Stylist Surprise

Mystery Bling

$15 rental
$15 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It's the item you never knew you needed, but must have. One of our stylists will complete your look with a bag or piece of jewelry.

Product Details

Your accessory will be jewelry or a bag with a rental price of up to $100.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

933 reviews

Fit
Small 58
True to Size 717
Large 96
Photos 193
Abigael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 15, 2012

It felt great wearing such an expensive necklace!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The stylists picked a necklace for me that I would have never picked out myself! But it was perfect with my dress and looked very classy. I'll definitely order mystery bling again!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
May 1, 2012

If I had rented these pretty earrings on my own, it would've cost $25, but by doing the Mystery Bling surprise, I was able to save $10.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received the Ciner Antique Crystal Fab Drop Earrings as part of the Mystery Bling Surprise. They looked great with my dress and I was able to match them with a bracelet that I already had. If I had rented these on my own, it would've cost $25, but by doing the Mystery Bling surprise, I was able to save $10. I first I thought they would be too heavy for my ears, but I didn't have any issues. They were so pretty that I wore them for my birthday dinner the next night.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 10, 2012

I loved that I was able to wear a gorgeous designer dress for a special occasion and not feel guilty about spending a lot of money. The fact of the matter is that I'm not going to re-wear a dress if I have worn it to a big event already. It's so easy to upload photos to facebook and I like to wear new/different dresses for special occasions. Rent the Runway offers that option at a reasonable price.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this. It felt like I had my own personal stylist. I wore the Trina Turk Seashell bateau dress and RTR paired the Kendra Scott Green stone bib necklace with it. A decision I wouldn't have made on my own but it worked out perfectly. I felt glamorous for my birthday. Will definitely add this option when ordering from RTR again.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 19, 2012

wonderful night, thanks rent the runway!

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I used this mystery bling package, and was pleasantly surprised with the deal, as I recieved Kenneth Jay Lane earrings, a $30 value for half the amount. The earrings were gorgeous, but pretty heavy and larger than expected. The stylists picked the perfect earrings, and also considered matching them with both of the dresses I ordered. very considerate!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 29, 2012

The earrings added the perfect amount of sparkle to my outfit!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love the idea of the mystery bling. I got the Badgley Mischka- Falling Leaf Earrings. They were great and went well with my dress. My only complaint is that I have short hair and you could not see the earrings unless my hair was behind my ears. I was hoping for a bracelet or a clutch. I would be nice if you could request what you are looking for. Overall loved this!
Lauren
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

I got so many compliments on these earrings. Everyone thought I looked like Hollywood royalty!

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got these earrings as a stylist surprise to go with a gold gown I rented for my junior prom. They were gorgeous! However they were a little bit heavy and scratched my ears up a little bit. Over all beautiful and I would rent them again.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

The ease of it all..I just picked dresses, they came I looked and felt fabulous.

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved my mystery bling. Kate Spade Earrings...it was the perfect compliment to my outfit.
Sherrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Loved having the stylist select some jewelry for me. Fun and different. :)

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Paying $15 for a stylist to choose an accessory (valued from $15-$150) that matches my dress is for me, a no-brainer. I received a pair of earrings and a bracelet that frankly, I wouldn't have chosen myself. But when I tried them on with the two dresses I rented, I was glad I let a stylist help me. They complemented so well, and kicked the whole ensemble up a notch. Would definitely recommend!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

many compliments; great look.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a cuff that was beautiful; however, the clasp was very loose and it ended up falling off almost every time I lifted my arm. I had to take it off after about an hour of wearing the piece because I was afraid to lose it. However, the styling option was great. It was a beautiful piece and matched perfectly with my outfit and my style.
Hope
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Everyone kept telling me I looked like a celebrity!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Added the wow factor to my dress and complimented it well! Typically, I wear jewelry occasionally, but I just LOVED these. Everyone asked me where I had found this extremely gorgeous piece Of jewelry! Wonderful pick by the RTR stylist.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Excellence customer Service

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a dress for my 21st birthday. I had a party at my place and didn't want a purse or anything since I wouldn't be going out. I emailed them to ask if this was even remotely possible, and I sent them like the theme of my party, etc. They said they had something "very special" picked out and they were so right! It was a long pearl necklace that I absolutely loved and went amazing with the dress and my party. Thanks, RTR!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Great promotion!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the complete look. Great idea.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

So fun!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I would do mystery bling every time :)
Ris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Got a Kate spade knot bracelet. Very simple and lacked any excitement for me

Rented for: Formal Affair
Too simple but perhaps because the dress was very unique and off one shoulder? Was disappointed in the selection.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Perfection

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I want to commend the stylist for choosing a bracelet that matched the first choice and backup dress rentals. The Kate Spade bracelet matched both perfectly. It was a truly fabulous statement piece to wear to a wedding.
Camille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Wonderful pieces

Rented for: Formal Affair
I do not have enough good things to say about this service. I received a beautiful black clutch to go with my outfit, and the stylists were beyond helpful.
jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

What a pleasant surprise!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I knew that whatever RTR was going to send as my stylist surprise would be wonderful and they did not disappoint. I received the Whiting & Davis Gold Mesh Glam Clutch to go with the Marchesa Notte Astor Dress....perfect pairing. Wish I had a picture to share.
Suanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

great concept but..

Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
what was sent to me was a small tight bracelet that is not a one size fits all. I LOVE the idea of the MYSTERY BLING but would have liked some input on size ... thanks
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

My "stylist" included a fabulous crystal cocktail ring that went perfectly with my outfit. So fun!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the stylist surprise - such a treat and the cocktail ring selected for me was perfect.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

$15 dollars for a mystery item and I got a $15 dollar necklace. The item was to much for the dress.

Rented for: Party
I wouldn't use the mystery bling again as its to much of a risk to have to match your shoes with. It would have been nice to have gotten something more then expected, instead of just another $15 necklace.
Jill
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Earrings didn't match dress

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Earrings I received didn't go well with the dress. Too large/tacky with bright blue stones (to go with a gold/black dress). I ended up not wearing them.
Cinna Styx
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

wonderful

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was perfect
Meegs
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 21, 2014

IT matched my dress and I loved the surprise.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great hand bag and loved that it was selected for my dress.
Robyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Didn't use the earrings.

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
looked horrible off and on. Hated the earrings. Waste of my money to rent the "surprise" and DEFINITELY will not recommend the service.
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Love the stylist surprise

Rented for: Other
I have loved every accessory that stylists have picked for me at a very reasonable price!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Great add to a V-neck cocktail dress!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This stylist surprise ended up being a perfect add to a V-neck, cocktail length dress I wore to a wedding. It was a bit "fancier" than I expected, but I don't mind standing out a bit. I almost always trust the stylists, especially if I'm able to connect with them with the chat feature. I highly recommend using this to make sure that they understand your style and the kind of look you're going for during the event.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

LOVE this!!

Rented for: Date
I'll definitely be purchasing this mystery item again - loved the choice of accessory for my outfit!
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Fun surprise!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was fun- I received earrings, which were sparkly, fun, and a style I would not have picked for myself. But the stylists know best- it looked great paired with my dress and prompted compliments- the best being from an over-the-top man who looked me head to toe, touched my earrings, and declared that my look "flawless." Wow!
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Fabulous pick by the stylist.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My surprise jewlery piece was beautiful and fun. I wore the bracelet that came in for a bachelorrette party and got a nice comment from everyone there about the piece. I'll definietly do this again.
Clare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

The clutch was cute!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was nice getting a little extra surprise!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 8, 2015

I don't have pierced ears, so these went unworn.

Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Lovely, but couldn't wear them due to not having pierced ears.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 8, 2015

Great way to get a accessory!

Rented for: Vacation
My mystery bling was a fantastic bling ring! This is the second time I've done mystery bling and have always loved it
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Great idea but please let me proactively decline things I can't wear (like earrings)

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great idea. The accessory they selected was perfect for my dress. My only complaint will not be a complaint for most - they should give the option of proactively declining or not sending earrings unless you have previously rented them from RTR or opted in. I can't wear them, so luckily I caught that they were going to send them as they were still packaging my shipment up. I called a stylist who was great and made a quick switcheroo to send me a bracelet.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

I love the concept of mystery bling!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was slightly disappointed at first because I received a clutch when I thought I'd be receiving jewelry. However, I was very happy with the clutch! It was a nice accessory to my red dress and added a little texture. I would try the mystery bling option again.
Amazon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Loved my bling!!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My mystery bling turned out to be the Lulu Frost Crystal Cruz earrings and they couldn't have been more perfect. I wish I could afford to buy them for my permanent collection.
Misty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 28, 2015

Nothing special. It was a plain bracelet.

Rented for: Formal Affair
The bracelet was nice, but was nothing that stood out. A nice touch.
Kat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Mystery bling sort of disappointing..

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wasn't planning on ordering jewelry along with my dress for a formal black tie event, but when I was asked if I wanted RTR's "expert fashion stylists" to pick a piece(s) that would be selected just for me and my outfit it sounded like a good idea. I am relatively new to fashion and I don't have a lot of jewelry that I would be able to wear so I figure I could use all the help I can get! However when I go my package and opened the sizable accessory box to find a small ring in the corner I was a little disappointed. Don't get me wrong - the ring is nice and not something I would normally try but I guess I was looking for more help in picking a necklace or earrings..,just something more substantial. Idk if I would do this feature again but I will be using RTR again.
Lisa K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 6, 2015

I decided to take the Mystery Bling for the heck of it. I got a fab purse & got tons of compliments

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this fab black purse that went with the Theia dress I rented. The surprise for me was that I wouldn't have looked to buy anything like the purse- yet the Personal Shopper who picked this to send was so dead on my style and preferences. And- yes i would go with the Mystery Bling again- it was like getting an unexpected gift!
Joan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151 lbs
Mar 13, 2015

Great surprise! I trust them with whatever they send me!

Rented for: Wedding
They sent me a gorgeous necklace that looked great with the dress that I rented!
KM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

I love mystery bling! I receive a clutch to go with my dress

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great nude color clutch to go with my peach colored dress I rented for a wedding. I didn't have a bag to match my dress, so I'm so glad I opted for the mystery bling!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×