Jacket Belted Dress

$50 rental
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The perfect interview dress or great for any cocktail affair, this Black Halo style is simple, classic, and elegant with a chic touch added by the jacket-like collar.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted in the bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted in the bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Square neckline with collar detail. Cap sleeves with gathering detail. Includes leather belt. Hidden side zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
53 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(26)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2014
Fabulous dress, wonderful friends and lots of dancing.
The dress was a perfect fit, and was very flattering. I looked amazing which made my night even better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
Classy & stylish.
I wore this for a work event (Museum exhibition opening) and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2014
I felt like a million bucks!
I wore this for a retirement party - the dress is just such a classic LBD but with some interesting structure. The overall fit was tighter than I would have preferred and I'm usually a a true 4. Overall, the dress was beautiful - I wore nude heels with it which in hindsight, was a mistake. Black heels would have been better - I made the nude choice due to the trend at the time and the fact that it was a daytime event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 15, 2013
This is a lovely dress. I wore it for my MBA clas photos and received so many compliments.
The fit runs small. Make sure you order the size you normally wear and one size larger.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 18, 2013
Great classic dress!
This is overall a great tasteful dress. I actually wore it for a funeral and it was perfect. I'm glad I got the size 2 as my extra size because it runs a little small. I'm pretty straight and narrow and the 0 wouldn't even zip. I probably could have gotten away with a 4. My only criticism is that I felt like the top part stretched out as the day wore on so I felt like I needed to pull it up. Also, a strapless bra is needed with this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2013
Perfect fit!
The dress fit like a glove! I loved that you can wear it to a professional event or a party. It gives a conservative look while looking sexy at the same time! Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
Fits small, definetly order a size up.
I wasn't able to wear either of the sizes I ordered.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 5, 2013
Amazing dress!!!!
Received many compliments. Felt like a million bucks. Will rent again if the occasion arised. Very flaterring. Excellent craftmanship. Delivered in impecable condition. Dress worth buying.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 8, 2013
The dress is great and looks exactly like the photo.
Great fit. I am 5'2 and the skirt comes just below the knee. Great pencil skirt style and tight high waist gives a super flattering shape!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2013
I rented this dress for an event in a church and needed something conservative yet special.
The dress fits great. It was conservative yet still sexy. I was nervous I was going to have to constantly be pulling up the top so it wasn't too revealing but the neckline stayed in place, as did the sleeves. The only negative was that it didn't come with the belt, but luckily I had a belt that matched perfect! I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 30, 2012
Elegant and classy.
Used this dress for my father in laws funeral. Very classy, loved the length and the collar. It was a bit tight in the ribcage and the belt had seen better days. I would give it 4 stars but the belt needed to be replaced.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 25, 2012
MBA Graduation
A little tight in the bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 17, 2012
I'm 5'11 and the dress grazed my knees, really fitting
Kinda tight on my hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
This dress is outstanding!
Runs a bit small through the hips but if you don't mind a snug dress - this is perfect for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
December 10, 2012
Classy and clean! This dress is a great fit and will give you a tiny waist!
I LOVED this dress!!! The fit of the dress will give your body such a great shape. It has a structured fit which makes your waist look tiny. I really just loved how clean and put together this dress looked. It was a little snug throughout the ribcage (thats why I said it runs a little small). I will definitely be renting more Black Halo dresses in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2012
Loved this Black Halo dress for the interview portion of a pageant. I got so many compliments
I would suggest ordering a larger size as abackup, its a tight fit in the bust!
AndiJanuary 11, 2013
I love your little yellow belt where did you find it?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 17, 2012
runs small...could not get into it
runs small...could not even get into it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
I did not end up wearing the dress.
Too small in the bust for small but busty women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2012
It was a beautifully cut dress.
Unfortunately, it did not fit. They only had back up size 2 available which was not the back up size I needed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Perfect fit! was so pleased with the way it fit my body! Love, love, love!
I def thought I was going to wear the size 6 but the 4 fit like a glove. So happy with the way I looked! Felt great, and the legnth hit me right at the knee, perfect for a Sunday wedding. I would def retn this dress again for another affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 5, 2012
Perfect for work event
I got a lot of compliments on this dress, which has a classic, flattering style. I work in a somewhat conservative industry and wore this to our holiday party. It was a great length on me, but I wonder if it might be a little long on someone shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2012
the dress was pretty but just did not work for me.
i have a large bust but the bust of this dress was realy big and i could not fill it out while the rest of the dress ran small.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Amazing dress for a business networking event
This was my first time using rent the runway and I was extremely pleased with my dress selection. I got so many compliments that night. The dress did run a little small but it looks amazing on. It looks very professional and sexy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 13, 2012
Great dress for a work cocktail event.
I'd say the only thing that makes the dress run a little small is that the zipper is a little rigid. I think I could have closed the 2, but I couldn't get the zipper to cooperate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
Great customer service!
This was a back-up dress to one that was no longer in stock. It's a nice twist on the LBD, it fit well, ran true to size, but i stuck with my 1st choice dress for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
August 22, 2012
Sleek and Professional
I wore this to a work holiday party and received so many compliments. It is elegant and just a bit sexy while still being quite professional. The cut is slimming and very flattering.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 17, 2012
I rented this dress along with another one for $25. It's great price for quality. Dresses arrived on time and it was just a very smooth experience for me! Will definitely be renting more! Love RTR!
I rented this dress to try out RTR and for no particular occasion. I wore it for work for a meeting. I absolutely loved the dress and it fit like a glove! I felt elegant and kinda made me look taller. I feel like renting it again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
nice
was pretty, but too tight around the rib-cage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 14, 2012
Hot and classy!
Loved this suit, great fit, great for any event where you want to be sexy yet classy and confident.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 10, 2012
Perfect
Great for a work function or interview!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 10, 2012
Unique, Professional
Gorgeous, but beware:the slit in the back was so high, it showed my underwear! My usual size 6 was too small. If you're busty or hippy, I'd go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
February 17, 2012
Not for Big Busts
I'm a zero with 34C bust. Larger bust than most with my frame. I could not zip this dress (side zip). It was a good inch from closing at the top. Very cute, but be aware if you're large chested. The rest fit well, not even snug (waist, hips, etc). Very cute though! Would have been perfect for my husbands awards dinner for work!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2012
Classy & gorgeous
Wore this to a nice date night in San Fran. I wish I would have taken a picture - the neckline/shoulders are interesting and the waistline is flattering even though its tight fitting.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2012
Received many compliments!!
This is so perfect for someone who is taller and has a very small waist, but larger "assets." I loved this dress so much i actually ended up buying it somewhere else online. The ONE thing I strongly recommend is a long slips since this dress is not lined on the lower section, which is strange for a quality brand. Regardless, this is a fantastic dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 22, 2011
The dress was perfect for both job interviews and a visit to the Magic Castle! The kind of dress you need to OWN <3
This dress is fantastic! I ordered a 2 and a 4 as my back up, worried the 2 would be tight based on other reviews. The 4 was large but the 2 was divine! The dress is beautifully constructed and fits like it was custom made. It's a little long but I purchased hem tape to bring it just below knee length. I wore the dress for job interviews, with a conservative heel and it was perfect. Wore it again later with sky high platform pumps for a totally different look. I would purchase this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2011
Loved it!
This dress was amazing. I received so many compliments. The neckline is very flattering. The 10 fit like a glove, probably closer to an 8.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 7, 2011
Very easy to rent and return.
I wore this dress for a 1940's theme party. It looked great. I usually wear a size 2, but the 4 fit better. The top half of the dress runs small while the bottom half of the dress runs large. Would have rathered it be more form fitting in the skirt, the 2, but the top ran so small & I have broad shoulders I had to go with the 4. I'm 5'5" so the dress fell longer than on the model. Probably mid-calf. My measurements are 36", 27", 36", and a B cup. I hope this was helpful:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 21, 2011
Love this dress
I rented this dress for a big meeting for work and I loved it. Professional, fashionable, and comfortable. I normally wear a 6 or 8 in dresses, and this dress ran true to size. The material is solid, yet has some give, and the 6 fit like a dream. I'm 5'8" and 145 lbs with a muscular, hourglass shape, and my boyfriend commented that the dress made me look "built." The size 8 was a little loose around my waist, but probably fit my larger shoulders a little easier than the 6, so it was a game time decision. I wore the 6 and spent the day on trains and in meetings in perfect comfort. Because of how well the garment is constructed, though, either dress would have worked perfectly.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
The slit goes too high in the back, so be careful if you are renting this for a work or other professional function. It literally showed my bum, and I could not wear it to my function.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
Being 6', I was worried about the length on this dress. But it was a perfect knee-length, just as shown on the model. At the time of my rental, only the size 10 was available and I am always an 8. So I took a chance and just as others have said, it does run small fit like a glove and I'm glad I went a size larger! It fits very snugly in the ribcage area, so beware if you're considering this dress. I wore it to a chic private dinner in New York and every person commented on how beautiful it was, especially the fit. Thanks Rent the Runway and don't forget to keep adding some knee-length wear for those of us over 40! Loved this one.
PangelineNovember 29, 2012
I am so glad you suggested knee-length wear for us more mature ladies. All the dresses are so short that I have little to choose from. Your comment was very informative for me. Thanks
Tall+ChicDecember 11, 2012
And you wrote your comment on my birthday, no less! :) I agree...RTR, please add some longer-length cocktail dresses (though not floor length). Not everyone is 25 years old, or necessarily wants to show as much skin.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×