Locket of Lace Gown

$125 rental
$498 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

A little lace detailing goes a long way in this gorg gown by BCBGMAXAZRIA. Body-hugging with an open back, this gown is a little sexy and a lot sweet! Simply pair with Elizabeth Cole’s Jagged Feather Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black chiffon (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew Neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size81
Small16
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2014
The dress was comfortable and beautiful! I got so many compliments!
Fit was great, perfect length and comfortable.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 14, 2014
Beautiful!! So many compliments!
This dress was great! It did run small though. I am typically a 4 but this was REALLY snug. It was great for my grandfather's 90th birthday (I.e. No dancing...) I don't think it would have been good for dancing because this lining on the inside tended to ride up so I was having to pull it down. I'm sure that was partially due to the fact it was a little small. Over all a great dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 5, 2014
Great party with great friends. Hispanic Scientist of the Year award at MOSI.
This was very true to size. I am usually between a 4 and a 6, and the 6 was just a smidge bigger so that's what I ended up going with. I could fit into the 4, it just wasn't as comfortable as the 6. It fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 29, 2014
Beautiful gown
This was my original gown, but due to an issue with the second size, RTR sent me a backup gown which is what I ended up wearing. This gown is absolutely gorgeous. The only reason I didn't choose this one is because the back was a little bit tight, and I wasn't entirely sure of what the dress code was for my event, so I chose the other dress (a safer choice). If given the chance, I would order this one again and wear it out. It fit like a glove.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2014
This is a WOW dress!
I wore this to a Black Tie Optional wedding, I received compliments throughout the night! I purchased a adhesive bra from Victoria Secret as the back of the dress will not allow you to wear one. If you are going to wear heels higher than 3" and are 5'7 or 5'8 the long is a better fit. They only had 2R available and as you can see the shoes will show, but not terribly. The fit was true to size and as others describe the top cream/white lace portion of the dress, cream will show more than the picture on the model. A necklace is too much, focus on earrings and bracelet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
October 20, 2014
Stunning dress, fit perfectly.
This dress is so beautiful and it fit absolutely perfectly. Everyone at the party loved it and everyone I saw complimented the dress constantly. It's super flattering and also really comfortable. I'm pretty short so I got the 4P, and the length was perfect with 4 inch heels. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2014
This dress fit really well and I did receive many compliments on this dress.
The dress fits nicely, I just wish I got it in long. I wore it without a bra and it fit perfectly well.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 5, 2014
The dress was far beyond gorgeous than what it looked like online!!
I ordered this dress for a Black Tie award ceremony. It arrived safely 2 days before the event. I am SO SO glad I ordered the LONG. With my 4 inch heels it fit PERFECT! I am 5'4 and wore the size 6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 5, 2014
Felt like a celebrity all night!
This was my first experience with RTR and it was amazing. This dress caught my eye immediately and I am so glad I went with it. I wore it to a retirement party and I was receiving compliments all night. I am a 32DDD and even though it was recommended for an A-C bust, I emailed a stylist who assured me I would be ok, and she was right. I didn't wear a bra, but it didn't matter because the dress held me in in all of the right places. I felt so glamorous, I didn't want the night to end!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2014
The dress came right on time and in great condition! Rent the Runway was super helpful!
LOVED IT! :D
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 29, 2014
Hollywood glamour!
This dress was absolutely perfect in every way. I am 5' 1" and have a very hard time finding dresses that have a good length, I ordered this in the petite size and while it was still a little long I wore 3.5 inch heels and it made it perfect! I wore this dress to a black tie event and I felt like a million bucks! It showed my curves and gave me a waist, but my favorite feature was the keyhole back. I saw other girls with Rent the Runway dresses but none of them had this one, it's really a standout look and very classy while still being sexy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
September 25, 2014
I felt like a super model in this dress at a black tie wedding! Told by many I was the best dressed!
The fit was true to size, it hugged my curves perfectly and was surprisingly comfortable. I have a small bust so I didn't need a bra. I knew the colors didn't look like the photo from reading other reviews so I was prepared and not at all disappointed. Overall I am in love with this dress and wish I had another occasion to wear it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
September 18, 2014
AMAZING DRESS
I was nervous when I ordered this dress because they didn't have the size I thought I needed, which was a 2L, and they didn't have a 4L as a backup. But I loved the dress so much I ordered the 4R. I was really nervous it was not going to fit, but it fit like a glove! It was absolutely stunning an di got so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
September 18, 2014
did not wear but it was very nice
I did not wear this dress. The 'bob' area is some what grayish and not fresh looking at all. Also the fit was extremely small and we couldn't get it on me! I am a true 4 and with weight on a 6 and this 4 and 6 wasn't making the cut at all. You absolutely need to wear a sticky bra or nipple covers to wear this.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 150lbs
September 5, 2014
Tight but pretty.
I got this dress to wear to a gala. Pros: very pretty, well made, nice material on the heavier side, flowy. Able to sit, stand, and dance. Cut nicely under the arms. Got some compliments but not a lot of "wow's." It was a nice elegant black dress. Cons: runs small if you have big ribs and/or wide shoulders. I normally wear a 6 and the 8 was still too tight (it was hardly bigger than the 4!). I stuffed myself into it as it just fit but did feel like I was being squeezed all night. I was hoping with the open back my bigger rib cage wouldn't have been a problem. Also not as long as I would have liked. I'm 5'9" and with heels it was a tad too short for that finished look where standing still your shoes don't show. Ended up wearing flats. Tip: get ready with a friend. I had a whole taxi ride and 3 block walk with just the top button buttoned and zipper zipped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2014
Hourglass dress
This is the most figure enhancing dress I've ever worn. It is comfortable and elegant. Really pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 28, 2014
Truly Elegant
LOVED this evening gown. I wore this dress to a black tie benefits event and heads were turning my way. :) This dress was very well made. The lace detail and the open back made this dress look sexy yet very elegant and sophisticated! I wore three inch heels and the dress perfectly grazed the floor. It has a slight mermaid figure and a small train in the back - just beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 14, 2014
gorgeous dress, perfect blend of elegance and seduction
beautifully accentuates the waist
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
July 12, 2014
I felt great in the dress and got tons of compliments!
I wore 34B and I felt it fit well. If you're tall and get a long fit plan on getting taller heels for floor length. The back was definitely my favorite part of this dress. Even though I had a sticky bra a little but of the bra would poke out near the underarms so just be aware of bra placement! Otherwise, the dress was perfect and I got lots of compliments!! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 27, 2014
Great dress for a formal wedding!
this dress was great for a formal occasion, I got so many compliments the whole night. It is also super comfortable and surprisingly not that long. I am only 5'1 and I wore 3.5 inch heels and the dress perfectly grazed the floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
June 26, 2014
Dress was very classy
Dress is very classy - I wore it to a black tie event attended by top execs at my company and didn't want to show too much skin. It was a little tight but length was good with 3.5" heels. I'm 5'2 and 115 lbs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2014
Elegant and perfect fit.
Fit true to size. I am 5'9 and the length was perfect with heels. I am narrow on top and a small bust which made the dress perfect, I would not recommend for broad shoulders or large bust size. I could have wore bra-less but opted for a backless bra and it was perfect. Lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2014
Turning heads all night!
I have nothing bad to say about this dress. The style on the front gives you and hourglass shape and the color contrast catches the eye without being too over the top. The back is beautiful so you look fantastic coming and going :) The fabric was also really nice-it was light enough to be comfortable but heavy enough to keep a nice shape. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
June 17, 2014
2014 Northern California Emmy Award ceremony. Received two statues and looked good getting them.
Loved, loved, LOVED this dress. I was prepared for the off-white and beige coloring thanks to previous RTR reviews. Honestly though, while some may not have liked the coloring I thought it provided a nice contrast to the dress. The fit was absolutely perfect, and the design was incredibly flattering. The open back was gorgeous. Like others I recommend investing in a stick-on/backless bra... I even made the blunder of buying a black bra and it didn't show through ( side note: make sure the stick-on portion isn't too long otherwise it'll show on the open back.) Since I'm on the vertically challenged side of life I invested in some tall shoes (4.5") and it worked out nicely. One word of warning if you rent this - you will probably need help getting it on and off. The buttons were tricky, and I probably could have done it myself, but it would have taken awhile. It was just easier to have someone else button me up. Another successful RTR rental. See you again soon!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
June 12, 2014
Classy!
I enjoyed wearing this dress and it was perfect for my black tie event. Please notice in the picture on the site that this is a mermaid style dress with lots of weight at the bottom. The lace at the top is a beige color and the front of the dress is almost grey. The back is open and lacy, but it lays flat when buttoned and zipped. I wore a 10L, I've never worn a 10 before, but it fit through the hips, so it was the right size for me. In the attached pic, I'm 5'6" with 4 inch heels on, so the long was necessary. I got lots of compliments throughout the evening and enjoyed my experience with RTR.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
LOVED this dress, especially the back. Sexy but elegant!
The dress has great contrast and a very simple and classic but intricate look. Overall, the fit was comfortably snug - any bigger would have looked loose, and the shape of the dress overall was very slimming. Length was perfect with 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
June 1, 2014
Love this dress!!
This was my first time using RTR and let me say, what a great experience! I looked for a dress last minute and went with a different, very simple black strapless gown. When the dress came, it was not at all what I expected. I was very disappointed. I called RTR and they were able to overnight me this dress and wow, I fell in love! The back is stunning and makes the dress. Like the other reviews said, the middle is not white it is more of an ivory color, but still beautiful regardless . I normally wear a size 4 , but that wasn't available, but luckily the 2L fit like a glove. Very form fitting with just enough stretch and I didn't need to wear a bra. My only con was that I prefer my gowns to be long and despite wearing a size 2L, it was still a little short for heels. So I ended up just wearing flat sandals, which worked out anyway because I was so comfortable all night! I highly recommend this dress! It's stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
This dress couldn't have been more perfect for my senior prom. It was perfect for me!
This dress fit like a glove! It is a bit short so I had to wear 2 inch heels. The open back was my favorite detail and what people liked about it most. I got compliments all night! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 11, 2014
Great Dress! loved it for prom
it was a wonderful dress! This was my first rental from RTR & the dress was amazing! I will rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2014
I received so many compliments on my dress and nobody had one quite like it.
The dress fit perfectly. It fit every curve flawlessly and I loved it so much! The texture was very different than I expected, but it was still wonderful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 29, 2014
This was wonderful.
Just watch out when buying I thought the center of the dress was white but its actual Ivory.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 4, 2014
wore my second choice
the white was really a cream color. I have broad shoulders and this was very snug! I ordered 2 dresses from rtr and wore the other.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 4, 2014
Absolutely perfect! Fit like a glove!!
The dress was perfect! I am very petite up top (30B) so it was a little loose but the hips and waist and length were perfect!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2014
Luv the dress
I luv the dress but it was just not long enough for me and it ran small, but i would rent this dress in a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 27, 2014
Too big
Tried this on in the showroom but somehow when it arrived it was too big! Unfortunate because it's a really pretty dress. RTR helped me get another dress last minute so it all worked out, be careful with this dress tho- backless so must fit perfectly
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2014
Loved the open back!
I loved wearing this dress! I had read reviews that suggested getting a NuBra--I had never worn one before, so I got one specifically for this dress. They were a lifesaver! You certainly can't wear a traditional bra with this dress as it has a gorgeous open back, and I wouldn't recommending going without one due to the thin fabric in the bust, so NuBra is the perfect product for this dress. I'm 5'8" and wore medium heels and the long was just the right length… the back does have a bit of a train on it. The dress isn't too tight so it was comfortable for the 6+ hours I wore it--I certainly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2014
Super flattering with an incredible back!
I just love this dress! Super EASY! Gave me a good waistline (which I need because I'm pretty straight up and down!), didn't need a bra (but if you need the support, gotta go with a backless option), and didn't need Spanx because it falls so perfectly! I wore this to emcee a gala, so it was crucial that I had a dress that I wasn't self conscious in. This fit the bill! I had rented it once before but they didn't have my size. So glad this worked out! The chest is a light gray with a nude lace. The back opening detail is stellar, and for a gal like me with a broad rib cage, it makes the fit really perfect. And, the crisscross detail in the front was also really flattering. I also wore this in a long. This dress does not disappoint!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2014
Loved this dress one of my favorites.
Flawless fit.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2014
I wore this dress to emcee a pageant for half of the evening.
Overall, this was a lovely dress and design! You may need a bit of assistance with the top buttons, and as many others have indicated, the colors are very different from the picture. Based on other reviews, I thought the regular size would be long enough and it just barely skimmed the floor with 4 inch heels (no platform). Really fantastic dress though regardless, and very flattering!! Make sure you have a strapless bra that is made for low back design or a sticky bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 27, 2014
Elegant, unforgettable dress
The dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. I received many compliments on it and I felt extremely comfortable throughout the night! The dress was a tad short (I'm 5'6") but was definitely doable! I think it would have been too long if I went with the long instead of the regular. I highly suggest this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×