Rent the Runway

Stylist Surprise

Mystery Bling

$15 rental
$15 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It's the item you never knew you needed, but must have. One of our stylists will complete your look with a bag or piece of jewelry.

Product Details

Your accessory will be jewelry or a bag with a rental price of up to $100.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

949 reviews

Fit
Small 58
True to Size 723
Large 96
Photos 196
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Dec 9, 2012

The surprise/necklace looked perfect with my dress! Received tons of compliments :)

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little nerve racking not knowing whether or not I'd like what the stylist surprise was.. but they made sure that it worked perfectly with my dress. It was the perfect accent to my look!
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

It was a nice touch

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I usually don't wear gold jewelry, but RTR sent items that went perfectly with my dress I rented.
Melinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Complimented my dress and earrings very well!

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bracelet was lovely! It definitely complimented my dress. However, the size was a bit big and I had to worry about the bracelet falling off my wrist for the whole night. The clasp was not very secure either. I would have liked to receive a necklace or earrings as an accessory instead.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Gorgeous ring! What an excellent surprise!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was really excited to see what would be sent to go with my Badgely Mischka dress and was really happy with the ring that was sent. I only gave four stars because I personally have trouble with rings fitting a little large and would have preferred earrings, but the ring was GORGEOUS and worked very well with the dress. I got a lot of compliments!
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Fabulous surprise bling!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got these earrings as my "Stylist Surprise" - went perfect with the dress! Love the gold-tone.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 20, 2013

I loved being surprised by the Bling!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved what the stylist picked out! It definitely completed my look.
SARAH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect Selection!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't have time to search through all the accesories and even if I did I couldn't decide between big earrings or the perfect cuff. They stylists did the work for me and selected a beautiful bracelet to go with my dress. I loved it! Not to mention I saved a good amout of money by selecting the surprise option!
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Was Completely ecstatic how great the Stylist Surprise looked with the Dress

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
When I received my complete RTR package, I was a little skeptical about how the Taj Mahal earrings by Kenneth Lane would look with the dress. They looked really big, I usually wear small hoop earrings. Nonetheless, they looked fabulous with the dress, and I paid half of what it would have cost to rent them if I would have selected them myself! Thanks RTR!
shari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 25, 2013

Great choice! Way to go stylists!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first, I was nervous about letting someone I didn't know pick out my accessory. It ended up working out wonderfully though! I ordered mystery bling for the Trina Turk - Gold On The Rocks dress and got the awesome Gerard Yosca - Geo Black Onyx Drop Earrings. I was super excited because the earringa are so pretty. Also the earrings cost $20, so I ended up saving $5! The only reason I'm taking off a star is because I have sensitive ears and they were irritated a bit the day after I wore them. Small price to pay for wearing gorgeous earrings all night though! Can't wait to see what they pick for me next time!
Floridafun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Perfect accessories!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I purchased 2 of the stylist surprise to compliment my beautiful gown and the stylists couldn't have done a better job. I received this beautiful clutch and earrings that were the perfect accessories to compliment my look. Thank you for a job well done. Definitely worth the $30 I spent for the two items.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Amazing feature!!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The earrings that were sent with my dress went perfectly, helped to complete my look and were something I would not have picked for myself but so glad they were sent!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

The earrings were a perfect fit for the dress

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Gorgeous earrings, slightly heavy if you are wearing all day long.
Marsha Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

I liked that I chose my dress & I didnt have to stress about accessories. The perfect extras came.

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Earrings are clip ons which i dont really like but the earrings are fab and they dont hurt. I wouldnt have necessarily chosen those earrings but they were perfect the dress.
Lyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Let someone else do the work for you!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I enjoyed having the decision for jewelry removed from my responsibility - rather I just had to wait for it to arrive. It was a perfect match for the dress and a brilliant accessory.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

My dress was pretty simple so these earrings gave my look some oomph!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The stylist rock! I went from cute to glamorous with these lovely earrings. Great sparkle plus they really accentuate your face and neck.
Bronwen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

Understated elegance.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This accessory was a surprise - I rented a Badgely Mischka dress for an evening wedding and took advantage of the "mystery" accessory upgrade for $15. These earrings are gorgeous, and were perfectly chosen by the stylist for my dress. Wonderful addition to the outfit.
Sharsharbinx
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

A great statement necklace!! I loved it!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Very beautiful!
Joy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Biggest, heaviest earrings I ever wore. Show stoppers.

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the Mystery Bling and was pleasantly surprised to get these huge clip-on style earrings (even though I have pierced ears but, of course, no one had asked). I was able to wear these for six hours before feeling the pinch and didn't have to worry about putting my hair back or up to have my lovely earrings seen. Nice surprise for price.
amandasmithb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

A classy addition

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little nervous to try the stylist surprise but I am very happy with the earrings I received (Nicole Miller Southern Plantation Earrings). It was cheaper than choosing earrings and I had a plainer dress that most earrings would have looked good with. It's worth a try!
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2013

This bracelet was the highlight of my rentals. it is beautiful! I'm so happy with it!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a dress, a necklace and the mystery bling for my sister's bridal shower. This bracelet was the best out of the 3. everyone loved it. I wish I didn't have to send it back!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Apr 6, 2013

Fun to have someone else make the tough decisions!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the Mystery Bling option to go along with the Erin Fetherston Blue Sea Mist dress for a family wedding, and received these adorable Kate Spade earrings. I ended up thinking that the dress needed a big statement necklace instead of the earrings (probably because that's the way the dress is styled in the picture, so it's what I was used to seeing!) -- but I was able to use them with my rehearsal dinner outfit instead. I really loved them but I just didn't think they were quite right for the dress. However, it was super fun to have the jewelry be a surprise, and I'd definitely choose the option again in the future!!!!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Rented these for a formal event, and couldn't be more pleased!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I went for the stylist surprise because I am typically HORRIBLE at picking out jewelry for myself. I couldn't have been happier with what I got. I got tons of compliments on the earrings, and I felt perfect for the event! I would highly recommend doing the Stylist Surprise, totally worth it!! :)
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

Everyone loved my dress! They all wanted to know where it came from! I promoted RTR well!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfect. I am only 5'2 so I did have to purchase 4 inch heels so that the dress did not hit the floor. It was perfect other then that and everyone loved it. Especially me!
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Great pick!

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The stylist did an awesome job! THanks so much for the earrings =)
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 30, 2013

Loved them!!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so happy with the stylists' choice of these earrings. They're beautiful,
Tammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 16, 2013

Great Earrings!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I would have NEVER picked these earrings. They were so perfect and beautiful. The Stylist Surprise was very inexpensive and a total hit. LOVED THEM!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2013

Amazing earrings came in with my dress that looked perfect with it! Awesome addition!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous earrings, looks beautiful with the dress, I got more compliments on them than the dress I rented!
Ivy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 23, 2013

Pretty! Thanks, RTR Stylists!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got these as my "Mystery Bling" to match the dress I rented. I probably wouldn't have picked them out myself on the website, but they were lovely in person and went well with my outfit. I like the Mystery Bling option because they've never sent me anything awful and it's a super easy way to accessorize your outfit without having to think about it at all. I've gotten the Mystery Bling option twice now and I now trust the stylists to always pick out something decent. These earrings were not too heavy and I got several compliments on them as well as the dress. Thanks, RTR!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 31, 2013

Sophisticated sparkle

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I got these as a stylist surprise with the Bam Pow dress. I didn't wear them to my daytime event because they were a bit to blingy, but they worked well in the evening for dinner and drinks.
Frederike
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

Amazing surprise - couldn't have picked better!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
These earrings complimented my dress perfectly and I was very pleased with the stylist's selection. They are Alexis Bittar Chantilly Garden earrings.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

I love RTR!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a lot of dresses for my bachelorette weekend, and added a few stylist surprises. We got the Alexis Bittar Silver Pave Teardrop Earrings, the Lulu Frost CRystal Cruz Pyramid Earrings, and the Lulu Frost Silver Drift Cuff. Loved them all, the girls wore them all weekend, and it was fun getting a surprise! :)
Shadae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2013

What a pleasant Surprise

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had visited the NYC showroom so I had a chance to see some accessories in person. The ones the stylists suggested were fabulous but I could not afford to rent a bracelet for $50. When I received the email for mystery bling I decided to do it because the stylists had proven to me that they could pick out good accessories that I would like. The bracelet I received has bling but is a little understated. It's a piece I would personally choose/wear but I expected something more. It ended up not being such a deal because I could have picked it out and rented it for the same price. It would make me feel a little better to have received something that normally rents for $20+ to feel like I'm actually saving something and getting a good deal. Other than that, it was a good pick by the stylists.
Jennifer X.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Big drama for a formal affair, but looked a little cheap!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got the Alexis Bittar Pyrite Cave Earrings... I would do mystery bling again but looked a little cheap! My BF's words - not mine and I still wore them because I needed a statement piece!
Willie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Great choice thank you RTR

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
perfect
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Perfect earrings to match my gorgeous dress

Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the Hervé Léger Temptation Rising Dress for a recent wedding. I decided to try the mystery bling and was pleasantly surprised. RTR picked out the Ben-Amun Deco Crystal Earrings and they complimented the dress perfectly.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Jun 26, 2013

Rented the dress, chose the stylist surprise for the accessory. They did great!!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bracelet looked great! I was worried it would be too much since I was not choosing the accessory but they matched what I wanted perfectly. The only drawback was the bracelet kept snagging the lace on my dress. I would use the stylist surprise again.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Perfect jewelry pairing for a summer wedding

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The RTR team picked out a great necklace to go with my dress rental. The Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright necklace was beautiful, and truly a great pairing with the dress. Thanks ladies!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Stunning Bracelet! Perfect piece that I never would have chosen on my own.

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have smaller bony wrists and always worry about bracelets either hurting my wrist or sliding around too much. This bracelet fit very well and didn't slide around too much. It was absolutely gorgeous with just the right amount of bling without being too much! I loved it!!
Afton
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 1, 2013

Great pick for my dress!

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Added just the right amount of sparkle to my Z Spoke dress. They definitely know how to style you for an unforgettable evening
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Great option -- but "Mystery Bling" missing some important aspects during order/review

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The stylist surprise was something that I added to my order on a whim. The price was right so I figured why not. The downside is that they don't really ask for enough info when going with a "stylist surprise." I understand you're rolling the dice as to what they have in stock, but it would be nice, when you choose this, if they asked if you have pierced ears (or not), or what your shoe color is going to be, etc. My problem was that my surprise was a gold bracelet, but my shoes were silver, so I didn't even wear it since I hate the silver/gold mish-mash combo in a single outfit. A waste of money on that front -- but in the future, if I could add a note that said "wearing silver shoes with this dress" -- then I would have taken any silver tone necklace/bracelet/earrings/purse/etc. I hope that makes sense and something they consider adding to this feature in the future. Heck, even JUST being able to choose between a yellow/gold tone vs. a silver/white gold tone would be a HUGE improvement! As for the item itself, I have small wrists and it was beautiful. Just the wrong color to match my shoes.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×