Black Halo

Red Jackie O Dress

$52 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Black Halo style offers a simple silhouette in a gorgeous glamorous red dress. Great for a work event or every day sophistication.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Red Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
119 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(80)
Small
(37)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
October 11, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress. I requested the 8 & 10 sizes and found that the 10 was a better fit. I got compliments from men and women on the color and the style. Wherever you wear this gorgeous creation you will be an attention grabber!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
October 12, 2010
This dress is an attention grabber! The only problems I had were with the bust part - a bit big for small chested girls. I used 3 pieces of hollywood tape to make sure the top part stayed in place. It's also more form fitting than I thought it would be. I got a size 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 2. I'm usually a 0 in dresses and 2 in pants size.
SaimahJanuary 24, 2012
how did it fit in length? I'm 5'2 too and I'm afraid that it will be too long.
RTRJanuary 26, 2012
Hi Saimah! If you are 5'2" this dress will hit you at your mid to lower calf!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2010
This dress is sexy without being revealing and is very flattering. It brightened up a conservative winter wedding otherwise full of black dresses.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 115
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2010
What a power-dress:0) I rented this dress for an important luncheon, also attended by an attractive ex. If looking for a dress with appropriate, yet uninhibited sex appeal, this is certainly the dress. The v-cut top did, however, go just a bit lower off-side on the chest than I was imagining. That said, the off-centered placement was cleavage-free;0) AMAZING dress for featuring AND creating feminine curves; quite possibly one of my favorite dresses ever...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2011
I loved, loved, loved this dress. I rented the black one the week prior and loved that one also but this dress makes a statement. I wore it to a holiday party and people are still telling me they loved the dress. The size 2 was a little snug but fit better than the 4. And I used my own patent leather skinny belt and it looked nicer. The dress is sexy without being too revealing and a very unique collar which is attention getting.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 1, 2011
I love the design of this dress, but unfortunately, it just didn't fit my body right. There was some weird poochiness on the lower belly (below the belt) and the fabric is not very forgiving, so if it doesn't fit like a glove, it shows. Great color and very edgy, modern shape, but not for me. My roommate, however, who is much shorter and curvier than me, ended up wearing it and looking fabulous- you must have good shapewear, though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 28, 2011
LOVED this dress. Size 0 fit like a glove, I am very straight and narrow. The style, color, and length of this dress are all flawless and exactly as it looks in the picture. I wore it as the keynote speaker at a charity event and I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
March 4, 2011
I loved the dress ! Its a tiny bit snug yes , but its fit and color are a show stopper!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2011
This dress is a real knock-out. I usually wear a 6 or 8, I rented the 8 and it fit like a glove. While the length is conservative, the color and the way the dress hugs your body give it a real pop. Definitely considering purchasing the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 22, 2011
Great first experience with RTR. As stated, it is very form fitting. It's a great shade of red and I received many compliments. Very sophisticated yet complimentary. I wore this to a family wedding and felt that I was dressed my age yet conservative enough for the family.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 9, 2011
LOVED this dress to death. I wore it to a film wrap party and went for a Mad Men-esque look, with the Deco Is Back earrings and Picasso Crystal Cuff and let me tell you - sure fire hit! Dress fits great - I got an 8 and 10... could have worn the 8 if I felt like being really tight with the cloth, but being that there was a lot of dancing and breathing that needed to happen, I went with the safer 10. Still hugs your curves, nothing pops out, and makes you feel like a million bucks. My only complaint: beware the belt! Mine looked a little worse for wear, and it wasn't the right size. I remedied with a quick trip to H&M, but it would have been nice to get the original in working condition without the runaround...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2011
Perfect Business Dinner Dress
This dress is amazing! I loved the fabric, the cuts & seams. The red is bright, just like in the picture. I am 34', 25", 34" and the size 0 fit PERFECTLY! The length was just as the model is pictured.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2011
Perfect Power Dress
Wore this dress to a conference. It was a great alternative to wearing a suit and extremely flattering. Love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2011
This process was so simple & hassle-free, the price is right, and the reactions at the event were worth all of it! From dress comparisons on the site, to ordering, to receiving all four dresses on-time and in great shape, to the Fit Guarantee, to the prepaid return envelopes.... who WOULDN'T use RTR for their next big moment?!? :)
I had seen this dress on many celebs, so imagine my excitement when I found I could rent it for a single-wear occasion for an excellent price! As soon as it arrived in the mail (right on time!) I couldn't wait to try it on. It was snug in all the right places, and I was stoked! I ordered an 8 and 10, and the 8 fit well, but the 10 allowed me to breathe... and eat dinner. ;) Still, it looked like a 6 on me, and made me feel like I was breaking necks when I walked into a room! Will definitely rent this one again... different occasion, different color? (Gonna be hard to top the man-eater red!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Fits like a glove
This is a perfect red dress that will make an impression. The cut is very flattering and the neckline makes it interesting. A normal bra would show so I ended up going bra-less and felt very comfortable. I just rented it again in black.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
February 23, 2012
all eyes stayed on me while we dined. huge ego boost!! thanks RTR!!
Total knockout!! Color, retro cut, simple, stunning. You'll completely channel MadMen. True to size. Wiggle fit but comfortably movable - holds it's skim perfectly. I was running late & wanted to switch out to skinny leopard belt & pumps, but wore bk ralph lauren heels & a red badgley mischka clutch. dress was uber comfortable & femme fatale. it will add a wiggle to your swagger!!
KarenNovember 7, 2012
Gorgeous look! Great fit!
rebeccaNovember 7, 2012
Thank you, Karen. Def worth renting again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 2, 2012
LOVE!!!
Amazing dress!! I received SO many complements and felt so comfortable all day in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2012
I rented this dress for my bridal shower, which was 60's themed. I felt great in it and everyone said it was perfect for the theme.
I rented this dress for my bridal shower, which was 60's themed. I felt great in it and everyone said it was perfect for the theme.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2012
It was very exciting waiting for the dress to arrive in the mail. I am happy it fit and will definitely be renting again soon, very soon.
I rented this for my college graduation ceremony and party. It was a fantastic dress!!! I received compliments all night. The dress was very form fitting, and comfortable; definitely great for girls that want to show off their curves :) It was a very complimenting dress.
KristyNovember 19, 2012
You look great. If not too personal, I wanted to know how the waist/ stomach area fit. Trying to decern if this would be attractive w/ someone (e.g. me) with a tummy could pull this off?
JulieDecember 10, 2012
It is a tight fitting dress. I'll be honest, I don't have a flat stomach so I wore spanx to help smooth out the lady lumps :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 17, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Sophisticated, sexy, and all-around perfect. So many compliments. I would wear spanx though to smooth out the shape of teh dress
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2012
LOVED this dress!
Loved this dress! Fit like a glove and was just beautiful! Had strangers coming up to me to tell me how beautiful they thought it looked on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2012
*
I have been coveting this dress ever since I tried it on at Saks a year ago. I told myself that my reward for losing weight before my wedding (in addition to looking great in the photos) was that I could rent this dress for my rehearsal dinner. Well I did and it was great - so figure flattering though I did need a little fashion tape to keep my bra from showing under my arm.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 16, 2012
Class Reunion
I own this dress in a more neutral color and ordered this just as a backup to another RTR dress. Good thing I did! This dress fit perfectly and got lots of compliments. Its a great day to evening look and very versatile.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2012
Fancy
I wore this dress for a holiday party and everyone loved it. It fits true to size and is very comfy to move it. I recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
August 17, 2012
Everything from the on time delivery to the easy return.
This dress was absolutely perfect. The fit, color and style won high praises at the event that I attended.
RTR CustomerNovember 4, 2012
Is that YOUR closet?? ;-)
kikiNovember 8, 2012
to answer the question from the RTR Member.. yes that is my closet.
kikiNovember 8, 2012
just had it built a few months ago ...Love it !
MarleenDecember 4, 2012
it's bigger than my bathroom...lol...Love it!
AdelaJanuary 16, 2013
Love the way the dress looks on you & I certainly love the closet! Having closet envy here! I can only imagine the huge floor to ceiling mirror you must have on the side we can't see! :-)
AndreaFebruary 19, 2013
Would recommend this for an Air Force graduation? I want something classy, but not to dressy.
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Hi Andrea! I think this would b a great pick for an Air Force Graduation! It is very classy and not too dressy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 23, 2012
grest dress
I loved the dress. The color is even better in person. Very flattering fit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 26, 2012
Can't go wrong
I LOVED this outfit! I felt like a million bucks. It fit perfectly and looked professional.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2012
All night I was asked to be photographed by several local media, professional photographers and fashion bloggers. I was on a first date so my squeeze couldn't help but be impressed at the splash we made!
Wore this to a Mad Men party and it was a total hit! It was quite snug so be prepared to pour yourself into it if you're hour glassy - but the result is spot on. Very flattering shape! I was complimented and photographed all night - even for some fashion blogs!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 30, 2012
amazing dress
Fit perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 22, 2012
Loved it
Great dress!! Loved it and it fit perfectly!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 14, 2012
Great Mad Men dress!
I wore this dress for a Mad Men-themed party, and it was perfect! Sexy but classy, especially with the longer length. I ordered a 2 and a 4. While the 2 fit, it was pretty tight and I wanted to be able to dance with ease. I ended up wearing the 4, although it was a little loose in the waist. I wore my hair up, and I think it was nice to show off the interesting neckline. I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2012
Great gala dress!
I wore this for a gala. I ordered both a size 2 and 4 - the 2 was a little snug and the 4 was loose, so I ended up wearing the 2. The color was great and the length made it totally business appropriate. The top was a little tricky even with a strapless bra - I ended up using a bunch of tape to make sure everything stayed in place. Overall, I was very pleased with the dress and would highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
Very pretty, classy sheath dress.
Didn't fit me because I ordered a size up hoping it would but it must run true to size because I needed a 4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2012
Perfect for a work event!
I wore this Black Halo dress for a party to celebrate my organization receiving a Tony Award. This was the perfect mix of conservative and fun -- ideal for a work event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
November 12, 2012
I wore this to a large family anniversary party and it was a hit!
Very slim fit, definitely order a backup size if you haven't worn it before. Beautiful, versatile dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 16, 2012
I wore this for a Valentine's day event and received many compliments!
I thought the fit was very flattering, but would not have worn this without heels, being I'm only 5'4. One call out - you might have to wear a bra with one strap on/one strap off due to the cut of the neckline. Sorry no pics!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
Felt so sexy!
True to size, Fitted and shows all your curves! Very flattering dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 13, 2012
Loved it!!
I got the size 6 and 8 just to be safe, since the reviews that I read mentioned the dress being true to size. The size 6 was actually a little loose, and it was longer than I expected. Overall, I loved the dress and received many compliments throught the evening. I actually wanted this dress for a holiday party in 2011, but it was unavailable. I ordered this dress in early October this year just so I could have it for my holiday party this year!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2013
Comfortable and everyone loved it.
Honestly it fit perfect. It is true to the picture with cut-out and wear they all lie. The belt is perfect and it is easy to accessorize.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 23, 2013
Love, love, love this dress!! Sleek and sexy
This dress fit perfect and is so professional, yet sexy. My only complaint is that I don't own this dress, I might have to get it
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×