BCBGMAXAZRIA

Guilty As Charged Dress

$38 to buy
$268 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this BCBGMAXAZRIA lace dress for your next cocktail party! This waist cinching style is great for all shapes and sizes. Complete the look with a trendy gold bracelet such as the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Alhambra Bangle and add some color with Badgley Mischka's Entrancing Emerald Necklace, shown here.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace (60%Nylon, 35% Cotton, 5% spandex). Three quarter length sleeves. Crew neckline. Full skirt with pockets. Hidden back zipper. 36" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
464 reviews
Fit
Large
(124)
True to Size
(301)
Small
(12)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2015
Fast shipping and easy returns!
Everything about the dress was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
November 16, 2014
The dress is classic with a twist and very versatile! Got compliments about it all night.
This dress is fairly short, so I wore the large to be more comfortable with the length. The dress is very forgiving, so the medium fit better aside from the length. You can go wrong with this--it was perfect for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2014
Fun and playful! Kept me warm for a fall wedding!
This lovely number is a great twist on the LBD. It's got a really fun skirt and lacy details that make it more than just a basic black dress. I would recommend a strapless bra to hell hold the girls in, and if you are wavering on whether to size up of down, go with a smaller size. I got the small and medium and ended up wearing the small. It gave me better shape and was flattering. The sleeves are fitted but not too small or tight, same with the bodice. Overall a good rent, great for a wedding or party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2014
Another RTR win!!
The fit was perfect. I ordered the small and x-small as backup. Glad I did the small was loose and not flattering the XS was perfect! Ran a little shorter then I thought it would so I wore tights with it. Seeing how I attended a funeral it was still fashionable but conservative. Always a win with RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2014
Underwhelming
I ordered a small and medium and both were a little too short. The waist hit at an odd spot for me as well. Overall, it wasn't very flattering and I didn't end up wearing the dress. Not one of my favorite rentals
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2014
Extremely comfy and love the pockets!
Very plain without accessories - make sure to pair with belt and necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2014
Rented this for a friend's winter wedding and it was absolutely perfect.
I ordered the small and extra small, and went with the extra small. The zipper stuck a little but that was really the only con. It was super comfortable and easy to dance in. Loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 14, 2014
Ordered as a backup dress, but ended up as my first choice
Great fit, very comfortable, beautiful back.
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2014
Got many compliments
I rented this for my husbands holiday work party. It is a perfect and tasteful black dress for any kind of party. I rented the xs and s and wore the xs which fit me perfectly! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 17, 2014
It was just very comfortable & flattering!
Nice stretch and easy to sit & eat in.
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 18, 2014
Fun dress for a Holiday office party!
The dress was perfect for a holiday office party. The low back makes it a little more fun. The waist sits very high and isn't the most flattering look ever - but it was cute and I got compliments. Would probably be better for someone with a shorter torso. I was happy overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2014
Simple yet classy dress
Great fit! I loved this dress and half was thru the evening I realized it had pockets! *bonus* wore the dress to the ballet, very versatile dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2014
D
This dress worked out well for my work event . There is a little ruffle detail around the waistline that didn't sit exactly right. The dress looked good, but made my waist feel a bit wide, as it fell on my hips. Overall the dress worked great, but not a very from fitting waistline, which I didn't love.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2015
:D
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve dinner. My boyfriend absolutely loved it! Because the dress has some give to it, it's incredibly comfortable and I didn't have to worry about how much delicious food made its way into my mouth! The waist hit a little bit higher than I would have liked, but it was still flattering. You can dress this up as much as you'd like or wear it casual as well. Thanks RTR for yet another great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Other
January 5, 2015
Great dress & so comfortable!!
Although I didn't end up wearing this dress out (I was in New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl and we all opted for casual Ohio State gear instead) it was super comfortable and could be dressed up or down depending on the event. The pockets were an added bonus, as well. I feel that it ran a little big in the chest (despite being a 36D) and also a little large in the stomach, but I still would have worn the large because it was a little too short. Great dress and super comfortable overall! Recommended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
January 6, 2015
Sleeves were very slimming. The event was outside, so I wore opaque black tights/black heels
#birthday #party
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2015
Ran a bit big. didn't end up wearing because there's a seam where the waist is and it looked weird.
Because of that seam, it's probably not an ideal dress for tall people (I'm 5'10")
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2015
Great dress! Loved the fit and the length!
Loved it. The fit was phenomenal and the dress was a perfect length with or without heals. Wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2015
It was comfortable and so cute!
Very flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
August 12, 2015
Forgettable
A bit blah! Didn't end up wearing. Too casual.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 21, 2014
Wore to a girls night out at a play.
This is my fourth rent the runway rental and the first one I didn't love. The dress was really loose and I wore small (usually I'm a dress size 4). It was definitely warm which was good because I wore it in fall. I didn't really get any compliments like with my previous rentals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2014
Different LBD
Comfortable and forgiving but a bit shorter than I'd like for a work function (it came almost mid thigh and I'm only 5'2"). The small was slightly tight around the chest/arms so I wore the M. Got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2014
Perfect for a party!
I wore this dress to an engagement party. It was dressy enough, but not too formal. I love any dress that has pockets and also allows me to feel comfortable, but not look sloppy. This dress met all those qualities! My husband thought I looked so pretty & I received compliments on the dress at the party. Super happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2015
Party time!
Perfect was a NYE bash at someone's house! Perfect for cold months too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92lbs
May 12, 2015
Would definitely recommend!
I wore this for my college graduation, and I remember that I felt really cute in it. The only bad thing was that I wore it in the winter, so I mostly stayed covered up and couldn't show it off more. Mind you, it's been about a year and a half since I rented it, but nothing stands out as bad in my mind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 11, 2016
Nice and simple
Wore this for thanksgiving dinner with my family. The material is stretchy so I wore the small instead of the medium. Very comfortable and not too dressy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2016
Perfect Fit
I loved this dress! So comfortable, warm, and perfect for a fall wedding. I paired it with black opaque tights, and camel colored wedges.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2012
Comfortable and cute, but nothing show-stopping
This dress was for an awards dinner, and it fit "fine" (maybe a little loose, I should have tried sizing down to a small instead of medium), and was super comfortable. However there wasn't any big wow factor, and the skirt didn't fluff out as much as it seems it would in the picture. However, the back is gorgeous, and there's lots of opportunity to glam it up. So a semi-success, for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
October 19, 2012
Great Classy Dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding. I usually wear a 10 but I rented a Large and did not get the back up size. I think I could have ordered a medium. The dress was a lot less fitted than it appears on the model. And the fabric is stretchy so I think a medium would have worked. Overall, an awesome dress, very classy. I would order it again.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 21, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for for my first post-baby wedding!
I was looking for a dress for an afternoon October wedding that fit a lot of requirements - I'm petite, with a larger chest. But more importantly, other than an occasional date with my husband, this would be my first evening outing since the birth of my son seven months ago, and I wanted a dress that would make me feel great and cover the little bit of extra weight I'm still carrying. This dress more than fit the bill. You can wear a regular bra with it, plus the material is very stretchy and slimming. It's subtly beautiful - perfect for a wedding, where you don't want to upstage the bride. It would look great on any body type. The extra small fit perfectly, but I wore the small to get a little extra length. I would recommend this dress, especially for new moms wanting to look like their old selves!
GOctober 22, 2012
This looks gorgeous on you!
ValerieOctober 25, 2012
You mention that you can wear a regular bra with this. Does it not show in the back?
EmilyNovember 6, 2012
Hi Valerie! It's not too low in the back for a bra, though it sort of appears that way online. If you had an issue with it being a bit too low, it's nothing a little of the included fashion tape couldn't fix.
HILCIANovember 12, 2012
Great tips!!! I think this is a perfect choice for my sister who is a 36DD and petite.. It doesn't even look large on you so that must mean the stretch is doing its job in a flattering way ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2012
This dress was incredibly comfortable, and yet very elegant!
This dress fit beautifully and it was very comfortable. I ended up wearing the XS, because it was almost the same size as the S around the waist (the only area of the dress that might get too tight), but it was a tad shorter. I'm not very tall, so the slightly shorter hem of the XS and the slightly higher neckline worked great for me. I wore a black bra underneath, and only the straps showed through the mesh at the shoulders. The rest of the dress is lined.
HILCIANovember 12, 2012
Thanks for the detailed review!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
Great, neutral palate for something fabulous - a statement necklace or some killer heels.
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner (boys in ties and blazers - a formal affair) so this was totally the perfect choice. Can't go wrong with black and the low back is very classic and elegant. The dress fit great - the skirt hit slightly above my natural waist so anyone that is a little insecure of their mid-section, this dress is very forgiving. It wasn't too short, but still sexy - the hem hit about mid thigh. The material was soft and overall very comfortable. My only complaint is that I had thought the skirt would be a little fuller and had more body (hence the 4 stars). Also, I suggest ordering a size smaller than what you might usually wear.
MandyNovember 1, 2012
Did you rent the necklace also?
AshleyNovember 2, 2012
Yeah, I rented the necklace too. It's by Lee Angel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2012
Beautiful, fun, classy dress, one of those that is appropriate for just about any occasion!
The dress runs a little large, but that is always a nice confidence booster! The back is cute, the V is a nice touch and not too low. I wore it with my hair up to accentuate it. It is really flattering on and I received a lot of compliments on it. And I love dresses with pockets.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2012
nice color
runs large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
November 15, 2012
Versatile Little Black Dress
Before I review this classic LBD I must compliment RTR for not skipping a beat in the wake of hurricane Sandy. Yet again I was impressed with their service and reliability. I will certainly continue raving about my RTR experience and their fabulous customer service! I wore this BCBG dress to my cousin's Fall wedding at the Danversport Yacht Club in Massachusetts. The other reviews I read suggested to size down for your second size and I completely agree. Both S and XS dresses fit; however, the XS was a bit shorter so I opted to wear the S. The dress is simple and definitely needs some statement jewelry to add some drama. Instead of dramatic jewelry I choose to pair this LBD with red lips and nails :) My only disappointment was fullness of the skirt, which I felt add a bit of fullness to the hip area. I look forward to my next RTR experience!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
November 20, 2012
so easy, simple and the perfect dress - thanks!
Great dress - I got lots of compliments. Size small runs large for a short woman - 5' 1' tall - probably would fit a taller person true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 28, 2012
Very cute and comfy dress. Loved the pockets!
The dress ran a little bit large for me and I felt like it was just too much fabric for my small frame. I was worried that the lengh would be too long but it was perfect. I paired it with black tights, black patent pumps and oversized pearls. Overall I was very happy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 3, 2012
This was a very comfortable dress though it could have been more flattering.
This was a great dress in terms of comfort, however it looked as though my light colored bra was showing from underneath even though it wasn't. I also didn't love where the waist hit. It could have been tighter in the true waist and fanned out higher to be more flattering. People gave me compliments, though, it wasn't my best.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Comfy, with pockets ...what's not to love?
I wore this to a wedding last weekend and it was exactly what I was hoping for. Comfortable, good fit - and easy to dress up or down. I went with the size S for comfort, but fit into the XS so yes, this does run a little big. Here's my grainy cell phone shot, but look - even my dog Samantha approves :) Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
December 8, 2012
This dress is a winner-beautiful yet comfortable at the same time!
I rented this dress to wear to my husband's work Christmas party. Several of the reviews from previous renters mentioned the dress ran large so I rented both the large and the medium just in case. I ended up wearing the medium, which despite being a bit tight in the arms, was a much better fit overall and would suggest renting both your normal size and a size down if possible. This dress is very versatile-you could wear it to a formal event or on a date and be dressed just right. The only problem I had with the dress is that where the skirt on it starts just seemed a bit odd. It's probably because it just hit on me higher as I am petite but I could have easily covered that with a belt. The dress, while beautiful on its own, does need a bit of jewelry to make it look not so plain. I'm not a fan of big chunky necklaces so I went with a pair of earrings I found at Forever 21 to complete the look.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×