Rent the Runway

Black Halo

Black Jackie O Dress

$53 to buy
$350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress from Black Halo is great for work, an interview, or any classy event.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

97 reviews

Fit
Small 29
True to Size 66
Large 1
Photos 27
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 8, 2010

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
This is your classic Audrey Hepburn-type dress with a bit of sophisticated sex appeal. It's my go-to LBD for any after work event, museum openings etc
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Aug 8, 2010

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Super slimming - the dress is sexy without revealing too much. I love how the dress accentuated my curves by nipping in a bit at the waist
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is great! It was my first rental and I was not only happy with the dress but the entire RTR process. I ordered a 2 (my usua size) & a 4 and ended up wearing the 4. It runs a touch small. Perfect dress for any occasion.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress! It's classy and definitely reminds me of Jackie O. This dress was rented for a baptism and a work event. Runs true to size. Would love to buy this dress!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVE THIS DRESS!! I wore it for my sister-in-law's wedding and got so many complements! It's extremely sexy, but classic and sophisticated at the same time. I'm a size 8, but I felt like a 2 in it and everybody told me how amazing I looked. BEST DRESS EVER!!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Ordered the 8 and 10 and both did not fit. I was deeply sad about this. Read all the reviews and measured myself but still no luck. I went to WHBM that evening and bought a dress size 8 to wear instead. All my dresses are 6 or 8 and jeans are 8. Shirt size is Medium. For whatever reason ( I think they sent me wrong sizes) the 8 and 10 could not even zipper up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Oct 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
So many glowing reviews for this item have already done it justice. I will gladly join in the praise for this fantastic dress. Size 6 fit me well, I felt amazing in it, and received a lot of compliments. I will be renting from this designer again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I don't understand what all the hype is about with the Black Halo Jackie Dress. I was very excited to rent it, but ended up not wearing it. I thought it had a number of very unflattering qualities. My main issue is with the arm hole openings and cap sleeves, which I can't understand why Black Halo hasn't redisgned by now. The arm hole openings are unusually large showing unecessary skin under the arm from the front, side and back. It made me look like fat was busting out of the top, when it was actually a bit loose. The model doesn't have this particular issue, but I imagine if you don't have a very narrow back and aren't really skinny then this could be a problem for you too. I am 5'6" about 123 lbs. The cap sleeve things are just all around awful. They're basically pointless, they don't hide anything you'd want them to and don't do anything good for your arms or shoulders. It looked better when I slid them off my shoulders, but then they gaped in the back. It's clearly not meant to be worn that way. I ordered a 6 and 4 expecting designer sizing (I'm normally a 2 at j.crew, 2 at Ann Taylor, 2 or 4 at Club Monaco). The 6 was huge. The 4 was snug in the waist but was a little big in the bust and hips. I would give this 1 or 2 stars but gave it 3 b/c it can't be all bad--it works on some people.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Law School Interview

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I love this dress - unfortunately now that I've worn it and know how amazing it looks on I'm going to have to purchase it. I often wear a size 4 in "high end" clothing items and wear a size 6 in regular to lower end brands. I fit perfectly in a size 6. I fully recommend and can't wait to own my own to wear all the time.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Perfect for business event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress does run a bit small without much stretch, as others have said, but the size 6 fit me like a glove (I'm 34-29-38). I couldn't eat much or bend over, but it was worth it. It's slimming and very sleek, and perfect with classic black pumps. Wish I could have kept it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

Best dress ever

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits perfect, and the lenght is "church" conservative... Was the best looking Godmother this weekend!!! Thanks...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 19, 2011

Amazing!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect. It fit like a glove and felt really sophisticated in it. It's one of those dresses you really want to own.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

Order a size up....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely runs small.. if ordering 2 sizes.. order a size up for your back up.. wish I would have... because it is a very nice silhouette
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2012

Nice Dress but.....

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is very nice unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress as it was huge on top and very snug on the bottom. Getting a size smaller would be impossible. Other than that the dress was very nice and sophisticated. I contacted Customer Service and was issued a credit!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Jun 6, 2012

Petite, and fit great

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm short, 5'1 and I was a little concerned this dress would be too long. It fit like a dream! I had loads of compliments and it was very comfortable. Highly recommend! Did both the 0 and 2, went with the 0.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Jul 27, 2012

Hot Mama Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Ya know when you put a dress on and you just feel like a million bucks? Well this is it ladies! I have nothing but great things to say about it. My boyfriend still talks about this dress, even he loved it! IT's one of those dresses that while none of the goodies are on display, it is still sexy!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fits really tight and gives your body a great slimming look.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Classy and feminine

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was very happy with this dress. I wore it to a work "gala" and felt sophisticated and beautiful. I don't know if it's really fair to say that it runs small, but I'm pear shaped so it was a bit snug on the bottom for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Perfect, Yet too on Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is such a beautiful dress. I loved the structured design and saw it worn by some of my star favorites (Sandra Bullock / Ryan Reynolds movie), that I thought it would be perfect. Well it was and I would have given this dress 5 stars and it should receive, however my problem was the measurements and fabric. This dress has NO STRETCH, not even a little. I got what I thought was my size and the one larger. I couldn't close either. Now in defense of this dress, I am athletic with, what I feel is, broad shoulders and more of a sports back. This was not the body shape for this dress. So I feel it is more of my body issues versus the dress. I think if we had a true understanding of the capabilities of different fabrics we could better judge what wold work on ourselves. This dress is what sealed my already mental deal with myself to work on my body shape to fit the true designer sizes. Designer sizes seem to be a size smaller then what the mall wants us to believe we are. So if I thought I was an 8, I would be a 10. Prior to this dress I had already planned a new fit plan that would help reduce my athletic back. That is a lot harder then just a diet/exercise plan. But anyways, I don't want to say the dress is at fault, it is just that my body shape was not appropriate, especially since I am at the top last sizes this dress is made in. If I could have gone to a 12 I would have made it (I believe it was unavailable at my time, or it could be that it wasn't made that large). The rest was perfect. It is just the material. I wish the designer used a fabric with just a little give. That would have made this perfect. So due to the designer not thinking of the dramatic slight differences in everyone's shape, requiring a little stretch, I had to knock it down a star. And honestly, due to the fact I have never seen such unrelenting fabric in a dress or any clothing I have worn, I yanked another star. But I wish and still wish I can wear this dress. The shape and design are so beautiful and really give the female form this business/librarian smarts with the feline sexy cut and folds. BTW - I am muscular and that is why my weight may seem odd with the sizes. Plus I wanted to try this dress so badly that I got the 8 even thou at the time it was completely unrealistic. I was still losing from pregnancy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

lbd

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
love this dress! I wore this very classy dress to a family affair and received a lot of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 2, 2012

Super flattering fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress seemed to run a little small, I typically wear an 8 and it was a little tight - def needed spanx! But the other cut and fit of the dress was very feminine and really flattering.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Great dress, but runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a friend's rehearsal dinner. I ordered the 6 with no back up as the 8 was not available. I was disappointed that the dress was too small when it arrived. The dress is beautiful, and I will definitely try ordering again when the 8 is available.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 16, 2012

Beautiful dress, but cut very small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 10 in dresses, because I have a larger bust. Unfortunately, the 10 was not nearly large enough for me to be able to zip up all the way. It was a shame I could not wear it, because it's a great looking dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

One of my favorites

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I actually own this dress in red and it is fabulous. I reanted the black for a work event and it was perfect. Endless compliments. It is a very form fitting, flattering, and elegant dress. An all time favorite.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Dress was not up to the quality that I expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Ran smaller than expected and fabric was very thin.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

love the fit and how I felt in it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
hugged my curves exactly where it should have.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Professional, classy yet sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a work retirement party - I must say it is the best for a career based party. Was extremely classy, for fitting and the cut out on the chest also gives it a little sexy edge to it as well.I highly recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

fit perfectly. nice for fuller bust. only negative was that belt was a little worn out.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit perfectly. nice for fuller bust. only negative was that belt was a little worn out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Work-appropriate but with edge

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a work event that went day-night, and this was perfect. For day, I also wore a blazer. This is a true sheath - very fitted through the hips. I have an hourglass figure, but I'm a little heavier on bottom than on top -- with spanx, a 6 was still maybe a little tight (for work), but any bigger and the bust would have been too big. All-in-all a very sexy-classy dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

Great fit! I was able to transition this from a work event to a cocktail party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Flattering on the body
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Pretty dress, cut small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The cut of this dress was just way too small for my frame, so unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Amazing dress! Better in person!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fabulous dress. Fit was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Great Dress, tons of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Slightly disappointed because the dress was sent to me without the belt. Since there are belt loops incorporated on this dress, I had to go out and buy a belt for it. 4 stores later, I found one. Other than that, the dress fit like a glove and I got alot of great feedback wearing it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

the quintessential LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is sophisticated, flattering, and comfortable. it somehow manages to be both demure and body-conscious. of the many LBDs i've owned and rented, this one is my favorite. the skirt length is a bit too long for me, but not awkwardly so. went to rent this dress for a third time but it is no longer available in most sizes - it appears the dress is being phased out. RTR, bring it back please!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Perfect fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was on the fence about using RTR again. I had used it once before but wasn't sure the cost was justified vs. just buying something for my work party. But this dress was absolutely perfect. The cut is amazing. It made my waist look teeny tiny. I would highly recommend this for any event, particularly something on the more conservative side as the dress doesn't show too much skin. Very elegant and simple. Worth every penny!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2013

The dress is timeless. It was the perfect dress for a formal award show (black tie optional).

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is VERY form-fitting but has stretch. It looked beautiful with the Kate Spade black chandelier earrings!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

PERFECT DRESS!!! Cannot wait to rent it in red!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this to a photo shoot for a charity I am working with. Great dress, perfect fit would definitely rent again!I normally wear a size 4 but they only had a 6 available so I took the chance. Great fit, not too loose or too snug. Was worried the length would be too long but it hit at the perfect spot.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Feb 13, 2013

Perfect graduation dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Absolutely loved this dress! May be purchasing it for myself soon. It's super classy, perfect for a professional event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Wore for my thesis presentation! Classic would rent again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 16, 2013

Subtle + Sexy = an unforgettable RTR experience!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to prom as a chaperone in 2012. I received many compliments from students and staff. As a petite woman the dress fell just below my knee. This is a phenomenal dress - would ABSOLUTELY recommend this dress to others. Anticipating the rental for prom 2013.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×