BCBGMAXAZRIA

My Soulmate Dress

$30 rental
$348 retail
Stylist Notes

He'll fall in love when you arrive at the party wearing this sexy BCBGMAXAZRIA red lace dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has boning and built in padded cups for support
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to padded cups
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red lace(77% cotton; 23% nylon). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 13, 2013
Up to par with most BCBG dresses, just not one of my favorites.
The one thing that really bothered me about this dress was the sheer hem at the bottom, however I think it has more to do with how it's stored/kept rather than the design of the dress itself. The under layer with the sheer hem hung lower than the hem of the outer layer of the dress so you could see where the sheer part started and it looked like I was wearing a slip that was down too low. Because of this I ended up using fashion tape from a previous rental (wish they included it with every rental) and taping the hem. Another thing to note, there are loops at the top for detachable straps - I personally feel that RTR should include the straps as it is essentially, part of the dress and customers should have the option to wear them - especially those with bigger chests like myself. However, it was easily solved - I used black straps from one of my convertible bras and they worked just fine and went with the black heels I wore. With the straps attached, it offered enough support that I didn't have to wear a bra. Aside from that, the dress was very flattering. It was perfect for someone petite, like myself and I really love the color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
I love Rent the Runway this was my first rental and loved the idea and service!
The dress itself is simple yet beautiful but when I received the dress I was really disappointed. The material looked really worn. I knew it wouldn't look brand new, but I didn't think it would look that worn and had little stubs all over the dress it fit a little big I usually wear a 4 but a lot of the reviews stated it ran small so I went with a six it was definitely a little big in the bust. but overall I had a great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
June 22, 2013
Unable to wear the dress, but great customer service.
This dress was beautiful! I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. Unfortunately neither fit, and the size 6 actually felt tighter than the 4. So that was interesting, but customer service was great about it and was able to give me credit for a future purchase. I expected the credit to appear on my account once they received the dress. After a few days of my account not being credited I contacted customer service with my concern and right away the credit was applied to my account. Although I was not able to wear the dress, I really appreciate the quick, great customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 24, 2013
Great for Petite Girls
This dress fit perfectly. The dress was fitted without being too tight and the lining underneath the dress came to my knees. Beautiful color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
June 26, 2013
Fun dress, great color
For me this dress definitely ran small, so I would recommend ordering a larger size than you normally wear. It's a tight fit but it looks good- it does not bunch up awkwardly in any places. The material is more casual-looking than it appears on the site, but with the right shoes and accessories you can easily dress it up. This dress is light enough that you could also wear it in the summer. I think it would benefit from a more enhanced waistline or maybe a belt to go around the waist to help define it a little better- that would really give it a good hourglass shape. The color is fantastic and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 14, 2013
First time RTR user, so easy and convenient to use
I thought the dress was beautiful, but seriously thankful for the two sizes option. I am usually a 0, ended up wearing the 2 and that was still a little snug. It was mainly tight around the chest/upper abs area. it stayed on easily though and I never felt uncomfortable after first putting it on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2013
This dress was fantastic! Does not disappoint!
The lace on the bottom adds a little flare that I love. I was complimented on the fit and the dress multiple times throughout the wedding night. This was my first RTR experience and it did not disappoint! I do run between a 4 and a 6 and so I got both sizes. I think it is pretty true to fit, but get a size larger, not a size smaller as it is a snug fitting dress. I will definitely be using RTR for my next event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2013
Lots of compliments all night!
Dress was perfect for a summer wedding and the necklace worked so well with it. Tons of compliments all night! Only problem was that it does run small (I had to go up 2 sizes!) but thankfully Rent the Runway has amazing customer service and the new size was shipped to me the next day! So so grateful for their help with everything!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2013
I loved this dress. It was so flattering and I felt great in it all night.
I'm usually a size 2 or 4 depending on the cut of dresses. Since I have a pretty small bust (whomp whomp) I ended up going with the 2 to ensure the dress wouldn't keep falling down all night. The 2 was tight around my butt and thighs but not too tight to walk, sit and dance comfortably. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2013
I never wear color. This red was the perfect red, not too va va voom, but not worn out.
Fit was true to size. It was very comfortable. Im smaller on top and the dress didnt move much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 14, 2013
Flattering, classy, and comfortable!
I usually wear a dress size 2, but the size 4 fit perfectly. The fabric is a bit stretchy, so it was super comfortable and easy to dance in all night. Flattering color for any skin type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
didn't fit :(
I didn't realize i could call when the dress didn't fit, my fault .. it was my first rental. Not a good dress for large busts!!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2013
RTR's customer service was outstanding even thought I did not get to wear the dress.
THIS DRESS HAS SEEN BETTER DAYS. I rented this dress for a wedding and was very excited because I loved the color red it appeared to be in the photos. I was sorely disappointed when it arrived and it was so faded and had a terrible smell. I ordered both the 4 and the 6 and both were in poor shape. I did not get to wear it so I emailed RTR and they promptly got back to me telling me they would either send me another or refund my money.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 8, 2013
loved it!
perfect fit, tight in a good way, pretty details, great color... nothing not to like.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 10, 2013
Beautiful color!
I wore this dress to a wedding in late September. The color was so pretty, and I received many compliments on the simplicity and elegance of the dress. It fit TTS and was the perfect length. I wish I owned it because I would definitely wear it again. Unlike a lot of gorgeous BCBG dresses, I haven't seen this dress on anyone else. No need to worry about others having the same dress as you at the event!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 15, 2013
This Dress Is On "FIRE" !
I wore this dress for my niece's Sweet 16 it was absolutely amazing. I loved the fit of it and the color was gorgeous. I wore it with some gold "strappy" Louis Vuitton sandals, everyone loved it !
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2013
Loved the color, and got tons of compliments!
Fit perfectly! ! got a 4 and a 6, and ended up wearing the 6. I have a small bust, but a little bit of a booty and it fit great! Extremely flattering.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2013
Super cute but ran small
Ran small, super tight in the chest and hips area and was pretty short but got a lot of complements on the dress it was super cute! Sorry about the blurry pic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 28, 2013
Didn't live up to the photo
Rented the dress for my daughter's Homecoming Dance. After reading the reviews I ordered a size up (she usually wears a size 6). The size 8 fit but the fabric was very heavy and had no stretch. She looked great but was uncomfortable with the weight of the dress. The fabric also pulled across her hips and did not lay flat. (You can see it on the model.) The color is a beautiful vibrant red. However, this is not the dress for someone who is curvy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 31, 2013
Classy with a little bit of sass.
This dress was a very cute option for my friend's October wedding. I was worried that it would be too summery, but it ended up working perfectly paired with black satin heels and a black wrap. The hem ended up hanging awkwardly so I tucked it under. This worked perfectly and wasn't too short (I am 5'7"). I really appreciated the other reviewers' tips regarding size. I have a pretty large rib cage and am fuller on the bottom, so going up a size really made all the difference! Thanks to the other reviewers, and thanks to RTR for another great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2013
Perfect dress to dance the night away
This dress fit me true to size, very classy and pretty. Also it was very comfortable and easy to move in. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
June 29, 2013
Very pretty dress!
The dress fit very well. I loved the color and the material. It sit well on the bust and I did not have to use any tape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
Nice Dress...but runs small
Nice dress...but small!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 14, 2014
Such a pretty dress!
The only issue was that the inner lining had stretched out so that it showed down at the bottom of the hem line, making the mesh hem hang down much farther than advertised. Also was slightly large on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2014
Great color! It really stood out in a sea of LBD's!
The top of this dress runs very small! I had to size up in order to make this work, but Rent the Runway was able to overnight me the larger size just in time for my event the next day! This dress was classy, yet sexy at the same time. Great rental!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 2, 2014
The look on my boyfriend's face seeing me in this dress was awesome!
I am 5'8" and weigh 150lbs...I also have plenty of curves and am a D-cup. I had to find a dress that was both cute and casual for my boyfriend's son's wedding. It was on the beach in Florida and guests wore everything from jeans to khakis. I came across this dress and after reading the reviews I rented only one size, a 10, and it fit really well. Yes it is tight but it is also very classy. The dress had tulle that extends the bottom of it until it almost touched the top of my knees. I didn't need to wear a bra and wore Spanx to hold me in. Actually a comfortable dress but it does run a little small. Very cute dress and paired with nude heels and chunky earrings I felt awesome all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2014
LOVE the color and shape!! If you're the type of person who looks good in red this is your dress!
Super sexy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2014
Fun dress
Cute dress but the quality is a little low. Some paint was missing from the zipper and the lace definitely showed wear, but overall, it looked nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2014
Sadly, I didn't get to wear it.
This dress is pretty but it ran too small. I had to send it back and thankfully customer service was wonderful and they helped me find another dress at the very last minute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2014
My boyfriend could not take his eyes off of me!
This BCBG number is super cute; not stretchy--so go easy on the sodium before you wear it ;-) BUT, it's very sweet, sexy, and detailed. It was the perfect dress for Valentines day!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 19, 2014
Loved the color and fabric. The red is bright but such a perfect bold color.
Way too tight for someone with curves. Loved the bustierre type top, but the body of the dress was very tight. Is usually wear a 10 and the 12 was tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 20, 2014
Easy process- got 2 dresses in time for a wedding in Puerto Rico and I returned them while on vaca
I got lots of compliments and the dress is really pretty. I do wish that I had listened to other reviewers and picked a dress better suited for a large bust. While dancing I had to keep pulling this dress up and forget about raising your arms- I was worried I was going to flash everyone. I don't recommend it for my fellow large-busted sisters- it can get annoying if you're going to a wedding where you plan on dancing a lot. Gorgeous dress though. (For reference I'm a 38DD and wore a size 12)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 142lbs
May 5, 2014
Tons of compliments!
I wore this to a Hollywood-themed formal, and I felt so elegant in it. My date complimented me the whole night! And I paired it with coppery toned shoes. It wasn't too stretchy, which was good. Awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
May 16, 2014
Color was so pretty
The dress fit great. It was a little heavy but ok for a summer wedding and the quality was really good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 24, 2014
Didnt wear, was too tight and short
Rented this dress for my bachelorette but the dress was too small and way to short so I didnt end up wearing it
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2014
I LOVED this dress! It was perfect for a Christmas party. The color is to die for!
Gorgeous dress. It's a thicker material, so it looks amazing on. No need for Spanx!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2014
So many compliments in my Birthday!
A little tight. Definitely size up for your second size. Otherwise it's awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress. It did run a little small but I expected that after reading other reviews and the fit details. It fit perfectly other than the bust being on the larger side. I had to keep pulling it up while dancing but that's typically how it goes for me with strapless dresses. The red lace was beautiful and I got lots of compliments. I'd definitely recommend this dress. It was perfect for a summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
Gorgeous red dress
I got so many compliments on this dress! I would just recommend getting one size bigger. My larger size wasn't available for the day I needed, so I made it work, but it was a bit tight. I had to keep pulling the dress up, but it was the tightest around my hips, making it a little hard to sit! Otherwise the dress was beautiful for a wedding, wish I could wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 21, 2014
All night everyone was telling me I looked like a model!
Pros is that this dress is smokin hot!! The only problem was that I was pulling it up all night. I also wasn't a fan of the lining poking out of the bottom so I taped it up. On my 5'10'' frame it was also really short...but I don't mind short :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×