My Soulmate Dress

$30 rental
$348 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

He'll fall in love when you arrive at the party wearing this sexy BCBGMAXAZRIA red lace dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has boning and built in padded cups for support
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to padded cups
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has boning and built in padded cups for support
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to padded cups
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red lace(77% cotton; 23% nylon). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large7
True to Size79
Small49
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 24, 2013
Great for Petite Girls
This dress fit perfectly. The dress was fitted without being too tight and the lining underneath the dress came to my knees. Beautiful color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2013
Unable to wear the dress, but great customer service.
This dress was beautiful! I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. Unfortunately neither fit, and the size 6 actually felt tighter than the 4. So that was interesting, but customer service was great about it and was able to give me credit for a future purchase. I expected the credit to appear on my account once they received the dress. After a few days of my account not being credited I contacted customer service with my concern and right away the credit was applied to my account. Although I was not able to wear the dress, I really appreciate the quick, great customer service.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
I love Rent the Runway this was my first rental and loved the idea and service!
The dress itself is simple yet beautiful but when I received the dress I was really disappointed. The material looked really worn. I knew it wouldn't look brand new, but I didn't think it would look that worn and had little stubs all over the dress it fit a little big I usually wear a 4 but a lot of the reviews stated it ran small so I went with a six it was definitely a little big in the bust. but overall I had a great experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 13, 2013
Up to par with most BCBG dresses, just not one of my favorites.
The one thing that really bothered me about this dress was the sheer hem at the bottom, however I think it has more to do with how it's stored/kept rather than the design of the dress itself. The under layer with the sheer hem hung lower than the hem of the outer layer of the dress so you could see where the sheer part started and it looked like I was wearing a slip that was down too low. Because of this I ended up using fashion tape from a previous rental (wish they included it with every rental) and taping the hem. Another thing to note, there are loops at the top for detachable straps - I personally feel that RTR should include the straps as it is essentially, part of the dress and customers should have the option to wear them - especially those with bigger chests like myself. However, it was easily solved - I used black straps from one of my convertible bras and they worked just fine and went with the black heels I wore. With the straps attached, it offered enough support that I didn't have to wear a bra. Aside from that, the dress was very flattering. It was perfect for someone petite, like myself and I really love the color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
This Dress Made Me Feel Incredible!
Luckily I ordered 2 sizes for this dress. I usually wear a size 6, but I couldn't even get the size 6 over my hips, so I went with the 8. The 8 was still a little snug, but I would prefer that with a strapless dress. I got loads of compliments all night long and felt beautiful, sexy and confident. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2013
I felt GORGEOUS all night!
I ordered a 6 with a backup 4 (wishful thinking!) and just barely squeezed into the 4 so I decided to wear the 6 so I'd have some room to breathe. The dress fit perfect in all the right places so nice for the curvy gals :) I got a ton of compliments and the crystal cluster necklace went really nicely with it to glam it up. I was able to dance as much as I wanted and the dress stayed perfectly in place. Had so much fun in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2013
Great Dress!
I usually wear a 4 and the 4 fits perfectly! I had a great night except the dress kept slipping down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 13, 2013
Great dress!
Very comfortable and flaterring dress. Was appropriate for a wedding. The size zero fit well in the bust, but was too tight in the hips! I'm glad I ordered two sizes!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
May 6, 2013
Perfect dress! Received tons of compliments, at the event and for the pictures!
I am 5'7 and 140 -145 lb and size 8 fit. Was able to fit bra and spanx under, but it was snug to zipper up. Length was perfect b/c of the mesh add-on at the hem. dress didn't ride up or fall down at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2013
I loved the necklace that was suggested with this dress! Wore it for a night out in Vegas
Fit great up top, kept having to remind myself to "suck it in" throughout the night though.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2013
Head turning dress!
This dress was great. It looked amazing in photos and I got compliments all night. Perfect for any evening event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
April 10, 2013
Dress was very elegant.
Fit sort of snug but very flattering flattering. Easier not to wear a bra since the bust is very tight. Brings you up a cup size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Classy, but Red Hot!
I loved this dress. Its the perfect balance for a formal occasion where you want to be able to look sophisticated but still have fun and dance. The sweetheart neckline is super flattering and the length is great. I am tall and the dress still hit at a nice length. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and I wore the 6. The 4 was way to tight in the bust, and my chest is by no means large. The 6 was actually very lose through the hips (which I liked for dancing). It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 5, 2013
Nothing bad, nothing amazing
It was just mediocre, didn't end up wearing it for the even I ordered it for because it was just boring.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
April 2, 2013
Nice dress
Color was a little different than pictured.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
I wore this for a cruise formal night and loved it!
It was a body-hugging dress - wore this at the beginning of the cruise before I ate too much! And I didn't have to pull it up or anything, it was a great fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2013
A perfect dress for my formal sorority function!
This dress was so eye catching that another girl in my sorority thought to rent it from Rent the Runway as well (pictured)! The dress was comfortable to wear and I wasn't pulling it up all night, even though it's strapless. I tucked in the lace hem because it looked a little too long on me, but received many compliments on the overall detail of the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
More pink than red
I didn't end up wearing this dress. After wearing a gorgeous silver Tracy Reese dress for another event, I thought I'd rent this one since it's a similar style. I was disappointed that it didn't fit nearly as well and that the color was more dark pink than the bold red I was hoping for. Normally I wear a size 4. The size 4 and size 6 are very similar but the size 6 worked better for me. I didn't think there was anything that special about this dress and felt that it was much too informal for the event I was going to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 12, 2013
Love the color, but overall the dress was more summery than sexy.
I did not love the combination of the bright color and the lacy finish. Had a nice fit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 5, 2013
Great statement dress...sexy but still demure
I wanted something out of my comfort zone and a bit more va va voom. This dress was perfect. It's very comfortable for being a form fitting dress. The color is more pinkish red than stark red. If you issues with your stomach, this dress won't hide it. Other than that, I received alot of compliments. I ordered a size 2 and size 4. Size 4 was too big and size 2, the bust was tight so I couldn't wear a bra. the waist runs small on this dress. The dress came down to my knees and hug all the curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
January 16, 2013
Great fit, but didn't like the hemline
I got this dress as a back-up for New Year's and didn't end up wearing it. Yes, it fit well - love BCBG for their fit. But I didn't love the hemline with the lace peeking out. Somehow it just ruined the overall look to me. The color and material and fit were spot on though.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2013
I Loved this dress, I felt like Cinderella!
I LOVED this dress it fit perfectly and I received complements all night long! I also rented a Badgley Mischka necklace and earrings, they were breath taking. The dress fit very snug around the torso so there was no pulling up the dress all night long, which was great! I was timid thinking the strapless dress was going to be a little too revealing for a wedding but it was perfect. The length is a couple of inches above the knee and the lace made the look so elegant. I highly recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2013
This dress was GREAT!!!! The feel, the look and i received RAve reviews...
Loved loved loved....perfect for the hourglass. Dress stays up which is a common problem with strapless dressed. No problem here. perfect for a nice party or date
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2013
Everyone loved this dress!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! The color is such a nice shade of red. I wore it to a formal party and got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 28, 2012
Not what I was expecting...
I was expecting this dress to fit like a glove and work perfectly for this wedding. I had both a 2 and a 0 sent to me just to make sure that I could wear the dress. Unfortunately, neither the 2 nor the 0 fit me properly. The 0 was too tight through the hips, and the 2 was much too big all over. I am sorry to say that this dress just didn't fit my body type. It is a gorgeous dress, I just wish that it fit me the way it was supposed to.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly, I didn't have to wear a bra, and I got compliments all night.
The picture doesn't show much of the dress, but you can see how pretty the color is. I wore this to a wedding with nude strappy heels in August. I stood out, but looked classy at the same time. I tried to find a statement necklace to wear with it, but just didn't have enough time. It's longer than the picture showed, but I liked the length for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
December 24, 2012
Best strapless dress I've ever worn
First of all, this dress is a gorgeous shade of cherry red - it really pops and is a great option for holiday parties (what I wore this to) or a Valentine's Day date. I am 6'0" tall so I was a little concerned about the length, but it was very appropriate on me. The length went past my fingers and yet it wasn't knee length. Some other reviewers have mentioned it but the red lace underneath does stick out more than the picture of the model indicates. At first I wasn't sure if I liked it but ultimately it added more length to the dress which I needed and added a suttle sexy element - big fan by the end of the night. The waist hit well on me but you would definitely want to get two sizes just in case - if it didn't hit you right I could see the fit being a problem. Also, the bust has a built in underwire and the fabric is thick enough that I'm sure most girls could get away without a bra. I used a "sticky bra" but I really didn't need to. Would HIGHLY recommend this dress for an evening out. You will get tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 24, 2012
Great dress, too bad I didn't get to wear it :(
This was actually my backup dress and I really wish I had an excuse to wear it. It does run a little small, especially across the waist, but it was gorgeous. Perfect for date night but it wasn't quite right for my holiday party.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 18, 2012
Perfect Holiday Cocktail Party Dress!
This dress was fantastic for my holiday cocktail party. I typically wear either a 4 or 6 so I ordered both sizes. I ended up wearing the 4. The bodies of both fit great, but the chest seemed to run a bit large so the 4 ended up fitting better overall. This is a great dress that got a lot of compliments throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 16, 2012
It fit like a glove!
I had ordered this dress, intending on wearing it to my high school dance, unfortunately, I ordered to late and the dress arrived at my house right as the dance was starting. Not wanting to waste such a wonderful rent, the next day I wore the dress where-ever I could! Although it was a tad bit snug, I felt beautiful in it and i wish that my fellow classmates could have seen it too, i loved the dress so much and the rental process was so easy that i can hardly wait to order my dress (on time) for my next dance!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2012
Awesome experience!
LOVED the dress!! I ordered a 0 and 2 since I always wear either size. I thought BCBG ran large but the 0 was tight so I went for the 2. It was a really comfortable dress and I didn't have to pull on it to keep it up. I received so many compliments at our work holiday party. I'm 5'3 so the lace hit right above my knee. Overall I would really recommend this dress for any formal event!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2012
Great Service! I was nervous as it was my first time and last minute. Came right as scheduled. Easy!
Fit true to size, the only downside was the bottom layer would get twisted and throw off the shape of the top layer at certain points in the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
November 29, 2012
beautiful dress, unfortunately due to sandy it was canceled
excited to try renting this again - beautiful
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 14, 2012
This was my first RTR experience and it will not be my last. LOVED this dress!!
I wore this to a wedding and received so many compliments. I wore the size 8 but probably could have worn the 6 if it had been available. Hit right at the knee so even though it is pretty flashy, because of the color, it is still classy. It is very red and caught everyone's eye. If you are looking to make a lasting impression go with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2012
Perfect dress!
Slightly tight in the chest area but runs true to size. Color is a stunning cherry red.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2012
Classy and sexy
Loved this dress! It was a great color and cut for an outdoor rehearsal dinner. The chest was a little tight so I had to go up a size but overall, was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect cocktail dress!
It fit true to size. I received numerous compliments and was very comfortable throughout the night. I was able to dance and move around in it without any problems.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress, worked perfect for a wedding.
I love this dress. I love the sweetheart neckline, it's very flattering. Beautiful color that could be worn year round.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
October 11, 2012
LOVE IT!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette weekend in Miami. This dress was AMAZING. It fit perfectly and was very flattering. I'm 5'3", and the sheer mesh trim fell a few inches above the knee, which was great for me. It's not a stretchy material, but it was very comfortable - I didn't feel like I was going to fall out of the top, etc. I usually wear a 4 in BCBG cocktail dresses, and this one was consistent. I love it so much that I tried to find it online to purchase... but alas, none in my size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
October 10, 2012
I got compliments all night on my dress and people kept saying how red is really my color!
I wore this dress for my Sophomore year homecoming The dress fit really tight in the chest area, which I liked most about it. Although it made me look busty in the front it was long enough to be classy. I would recommend this dress without a doubt!
VanessaFebruary 1, 2013
I can't see the sheer layer in the photo? Did you use fashion tape to pin it up? It looks great!!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×