Black Halo

Black Jackie O Dress

$53 rental
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress from Black Halo is great for work, an interview, or any classy event.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

96 reviews

Fit
Small 29
True to Size 65
Large 1
Photos 27
Stephi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 21, 2011

First RTR Rental and was perfect!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress!! It was my first rental, and I knew I had to rent this dress for my boyfriends Navy Chief Pinning Ceremony. I wore it with Nude Patent Pumps and thought I would wear my peep toe black Patent pumps but the nude looked better.. It is a classic & timeless dress that won't let you down. As for fit, if you are unsure go with the bigger size, I got two sizes and could of worn the smaller size, but felt the larger one looked better. Love this dress & was so sad sending it back.
Danni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 13, 2012

2nd time renting this dress, and I'd rent it again

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is my second time renting this dress, because it is great for work events! It fits great, is conservative but the neckline gives it a little edge.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Feeling stylish & chic even with my kids!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am a mom of three small kids, and we were headed to a family wedding in La Jolla, California that all my kids were in, so I wanted to look nice, but didn't want to buy something I would never wear again (since I rarely get to dress up as a stay-at-home mom). I loved this dress!! It was simple yet chic, and sexy yet classy enough to wear as a mom with my kids. It ran a little snug (I usually wear a 4 and I got a 6), but it was slightly stretchy and comfortable, and very flattering. I loved the length, too...just long enough to cover my scarred soccer knees! I got tons of compliments...even from the wedding coordinator! I would definitely rent this dress again...thinking of it for my 20th HS reunion this Fall...
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Wore this dress for my law school interview and felt great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wanted to wear something other than a suit to my law school interview so I rented this Black Halo dress. I loved it so much I went to Nordstrom and bought it! I thought I'd be a 6, and the 6 'fit', but it wasn't really interview appropriate...The 8 was perfect and SUPER flattering. This is now my go-to dress anytime I have a presentation or a professional event I want to stand out at.
Krysten
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Was perfect for a client launch party I had to work. Sophisticated, polished but still party perfect

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect dress for bridal shower

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have had my eye on this dress for quite some time and was waiting for the right occasion to rent it. My bridal shower was that event. The dress fit perfect and I got compliments all day on the dress. I can't wait for my next event to rent a dress, or rent this one again!
Esther
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

One word "AWESOME" two words "FREAKIN' AWESOME"

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Firstly i am a proud owner of three RTR garment bags. (yes i save them) I wore this dress for my son's christening. I felt so gorgeous, my husband loved it on me ....I got tons of compliments but most importantly I felt great inside which ultimately showed on the outside.
Christa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Beautiful and conservative. From the moment I took off my jacket, I was receiving compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a professional networking event, and it was perfect. Just be careful about the slit in the back if you are wearing Spanx. When you walk, people behind you will be able to see them! I fixed this problem by folding/rolling the legs up.
Shatoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 16, 2013

Subtle + Sexy = an unforgettable RTR experience!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to prom as a chaperone in 2012. I received many compliments from students and staff. As a petite woman the dress fell just below my knee. This is a phenomenal dress - would ABSOLUTELY recommend this dress to others. Anticipating the rental for prom 2013.
Ann
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

Going away dress for my wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress in unbelievably classy, yet sexy. It fits like a glove. This is my all time favorite dress! Since renting I have bought 3 of these dresses because of their unbelievable fit.
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

All the compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ended up wearing this to work and was amazed by the number of compliments that I got! The sleeves fit a bit shorter than what they look like in the photo. The dress was a bit longer on me, going a bit past my knees.
Cheryl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Classy and chic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I typically wear a size 4, but since they didn't offer this size, I went up to a 6 (thanks to the previous reviews). It fit perfectly in the rib area - but below that, there was a little more material than I think should have been there. After I ate a lot at the party, it was perfect though :) I got compliments from everyone and my sister is even looking into buying it!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 4, 2013

Looks great on! Very flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits true to size. I am 5'8 and it went just below my knees. I receive alot of compliments and it really looks nice on. Easy to dress up if needed!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 7, 2013

Perfect for a work event when you want to look a little sexier than usual

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. It transitioned perfectly from work to going out for weekday drinks.
Ole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

Super chic evening dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The Halo dress fits perfectly, true to size. Timeless and elegant. You can dress it up with some killer heels for an all evening look.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

The perfect combination of class and sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Thank god this dress runs small because they only had a six but it fit perfectly! Wore it to a work event and have never felt so beautiful/sexy and still felt comfortable talking to my boss. First dress I'm probably going to purchase.
Ellie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 13, 2013

Too small, didn't get the opportunity to wear this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress arrived as pictured, minus the belt that is in the photograph, on the date promised. The dress was beautiful quality and was exactly like I thought it would be like. I should have heeded the warnings about size better, because even with Spanx, the dress was too small for me. I needed the next size up, and that was not available. I purchased a similar style dress in a hurry instead. I wish I could have worn the dress, as it was really beautiful.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

nice fabric and drape

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I only had rented the size 6 since the 8 was not available. The dress was classy and stylish, but it was not a good fit for my body type. I tend to carry weight in my belly, and the dress made me look like I was expecting. I was unable to wear the dress.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Great-looking LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
What a great dress! I wore this to a "mom's night out" fundraiser for my daughter's school. Definitely runs small. I'm between a 4 and a 6 in most dresses and was squeezed into this within an inch of my life. The arm holes are a bit big, so the fact that I was sausaged into it accentuated some baggy fat on the backside of my arms/shoulder. And the previous renter neglected to return the belt, but RTR let me know before it shipped and made good on it by crediting me back the cost of the dress, so YAY for their customer service. I had my own skinny black belt already, so I was good to go.
Shannon
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

This dress was great! Perfect for women with not many curves

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
was great!
Julianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Great, classy dress! I felt very chic!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, I had a great RTR experience with this dress! I wore this to a formal engagement party and received so many compliments! I am happy that I had a backup size as this dress does run very small. I am normally a true size 6 in dresses and had to wear the 8 in this dress. The dress is very tight. Be prepared for a very fitted bodice and the belt is not included. I loved this dress and had so much fun in it! Thanks RTR!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

This dress was great! It fit my figure perfectly and I got several compliments on it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs a bit on the small side so I ordered it in my size and 1 size up as a backup and the backup fir perfectly.
tammi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
everything fit true to size would order this dress again!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
May 2, 2014

Great quality. So easy to ship to destination and back.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great for a professional look. Was pleased with quality and fit.
paula
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 3, 2014

Perfect fit, ease of shipping return, clean no damage

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit, mid calf length, stunning on
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

I rented this dress for a head shot/portrait session. It fit like a glove!! Incredible dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing. So classy and comfortable. It accentuates your curves and hugs in all the right places! I would definitely recommend this dress!
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Perfect dress to chaperone a formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress as a teacher chaperone for a formal dance. It was conservative enough, but still beautiful. Got tons of compliments from the other chaperones. This dress was shipped because my original choice was out of the size 6. It was tight, but worked, I usually wear a size 8 and I think that would have been perfect.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 22, 2014

Best rental so far! Amazing LBD!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I want to buy this one! I actually rented this as a backup for my high school reunion and didn't plan on wearing it because I recently had a baby and am still working on getting my flat tummy back. I was afraid it would make me look fat, but it was very flattering even though my tummy stuck out a little. This dress is very tight so I couldn't wear any Spanx or anything, but it didn't matter. It fit me like a glove, and now I want my own!! One thing I will mention is that I was afraid it would look too business-y, which was not the case. The great thing about this dress is that you could glam it up, dress it up, or make it very professional. Loved it!
andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Finally available, didn't fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I have tried to order this dress a few times now. Finally it was available but only in one size, not the back up size. I took a chance b/c according to other reviews from people of a similar shape and size I should have fit in my typical size. It came and of course it didn't fit. Just a little too tight in the back so didn't zipper all the way. So disappointed. Rent the Runway is shipping me another dress that was similar to try, waiting on that to arrive but I'm hopeful it'll fit b/c they did send both sizes. Will try to order this dress again in the future, I'm determined to wear it to something!
gabrielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 13, 2014

Didnt fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very disappointed with this dress. I was so excited to get it but neither my regular or back up size order fit me. I am normally between a size 6-8 and the 8 fit but it was tight.
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

I love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have rented this dress twice now - once for a med school graduation party and once for a wedding - I love it. I got tons of compliments about my figure in it - it makes my waist look so much smaller and gives a nice hourglass shape! That being said, it is a tight squeeze to get it zipped and spanx are a must! I probably would have ordered a size up both times if it had been available.
@Foresta4Real
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Sexy yet elegant

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! Rented three Rtr dresses for a work conference, this one was my favorite. The dress was very snug, but in a good way. Made me feel like it was holding me in, while simultaneously accentuating the good curves. It was comfortable, even while sitting. The only bad part was that it did ride up while walking, causing a kind of bunching in the stomach unless I pulled it down every few steps..
Emilee
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

The dress made me feel sexy, yet professional at my work's big annual fundraiser.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm glad I got the size up from what I normally wear because this dress is TIGHT, especially through the hips and stomach. Once I got it on, though, it felt great. The little details make the dress - the unique cap sleeve, the elegant neck draping, the perfect length. I got compliments all night! This was my first RTR experience, and everything went smoothly!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Amazing Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for a big work presentation and it was perfect. The all black made me feel powerful and it fit like a glove.
R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Strong, svelte, yet professional little black dress was perfect for a museum opening.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really loved, loved, loved this dress. I felt chic and sophisticated but still young and trendy. This fit like a glove. I'm really long waisted. I often cannot wear a sheath for that reason, but this one worked.
m
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Oct 6, 2014

Love this neckline!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for a formal work event - and transitioned to an after event party beautifully. I felt stylish and still conservative enough for the professional setting.
Sandy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

This ran very small.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I could barely zip the zipper!
Teal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

Amazing fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my sorority's preference round my senior year of college. It fit like an absolute dream and was a great and appropriate length for the event. It's completely stretchy and great!
Kellee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 9, 2014

Sexy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Awesome dress! I would have preferred to wear a size larger since it is pretty tight in the waist but this one was ok.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Fabulous dress for any occasion!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
I snagged this dress on clearance during the RTR sale, and it has been worth every penny! The dress hugs curves and slims the midsection, it can be dressed down or up.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×