Black Halo

Red Jackie O Dress

$52 rental
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Black Halo style offers a simple silhouette in a gorgeous glamorous red dress. Great for a work event or every day sophistication.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

118 reviews

Fit
Small 37
True to Size 79
Large 0
Photos 39
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Sep 19, 2012

The color of this dress is amazing!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit of this dress runs really really slim around the waist. I would recommend going up a size or maybe even two sizes. Also if you are shorter than 5'5" this dress will definitely go past your knees.
Brianna21
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Great gala dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a gala. I ordered both a size 2 and 4 - the 2 was a little snug and the 4 was loose, so I ended up wearing the 2. The color was great and the length made it totally business appropriate. The top was a little tricky even with a strapless bra - I ended up using a bunch of tape to make sure everything stayed in place. Overall, I was very pleased with the dress and would highly recommend it.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Very pretty, classy sheath dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Didn't fit me because I ordered a size up hoping it would but it must run true to size because I needed a 4
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Great dress, very flattering with my hourglass figure.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a not so formal wedding. Based on the prior reviews dress is a tight fit so went up on size, normally a 6 or 8, some people could wear the 8 but I like to breath while Im out, had to wear a 10. The belt was a bit old and may be time to exchange. Got tons of compliments!
DomiNique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Love this dress. I felt awesome wearing it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great dress for tall women. It is a classic look.
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

I wore this to a large family anniversary party and it was a hit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very slim fit, definitely order a backup size if you haven't worn it before. Beautiful, versatile dress.
Jammers
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

I wore this for a Valentine's day event and received many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I thought the fit was very flattering, but would not have worn this without heels, being I'm only 5'4. One call out - you might have to wear a bra with one strap on/one strap off due to the cut of the neckline. Sorry no pics!
Maria
Age: 40
Nov 21, 2012

LOVE this dress, but not for my height or as a rental.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a work event and at 5'3" this came to the middle of my calves, not just below the knee. I wanted this dress to work so bad, but sadly it just isn't meant to be. It made my top half look great and bottom half frumpy. Because of my height, length is critical. It can't be too long nor for work too short. I may look for this for sale though as I can get it hemmed. At the right length it will be a perfect dress for future occasions.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Felt so sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size, Fitted and shows all your curves! Very flattering dress.
kuta-san
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2012

Dress is a lovely style and can be work for work as well.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Although this dress is very pretty - it was a little snug. I ended up purchasing this dress from Black Halo, because I loved it so much, and when I got the size 6 from the manufacturer - it fit perfectly! Definitely a dress to rent if you want to be noticed - I wear it to work conferences.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Great color but go up a size or two!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and was so excited to wear it but when it showed up, neither of the sizes I ordered (6 and 8) fit. I should have ordered 2 sizes up, at least. I ended up having to find something else to wear in my closet because the lower section of the dress was too snug.
SMJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

I was so excited to rent this for a work event, but sadly, I never got to wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
After reading reviews, I decided to rent up a size. Regrettably, the size 2 was still too snug to wear to a professional function. I will definitely try it again in the size 4.
melanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 10, 2013

Comfortable and everyone loved it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Honestly it fit perfect. It is true to the picture with cut-out and wear they all lie. The belt is perfect and it is easy to accessorize.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Love, love, love this dress!! Sleek and sexy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit perfect and is so professional, yet sexy. My only complaint is that I don't own this dress, I might have to get it
Sara D.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Wonderfully sophisticated and chic

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a semi-formal work dinner, and it was perfect. It is seriously tight, so don't expect it to cover any flaws. Spanx were a must.
Bev
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Very slimming - makes you look like a model.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore dress this with a faux leopard jacket to lunch with a client at a very upscale New York restaurant. Right away she commented on how much weight I'd lost, how I looked like a model. I will definitely rent this dress again - and the same one in black.
salt
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

I loved this dress! The color was gorgeous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up going with the size 0 instead of the backup size 2. I was worried that the dress would run small but it is very true to size. I am 34x24x34, 32D and it was snug in some places but was very flattering!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

GORGEOUS and APPROPRIATE.. who knew?

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my second choice dress, and I ended up going with it because of the length and coverage since it was still winter weather. I was a museum event opening, and received many compliments on the dress from the other patrons. It was perfectly curve hugging, the material was pretty thick, and the detail at the necklines made this dress unique. A great dress, I would HIGHLY recommend.
Bonnie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

It did not fit :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was soooo dissapointed I usually fit a 6 no problem, I even got an 8 as a back up and could NOT zip it up. I had to return it. :(
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Mar 14, 2013

Adorable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore for bachelorette party, got LOADS of compliments. A little snug, but a great dress overall.
CC
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Wore this to a holiday part at my dates job. My date loved it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Sexy yet classy. Ended up buying a duplicate dress later!
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Sexy and elegant all in one. A percent dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The red is beautiful and the fit is perfect. This dress makes a statement without trying hard. I got so many compliments. It would be a great dress for so many occasions. A date, a party or a semi formal affair.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

VERY form fitting...but FANTASTIC!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Literally didn't stop getting compliments the ENTIRE day. Cannot say enough good things about this dress. Holds you in, creates a gorgeous feminine shape, and is a beautiful color!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 18, 2013

I received so many compliments on this striking red dress! Heard "it fits you like a glove" over & o

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It's a very fitted dress but I typically wear a 6 and it hugged me in the right way.
Misty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Best dress at the wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in red for a yacht wedding. Holy smokes it was gorgeous. I received a ton of compliments and was actually told by several folks there that it was the classiest/best dress of the night. It is a little longer than cocktail length if you are short like me (I'm 5'3) but with some heels it works. Unfortunately RTR didn't have the back-up size 6 available and they sent the dress without the belt. I asked them if they would send the 6 in the black version and they refused. Anyhow, the dress came and I had eaten a burger the night before the event and could not zip up the dress. However, the next morning, it fit, barely with some spanx. It is very body hugging so I recommend going a size up. I ended up fitting in the 4 but would have been happier in the 6. I have since tried on this dress in the 6 to buy (because it really is that great of a dress) and it fit much better. I wish I had a full body shot of the dress, but unfortunately I wasn't thinking and only have neck up shots, not worth sharing to help others see the fit. But...even in those shots, people have commented about the stunning neckline. Rent this dress ASAP.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Classic elegance

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous Jackie O - Style elegance. Perfect length, not a mini style cut like so many dresses out there. matured elegance. I've seen it several times on TV by celebs. Brilliant color. SO AWESOME AND FOR A SUPER REASONABLE RENTAL FEE!
stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 25, 2013

Great dress, only problem was that the dress shown in the picture did not come with the dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very form fitting dress, but looks great on!
Melanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
May 2, 2013

classy and beautiful

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is so cute and classy. It's comfortable to wear, though it does run small. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and had to get an 8 and it was still snug, but not uncomfortable. Paired with some black heels and a little clutch and it looked amazing.
NYC Fashionista
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2013

AMAZING DRESS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I received so many complements from my friends and family! Definitely, going to rent it again in another color. Sophisticated and elegant, yet sexy and chic! :)
VK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Show Stopper!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was amazing. Runs small so order a size larger. Wore this to a work function. The color is vibrant and stands out. Received lot's of compliments. I would buy this dress to own it. Seems to be a popular dress; the one I received looked slightly worn, but only I could tell looking at it up close.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 14, 2013

Runs small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I own and have rented several other Black Halo dresses and have had perfect fits before. Unfortunately this dress ran quite small and I was unable to wear it to my event. Should have sized up. Beautiful color and nice fabric quality though.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 19, 2013

Lady in Red!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Perfect for a work function that will transition into the night. Loved this dress, unfortunately it was a little tight so I highly recommend that you order up a size. Other than that, gorgeous :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

damaged by previous renter

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't get to wear this. The day before it was supposed to arrive RTR called to tell me that the renter before me returned the dresses (both my primary and backup size) damaged. RTR tried so hard to find me a replacement in time but there was nothing appropriate left in my size at the last minute. I had to wear a dress I'd worn several times before out of my closet. Not the point of using RTR. Please be courteous of your fellow renters and take care of these dresses! We all want the opportunity to wear them.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Nice color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Dress was not flattering unfortunately.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Great color and flattering fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I've been trying to rent this for months now - so glad that I got the chance to wear this for an out-of-town work conference, including time on stage. Not sure how they do it - apparently a combo of cut and fabric - but this is one of the most flattering dresses ever. Luckily the size I ordered fit because the size up and down were otherwise occupied. I went with a strapless bra so as to not worry about the neckline slipping down and showing a strap and glad I did. Only thing: The belt did not come with it. Would be really good to let us know in advance that the belt is not included. Luckily I travel with several belts that worked great of my own.
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Received a lot of compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a work Christmas party - dress code demanded we were red. The dress fit great and true to size. I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It is very classy, but still a fun party dress.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Awesome dress. Didn't have the size I needed.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I own this dress in another color and was so excited to wear the red one to a luncheon in February. Unfortunately, the 0 came & was way too tight, didn't have a 2 & the 4 I ordered was not returned/was unavailable. I ended up wearing Zac Posen & got tons of compliments. As usual, RTR team was right on it & had the substitute here the next day!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Charity Fundraiser

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is classy and I received compliments from both women and men! In fact, I liked it so much that I have since purchased it myself! I have an hourglass'ish figure and felt that it was perfect for my body type.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Super Cute but did not fit could not get past hips, but this was the back up dress so it worked out

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Sorry no pics could not fit past hips. But it looks super cute and sexy. Hot little number for sure.
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Stole the show at my White Coat Ceremony for Medical School!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted a pow! yet professional dress for my medical school's White Coat Ceremony. The dress was stunning. I received TONS of compliments. A MUST RENT.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×