Tea Room Tapestry Dress

$36 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Sip tea and endulge in tasty macaroons in this beautiful printed BCBGMAXAZRIA. Accessorize with Miriam Haskell's Charming Charlie Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - strapless neckline fits low on bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has boning in bodice and shelf-bust provides some support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - strapless neckline fits low on bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has boning in bodice and shelf-bust provides some support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow metallic jacquard. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 28'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2012
Pretty dress but not for me
I ordered this dress as a backup dress for a wedding I attended. The fit was true to size, but I ended up prefering my first choice and wore that instead. This was a pretty dress, but a little to "heavy" for a summer wedding, better for fall. It is very low cut - just not a lot of material/coverage in the bust area.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding last weekend and received many compliments. I used the Braza inserts to fill out the top a little. It was adorable, and I would recommend the dress for this type of event. The color is brighter in person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 8, 2012
AWESOME
Dress was fantastic! Had a dinner party ata my home - was the BEST hostess dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 13, 2012
Got so many compliments!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. The dress fit pretty well - a little tight in the bodice. I should have gotten a 4 and 6 instead of a 2 and 4, I wonder if the 6 would have fit better. I got compliments on the dress all night. Seemed like it had been worn alot and the clasp next to the zipper was in need of repair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Absolutely Amazing!
This was the perfect dress for a wedding I attended in July. Felt great & got lots of compliments! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 17, 2012
Fun dress with a great fit!
I wore this dress to an outdoor summer wedding and received many compliments. The gold is a bit more shiny in person than it shows in the pictures but it is fun and festive. The fit is flattering for women with larger bust sizes and hips. The fabric around the waist is complimentary for those with small waists and larger backsides.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2012
I love this dress! I rented it twice for 2 weddings, awesome blend of fun & sophisticated
The dress fits great, I ordered a 6 and 8. Ended up wearing the 8 as I am a DD on top so I needed the bigger size for my chest. I got so many compliments at both weddings I went to, one in La Jolla and one here in Chicago.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 19, 2012
I wore this for graduations it's a shame that I had to wear my graduation gown on top of it.
I worse it to dinner after graduation, it was perfect, not too formal but It can be if you accessorize right. I wish I could buy it, will definitely consider renting it again so I can actually take pictures in it ):
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress was perfect for a summer tented charity art auction!
This dress ran true to size. It was so incredibly comfortable and I got so many compliments all evening on the dress! The process was so easy and I will be using Rent the Runway again VERY soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress is a beautiful color - much pretty in person than in pictures
Great fit and great color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Awesome overall dress!
I wore this to a cocktail party. It fit well, was simple and cute, and i got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
Great dress, great details, wonderful fit! Super cute, flirty and fun!
Really flattering fit with the fitted waist. I'm smaller busted and didn't need to wear a bra. Great party dress - I would definitely rent this again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2012
It was great to go to the wedding without all the dress shopping stress!
I thought I would wear a 6, but it was pretty loose so I went with the 4 (fit perfectly until I went to town on the cupcakes!). The dress was in great condition, but one thing I noticed that no one else has mentioned--the garment bag smelled like some kind of chemicals, probably for cleaning, but it wasn't a good smell. I stuck some dryer sheets in the dress and let it air out as soon as I got it and it was fine the day of. I ordered it to come on Thursday for a Saturday wedding, and because it was due back on Sunday, I didn't even need to ship it back until Monday morning, which was convenient since we were in a different city and no one even found out the dress wasn't mine. =)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 1, 2012
Great fit, easy snug style, great fabric. Loved this dress.
Snug and stable in the chest and billlowy in the tummy. Perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2012
simple but different, wore to a summer wedding
Easy to wear, got so MANY compliments! Skirt is slightly full, very flattering. Color more golden than picture shown, shimmers a little but not too much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2012
Having my younger sisters and husband tell me that I looked amazing!
I wore this dress to my close friends' wedding in May, it was perfect for their "dressy-causal" attire. At 5' 2" I have trouble finding cocktail dresses that are long enough for me to feel comfortable in, this dress was the perfect length and fit for me as well. I had originally planned on wearing a strapless bra underneath, but I didn't need to. The boning in the front held everything in place even through dancing. I paired the dress with a pair of gold heels and gold jewelry (which I ended up re-wearing with another RTR dress for another wedding I attended in May.) Overall, I loved the dress and the fact that it wasn't just plain gold or yellow and the detail was enough to make it pop! (I did however do some tanning prior to wearing this dress, since I was quite pale and may have looked too washed out in the color...but, that was just me.)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
I wore this dress for a wedding (outdoors at a mansion in RI) and it was perfect - received tons of compliments. I am very small in the bust and larger in the hips, and it fit really well since the only place it's really fitted is on top. Probably not the best for bustier women. I hate dresses too short, and it was great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
I wore this dress to my senior year sorority formal and LOVED it!! I received so many compliments an
I got a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the six. The four was very tight under the boobs and a little shorter than I would have liked with my heels. The six was just a little longer than would have been ideal but I still absolutely loved it. It was a great dress and the color is so awesome.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 25, 2012
Great Dress!
Very cute and perfect for a yacht club wedding. Got many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2013
Great New Years Eve Dress!
I wore this dress to a friends new years party. It fit true to size and being a B cup it fit well enough up top that I didnt have to wear a bra and still looked good. I got compliments on the dress all night. It was comfortable and I had no problem wearing it for a long period of time. The only issue I had was the boning going from the top of the dress to the waist. It added a nice effect and made my figure look good but I have a short waist. So the end of the boning hit a little below my hips and dug into me a bit. If I had a longer waist I'm sure I would not have this problem. Either way it was not bothersome enough to prevent me from enjoying my night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 4, 2013
Received compliments all night! The dress felt like my own.
I love this dress. The fabric is beautiful, and the dress is perfectly comfortable for an entire night of dancing. The dress does run very small. I'm a 0 in most dresses, but the size 2 fit perfectly. Definitely order a size up if considering this dress. It was even the perfect length on me (a few inches above my knee), which is hard to come by.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2011
Beautiful fabric, and I got tons of complements at a summer wedding. The only place this dress is fitted is in at empire waist, which runs a bit big. I am a 36D and wore the 10, but I suspect the 8 would have fit fine and I would have felt far more secure.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
June 20, 2011
Loved this dress and got a ton of compliments from total strangers. I wore it to a summer evening wedding paired with pearls and nude shoes. It does run a bit large though, so I had to use some double-stick tape to keep it in place. I would have gotten a 2 rather than a 4 if I could do it over again. Was still very happy with it though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
July 7, 2011
pretty yellow, didn't get a chance to wear it but cute
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
July 16, 2011
This dress was beautiful and was comfortable. I wore it to my bridal shower and everyone loved it. The color wasn't great with my not so tan skin tone, but the rest made up for it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2011
i got a 2 and a 4 and im glad i wore the 4, because i went to a summer wedding, and i needed to breathe in the santa barbara heat! I looked, amazing, not gonna lie, EVERYONE wore black (lame) so i was like a cute shimmering star! i have noooo boobs but the tiny corset top fit perfectly! highly recommend it, LOVE MY RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 26, 2011
Very pretty dress! After reading the reviews, I ordered sizes 2 & 4 (I'm usually a 4) but wore the 2. I definitely recommend having some double stick tape on hand when you wear this dress! But a great dress, very pretty colors!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 5, 2011
This dress is so much prettier than I expected! I thought it ran true to size though, it fit me like BCBG dresses usually do. The color was perhaps a little more yellow in person than it is in the picture but not by much. A great dress but I ended up wearing something else to the event I rented it for.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
August 11, 2011
This dress was amazing for a summer wedding. I had a TON of compliments on it and it looked so classy in all the photos. It is not boring but not too flashy either. I may rent it again if given the opportunity!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 1, 2011
Beautiful dress that fit me very well. I am petite but I have wide hips that were no issue in this full skirt. However when ordering, I was concerned because the metallic on fabric is technically silver and I wanted to wear nude shoes and gold jewelry. However, in person the dress has an overall gold appearance so it worked well with my gold accessories. Overall, it's a very elegant dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 6, 2011
Great for us girls with not too much up top because you can wear this without a bra. Great length, great colors, looks good with gold jewlery. Be sure to order up/wear your backup size if its tight around the empire waist because it could make sitting a little uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2011
Perfect dress for the occasion!
I wore this to wedding in September, and it was gorgeous. I got it in a 2 and 4. The 4 fit perfectly, I got tons of compliments and felt great in it. It's a really beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 26, 2011
I rented this dress for a recent outdoor/lawn wedding. The dress was perfect! The gold in the fabric is slightly understated - so it is not too shiny. I got so many compliments. The dress does fit like other BCBG dresses I have. I am a small C cup, so the top was a tad snug but then I didn't have to wear a bra, which was comfortable. The length was great as well. Definitely a great rental, especially to POP at a wedding.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 26, 2011
I felt amazing!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I wore it to my birthday party at a blues event. As you can see I sang in it and felt really comfortable. I had a lot of compliments and it made me feel really pretty. I am 5'3 and 160 lbs this dress is good for hourglass shaped and busty girls. It's shorter than I wanted it to be, but other than that, the quality was worth it.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2011
Gorgeous dress. I wore it to a late September wedding with sparkly nude shoes. I typically wear a 2 in dresses, but the 2 in this dress was a bit hard to zip all the way up. The 4 was too big, so I guess I was somewhere in between the 2 sizes. I went with the 4 and was pulling it up all night. Other than the size issue, the dress was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139lbs
November 17, 2011
Everyone said I looked great (and thin!)
This dress fit really well. It was very pretty and interesting without being too showy for a wedding. Went great with gold and cream jewelry. Just the right length for a formal outing. Nude shoes were perfection.
KellyOctober 25, 2012
This dress fits you perfectly! Great choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2011
Easy Breezy
I rented this for a girl's night out and paired it with black tights to keep warm. I'm a pear and normally wear and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly. The shape kept all night and the boning inside was never painful or restraining. I wore a strapless bra with mine to fill it and was fine, but there is a built-in bra/support if you'd rather go without one. All in all, I'd rent this again. It's one of the cheapest, but still formal-looking, rentals available on RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2011
Perfect Spring/Summer dress!
This dress was absolutely perfect! Ran true to size and was so flattering on me. I would recommend this dress to anyone! Gold/yellowish color looked great with my tan
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
Wore this dress to a wedding in Tahoe!
Fit great. Comfortable. Not too short. Looks best with a tan, and a big necklace. There is a shine to the fabric which adds elegance. This is an adorable dress for a summer wedding. I wish I owned it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 30, 2012
Way too small for a 34D! :(
I really thought this dress was super cute, and I usually wear a 4 or a 6 so I ordered both. I was supposed to wear this to my best friends wedding in NYC. Tried the 6 on first and there was NO WAY that it was even going to come close to zipping. I should have gotten at least an 8. If you are large chested, go at least 1 size up to make sure you get the right fit. Very disappointed that I couldn't wear this dress, but I might try to order it again to wear to my friends wedding in June
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×