Black Halo

Black Jackie O Dress

$53 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This dress from Black Halo is great for work, an interview, or any classy event.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
100 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2012
Great dress, but runs small
I ordered this dress for a friend's rehearsal dinner. I ordered the 6 with no back up as the 8 was not available. I was disappointed that the dress was too small when it arrived. The dress is beautiful, and I will definitely try ordering again when the 8 is available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 16, 2012
Beautiful dress, but cut very small
I usually wear a 10 in dresses, because I have a larger bust. Unfortunately, the 10 was not nearly large enough for me to be able to zip up all the way. It was a shame I could not wear it, because it's a great looking dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 19, 2012
One of my favorites
I actually own this dress in red and it is fabulous. I reanted the black for a work event and it was perfect. Endless compliments. It is a very form fitting, flattering, and elegant dress. An all time favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Wore this dress for my law school interview and felt great!
I wanted to wear something other than a suit to my law school interview so I rented this Black Halo dress. I loved it so much I went to Nordstrom and bought it! I thought I'd be a 6, and the 6 'fit', but it wasn't really interview appropriate...The 8 was perfect and SUPER flattering. This is now my go-to dress anytime I have a presentation or a professional event I want to stand out at.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
love the fit and how I felt in it.
hugged my curves exactly where it should have.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 122lbs
October 15, 2012
Professional, classy yet sexy!
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a work retirement party - I must say it is the best for a career based party. Was extremely classy, for fitting and the cut out on the chest also gives it a little sexy edge to it as well.I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
October 17, 2012
fit perfectly. nice for fuller bust. only negative was that belt was a little worn out.
fit perfectly. nice for fuller bust. only negative was that belt was a little worn out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
Work-appropriate but with edge
I wore this to a work event that went day-night, and this was perfect. For day, I also wore a blazer. This is a true sheath - very fitted through the hips. I have an hourglass figure, but I'm a little heavier on bottom than on top -- with spanx, a 6 was still maybe a little tight (for work), but any bigger and the bust would have been too big. All-in-all a very sexy-classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2012
Perfect dress for bridal shower
I have had my eye on this dress for quite some time and was waiting for the right occasion to rent it. My bridal shower was that event. The dress fit perfect and I got compliments all day on the dress. I can't wait for my next event to rent a dress, or rent this one again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
September 30, 2012
Was perfect for a client launch party I had to work. Sophisticated, polished but still party perfect
.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Great dress!
This dress fits really tight and gives your body a great slimming look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 3, 2013
the quintessential LBD
this dress is sophisticated, flattering, and comfortable. it somehow manages to be both demure and body-conscious. of the many LBDs i've owned and rented, this one is my favorite. the skirt length is a bit too long for me, but not awkwardly so. went to rent this dress for a third time but it is no longer available in most sizes - it appears the dress is being phased out. RTR, bring it back please!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2013
Perfect fit
I was on the fence about using RTR again. I had used it once before but wasn't sure the cost was justified vs. just buying something for my work party. But this dress was absolutely perfect. The cut is amazing. It made my waist look teeny tiny. I would highly recommend this for any event, particularly something on the more conservative side as the dress doesn't show too much skin. Very elegant and simple. Worth every penny!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
The dress is timeless. It was the perfect dress for a formal award show (black tie optional).
The dress is VERY form-fitting but has stretch. It looked beautiful with the Kate Spade black chandelier earrings!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2013
Perfect graduation dress!
Absolutely loved this dress! May be purchasing it for myself soon. It's super classy, perfect for a professional event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 16, 2013
One word "AWESOME" two words "FREAKIN' AWESOME"
Firstly i am a proud owner of three RTR garment bags. (yes i save them) I wore this dress for my son's christening. I felt so gorgeous, my husband loved it on me ....I got tons of compliments but most importantly I felt great inside which ultimately showed on the outside.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2013
Beautiful and conservative. From the moment I took off my jacket, I was receiving compliments!
I wore this to a professional networking event, and it was perfect. Just be careful about the slit in the back if you are wearing Spanx. When you walk, people behind you will be able to see them! I fixed this problem by folding/rolling the legs up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2013
Subtle + Sexy = an unforgettable RTR experience!!
I wore this dress to prom as a chaperone in 2012. I received many compliments from students and staff. As a petite woman the dress fell just below my knee. This is a phenomenal dress - would ABSOLUTELY recommend this dress to others. Anticipating the rental for prom 2013.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
August 8, 2010
Super slimming - the dress is sexy without revealing too much. I love how the dress accentuated my curves by nipping in a bit at the waist
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 25, 2010
This dress looks stunning! Perfect for any cocktail party or work event. Very classy!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2010
Loved loved loved this dress! Great for work to cocktails.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2010
I at first was a little uncertain about the neckline, but I came to love it after wearing the dress for a few minutes. This will be a dress I rent again. Works well for any occasion.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 12, 2010
I liked this dress a lot, it was perfect for a work event. Only problem was that the belt was not sent with it (either size, I ordered 2) It does not list a belt, but shows it in the picture, and the dress has belt loops so I had to use one of my own.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2010
Very sexy, very slimming, perfect for a work event. It looks wonderful on, and the details on the top are gorgeous.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2010
This dress runs true to size. I wore it to my husband's corporate Christmas party and got so many compliments. It's the perfect, classy black dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 27, 2010
The dress was very very flattering and beautiful. I wore it to work and then to an event at night. I seem to be the only one who finds this dress to run a bit small. I am usuallly between a 0 and a 2, and thankfully I ordered both because I felt much more comfortable in the size 2. I would order a backup size, just to be safe. Otherwise, the dress is so easy to wear, and elegant.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2011
I rented this dress for my company's winter gala and loved it! I got so many compliments on it and felt very sophisticated, yet a bit sexy in it. It fit true to size - I am 5'5", 130lbs and the 6 was perfect. The dress came in perfect condition and I was very happy with my decision to rent this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2011
Biz done right!
I rented this for a buisness event and got compliments all night. It hugs your body in all the right places and despite me being a short girl, I looked tall and statuesque. Would get it again! Please think of selling. I would buy it in a heart beat.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
March 9, 2011
Fantastic dress. Wore to a book signing and it was professional yet flattering. Wish I had a similar event to wear it to!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2011
Love this dress!! Wore it to a fund raising event and it was perfect! Ordered a size 0 and 2. The 0 wouldn't zip up but the 2 fit great! I would for sure rent again!!!!:)
HanhApril 8, 2012
Not to sound rude... but are you a true 0. I am having a hard time deciding. All of my clothes are 0 or XXS/XS or Small. I am thinking of requesting just the 0. Can you post me a photo?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2010
Beautiful fit. Flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2011
This dress is beautiful. The top shape is amazingly flattering and the dress is so well constructed. Just beware that it's snug through the mid-section. I only went with my back up dress because I didn't feel like sucking in all night. :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
April 25, 2011
This dress is amazing! It's my first rental, so I wasn't sure about sizing. I ordered the 4 (my usual "store" size) and a 6, and the 6 fit like a dream. Like some of the other reviews noted, it is quite formfitting, especially through the middle, but the detailing of the waistband and the belt made me look (and feel!) like a supermodel! I received compliments all day at the conference where I was presenting a paper. Sexy AND professional! I do recommend some smoothing undergarments (I didn't have any), just in case, but be warned that the slit in the back goes fairly high - though not obscene or anything! - so longer undergarments might show. Anyway, I love love LOVE this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2011
I was told I was petite by a stylist, but I dont think Im petite really. I dont have a thin waist, Im a 34C, 135 lbs, 5'3" and wore a size 8. You do not have to be 5'6" to look amazing in the dress like the site suggests. Anyways, I LOVED this dress. It fit amazingly and was the perfect balance of looking sophisticated and sexy. I wore this to my high school graduation and everyone loved it. Th belt is worn out so I wore a rivited skinny belt. The dress hit right below the knee like the model. Amazing fit! Next time I will try red too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 9, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress! It's classy and definitely reminds me of Jackie O. This dress was rented for a baptism and a work event. Runs true to size. Would love to buy this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2011
I LOVE THIS DRESS!! I wore it for my sister-in-law's wedding and got so many complements! It's extremely sexy, but classic and sophisticated at the same time. I'm a size 8, but I felt like a 2 in it and everybody told me how amazing I looked. BEST DRESS EVER!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 30, 2011
So many glowing reviews for this item have already done it justice. I will gladly join in the praise for this fantastic dress. Size 6 fit me well, I felt amazing in it, and received a lot of compliments. I will be renting from this designer again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 4, 2011
I don't understand what all the hype is about with the Black Halo Jackie Dress. I was very excited to rent it, but ended up not wearing it. I thought it had a number of very unflattering qualities. My main issue is with the arm hole openings and cap sleeves, which I can't understand why Black Halo hasn't redisgned by now. The arm hole openings are unusually large showing unecessary skin under the arm from the front, side and back. It made me look like fat was busting out of the top, when it was actually a bit loose. The model doesn't have this particular issue, but I imagine if you don't have a very narrow back and aren't really skinny then this could be a problem for you too. I am 5'6" about 123 lbs. The cap sleeve things are just all around awful. They're basically pointless, they don't hide anything you'd want them to and don't do anything good for your arms or shoulders. It looked better when I slid them off my shoulders, but then they gaped in the back. It's clearly not meant to be worn that way. I ordered a 6 and 4 expecting designer sizing (I'm normally a 2 at j.crew, 2 at Ann Taylor, 2 or 4 at Club Monaco). The 6 was huge. The 4 was snug in the waist but was a little big in the bust and hips. I would give this 1 or 2 stars but gave it 3 b/c it can't be all bad--it works on some people.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2011
Law School Interview
I love this dress - unfortunately now that I've worn it and know how amazing it looks on I'm going to have to purchase it. I often wear a size 4 in "high end" clothing items and wear a size 6 in regular to lower end brands. I fit perfectly in a size 6. I fully recommend and can't wait to own my own to wear all the time.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
Best dress ever
Fits perfect, and the lenght is "church" conservative... Was the best looking Godmother this weekend!!! Thanks...
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×