don't wear tight dresses but this one was flattering. I did have to use tape to keep shoulder straps in place and to keep from hanging open in front. I am 116 lbs are wore the 6, the size 4 fit but did not hang as nicely as the 6.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2012
Super sexy

Fits like a glove, zero wiggle room, I wish I had the size 4. Not the best for a large bust.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2013
n/a

I thought this dress was so beautiful and simple. Sadly, the dress in both sizes I tried on did not work. It bunched in odd places. I ended up buying a dress at a department store in Dallas.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2013
Was unable to wear, runs small and didnt fit.

Slit high, too small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
Beautiful dress

if you are busty - you MUST size up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2013
Hot dress!

This was a great dress- I felt like Joan from Mad Men in all the possibly good ways about it. The dress from the waist down fit like a glove. (I had gotten a 4 and a 6 and when I pulled the 4 out of the bag, it looked so impossibly tiny, I knew my curves would not get into it). The top fit well, but the shoulder straps kept slipping. I definitely suggest tape to keep them in place! I wore this in Vegas with a bunch of impossibly shapely girls. I felt like I could hold my own against them in this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2014
Terrible dress for me, but RTR is amazing

Fit, fabric and construction were terrible for this dress. Design wasn't as edgy in person as it appeared in all the photos. FIt = INCREDIBLY small. I'm usually a size 6, but am 34DD so the chest can be challenging to fit. This dress runs a full 2 sizes too small, IMO. I rented 6 and 8, but couldn't even zip up the size 8. Terribly deflating. Size 10 may have worked, but jeez... Fabric = Flat. Matte. Thin. Boring. Blah. Construction = Lining pokes out, even when hanging - worse when I tried it on (although too small for me anyway). Design = Was just "ok" in person. Does NOT have a "wow" factor in person, although I thought it was stunning in the pictures. Was incredibly disappointed in this dress all the way around.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 6, 2014
Amazing dress!! I wore it for a charity event and it was perfect.

I usually wear a 6 but Black Halo always runs small. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, but I went with the 8 because it fit a bit better in the hips and thighs. Unfortunately the strap kept falling off my shoulder because it was a tad big on top (I am a typically pear shape). I doubt it would have happened with the 6 but I felt much more comfortable and confident in the 8.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
Lovely

Tight in the hips and one strap needed a pin as it kept falling. Love the dress will rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
August 4, 2014
Cute Dress...just not for me.

Unfortunately I did not wear this dress - the 6 was way too small on the bottom, and the 8 was way too big on the top. Just didn't work for my measurements. Needless to say I was disappointed because the dress itself is awesome. RTR sent me a different dress to wear that was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2014
Pretty dress, but too small for me!

I was hoping that I would be able to fit into a size 8, but it was just a little too snug. I have bigger hips and I just felt it was a little too tight in that area. I should have gone up for the backup size, but it wasn't available. That being said, the dress was very pretty and if I had a size up, I would have definitely worn it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 3, 2014
Back up dress had awkward fit.

The top was too long and the straps didn't sit right. Not for an hourglass figure in my opinion. It looks amazing on the model but I couldn't get it over my hips easily, then when I did the top flopped.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 19, 2015
Awesome Dress!

I had been wanting to rent this for a while and finally did. Now, I'm usually a 2 so this dress runs small as I wore the 4, but, it fit like a glove! It was a sexy twist on a classic, black dress, and I ended up buying it for myself it was so great. The only annoying thing is that sometimes the strap falls down off of your shoulder, but definitely not worth not renting.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2010
The wedding was out of town, and the ease of having the dress delivered to the out of town location and not having to pack it or worry about wrinkles made the experience 20x better!

I absolutely loved this dress and got soo many compliments. I wore it to a wedding and my date said I outshined the bride, oops! The slit is a little high. I wore a slip and had to constantly pull that up and the dress down. But it wasn't anything vulgar, just make sure to cross your legs like a lady! Very form fitting and comfortable, I would recommend it to everyone!

christinOctober 4, 2010
Bah! I know the photographer who took this picture! :) Thanks for reviewing this dress! I just rented it for a wedding for Saturday and I hope it fits! Did you wear a strapless bra or spanx or anything with it?
CDOctober 4, 2010
Sorry I just saw your comment now. I did wear a strapless bra along with spanx. It is a very tight dress. So every little thing shows! Hope you had fun at the wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 24, 2010

Fabulous dress. Super comfortable with a bit of a stretch in the fabric. Hugs you in tight to show off curves. Didn't need to wear a bra or any tape since the dress was shaped in a way that gave my bust a lift (I'm a 32C). Got tons of compliments. Great shoulders was a popular comment. Slit does come up high. Wore thigh high stockings and the top showed a bit when I sat down. Would 100% recommend.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
December 10, 2010

I ordered a 4 and a 6 and wore the 4. Tons and tons of compliments and lots of requests to borrow :) I have a small bust and this dress fit perfectly around the top. My straps did not slide and the slit didn't give me a problem. I wouldn't recommend wearing anything like spanx underneath, the slit is too high. Rent this dress-you won't regret it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2011

This dress is awesome. I got so many compliments. This was my first time ordering and it came perfect. I'm usually a size 4 but I also ordered the 6 anyways just in case. The size 4 fit great. I think it's cause I have a small bust (34A).

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2011

This dress was perfect! My. 1st time renting and it was a flawless experience. Will def do frequently. Def best for small breast. Fit like a glove. I ordered the 0, crazy! But the 2 fit like it was made for me. I'm 5.21/2, 123, 45yr and have an ass and thighs and it clung nicely because the fabric is so nice. That's the dif between cheap and designer, cut and fabric. The spilt was not at all high as others have said, maybe for taller women. It was elegant & sexy. The room was full of 100+ beautiful women and I had on the best dress. The BD girl kept telling me I wasn't supposed to look beter than her! I got crazy compliments! RTR is my new BF.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
March 17, 2011

i absolutely love this dress & wish it was available for purchase. All night long i received nothing but compliments on the dress and how stunning I looked in it. I would so rent this dress again and again!!!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
March 30, 2011

I didnt get to wear this dress b/c it was my back up dress. I tried it on and absolutely fell in love!!! The size 0 fit perfectly!!! I will be ordering again for a wedding I am attending in June.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
April 4, 2011

Not a good fit for me - too big on top if I wore the size that fit my hips, and too small on the hips if I wore the size that fit my top. Bummer - was a unique cut & I wanted so badly to wear it. I could have worn the smaller size if I weren't self-conscious about my backside being showcased by the tightness of the dress, but I was.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011

I wore this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! Sexy yet conservative at the same time.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011

Overall, a great rental experience. I ordered a 6 and an 8 and the 6 worked great. I felt sexy and classy all at once, which was perfect for the wedding I attended. My one complaint was that being an active dancer, the dress rode up and I had to keep pulling it down. That may be due to my body shape, which is definitely hour glass. That said, the material and structure and comfort of the dress were excellent! I'd rent it again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 11, 2011

This dress was amazing! I wore it for a work event and got a ton of compliments, even from people I didn't know! It is form fitting but runs true to size. I loved it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011

Absolutely LOVED this dress!!! Wore it to a wedding and received many compliments, very sexy without being too revealing. I ordered the size 4 & 6 and the 6 fit like a glove and was very comfortable.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011

I rented this dress for a wedding having never worn a dress by this designer before. Though the size 4 fit it wasn't flattering. The seam in the middle didn't hit my natural waist, it was too long and the side slit was awkard. It somehow managed to look trampy and frumpy at the same time. Also, the material wasn't very nice. I ended wearing one of my own dresses

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2011
One of my Favorites!

Great dress! It was perfect for the party and I received numerous compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2012
I will always think of RTR for my special occasions now. Everyone who saw the dress said it looked amazing. Thanks!

I absolutely loved this dress. This was my first rent the runway experience and I have been promoting the website ever since to all my friends. I received a ton of compliments. The dress was elegant but beautiful. I rented a size 4 ( the 6 was sold out) and was a little nervous because of other reviews saying it fit tight. The 4 fit just fine luckily :).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2012
Great dress for taller women

I ordered this dress for a NYE party. Unfortunately I had to return it the next day because it didn't fit. While I love the look of this dress.(The cut outs are fantastic!) It just didn't work for my body type. The shoulder straps wouldn't lay correctly, it was too long for me, made me look boxy. I would totally recommend this dress for the taller ladies!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2012
The dress received many comments!

This dress is very simple yet so elegant! Its my second time renting it and I would rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 29, 2012
I really wasn't expecting this dress to flatter my body as much as it did, but I was delightfully surprised!

Can I just say... for the price of this rental, WOW. This dress = style + class meets sexy. You really don't see as much leg when you are wearing it dress, unless your stance is like the one pictured on the RTR model or if your legs are crossed. The length is great and I would really recommended it if you have a thin frame. Also, since it's plain black, you can add a pop of color through your shoes and accessories. I am 5'5" and 105-107 lbs., and this dress was able to allude to my assets without showing too much skin!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Great Dress...

This was my backup dress, which I loved. I didn't actually wear it as my original dress I loved as well; however, this was great dress. I'm generally a 4, but based on reviews ordered a 6 for the "assets". Top fit fine but the rest was a little big. Also, at 5:10 this fell to my knee and is sexy but appropriate for more conservative events. Would definitely rent again as a primary dress, but woul dperhaps try the 4 as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Sexy and beautiful!

This dress was HOT!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 15, 2012
I was complimented all night on how classy and sophisticated this dress was

I wore this on a date to the Four Seasons for a birthday party and it was perfect! Very chic and sexy at the same time.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
August 21, 2012
classy but sexy

fit really well, the double strap on one side definitely made it more interesting than any little black dress. But that shoulder strap was a little big on me and slid off a few times throughout the night. overall a good dress!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 21, 2012
so sexy

hugged my curves in all the right spots...loved it!

See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×