Black Halo

Black Jackie O Dress

$53 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This dress from Black Halo is great for work, an interview, or any classy event.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted and belted at natural waist; dress hugs midsection - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model) - dress hits knee length or just below knees

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black Ponte jersey. Asymmetric cowl neckline. Origami detail on shoulder. Includes leather belt. Hidden back zip. About 42" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
100 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2011
Amazing!!
This dress was perfect. It fit like a glove and felt really sophisticated in it. It's one of those dresses you really want to own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
April 18, 2012
Order a size up....
Definitely runs small.. if ordering 2 sizes.. order a size up for your back up.. wish I would have... because it is a very nice silhouette
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2012
Nice Dress but.....
This dress is very nice unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress as it was huge on top and very snug on the bottom. Getting a size smaller would be impossible. Other than that the dress was very nice and sophisticated. I contacted Customer Service and was issued a credit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
June 6, 2012
Petite, and fit great
I'm short, 5'1 and I was a little concerned this dress would be too long. It fit like a dream! I had loads of compliments and it was very comfortable. Highly recommend! Did both the 0 and 2, went with the 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
2nd time renting this dress, and I'd rent it again
This is my second time renting this dress, because it is great for work events! It fits great, is conservative but the neckline gives it a little edge.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect, Yet too on Fit
This is such a beautiful dress. I loved the structured design and saw it worn by some of my star favorites (Sandra Bullock / Ryan Reynolds movie), that I thought it would be perfect. Well it was and I would have given this dress 5 stars and it should receive, however my problem was the measurements and fabric. This dress has NO STRETCH, not even a little. I got what I thought was my size and the one larger. I couldn't close either. Now in defense of this dress, I am athletic with, what I feel is, broad shoulders and more of a sports back. This was not the body shape for this dress. So I feel it is more of my body issues versus the dress. I think if we had a true understanding of the capabilities of different fabrics we could better judge what wold work on ourselves. This dress is what sealed my already mental deal with myself to work on my body shape to fit the true designer sizes. Designer sizes seem to be a size smaller then what the mall wants us to believe we are. So if I thought I was an 8, I would be a 10. Prior to this dress I had already planned a new fit plan that would help reduce my athletic back. That is a lot harder then just a diet/exercise plan. But anyways, I don't want to say the dress is at fault, it is just that my body shape was not appropriate, especially since I am at the top last sizes this dress is made in. If I could have gone to a 12 I would have made it (I believe it was unavailable at my time, or it could be that it wasn't made that large). The rest was perfect. It is just the material. I wish the designer used a fabric with just a little give. That would have made this perfect. So due to the designer not thinking of the dramatic slight differences in everyone's shape, requiring a little stretch, I had to knock it down a star. And honestly, due to the fact I have never seen such unrelenting fabric in a dress or any clothing I have worn, I yanked another star. But I wish and still wish I can wear this dress. The shape and design are so beautiful and really give the female form this business/librarian smarts with the feline sexy cut and folds. BTW - I am muscular and that is why my weight may seem odd with the sizes. Plus I wanted to try this dress so badly that I got the 8 even thou at the time it was completely unrealistic. I was still losing from pregnancy.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2012
Super flattering fit
The dress seemed to run a little small, I typically wear an 8 and it was a little tight - def needed spanx! But the other cut and fit of the dress was very feminine and really flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
September 10, 2012
Feeling stylish & chic even with my kids!
I am a mom of three small kids, and we were headed to a family wedding in La Jolla, California that all my kids were in, so I wanted to look nice, but didn't want to buy something I would never wear again (since I rarely get to dress up as a stay-at-home mom). I loved this dress!! It was simple yet chic, and sexy yet classy enough to wear as a mom with my kids. It ran a little snug (I usually wear a 4 and I got a 6), but it was slightly stretchy and comfortable, and very flattering. I loved the length, too...just long enough to cover my scarred soccer knees! I got tons of compliments...even from the wedding coordinator! I would definitely rent this dress again...thinking of it for my 20th HS reunion this Fall...
MarleenDecember 4, 2012
great family pic!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 30, 2013
Going away dress for my wedding!
This dress in unbelievably classy, yet sexy. It fits like a glove. This is my all time favorite dress! Since renting I have bought 3 of these dresses because of their unbelievable fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 1, 2013
All the compliments!
I ended up wearing this to work and was amazed by the number of compliments that I got! The sleeves fit a bit shorter than what they look like in the photo. The dress was a bit longer on me, going a bit past my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2013
Classy and chic!
I typically wear a size 4, but since they didn't offer this size, I went up to a 6 (thanks to the previous reviews). It fit perfectly in the rib area - but below that, there was a little more material than I think should have been there. After I ate a lot at the party, it was perfect though :) I got compliments from everyone and my sister is even looking into buying it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2013
Perfect for a work event when you want to look a little sexier than usual
I loved this dress. It transitioned perfectly from work to going out for weekday drinks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
The perfect combination of class and sexy
Thank god this dress runs small because they only had a six but it fit perfectly! Wore it to a work event and have never felt so beautiful/sexy and still felt comfortable talking to my boss. First dress I'm probably going to purchase.
LaVonSeptember 16, 2013
Does the dress have a good amount of stretch for sitting? Does it run small? Are the exposed armpits annoying after a while? Thanks!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2013
nice fabric and drape
I only had rented the size 6 since the 8 was not available. The dress was classy and stylish, but it was not a good fit for my body type. I tend to carry weight in my belly, and the dress made me look like I was expecting. I was unable to wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 14, 2013
Great-looking LBD
What a great dress! I wore this to a "mom's night out" fundraiser for my daughter's school. Definitely runs small. I'm between a 4 and a 6 in most dresses and was squeezed into this within an inch of my life. The arm holes are a bit big, so the fact that I was sausaged into it accentuated some baggy fat on the backside of my arms/shoulder. And the previous renter neglected to return the belt, but RTR let me know before it shipped and made good on it by crediting me back the cost of the dress, so YAY for their customer service. I had my own skinny black belt already, so I was good to go.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2013
This dress was great! Perfect for women with not many curves
was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 29, 2014
love this dress!
everything fit true to size would order this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect dress to chaperone a formal
I wore this dress as a teacher chaperone for a formal dance. It was conservative enough, but still beautiful. Got tons of compliments from the other chaperones. This dress was shipped because my original choice was out of the size 6. It was tight, but worked, I usually wear a size 8 and I think that would have been perfect.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 13, 2014
Didnt fit!
I was very disappointed with this dress. I was so excited to get it but neither my regular or back up size order fit me. I am normally between a size 6-8 and the 8 fit but it was tight.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2014
I love this dress!
I have rented this dress twice now - once for a med school graduation party and once for a wedding - I love it. I got tons of compliments about my figure in it - it makes my waist look so much smaller and gives a nice hourglass shape! That being said, it is a tight squeeze to get it zipped and spanx are a must! I probably would have ordered a size up both times if it had been available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 6, 2014
Sexy yet elegant
Loved this dress! Rented three Rtr dresses for a work conference, this one was my favorite. The dress was very snug, but in a good way. Made me feel like it was holding me in, while simultaneously accentuating the good curves. It was comfortable, even while sitting. The only bad part was that it did ride up while walking, causing a kind of bunching in the stomach unless I pulled it down every few steps..
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 26, 2014
The dress made me feel sexy, yet professional at my work's big annual fundraiser.
I'm glad I got the size up from what I normally wear because this dress is TIGHT, especially through the hips and stomach. Once I got it on, though, it felt great. The little details make the dress - the unique cap sleeve, the elegant neck draping, the perfect length. I got compliments all night! This was my first RTR experience, and everything went smoothly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2014
Amazing Dress
Wore this dress for a big work presentation and it was perfect. The all black made me feel powerful and it fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2014
Strong, svelte, yet professional little black dress was perfect for a museum opening.
I really loved, loved, loved this dress. I felt chic and sophisticated but still young and trendy. This fit like a glove. I'm really long waisted. I often cannot wear a sheath for that reason, but this one worked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2014
Perfect fit, ease of shipping return, clean no damage
Great fit, mid calf length, stunning on
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 11, 2012
Classy and feminine
I was very happy with this dress. I wore it to a work "gala" and felt sophisticated and beautiful. I don't know if it's really fair to say that it runs small, but I'm pear shaped so it was a bit snug on the bottom for me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
October 22, 2014
This ran very small.
I usually wear a 4 or 6 and I could barely zip the zipper!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
November 30, 2014
Amazing fit
I wore this dress for my sorority's preference round my senior year of college. It fit like an absolute dream and was a great and appropriate length for the event. It's completely stretchy and great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2014
Sexy dress!
Awesome dress! I would have preferred to wear a size larger since it is pretty tight in the waist but this one was ok.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2015
Fabulous dress for any occasion!
I snagged this dress on clearance during the RTR sale, and it has been worth every penny! The dress hugs curves and slims the midsection, it can be dressed down or up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2015
Broker Open House for a brand new, expensive, listing.
Fits well. It was a little loose in the top, but I am also lacking in that area! Perfect length.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 18, 2010
Loved this dress! Was a little tight through the hips but overall was a great fit. I wore it to a family event and got a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 30, 2011
What a great dress! Very business appropriate and great for any event that you need to look professional (and hot)! Hugs curves beautifully!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
April 12, 2016
Definitely a Jackie-O dress! I loved it. Would rent again as an LBD! Great silhouette!!
Fits tight- I definitely wore spanx underneath but this dress is absolutely classic! I wore it to my best friends rehearsal dinner and it was definitely a winner! It looks so simple but it has an elegance about it! LOVED IT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 21, 2011
First RTR Rental and was perfect!
I love this dress!! It was my first rental, and I knew I had to rent this dress for my boyfriends Navy Chief Pinning Ceremony. I wore it with Nude Patent Pumps and thought I would wear my peep toe black Patent pumps but the nude looked better.. It is a classic & timeless dress that won't let you down. As for fit, if you are unsure go with the bigger size, I got two sizes and could of worn the smaller size, but felt the larger one looked better. Love this dress & was so sad sending it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 16, 2013
Super chic evening dress
The Halo dress fits perfectly, true to size. Timeless and elegant. You can dress it up with some killer heels for an all evening look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 2, 2014
Great, classy dress! I felt very chic!
Overall, I had a great RTR experience with this dress! I wore this to a formal engagement party and received so many compliments! I am happy that I had a backup size as this dress does run very small. I am normally a true size 6 in dresses and had to wear the 8 in this dress. The dress is very tight. Be prepared for a very fitted bodice and the belt is not included. I loved this dress and had so much fun in it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
This dress was great! It fit my figure perfectly and I got several compliments on it!
This dress runs a bit on the small side so I ordered it in my size and 1 size up as a backup and the backup fir perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2014
I rented this dress for a head shot/portrait session. It fit like a glove!! Incredible dress!
This dress was amazing. So classy and comfortable. It accentuates your curves and hugs in all the right places! I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2014
Best rental so far! Amazing LBD!!
I want to buy this one! I actually rented this as a backup for my high school reunion and didn't plan on wearing it because I recently had a baby and am still working on getting my flat tummy back. I was afraid it would make me look fat, but it was very flattering even though my tummy stuck out a little. This dress is very tight so I couldn't wear any Spanx or anything, but it didn't matter. It fit me like a glove, and now I want my own!! One thing I will mention is that I was afraid it would look too business-y, which was not the case. The great thing about this dress is that you could glam it up, dress it up, or make it very professional. Loved it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×