Cut Out One Shoulder Dress

$49 to buy
$400 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a bachelorette party? This one shoulder cut out detail dress by Black Halo will stop traffic. Girls night out never looked so good!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - cut-out detail is difficult to wear with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout - cut-out detail shows off midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - runs narrow at hips, curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black polyamide crepe. One shoulder neckline with seaming detail. Cut out detail on side of bodice. Skirt hits at 18" from natural waist. Model's height is 5'8".

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(35)
Small
(34)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 8, 2014
I did not wear this dress..... I got it for Las Vegas .. So bummed
The dress is way too long... I got it for Vegas and it went mid knee. Not what the picture showed at all . I am also 5. " 7.. So that is odd! The length is not right.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2014
Simple LBD with a twist
I love the concept of this dress but it runs on the small side. I was able to fit into the dress but I would have been uncomfortable at the party all night in it. I ended up returning it. I'm short and it seemed a tad long but the bust area fit fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 30, 2014
the cut was different, really made it stand out in a sea of black dresses
The bust was really tight and I don't have a big bust, so I had to go up a size. If you happen to have skin in your armpits-area, you might want to size up or it'll bulge there. I went a size up and it was more flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 5, 2014
LOVE! Great Dress for a Vegas Show
My Fiancé and I went to a show in Vegas. Dress was amazing and received a bunch of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2014
Luckily I had another backup dress that was awesome.
This dress would work for someone with a small chest but not for me. Luckily I received other dresses that looked amazing. Also, this dress runs quite small. Definitely size up.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2014
I loved getting compliments!
I'm glad I read reviews and ordered a size up. I ended up wearing a size 4, the size 2 wouldn't fit over my hips. It wasn't too short either, which is nice since I have long legs. I recommend this dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 10, 2015
This is a very sexy little black dress !
I wore a size 4. It is a snug 4. If you prefer to have a little extra room, I would rent a size up.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2015
Loved this dress, just wish it had run true to size.
Neither my friend nor I could wear it because it runs at least a size small. However, we both loved it and could tell it was going to be dynomite on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 19, 2015
Hot dress!!!
Runs small with little stretch but still very hot. This was a replacement dress so I only received 1 size. RTR was great and had it hand delivered to my hotel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 15, 2015
Way too small
Couldn't even wear it - way way way too small!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2010
Edgy and fun - I loved it! Not quite as short as pictured - it hit me a few inches above the knee and it's definitely small at the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 14, 2011
I felt like a show stopper in this dress. The cut out is sexy, without being too revealing.
I rented this dress to wear for a Bachelorette party in Vegas. I felt this dress ran small. I could barely breathe, but loved the dress anyway. I would order a size up for your back-up size. I liked where the slit was - it was my favorite part of the dress. For $50, it's a great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
Gorgeous!
This dress was gorgeous! It definitely shows off your curves and fits snugly. If you are pear shaped (like me) I recommend ordering the size up as your back up. I ended up wearing the 6 as it fit better in the chest region, but was slightly too snug on the lower half. The 8 was better in the hips, but way too loose in the chest. Other than that it looks beautiful on and sure to get compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2012
Duh...the dress!
Oh my gosh! If I could rate this dress a 6, I would. This and one other dress were my first RTR dresses and can't wait to order my next one. I'm going to have to open a savings account just for my monthly budget :). All the reviews say this dress ran small but it absolutely ran true to size. I have an athletic body type and am not too curvy but this dress gave me just enough. It was ultra sexy and I would rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2013
Perfect NYE!
Loved this dress. Had to use some tape to make sure my Nubra did not show, but overall a fantastic dress with VERY strategically placed cutouts.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 16, 2014
Sexy!
I chose this dress to wear out on my birthday dinner date. I wish this was permanently in my closet because I would wear it a lot. It's the perfect amount of sexy, a nice spin on the little black dress!!I felt secure enough up top that I did not have to wear a bra with it (as suggested). I highly recommend, just keep in mind this dress runs true to size and there is no give if you've got hips!!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2011
I'm not quite sure how this dress could fit anybody well... Several of my friends and I tried it on, and it looked awkward on all different body types. It was long and the cutout was very unflattering. You have to be very tall for this to fit.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2011
Great dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! I'm usually a 6, but the hips were a little tight in this dress, so I sized up to the 8 for a perfect fit (I'm a hippy girl so this wasn't unexpected.) I got compliments all night! Def recommended for a sassy LBD
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2011
Great Dress!
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday party in vegas, I had two dresses. I wore this dress and it fit great. I am 5'3 and 110 and I rented a size 0 and a 2 just in case. Because I am shorter, the dress length hit below my knees, alittle longer than I would have likes, but it was still a cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 5, 2011
WAYY SMALL!
Great dress and design but the style does not allow for anyy movement. the bottom was tight, the cutout was tight, and the way it fit on my body was not flattering at all. don't rent this unless you can't find another LBD, it isn't that special.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 16, 2012
I was surprised I didn't get that many compliments on my dress since I did think it looked great.
The slit on the side looks much better on the model than in person. I had to adjust quite a bit so it didnt look like my dress was poking out. The material does not hug the skin like I hoped so it affected the overall fit of the dress. Other than that it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
August 20, 2012
nice dress not for me
great dress---I ordered to small and it made me look bigger than I actually am. I didnt end up wearing it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 2, 2012
Great summer party dress....with a twist!
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was my back up dress and I opted for another RTR Herve dress instead. I felt like this dress was a little more casual and would have been great for a night out during summer. The fabric is thick but in the cotton family. Very sexy...this one remains on my list for the perfect ocassion. Although it fit fine, I have hips so it was a little snug in that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
Felt fancy for a nice date with my husband
Good choice given the last minute rental. Nice quality fabric and the dress is lined, which makes it easy to wear underwear. I wore a cup-only stick-on bra for this (not the one RTR sells, a different one). I am not sure a strapless bra would have worked, would depend on the cups & strap width. Could probably have done no bra. I liked that it was not too short, since it was already revealing on the back & side. But the fabric is not stretch, so it did not fit as well as I'd hoped. The top was nice and snug as it should be, but the waist left a little pooch of extra fabric that just hung there. The backup size (8) was too small, so I went with the 10. But, husband thought I looked nice & overall I felt good in the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
Gorgeous dress, sexy but not too revealing. Loves It Would definitely wear it again or recommend it!
It was a little loose around the top but I am a small chested woman. But overall great dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
January 16, 2013
Unfortunately, I did not wear the dress on my trip to Las Vegas
The fit was small - I choose two sizes for this one based on the measurements and what others had to say and thankfully I ordered the size I thought I would wear and one size up. The one size up fit but was snug. The top of it fit well but the bottom part was snug. I think if I tried a size 10, the top would have been too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
March 25, 2013
This dress fit perfectly! I was so sad when I sent it back.
Woluld recommend ordering two sizes because the material does not stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 18, 2013
Very hot dress
Material didn't stretch and wasn't forgiving--definitely be in shape for this one! Cut-out hit in the right place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2013
Super Sexy!
I wore this for a night on the town with my husband. He LOVED IT! It is comfortable dress. It's not too tight that you can't move but it is still amazingly form fitting! Just got to make sure you have the right bra. I wore a strapless but needed to use bra tape to make sure the bra didn't peek in the cutout.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2014
Classic looking LBD with a twist.
Tight around the hips, with not much stretch. Good for a smaller bust, as there's a built in bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
Not for a full chest
I rented this dress but wasn't able to wear it. The top on the 6 was too small. I could almost fit into the top of the 8, but that made the rest of the dress too large. Definitely a great dress for someone more proportionate, but not goof for a large chest. Not enough give to the material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2014
Dress is too long for a night out!
I rented this dress and returned it the next day. I'm not sure what you would wear this dress for - it's too long for a night out (I'm 5'3" and it went down to my knees) and too risque' (with the cut-out) for a formal affair that requires a knee-length dress. Also I would recommend this for larger chested girls...the left strap (?) over my cleavage was loose even on the size 2 (which fit fine everywhere else...)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
No regrets! Loved wearing this dress! Felt like a million bucks!
Absolutely LOVED this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
May 8, 2014
Runs small, no give
I took a gamble and rented this despite the fact that my back up wasn't available AND the reviews says it runs small. It was too tight to consider wearing to the bachelorette as planned (no dancing in that dress for me!) so I returned it with no problems.. RTR customer service was amazing per the usual :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 26, 2014
Great dress! I got compliments all night. Sexy yet classy.
I am tall and it was still a modest length on me. May be long on someone if you are on the shorter side! Definitely runs a little small so I recommend going up a size for the backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2016
The sexy little black dress you've always wanted in you closet!
It wasn't forgiving since the material wasn't stretchy at all, and your skin might pop out of the side while seated poorly, BUT it forced you to sit upright and have good posture! Definitely a classy and sexy dress without being too over the top and inappropriate for a wedding.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×