Cut Out One Shoulder Dress

$49 to buy
$400 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a bachelorette party? This one shoulder cut out detail dress by Black Halo will stop traffic. Girls night out never looked so good!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black polyamide crepe. One shoulder neckline with seaming detail. Cut out detail on side of bodice. Skirt hits at 18" from natural waist. Model's height is 5'8".

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size34
Small34
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
Gorgeous dress, sexy but not too revealing. Loves It Would definitely wear it again or recommend it!
It was a little loose around the top but I am a small chested woman. But overall great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2012
Turning heads with revealing, yet tasteful, cutout dress!
Overall, the dress was a hit! However, it was longer than I expected. I'm 5'3" and it almost hit my knees. I rented it over another Black Halo dress because I thought it was shorter--need to look at models heights a little more closely. The length ended up slimming me though and the cutout was perfect for a Fraternity Semi Formal on Bourbon Street. Definitely runs small, I'm glad I ordered one size up because I ended up wearing the 6. I matched it with yellow Kate Spade earrings for some color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
Felt fancy for a nice date with my husband
Good choice given the last minute rental. Nice quality fabric and the dress is lined, which makes it easy to wear underwear. I wore a cup-only stick-on bra for this (not the one RTR sells, a different one). I am not sure a strapless bra would have worked, would depend on the cups & strap width. Could probably have done no bra. I liked that it was not too short, since it was already revealing on the back & side. But the fabric is not stretch, so it did not fit as well as I'd hoped. The top was nice and snug as it should be, but the waist left a little pooch of extra fabric that just hung there. The backup size (8) was too small, so I went with the 10. But, husband thought I looked nice & overall I felt good in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 2, 2012
Great summer party dress....with a twist!
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was my back up dress and I opted for another RTR Herve dress instead. I felt like this dress was a little more casual and would have been great for a night out during summer. The fabric is thick but in the cotton family. Very sexy...this one remains on my list for the perfect ocassion. Although it fit fine, I have hips so it was a little snug in that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Super Cute Dress
Super Long. I did not wear this dress because of the length. Fit was true to Size length was very long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 11, 2012
Loved this cut out dress!
I wore this dress to the RTR anniversary party and loved it. The cut out is in a flattering spot and adds a little edge- definitely try this dress!
JustineOctober 19, 2012
what a fun cut out style! You rocked it Brooke :)
KatieFebruary 1, 2013
Did you wear a strapless bra?
RTR CustomerFebruary 4, 2013
Hi Katie! This dress should be worn with a NuBra or no bra!
BrookeFebruary 4, 2013
Hi Katie- I actually didn't wear a bra because the dress was tight enough to hold everything in, but you could wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Very Vegas!
I loved this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas- i felt like it was sexy without being tacky. The cutout was sexy and the length felt good for me but it might be a little long for someone shorter. There is no stretch to the dress so i would recommend going up 1 size as your back up. It's tough to wear a bra with so i went without but if you have a larger chest this dress might not be good for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2012
Dress was perfect!
Was a little bit baggy at the bottom, but loveeed it and looked great
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
I loved feeling sexy and classy!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party, it was a hit. The dress is sexy and classy at the same time. I was a bit worried everything wouldn't stay in place but the dress fit perfect. The dress is comfortable and easy to move in. Great dress to rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
August 20, 2012
nice dress not for me
great dress---I ordered to small and it made me look bigger than I actually am. I didnt end up wearing it
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 16, 2012
I was surprised I didn't get that many compliments on my dress since I did think it looked great.
The slit on the side looks much better on the model than in person. I had to adjust quite a bit so it didnt look like my dress was poking out. The material does not hug the skin like I hoped so it affected the overall fit of the dress. Other than that it looked great.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Best of Detroit and Best Dress
This was a great dress for a Best of Detroit party! I got tons of compliments on it, and the fit was pretty standard. It was easy to wear a strapless bra with it too!
KatieFebruary 1, 2013
You. look. hot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 2, 2012
perfect LBD
this dress was so fun and unique. definitely a RTR fav of mine. i'm glad i listened to past reviews because it does run smaller. i am normally a 4 but the 6 worked perfect. you can't wear a bra, so if you're not comfortable with that i'd steer clear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 9, 2012
large chest look elsewhere!
I rented this for my BF's military semi-formal. Ihave a tiny waist and large chest. I ordered a 2 & 4 and while the waist fit perfect in both- my chest was overflowing on top. it looked SO bad, which is a shame because it's a quality made dress. Cut-out dresses are tricky for busty ladies
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2012
Got my friend and I invited to one of the best tables at the club!
I rented this dress for a Vegas vacation and wore it to dinner and the club. i loved the cut out part, it was a little long for my liking but I still like the way it looked on. I think this dress runs a little small....and there is no give in the material whatsoever. So if you're between sizes, Id suggest ordering a size up for back up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2012
Duh...the dress!
Oh my gosh! If I could rate this dress a 6, I would. This and one other dress were my first RTR dresses and can't wait to order my next one. I'm going to have to open a savings account just for my monthly budget :). All the reviews say this dress ran small but it absolutely ran true to size. I have an athletic body type and am not too curvy but this dress gave me just enough. It was ultra sexy and I would rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2012
A mutual friend told me I was the best dressed at the party.
Loved it. I ordered it in my actual size forgetting that designer dresses tend to be a size smaller. If it had been my size, I would've loved it even more. The compliments were plentiful.
StephanieSeptember 18, 2013
Thank you! Good to know. I'm thinking about renting it and I think we're the same size all around. I will definitely rent a 10 with a backup size 12 then!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 8, 2012
Fantastic, phenomenal dress!
I rented this dress for my birthday and could not have been happier! It was very supportive, comfortable, and sexy and I received a lot of compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
Gorgeous!
This dress was gorgeous! It definitely shows off your curves and fits snugly. If you are pear shaped (like me) I recommend ordering the size up as your back up. I ended up wearing the 6 as it fit better in the chest region, but was slightly too snug on the lower half. The 8 was better in the hips, but way too loose in the chest. Other than that it looks beautiful on and sure to get compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2011
Great form-fitting LBD w edge
I loved this dress and got many compliments. Beware that it runs at least one size small and is a bit smaller than average in the bust. The fabric is mid-weight with a very slight stretch. I usually wear a 2-4 and I ended up wearing my backup size (6). The fit on me did not allow the side cutout to show quite as much as shown on the model but it was still cute. Overall a great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 14, 2011
Everyone commented on the unexpected peek-a-boo skin moment and through it was tasteful yet sexy.
Ran true to size and was a fun party dress. It was perfect for the 80s-themed event I was attending but I'd wear this to any party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2011
fun dress!
I was overall pleased with the dress. I'm 5'9" so I was a little surprised that it went to my knees, but it was still cute. I am usually between a 6 and an 8, and I ended up wearing the 8 since it was a little tight through the hips (the fabric is not stretchy). I received a lot of compliments that night and think that this dress is great.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 5, 2011
WAYY SMALL!
Great dress and design but the style does not allow for anyy movement. the bottom was tight, the cutout was tight, and the way it fit on my body was not flattering at all. don't rent this unless you can't find another LBD, it isn't that special.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2011
Great Dress!
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday party in vegas, I had two dresses. I wore this dress and it fit great. I am 5'3 and 110 and I rented a size 0 and a 2 just in case. Because I am shorter, the dress length hit below my knees, alittle longer than I would have likes, but it was still a cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2011
I got so many compliments and I can't wait to have an excuse to rent this dress again!
This dress fit me more perfectly than I was expecting. I absolutely loved the exposed side and back - it took a little getting used to (it's weird to feel the breeze on your rib cage), and I got a few scandalous looks from the more conservative girls, but it was worth it because I looked and felt amazing. Because of its simplicity, I went with a big gold necklace (that I also rented here).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2011
Great dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! I'm usually a 6, but the hips were a little tight in this dress, so I sized up to the 8 for a perfect fit (I'm a hippy girl so this wasn't unexpected.) I got compliments all night! Def recommended for a sassy LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 14, 2011
I felt like a show stopper in this dress. The cut out is sexy, without being too revealing.
I rented this dress to wear for a Bachelorette party in Vegas. I felt this dress ran small. I could barely breathe, but loved the dress anyway. I would order a size up for your back-up size. I liked where the slit was - it was my favorite part of the dress. For $50, it's a great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
November 3, 2011
I'm always between XS and S in clothing and definitely could not zipper the 0 on me. The 2 fit, in theory, but the upper half was not flattering on me at all. I am an A cup, and the dress flattened me out. The bottom fit nicely though, but overall, the dress didn't make me feel sexy enough to wear on a night out.
emilyOctober 22, 2015
So did you order your usual size of a 4 and that was too tight? My measurements are very similar to yours that's why I ask. Thanks in advance.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2011
I'm not quite sure how this dress could fit anybody well... Several of my friends and I tried it on, and it looked awkward on all different body types. It was long and the cutout was very unflattering. You have to be very tall for this to fit.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 171lbs
June 28, 2011
This dress is soooooo small! I ordered a size 10 which is my actual size and it didn't fit me. When i let my friend who wore a size 4 try the dress on it fit her perfectly. don't rent this dress if you have hips or boobs.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
February 3, 2011
Sadly I had to send this dress back because it was too big. The cut out hung funny on me. This dress is hard for short girls because the length is a little too long. I'm sure it looks sexy on a woman with amazing curves. I couldn't do the dress justice.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2010
Wore this dress for a birthday party. It was sexy and fun. Definitely runs snug around the bust and rib cage area.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 20, 2010
This was awesome, but if you are small-chested, get some of those sticky gel pads; I ran out of time and couldn't buy some, and the chest on this dress has what I would call built-in "cups" so they just looked sad on my tiny chest. Otherwise a great dress and fit very true-to-size (I wear a 4 and the 4 was right-on). I will consider renting again for parties but will get some kind of chest going on first!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2010
Edgy and fun - I loved it! Not quite as short as pictured - it hit me a few inches above the knee and it's definitely small at the bust.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 1, 2010
Loved this dress on a friend, but it ran small on me :( Definitely not for the busty gal as it runs tight around the rib cage. Rock it with crazy jewelry, because it truly is just a little black dress despite the cut-outs. Nothing spectacular unless you can rock it
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×