Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(68)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 28, 2012
Flattering and a great color
I must say this dress is very forgiving in the stomach area. However, it runs large so I felt like I was swimming in it. Despite the dress being too big I still got tons of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2012
No love for this Vday dress
I rented this dress for a Valentine's party. Way too much fabric to really show off your figure. The color was more orange-red than true-red. Not a fit for me.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2012
My birthday started out crappy but this dress fit so well and made it all better :D
I used the double-sided tape that came with the dress for the shoulders because the material slips at the shoulders. Overall a great dress, I loved it and the color was perfect!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2012
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding... my husband would not let me out of the house in it !
This dress is SUPER short. I am only 5'4 & my husband said it was inappropriate. Is a def rent for maybe a bachelorette party or something where no family members would be around. This dress is def for a busty person. If my chest was not this large it would be droopy in the front. Gorg dress, wish I could have worn it !!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2012
I wore this dress for my sorority's recruitment.
I loved the way it flattered my body shape. Many people gave me compliments. It was a true red color too which I was happy about. The only problem I had was the one piece on top didn't stay in place very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
Was very easy to rent wear and return!
I loved the color, very bright and stand out. It felt a little short however I think I'm just not used to wearing the style of dress. The material was great. The fit was true to size, came on time and very easy to return!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2012
This dress is vibrant and super soft. I was comfortable the entire night while looking great in red.
The small was too small and the medium left me with a little wiggle room. I think that the dress may hang better on someone with a larger bust. The material is reall soft and slinky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
The dress was such a bright red - it really made you pop and stand out!
Everything fit me true to size (XS) except for the length. I have a bigger butt, so the length on me was a lot shorter than on the model. Other than that, the bust, waist and everything else fit perfectly! I really liked the layering of the dress, it added some interest. I rented this dress for a charity event, so I covered my shoulders up with a little gold shrug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
This color really made the dress.
The rouching wasn't my favorite but I loved the color of this dress. Also a little on the shorter side but it did an alright job of staying in place all night. Might be better for girls who aren't too curvy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
December 16, 2012
I love RTR and will rent again, just not this designer.
I ended up not wearing either size. Poorly constructed dress already ripping at the seam when I took it out of the bag. The dress is extremely short and if you are busty this is not a good dress for you. The empire waistline did not leave much room for my boobs. Would not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2012
I was complimented on how I looked from behind as much as from the front
I read the reviews and ordered my usual - M - and an S for the free backup as previous reviews indicated this ran large. For a true hourglass shape, however, I'd say this is just the right amount of material. But with any dress I run the risk of not enough give in the hips or bust. Plenty of room in the bust with an M, barely enough for the bottom. The dress is extremely short - which was very fun for this night but something to be aware of especially for big bottomed girls like myself. There's gorgeous gathering in all the right places but a seam down the back, which meant I was pulling on it all night to make sure the seam lined up correctly. That said, when it did line up it was super sexy and gorgeous. Husband was told by many that I'm getting more beautiful as I age and that kind of compliment can't be beat. I wouldn't order this dress again and am glad I didn't purchase it, but that's what is great about renting! The red was more orange than expected (but looks pink in these photos) so beware. I felt beautiful all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Wasn't able to wear it
While the dress is cute and looks adorable on the model I didn't end up wearing this to my family Christmas party. I ordered the small based on all of the reviews with the medium as my backup size. The medium was unavailable for my date but I ordered anyway. The dress that came did fit. However it was tighter than I was comfortable with for a family event. I'm only ft tall and the dress was short even on me and quite tight on my backside. Had I been going out for a night on the town it probably wouldn't have bothered me but for a family gathering it just didn't feel right. Overall the dress is cute but it just wasn't right for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
SHORT.
My backup size was suddenly unavailable for a dress I rented, so RTR kindly suggested I try a different dress as a backup. Thankfully, the dress I ordered fit. This dress was incredibly short (I'm 5'10"). I was not wild about the hand of the fabric either. It felt very polyester-y. The drape in the back was unflattering. Not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 16, 2013
Standing out in photos because of the vivid red dress shade!
The dress fit true to size, possibly even a little on the roomy side, most notably in the bust. Very comfortable and cute dress; I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2010
Great Party Dress
I LOVE THIS DRESS! Very flattering, and the ruching on it hides any little bumps and bulges but shows off my figure. Great for any curvy girl out there! The dress has no stretch, so make sure you dont order it small. I may buy this dress, I LOVE it!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
October 5, 2010
Gorgeous dress, beautiful color. Fits true to size and like others have said, the draping hides body flaws. I agree with the other reviewer that said this dress is not for larger busts. Also agree that since the dress has no stretch to it, order your normal size and then one up. Very happy with the dress and the whole rental experience!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2010
LOVE this dress! it is the perfect basic, but more exciting than a LBD. I got compliments all night! It is also the perfect canvas for fabulous jewelry!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2010
I agree with most of what has already been said it’s very slimming, very forgiving and no stretch. I also agree that right side drape "pops-up" and I do not have a full bust. The color is vibrant…this is a stand-out dress! I received so many compliments while wearing this. My only suggestion would be order the size you think you are and then one size up. I’m a TRUE size 4 but I have hips so I thought by ordering the small (size chart says that’s a 4-6) and I felt it was a tad too small with no give.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
November 1, 2010
First, this dress came up in the "full bust" search, it is not for a full bust. Unfortunately, this dress fit poorly, and I would say it's not for curvy girls. The problem for me is that one size fit everywhere but the bust, and the larger size fit the bust, but was baggy everywhere else. I showed my roommate the dress on me, then when I showed her the dress on the model in the picture she laughed. I would say that if you are straight up and down or have hips but a small bust, this dress would fit you perfectly. Not for full bust, and not for apple shape though.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
November 9, 2010
I was highly disappointed with this dress. Instead of classy draping, the fabric hung awkwardly and made me appear bulkier than I am. My boyfriend actually bought me another dress to wear to the event because he too was so disappointed in how this one looked. Both sizes that I ordered had the same draping issue so it was not a matter of the wrong size. Not worth it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2010
Its a beautiful dress but did not compliment my body type at all. The lenght was great, it made my legs look sexy but not my arms and bust area. I recommend this dress for smaller bust.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2010
The color of this dress is gorgeous. I am a size six and rented the medium and large, both of the dresses ended up not fitting. They looked awful on. This dress is not flattering on someone with hips, it made my waist look small but made my hips look enormous! I returned this dress ASAP and went out and bought another one for my event!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2010
This dress is stunning for a curvy figure and you will definitely stand out in a sea of black cocktail dresses (I wore to a fall wedding)! I was uncertain of what size I should order due to my standard size, the size chart and reviews saying it ran small... I generally would get a Medium, but after looking at the size chart it was indicating a Small, yet peoples reviews were making me lean towards a large (mostly because of my boob size). A fit specialist suggested I get a Medium and Small -- good thing I listened to her, I ended up wearing the Small. The Medium was DEFINITELY too big, and when it wasn't tight the dress looked extremely sloppy... when tight it was tailored and beautiful!!! I received many compliments and am happy I ordered it. My only complaint is that the fit kit that I never received would have come in handy to keep a few spots in place (I was fidgeting a lot with the lining).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 1, 2010
I REALLY wanted to like this dress because it had a pretty neckline. I tend to be a size 4 but have a booty, so I ordered this dress in small and medium. The small fit in width... however, it was INCREDIBLY short. On me, it seemed shorter than on the model in the picture. (I'm not sure how that's possible as the fit notes say the model's 5'10" and I'm a whopping 5'3".) It was not a classy look, as it was tight, short and RED. When I tried on the medium, the layers all sagged down in a really unflattering way. I showed both sizes to my husband and my best friend. Both are generally very kind in their opinions of how I look but, in this case, they agreed that the dress was truly hideous on me. So... for what it's worth, this may not be the best choice for petite girls with a butt. I will say, however, that the fabric was very nice and silky. The dress just didn't fit me in a nice way.... On a positive note the dress arrived a day early and, when I called RTR to say the dress didn't fit, they immediately credited my account so I could order a different dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2010
I was very disappointed by this item. The material was a far less vibrant red, and looked cheap. The crossover draping in the chest area also didn't fall as pictured at all. I sent it right back.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
December 26, 2010
I tried VERY hard to like this dress. I'm usually a size 0, so I got the dress in both XS and S and hoped that the bad reviews would only pertain to curvier girls...false. This dress didn't look good on me, either! I ended up wearing the dress to my event, but only because it was a formal event that required graduating seniors to wear RED...and of course I had NO other red dresses. The dress looks totally different on the model than it does in real life...from the draping to the neckline, which I had thought would be a lot sexier and lower. Sizing was not an issue because the dress fit fine...just didn't look great. The dress came extremely wrinkled and even after steaming, just didn't cut it. I wish I had opened my box sooner and tried it on so I could have returned it for a refund. Hopefully my next dress will be more successful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 28, 2010
Loved it! I'm usually a size 4 and the small fit perfectly. Large busted women may need to go up a size as I am a lg B and it barely fit my chest, although I had plenty of extra room in the waist and butt. The ruching provided a flattering drape. It was a bit shorter on me than shown in the model, but lots of compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
Fabulous dress. Very happy I went with it for New Years. It hides anything you might want hidden but it also shows off curves. I actually used some double stick tape to tape down the draping on one side to fix the issue with it "popping up". Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2011
the dress came and was better than i expected!! i felt beautiful:)
absolutely loved this dress! while it did make me look a little big, it was because i ordered a large like i usually wear, but i should have ordered the medium. eitherway, the entiree night i got so many compliments and my confidence was through the roof (a rarity for me). the color was just stunning, and even though i am pretty pale it still looked vibrant and did not wash me out. especially for the price, this dress is definitely definitely a hit. if someone is skeptical about buying this, then i hope the best for you and if this dress boosts your confidence like it did mine, then i'm sure you are going to be a happy girl for w/e occasion this is for. loved it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2011
This dress was fabulous! It fit just right and was quite comfortable. It was a little shorter than I anticipated, but that was not a problem. For having smaller curves, the dress accentuated perfectly. My boyfriend was a big fan. Would definitely rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 10, 2011
This dress looks a lot better in the picture than in person. I was planning on wearing it to a weeding, but it was way too short and tight in some areas and baggy in other and the red a deeper red looking. This dress might be fine for a romantic night out but NOT a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 12, 2011
Not for me...
I rented this dress for new year's eve but was not able to wear it. It would have fit perfectly if it weren't for my huge chest. I wear a 36D and the bands that go across the chest did not sit right. I ordered a L and M but didn't even bother trying on the M. Beautiful dress but I think it's more for smaller-chested women.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2011
terrible dress. looked like a red potato sack. i am clearly not made to wear drapping.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 17, 2011
I didn't really like this dress and ended up not wearing it. The material is not flattering and it falls short even for someone as short as me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2011
if you have a long torso, then I do not recommend this dress because it will not hang quite right at the top. I was totally bummed because it looks great in pics. Good thing I had an awesome back-up dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2011
I have a 34" inseam, so this dress looked obnoxiously short on me. Luckily, I rented a backup, which was worn. This dress is too expensive to look cheap, but that was the outcome. Would probably look great for clubbing or a hot date night out, but this was definitely too short to every be considered classy on a tall girl like me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2011
This is a beautiful dress. But I agree with some of the other reviewers...the right side strap/sash does not lay down flat. I had to keep pulling it down all night. Maybe my chest was too big for it. I wore this for a weekend away with my husband. He loved it. The dress fits true to size. I wore the 4. I loved that you could wear a regular bra with it. It was definitely short on me though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2011
The dress was ill-fitting, to put it nicely. The draping looked more like saggy material and the draping was so thick it added size to my ribcage, which was the OPPOSITE effect I would have expected based on other reviews. Overall, this dress was a FAIL to me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
March 11, 2011
Because of previous reviews, I thought this dress would be a knock out. However, this was not the case. The fabric seemed and felt cheap. Ended up NOT wearing it at all. Pretty disappointed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
April 10, 2011
Very disappointed in this one. It looks great on the model but when I tried it on the ruching was not as pictured- I almost thought RTR sent me the wrong dress. It was very droopy and the overlay on the bust area would not lay flat. The fabric, in my opinion, was of poor quality and the dress was way too short on me.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×