BCBGMAXAZRIA

My Soulmate Dress

$116 to buy
$348 retail
Stylist Notes

He'll fall in love when you arrive at the party wearing this sexy BCBGMAXAZRIA red lace dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has boning and built in padded cups for support
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to padded cups
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace(77% cotton; 23% nylon). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
154 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 19, 2012
Perfect Gameday Dress!

The dress fit true to size, and I didn't have to worry about tugging the top all day. The only complaint I have is that the dress did not lie flat in the torso area, but it was more to do with the cut of the dress than with sizing. Overall, a great dress that could be worn for a variety of occasions, both day and evening.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
Elegant but sexy

This dress runs true to size, I wore the size 8, and it fit perfectly. It is pretty snug in the chest, but being a strapless, that was nice because I wasn't having to pull it up all night. I received numerous compliments on the dress, and definitely recommend anyone looking for a sexy yet classy dress choice, to try this one!

NatalieSeptember 23, 2012
Hi! I am an inch taller than you and curious if you think this dress is long enough to wear to a wedding? Thx!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
October 10, 2012
I got compliments all night on my dress and people kept saying how red is really my color!

I wore this dress for my Sophomore year homecoming The dress fit really tight in the chest area, which I liked most about it. Although it made me look busty in the front it was long enough to be classy. I would recommend this dress without a doubt!

VanessaOctober 10, 2012
I can't see the sheer layer in the photo? Did you use fashion tape to pin it up? It looks great!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress, worked perfect for a wedding.

I love this dress. I love the sweetheart neckline, it's very flattering. Beautiful color that could be worn year round.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect cocktail dress!

It fit true to size. I received numerous compliments and was very comfortable throughout the night. I was able to dance and move around in it without any problems.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2012
Perfect dress!

Slightly tight in the chest area but runs true to size. Color is a stunning cherry red.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
November 29, 2012
beautiful dress, unfortunately due to sandy it was canceled

excited to try renting this again - beautiful

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2012
Great Service! I was nervous as it was my first time and last minute. Came right as scheduled. Easy!

Fit true to size, the only downside was the bottom layer would get twisted and throw off the shape of the top layer at certain points in the night.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2012
Awesome experience!

LOVED the dress!! I ordered a 0 and 2 since I always wear either size. I thought BCBG ran large but the 0 was tight so I went for the 2. It was a really comfortable dress and I didn't have to pull on it to keep it up. I received so many compliments at our work holiday party. I'm 5'3 so the lace hit right above my knee. Overall I would really recommend this dress for any formal event!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 18, 2012
Perfect Holiday Cocktail Party Dress!

This dress was fantastic for my holiday cocktail party. I typically wear either a 4 or 6 so I ordered both sizes. I ended up wearing the 4. The bodies of both fit great, but the chest seemed to run a bit large so the 4 ended up fitting better overall. This is a great dress that got a lot of compliments throughout the night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 24, 2012
Best strapless dress I've ever worn

First of all, this dress is a gorgeous shade of cherry red - it really pops and is a great option for holiday parties (what I wore this to) or a Valentine's Day date. I am 6'0" tall so I was a little concerned about the length, but it was very appropriate on me. The length went past my fingers and yet it wasn't knee length. Some other reviewers have mentioned it but the red lace underneath does stick out more than the picture of the model indicates. At first I wasn't sure if I liked it but ultimately it added more length to the dress which I needed and added a suttle sexy element - big fan by the end of the night. The waist hit well on me but you would definitely want to get two sizes just in case - if it didn't hit you right I could see the fit being a problem. Also, the bust has a built in underwire and the fabric is thick enough that I'm sure most girls could get away without a bra. I used a "sticky bra" but I really didn't need to. Would HIGHLY recommend this dress for an evening out. You will get tons of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2013
Everyone loved this dress!

This dress was absolutely gorgeous! The color is such a nice shade of red. I wore it to a formal party and got a ton of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2013
This dress was GREAT!!!! The feel, the look and i received RAve reviews...

Loved loved loved....perfect for the hourglass. Dress stays up which is a common problem with strapless dressed. No problem here. perfect for a nice party or date

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 5, 2013
Great statement dress...sexy but still demure

I wanted something out of my comfort zone and a bit more va va voom. This dress was perfect. It's very comfortable for being a form fitting dress. The color is more pinkish red than stark red. If you issues with your stomach, this dress won't hide it. Other than that, I received alot of compliments. I ordered a size 2 and size 4. Size 4 was too big and size 2, the bust was tight so I couldn't wear a bra. the waist runs small on this dress. The dress came down to my knees and hug all the curves.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 12, 2013
Love the color, but overall the dress was more summery than sexy.

I did not love the combination of the bright color and the lacy finish. Had a nice fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2013
A perfect dress for my formal sorority function!

This dress was so eye catching that another girl in my sorority thought to rent it from Rent the Runway as well (pictured)! The dress was comfortable to wear and I wasn't pulling it up all night, even though it's strapless. I tucked in the lace hem because it looked a little too long on me, but received many compliments on the overall detail of the dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 27, 2013
I wore this for a cruise formal night and loved it!

It was a body-hugging dress - wore this at the beginning of the cruise before I ate too much! And I didn't have to pull it up or anything, it was a great fit.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
April 10, 2013
Dress was very elegant.

Fit sort of snug but very flattering flattering. Easier not to wear a bra since the bust is very tight. Brings you up a cup size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 19, 2013
Head turning dress!

This dress was great. It looked amazing in photos and I got compliments all night. Perfect for any evening event.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2013
I loved the necklace that was suggested with this dress! Wore it for a night out in Vegas

Fit great up top, kept having to remind myself to "suck it in" throughout the night though.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
May 6, 2013
Perfect dress! Received tons of compliments, at the event and for the pictures!

I am 5'7 and 140 -145 lb and size 8 fit. Was able to fit bra and spanx under, but it was snug to zipper up. Length was perfect b/c of the mesh add-on at the hem. dress didn't ride up or fall down at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 13, 2013
Up to par with most BCBG dresses, just not one of my favorites.

The one thing that really bothered me about this dress was the sheer hem at the bottom, however I think it has more to do with how it's stored/kept rather than the design of the dress itself. The under layer with the sheer hem hung lower than the hem of the outer layer of the dress so you could see where the sheer part started and it looked like I was wearing a slip that was down too low. Because of this I ended up using fashion tape from a previous rental (wish they included it with every rental) and taping the hem. Another thing to note, there are loops at the top for detachable straps - I personally feel that RTR should include the straps as it is essentially, part of the dress and customers should have the option to wear them - especially those with bigger chests like myself. However, it was easily solved - I used black straps from one of my convertible bras and they worked just fine and went with the black heels I wore. With the straps attached, it offered enough support that I didn't have to wear a bra. Aside from that, the dress was very flattering. It was perfect for someone petite, like myself and I really love the color.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
I love Rent the Runway this was my first rental and loved the idea and service!

The dress itself is simple yet beautiful but when I received the dress I was really disappointed. The material looked really worn. I knew it wouldn't look brand new, but I didn't think it would look that worn and had little stubs all over the dress it fit a little big I usually wear a 4 but a lot of the reviews stated it ran small so I went with a six it was definitely a little big in the bust. but overall I had a great experience.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 24, 2013
Great for Petite Girls

This dress fit perfectly. The dress was fitted without being too tight and the lining underneath the dress came to my knees. Beautiful color!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2013
This dress was fantastic! Does not disappoint!

The lace on the bottom adds a little flare that I love. I was complimented on the fit and the dress multiple times throughout the wedding night. This was my first RTR experience and it did not disappoint! I do run between a 4 and a 6 and so I got both sizes. I think it is pretty true to fit, but get a size larger, not a size smaller as it is a snug fitting dress. I will definitely be using RTR for my next event!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2013
I loved this dress. It was so flattering and I felt great in it all night.

I'm usually a size 2 or 4 depending on the cut of dresses. Since I have a pretty small bust (whomp whomp) I ended up going with the 2 to ensure the dress wouldn't keep falling down all night. The 2 was tight around my butt and thighs but not too tight to walk, sit and dance comfortably. I highly recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2013
I never wear color. This red was the perfect red, not too va va voom, but not worn out.

Fit was true to size. It was very comfortable. Im smaller on top and the dress didnt move much.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 8, 2013
loved it!

perfect fit, tight in a good way, pretty details, great color... nothing not to like.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 10, 2013
Beautiful color!

I wore this dress to a wedding in late September. The color was so pretty, and I received many compliments on the simplicity and elegance of the dress. It fit TTS and was the perfect length. I wish I owned it because I would definitely wear it again. Unlike a lot of gorgeous BCBG dresses, I haven't seen this dress on anyone else. No need to worry about others having the same dress as you at the event!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 15, 2013
This Dress Is On "FIRE" !

I wore this dress for my niece's Sweet 16 it was absolutely amazing. I loved the fit of it and the color was gorgeous. I wore it with some gold "strappy" Louis Vuitton sandals, everyone loved it !

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2013
Loved the color, and got tons of compliments!

Fit perfectly! ! got a 4 and a 6, and ended up wearing the 6. I have a small bust, but a little bit of a booty and it fit great! Extremely flattering.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2013
Perfect dress to dance the night away

This dress fit me true to size, very classy and pretty. Also it was very comfortable and easy to move in. Loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
June 29, 2013
Very pretty dress!

The dress fit very well. I loved the color and the material. It sit well on the bust and I did not have to use any tape.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 2, 2014
The look on my boyfriend's face seeing me in this dress was awesome!

I am 5'8" and weigh 150lbs...I also have plenty of curves and am a D-cup. I had to find a dress that was both cute and casual for my boyfriend's son's wedding. It was on the beach in Florida and guests wore everything from jeans to khakis. I came across this dress and after reading the reviews I rented only one size, a 10, and it fit really well. Yes it is tight but it is also very classy. The dress had tulle that extends the bottom of it until it almost touched the top of my knees. I didn't need to wear a bra and wore Spanx to hold me in. Actually a comfortable dress but it does run a little small. Very cute dress and paired with nude heels and chunky earrings I felt awesome all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2014
My boyfriend could not take his eyes off of me!

This BCBG number is super cute; not stretchy--so go easy on the sodium before you wear it ;-) BUT, it's very sweet, sexy, and detailed. It was the perfect dress for Valentines day!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 20, 2014
Easy process- got 2 dresses in time for a wedding in Puerto Rico and I returned them while on vaca

I got lots of compliments and the dress is really pretty. I do wish that I had listened to other reviewers and picked a dress better suited for a large bust. While dancing I had to keep pulling this dress up and forget about raising your arms- I was worried I was going to flash everyone. I don't recommend it for my fellow large-busted sisters- it can get annoying if you're going to a wedding where you plan on dancing a lot. Gorgeous dress though. (For reference I'm a 38DD and wore a size 12)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142lbs
May 5, 2014
Tons of compliments!

I wore this to a Hollywood-themed formal, and I felt so elegant in it. My date complimented me the whole night! And I paired it with coppery toned shoes. It wasn't too stretchy, which was good. Awesome dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
May 16, 2014
Color was so pretty

The dress fit great. It was a little heavy but ok for a summer wedding and the quality was really good.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2014
So many compliments in my Birthday!

A little tight. Definitely size up for your second size. Otherwise it's awesome!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 21, 2014
All night everyone was telling me I looked like a model!

Pros is that this dress is smokin hot!! The only problem was that I was pulling it up all night. I also wasn't a fan of the lining poking out of the bottom so I taped it up. On my 5'10'' frame it was also really short...but I don't mind short :)

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×