Black Halo

Red Carpet Dress

$21 to buy
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Black Halo takes a simple silhouette and gives it a bold makeover.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8,10; Size L=12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red shiny jersey. V neckline with draping detail at shoulder. Side ruching detail on body. Draping detail on skirt. Hidden side zip. 36" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

116 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 68
Large 20
Photos 27
LHannagan
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Sexy and beautiful! This dress is a gorgeous color and made me feel very confidant wearing it. The draping is forgiving and the ruching up the back very flattering. My only complaint is that even without a bra, the sash on the right side kept wanting to 'pop up' instead of drape flat. Not for full bust figures. Still I received many compliments!
Amy
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Oct 5, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous dress, beautiful color. Fits true to size and like others have said, the draping hides body flaws. I agree with the other reviewer that said this dress is not for larger busts. Also agree that since the dress has no stretch to it, order your normal size and then one up. Very happy with the dress and the whole rental experience!
JLH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 11, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! it is the perfect basic, but more exciting than a LBD. I got compliments all night! It is also the perfect canvas for fabulous jewelry!
Michelle
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 13, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I agree with most of what has already been said it’s very slimming, very forgiving and no stretch. I also agree that right side drape "pops-up" and I do not have a full bust. The color is vibrant…this is a stand-out dress! I received so many compliments while wearing this. My only suggestion would be order the size you think you are and then one size up. I’m a TRUE size 4 but I have hips so I thought by ordering the small (size chart says that’s a 4-6) and I felt it was a tad too small with no give.
Klair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Oct 13, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I was not impressed with this dress at all. When I put it on for one the draping on the top was messed up and the pleating design on the skirt was completely gone so the dress overall looked strange and poorly made. The ruching does help a lot though overall with any flaw that might occur, I ended up not wearing this dress, but I did try it on to see how well it appeared. The photo does way more justice than in person though.
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Nov 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
First, this dress came up in the "full bust" search, it is not for a full bust. Unfortunately, this dress fit poorly, and I would say it's not for curvy girls. The problem for me is that one size fit everywhere but the bust, and the larger size fit the bust, but was baggy everywhere else. I showed my roommate the dress on me, then when I showed her the dress on the model in the picture she laughed. I would say that if you are straight up and down or have hips but a small bust, this dress would fit you perfectly. Not for full bust, and not for apple shape though.
Emily
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
You will definitely stand out in this dress. I wore this dress to a black tie event although most of the women wore cocktail dresses. I had many people come up and complement me on the dress. Although this dress is fairly true to size, make sure your second dress is one size up. I am usually a 10, but thought the medium was too snug and ended up wearing the large. I did not have any problems with the bust area being too loose. I loved this dress and would likely rent again!
Buttercup
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Nov 9, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I was highly disappointed with this dress. Instead of classy draping, the fabric hung awkwardly and made me appear bulkier than I am. My boyfriend actually bought me another dress to wear to the event because he too was so disappointed in how this one looked. Both sizes that I ordered had the same draping issue so it was not a matter of the wrong size. Not worth it!
NMG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 10, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Its a beautiful dress but did not compliment my body type at all. The lenght was great, it made my legs look sexy but not my arms and bust area. I recommend this dress for smaller bust.
CKB
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
The color of this dress is gorgeous. I am a size six and rented the medium and large, both of the dresses ended up not fitting. They looked awful on. This dress is not flattering on someone with hips, it made my waist look small but made my hips look enormous! I returned this dress ASAP and went out and bought another one for my event!
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is stunning for a curvy figure and you will definitely stand out in a sea of black cocktail dresses (I wore to a fall wedding)! I was uncertain of what size I should order due to my standard size, the size chart and reviews saying it ran small... I generally would get a Medium, but after looking at the size chart it was indicating a Small, yet peoples reviews were making me lean towards a large (mostly because of my boob size). A fit specialist suggested I get a Medium and Small -- good thing I listened to her, I ended up wearing the Small. The Medium was DEFINITELY too big, and when it wasn't tight the dress looked extremely sloppy... when tight it was tailored and beautiful!!! I received many compliments and am happy I ordered it. My only complaint is that the fit kit that I never received would have come in handy to keep a few spots in place (I was fidgeting a lot with the lining).
Mariam A.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 23, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Unfortunately didn't have any success with this dress. I ordered both a M and L, but neither were very flattering. I am very curvy and the draping made my hips even wider, and cameflogued my waist. My experience seems to be unique as many other reviewers were pleased with their dress.
Nessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Dec 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I REALLY wanted to like this dress because it had a pretty neckline. I tend to be a size 4 but have a booty, so I ordered this dress in small and medium. The small fit in width... however, it was INCREDIBLY short. On me, it seemed shorter than on the model in the picture. (I'm not sure how that's possible as the fit notes say the model's 5'10" and I'm a whopping 5'3".) It was not a classy look, as it was tight, short and RED. When I tried on the medium, the layers all sagged down in a really unflattering way. I showed both sizes to my husband and my best friend. Both are generally very kind in their opinions of how I look but, in this case, they agreed that the dress was truly hideous on me. So... for what it's worth, this may not be the best choice for petite girls with a butt. I will say, however, that the fabric was very nice and silky. The dress just didn't fit me in a nice way.... On a positive note the dress arrived a day early and, when I called RTR to say the dress didn't fit, they immediately credited my account so I could order a different dress.
MImi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 5, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
The color, style and material are great. I agree with the other comments about it not being great for people with larger busts, as I did have to adjust the sash a bit. I also think this dress is better for longer torso ladies, because I felt that all of the ruching around the middle was a little much on my very short torso. Overall, the look is stunning, and I can't complain about the complements that I got when I wore it.
elbretado
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Dec 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful in peron BUT maybe because I am short, I felt it layed better on the model in the picture. I ordered a size small and medium as a backup and I fit into both just fine but ended up wearing the small. This dress is fun and very classy, I wore it to my husband's military ball and I got many compliments on this dress. The color is also very true to the picture its a bright fire engine red. I wore it with 5 in black velvet heels, pearls, and rd lipstick. Although I am short I still managed to wear this dress well. It is also very forgiving especially after a 3 course meal, the ruching on this dress is incredible and is tucked in all the right places.
Simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 23, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I was very disappointed by this item. The material was a far less vibrant red, and looked cheap. The crossover draping in the chest area also didn't fall as pictured at all. I sent it right back.
Lilli
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Dec 26, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I tried VERY hard to like this dress. I'm usually a size 0, so I got the dress in both XS and S and hoped that the bad reviews would only pertain to curvier girls...false. This dress didn't look good on me, either! I ended up wearing the dress to my event, but only because it was a formal event that required graduating seniors to wear RED...and of course I had NO other red dresses. The dress looks totally different on the model than it does in real life...from the draping to the neckline, which I had thought would be a lot sexier and lower. Sizing was not an issue because the dress fit fine...just didn't look great. The dress came extremely wrinkled and even after steaming, just didn't cut it. I wish I had opened my box sooner and tried it on so I could have returned it for a refund. Hopefully my next dress will be more successful!
holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 27, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress did not work with my bust line. The fabric looked cheap and did not hang as it shows in this photo. I would never rent it again. I didn't even wear it.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 28, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it! I'm usually a size 4 and the small fit perfectly. Large busted women may need to go up a size as I am a lg B and it barely fit my chest, although I had plenty of extra room in the waist and butt. The ruching provided a flattering drape. It was a bit shorter on me than shown in the model, but lots of compliments all night.
Julz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Fabulous dress. Very happy I went with it for New Years. It hides anything you might want hidden but it also shows off curves. I actually used some double stick tape to tape down the draping on one side to fix the issue with it "popping up". Great dress.
LINATdK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was fabulous! It fit just right and was quite comfortable. It was a little shorter than I anticipated, but that was not a problem. For having smaller curves, the dress accentuated perfectly. My boyfriend was a big fan. Would definitely rent this one again!
Kates
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 10, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress looks a lot better in the picture than in person. I was planning on wearing it to a weeding, but it was way too short and tight in some areas and baggy in other and the red a deeper red looking. This dress might be fine for a romantic night out but NOT a wedding.
Jamilet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 12, 2011

Not for me...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for new year's eve but was not able to wear it. It would have fit perfectly if it weren't for my huge chest. I wear a 36D and the bands that go across the chest did not sit right. I ordered a L and M but didn't even bother trying on the M. Beautiful dress but I think it's more for smaller-chested women.
Dana
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 13, 2011

Overall fit: Large
terrible dress. looked like a red potato sack. i am clearly not made to wear drapping.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't really like this dress and ended up not wearing it. The material is not flattering and it falls short even for someone as short as me.
Pancake
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2011

Overall fit: Small
if you have a long torso, then I do not recommend this dress because it will not hang quite right at the top. I was totally bummed because it looks great in pics. Good thing I had an awesome back-up dress!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
It was really cute, but I couldn't wear it. I have a large chest (32 DD) so the seam that is supposed to run under the bust ran straight through mine, If I pulled it down to where it should have been it made it super low cut. So... with it being so short and having to pull it down in oder for the seam to be where it should have been, I didn't look very "respectable". I would have loved it if I had a smaller chest!
KJM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I have a 34" inseam, so this dress looked obnoxiously short on me. Luckily, I rented a backup, which was worn. This dress is too expensive to look cheap, but that was the outcome. Would probably look great for clubbing or a hot date night out, but this was definitely too short to every be considered classy on a tall girl like me.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't love this dress- I wore it to an event I planned, so I picked this dress because of the thick straps and because the material looked like it would give a little. First off, it's actually a pretty heavy dress, and there isn't really any stretch to it. The drapping around the bust made it a bit awkward (but I'm a larger 34C so that could've been it), and it wouldn't have stayed in place if it wasn't for dress tape! It's also a bit awkward on the side of the dress, I think it's probably better for someone super tall or a bit shorter.
smith6al
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 16, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I was so excited to wear this to a friend's rehearsal dinner but then was so disappointed when it arrived. This dress would be perfect for a night out in Vegas, but was not appropriate for a nice sit down dinner. It is very short, you could get away with the front but the gathering on the back makes it uncomfortably short. If you're looking for a get up for clubbing or the Jersey Shore- this is your dress. If you want to be classy or even classy with a bit of an edge- choose something else.
lizbe
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
Feb 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a beautiful dress. But I agree with some of the other reviewers...the right side strap/sash does not lay down flat. I had to keep pulling it down all night. Maybe my chest was too big for it. I wore this for a weekend away with my husband. He loved it. The dress fits true to size. I wore the 4. I loved that you could wear a regular bra with it. It was definitely short on me though!
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was ill-fitting, to put it nicely. The draping looked more like saggy material and the draping was so thick it added size to my ribcage, which was the OPPOSITE effect I would have expected based on other reviews. Overall, this dress was a FAIL to me.
Summit
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 27, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Runs small on taller people and thus is extremely short. It was unwearable without risking arrest. Size up appropriately.
Tina
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Mar 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Because of previous reviews, I thought this dress would be a knock out. However, this was not the case. The fabric seemed and felt cheap. Ended up NOT wearing it at all. Pretty disappointed.
Amberlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I hate to say it but I DID NOT like this dress. :( I'm a petite person and it made me look HUGE. Also, I rented this item before the more elaborate product details portion of the website so I did not realize it was shiny jersey. It was not suitable for the daytime event I was attending. I think this dress would be great for women with beautiful curves! :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×