Black Halo

Red Jackie O Dress

$52 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Black Halo style offers a simple silhouette in a gorgeous glamorous red dress. Great for a work event or every day sophistication.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Red Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
119 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(80)
Small
(37)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
Stole the show at the Convention!
I rented this for the Republican National Convention in Tampa in August. I wore it for the final night and received MANY compliments! Everyone had something to say about the "red dress" ;) A friend said she saw me on TV many times, she said the dress was eye catching.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
The color of this dress is amazing!!
The fit of this dress runs really really slim around the waist. I would recommend going up a size or maybe even two sizes. Also if you are shorter than 5'5" this dress will definitely go past your knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2012
Great gala dress!
I wore this for a gala. I ordered both a size 2 and 4 - the 2 was a little snug and the 4 was loose, so I ended up wearing the 2. The color was great and the length made it totally business appropriate. The top was a little tricky even with a strapless bra - I ended up using a bunch of tape to make sure everything stayed in place. Overall, I was very pleased with the dress and would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
Very pretty, classy sheath dress.
Didn't fit me because I ordered a size up hoping it would but it must run true to size because I needed a 4
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2012
Great dress, very flattering with my hourglass figure.
This dress was perfect for a not so formal wedding. Based on the prior reviews dress is a tight fit so went up on size, normally a 6 or 8, some people could wear the 8 but I like to breath while Im out, had to wear a 10. The belt was a bit old and may be time to exchange. Got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2012
Perfect for a work event!
I wore this Black Halo dress for a party to celebrate my organization receiving a Tony Award. This was the perfect mix of conservative and fun -- ideal for a work event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
November 12, 2012
I wore this to a large family anniversary party and it was a hit!
Very slim fit, definitely order a backup size if you haven't worn it before. Beautiful, versatile dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 16, 2012
I wore this for a Valentine's day event and received many compliments!
I thought the fit was very flattering, but would not have worn this without heels, being I'm only 5'4. One call out - you might have to wear a bra with one strap on/one strap off due to the cut of the neckline. Sorry no pics!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Sexy yet elegant
The dress is snug through the waist and hips. The color is vibrant and the dress structure is classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
Felt so sexy!
True to size, Fitted and shows all your curves! Very flattering dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 13, 2012
Loved it!!
I got the size 6 and 8 just to be safe, since the reviews that I read mentioned the dress being true to size. The size 6 was actually a little loose, and it was longer than I expected. Overall, I loved the dress and received many compliments throught the evening. I actually wanted this dress for a holiday party in 2011, but it was unavailable. I ordered this dress in early October this year just so I could have it for my holiday party this year!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Dress is a lovely style and can be work for work as well.
Although this dress is very pretty - it was a little snug. I ended up purchasing this dress from Black Halo, because I loved it so much, and when I got the size 6 from the manufacturer - it fit perfectly! Definitely a dress to rent if you want to be noticed - I wear it to work conferences.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
Exquisite dress. The material, fit and unique neckline made for a stellar RTR experience.
I rented this dress to wear to my office holiday party. I had tried it on at Nordstrom before renting it so I knew a sz 10 would work best. Normally I wear a sz 8 pant and in a former Badgley Mischka rental I wore a sz 6. Safe to say, this dress definitely runs small. However, the material is TO DIE FOR. I wore spanks to smooth out imperfections in my bum and tummy area. The skinny belt accentuated my waist and I received many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 27, 2012
I was so excited to rent this for a work event, but sadly, I never got to wear it.
After reading reviews, I decided to rent up a size. Regrettably, the size 2 was still too snug to wear to a professional function. I will definitely try it again in the size 4.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2013
Comfortable and everyone loved it.
Honestly it fit perfect. It is true to the picture with cut-out and wear they all lie. The belt is perfect and it is easy to accessorize.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 23, 2013
Love, love, love this dress!! Sleek and sexy
This dress fit perfect and is so professional, yet sexy. My only complaint is that I don't own this dress, I might have to get it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 27, 2013
Wonderfully sophisticated and chic
I wore this dress for a semi-formal work dinner, and it was perfect. It is seriously tight, so don't expect it to cover any flaws. Spanx were a must.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
January 29, 2013
Classy in red
I loved this dress! You definitely need some Spanx if you're not super fit, but it is beautiful. It's very classy and the neckline is so unique.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 4, 2013
Very slimming - makes you look like a model.
I wore dress this with a faux leopard jacket to lunch with a client at a very upscale New York restaurant. Right away she commented on how much weight I'd lost, how I looked like a model. I will definitely rent this dress again - and the same one in black.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2013
GORGEOUS and APPROPRIATE.. who knew?
This was my second choice dress, and I ended up going with it because of the length and coverage since it was still winter weather. I was a museum event opening, and received many compliments on the dress from the other patrons. It was perfectly curve hugging, the material was pretty thick, and the detail at the necklines made this dress unique. A great dress, I would HIGHLY recommend.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 19, 2013
It did not fit :(
I was soooo dissapointed I usually fit a 6 no problem, I even got an 8 as a back up and could NOT zip it up. I had to return it. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2013
I wore this dress to my company's Product Launch Party, it was a huge hit!
After reading the reviews on this dress I decided to wear it to my company's Product Launch Party. The dress was a perfect mix of sexy and business ( aka a very rare thing ). I ordered a size two and size four, planning on wearing the four. Unfortunately, the size four was to big around the waist but fit my upper body/chest perfectly. I ended up wearing the size two which fit great in the waist but was a little snug up top. If you are thinner girl with a larger chest I would recommend getting a size smaller along with your normal size just in case. Overall, the dress was a complete hit! I received so many compliments that I ordered another "for keeps" this time in navy blue. It is a great dress to have for any business event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2013
Gorgeous Color!
Perfect fit, gorgeous color. This dress is a steal at this rental price!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
March 24, 2013
Sexy and elegant all in one. A percent dress.
The red is beautiful and the fit is perfect. This dress makes a statement without trying hard. I got so many compliments. It would be a great dress for so many occasions. A date, a party or a semi formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 17, 2013
VERY form fitting...but FANTASTIC!
Literally didn't stop getting compliments the ENTIRE day. Cannot say enough good things about this dress. Holds you in, creates a gorgeous feminine shape, and is a beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2013
Best dress at the wedding
I rented this dress in red for a yacht wedding. Holy smokes it was gorgeous. I received a ton of compliments and was actually told by several folks there that it was the classiest/best dress of the night. It is a little longer than cocktail length if you are short like me (I'm 5'3) but with some heels it works. Unfortunately RTR didn't have the back-up size 6 available and they sent the dress without the belt. I asked them if they would send the 6 in the black version and they refused. Anyhow, the dress came and I had eaten a burger the night before the event and could not zip up the dress. However, the next morning, it fit, barely with some spanx. It is very body hugging so I recommend going a size up. I ended up fitting in the 4 but would have been happier in the 6. I have since tried on this dress in the 6 to buy (because it really is that great of a dress) and it fit much better. I wish I had a full body shot of the dress, but unfortunately I wasn't thinking and only have neck up shots, not worth sharing to help others see the fit. But...even in those shots, people have commented about the stunning neckline. Rent this dress ASAP.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2013
Great dress, only problem was that the dress shown in the picture did not come with the dress.
Very form fitting dress, but looks great on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2013
Great, fitted dress, runs mega small though!
This is truly beautiful dress, I felt like a Joan from Mad Med with it. Hugs all the right places but the length keeps it professional. However, and this is a big but, the dress runs incredibly small. Previous reviews say it runs true to size but that was not the case for me. I'm a standard size 6 and the 6 felt more like a 2. The size 8 took a bit of hustling to get into (two spanx, a day of fasting and my roommate), but it looked amazing. Got a ton of compliments and generally just felt amazing. Beware of the size, the dress is stretchy enough that a larger size won't sag, also be weary of the arm holes, the cut is a bit low and your bra (or spanx!) could be showing at any moment! All that aside, I don't regret the rent.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2013
AMAZING DRESS!
I received so many complements from my friends and family! Definitely, going to rent it again in another color. Sophisticated and elegant, yet sexy and chic! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
June 3, 2013
Perfect balance between business and party
I ordered this dress for my office fundraiser event and it was a huge hit!! compliments all evening. fit like a glove and was professional yet sexy and fun!!! size was tight but true to size, the belt was not included in first shipment but when i called RTR's 1800 number they shipped it overnight and i received it at 9am the day of my event!! PERFECT!!!! thank you!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
August 28, 2013
So Classy!
I ordered this dress as a back up for my engagement party and ended loving this one the most. This was such a gorgeous dress in person and so flattering. Wish I could have kept this dress forever!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 19, 2013
Lady in Red!
Perfect for a work function that will transition into the night. Loved this dress, unfortunately it was a little tight so I highly recommend that you order up a size. Other than that, gorgeous :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2013
damaged by previous renter
I didn't get to wear this. The day before it was supposed to arrive RTR called to tell me that the renter before me returned the dresses (both my primary and backup size) damaged. RTR tried so hard to find me a replacement in time but there was nothing appropriate left in my size at the last minute. I had to wear a dress I'd worn several times before out of my closet. Not the point of using RTR. Please be courteous of your fellow renters and take care of these dresses! We all want the opportunity to wear them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
This was my second time renting from RTR and once again they came through.
I wore this dress for a fund raiser. I received allot of compliments and was asked where I purchased the dress. I ordered two sizes, 2 and 4. I got a call from RTR saying that the size two had returned to them damage beyond compare and that I was allowed to pick another dress of my choosing at no additional cost. So they sent me the Rachel Roy / Pencil Me In Sheath black dress in size two. Turns out that the size two was two small for me anyway and I had wore my first choice dress after all in size 4. I loved how it felt and was glad that it came just below my knees. I bought a black patent leather belt to match my shoes and that was it. The cut at the top of the dress draws attention in a positive way. It makes people ask who the designer is and where was the dress purchased. Over all, it was perfect. Thanks RTR! I will be seeking you guys again for future events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2013
Nice color
Dress was not flattering unfortunately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 4, 2014
I was the bombshell of the night!!!
Fit like a glove....glad I got the 10 though because the 8 would've been far too small in the hips and bust area. Also, if you've got a big bust like I do, its a tad small on the armpits over the bust area....even fashion tape couldn't help cover my bra :( But the boat was dark and nobody seemed to notice! Loved this dress; wanted to keep it!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
January 16, 2014
The fit was perfect but be warned.... mine did not come with the black belt! Thankfully I had one.
I wore it to my boyfriend's work party. The perfect combination of sexy and classy. It's great for tall girls because it was actually knee length on me and I am very tall (hard to find these days). The material had a right amount of stretch so even though it's a tight fit all the way down to the knees I could still walk and sit just fine. Goes well with a red Ferrari :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2014
Great color and flattering fit
I've been trying to rent this for months now - so glad that I got the chance to wear this for an out-of-town work conference, including time on stage. Not sure how they do it - apparently a combo of cut and fabric - but this is one of the most flattering dresses ever. Luckily the size I ordered fit because the size up and down were otherwise occupied. I went with a strapless bra so as to not worry about the neckline slipping down and showing a strap and glad I did. Only thing: The belt did not come with it. Would be really good to let us know in advance that the belt is not included. Luckily I travel with several belts that worked great of my own.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 17, 2014
Received a lot of compliments
I wore this dress for a work Christmas party - dress code demanded we were red. The dress fit great and true to size. I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It is very classy, but still a fun party dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Age: 32
March 18, 2014
It was perfect for our engagement pictures. Classic and chic
It was a little tight. But with a pair of spanx fit perfectly. I wore this dress recently for my travel themed engagement pictures and absolutely loved it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×