Flutter and Flirt Gown

$105 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for modern elegance with a classic feel? This red showstopper by BCBG is the gown for you! A flirty peplum detail and Franchi’s Coronation Clutch are all you need to make it a night to remember.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red Polyester (100% Polyester) Sleeveless. Crew Neckline. Flared Skirt. Peplum panels at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
222 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(170)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 16, 2015
The most elegant and perfect dress for my formal engagement party!!!
This dress was stunning and fit like a glove, I have many BCBG dresses and know my size, so I wasnt worried when they only had 2P available for the date of my engagement party. I definitely stood out on my big day and got endless compliments! My only complaint was the zipper was worn out from use and the color was super faded. When I first put the dress on at home, my fiance commented that it was pretty, but didnt look new (he could tell it was used), also, the back had a small tear from overuse, but luckily my mom was able to quickly repair it. When I got all dolled up with hair and makeup and heels the day of, my fiance was at a loss for words. He said "I take it all back, it's gorgeous". All in all, I loved it, except for it being a little worn out. I suggest RTR donate this one and replenish their stock.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2015
This dress fit like a glove - I felt beautiful wearing it!
The fit was snug, and hugged my curves in all the right places. At 5'5" with three inch heels, the length was perfect, but when I kicked off my shoes to dance it was super long on me. I would definitely order a size up to be safe, just because the fit is so tailored. I felt like a bombshell in this dress, and everyone at the event loved it too. This dress definitely helped to make the night perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 51
September 23, 2015
i looked fabulous
cons it did not cover across my chest
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2015
Lots of compliments. Fiance LOVED the dress. Hugs in all of the right places.
Great color, great material. My only complaint is that the 4R was a tiny bit short (I'm 5'8" and I wore flats). Would have preferred the 4L, but it was rented.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 20, 2015
Loved the dress, got lots of compliments on the color and style.
If you are 5'5" and wearing heels....plan on wearing the tall. The 4R was too short and 6R, the length was a little better but too big in other places.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
September 18, 2015
Great heavy material made it extremely comfortable.
One of my favorite dresses I've ever worn.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
September 15, 2015
Worn to a black tie event
Fit was true to size. The bodice fit perfectly while I found it a little snug in the upper thigh, but that may also be because of the style. I found the regular length to be very long, even in 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress I loved it.
This dress fit like a glove. It was definitely true to size. I was a bit nervous because I just had a baby but it fit amazing and made me look great! I will continue to order from RTR! The regular was perfect for me I'm glad I didn't get the long, the regular was fine with heels I was scared it was going to be to short but it was still kind of long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 10, 2015
The dress was beautiful and fit well in all the right places!
All good! I wore spanx
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 9, 2015
I rented for a wedding in Boston, black tie.
Beautiful dress, received many compliments.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 8, 2015
The dress fit like a glove - I received a lot of compliments on it. Will most likely do this again.
The fit was great, The shape is very flattering, the length was just right. I could wear size 2 or 4 but size 2 seemed to accentuate my waist better and the bust fit well. The dress hugs your hips nicely (the stretch in it helps here) and then the way it falls to your feet keeping its V shape is very flattering to any figure. I hope R2R will add a designer bridal gowns selection to their collection. I will most likely use this service again. The in-store experience in Chicago was awesome. Wish I had more time to browse through other items and accessories. The staff was helpful and unpretentious and the phone customer service was knowledgeable and very helpful. I will recommend this service to all of my friends.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
September 3, 2015
This dress was a huge hit and I felt absolutely beautiful in it!
The fit was very true to size I wish it had been a little bit longer. I am 5'6 and wore 4 inch heels and it was just right but any taller heels and it would have been too short.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
August 25, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress! Perfect for a formal wedding.
As a curvy girl, this dress was perfect. It showed off the curves but also was modest enough to not be to risque. Love the feel of the material and was comfortable enough to dance all night in! The dress was floor length on me so I wore low heels with the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 23, 2015
Loved the dress so much! I received tons of compliments and the color was absolutely perfect!
The dress was a little long even with my 5" heels and if I owned it I would've altered the straps by an inch or so, but overall I loved it and am so happy I rented it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
August 19, 2015
A beautiful dress and accessories made this formal event a night to remember.
I only had one week to prepare for this formal event with colleagues, so with very little time to find a formal (and work appropriate) dress, I found this beauty and quickly rented it. I felt fabulous in this dress from the moment I put it on. It was comfortable, flattering in all the right places, and looked great all night long. Even at 5'11" I was still able to wear heels thanks to the long length available. This dress is definitely a show stopper!
RachelSeptember 11, 2015
You look amazing in this! It compliments your body shape! I really hope this will look good on me!:)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 17, 2015
Awkward peplum
This was my backup dress, and I didn't wear it. It was pretty, but there were some negatives. The peplum was awkward on me. It is not necessarily flattering because it cuts off in the middle of your stomach. So it doesn't hide anything. The material is also relatively thin. The material is a good texture with a lining, but if you're looking for structure, this is not the dress. It is light weight though if you are headed somewhere formal in the summer/spring.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 11, 2015
n/a
Runs small. Well made gown.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 20
August 9, 2015
RTR was simple and easy to use.
Fits true to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
August 6, 2015
This dress truly made me feel so elegant and classy throughout the night of the Marine Corp Ball.
This dress could not have fit any better. It is true to size, but is a little stretchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 5, 2015
I was showered with compliments all night! Truly a stunning dress and great quality
Size 4 was probably one size too small for me, but I decided to give it a whirl anyways. Even though it was super tight, it was high enough quality that it wasn't too uncomfortable or distracting. The length worked great, and I felt like a million bucks. Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 2, 2015
The dress was very comfortable.
It runs true to size. Very comfortable fabric. I had to were the 10 because of my hips, so the top was a little big. Other then that I recommend it. It stood out and I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
July 26, 2015
Stunning dress that fit perfectly!
This dress is phenomenal! Nice material and fit perfectly with 4 inch heels. I received so many compliments throughout the night and felt like a movie star. The process was of receiving and returning the dress was very easy. All in all, very satisfied!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 18, 2015
Great dress! I received lots of compliments and the fit is flattering on a curvy mom body...win!
I ended up wearing the 12R even though it fit a little big. 10R would have been perfect, but wasn't available the day I needed. The 10L would have worked with higher heals, but sadly arrived with a slight hole in the back so I went with the bigger size. Very comfortable! The dress is thick so in summer heat, you may be warm. Loved the dress so much even though I was nervous about the form fitting look on post baby body. The peplum is perfect for hourglass/ curves. Can wear a regular bra!! Since the fit was loose on me, I just had to be cautious of the straps, but wasn't a big deal at all. Would absolutely recommend and wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 17, 2015
I had a part of the wedding alongside my husband who was officiating. It was fantastic.
It was a little loose near the straps for me, but the fit and length were fantastic
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 2, 2015
Stunning dress
I loved this dress but it was a little big around my waist and very long. I ordered an 8L but was planning on wearing high heels. If you are 5'6 and under, I would order a regular even with heels. Other than that, it was stunning and in perfect condition!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2015
Perfect Dress for the Perfect Event
This dress is flattering on most body types. It was a perfect fit and it had a bit of give for my curvy figure. The accessory options are endless. The length was perfect for my height. I wore 3-4 in heels and it worked really well. I was a bit worried about the heaviness/thickness of the dress. I thought I may be a little hot in it. The weather was really cold and rainy so it worked out really well but I would not wear this dress to a beach hot climate destination wedding. Overall this dress is a very well made dress. One-step away from being custom made.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 30, 2015
.
Loved this dress and got lots of compliments. I'm pretty busty, I'm a 36DDD, so I felt a little squished on top but you couldn't tell.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
June 18, 2015
I felt like a million bucks! My first experience with RTR and it will definitely not be my last!
It fit perfectly. I need to wear a shaper just to smooth the stomach area over.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 16, 2015
Quick delivery and easy return!
The fabric on this dress is very thick and heavy so it really compliments any body shape. Light enough that it's comfortable but thick enough to hold you in. I wore this for the Army Ball and in a crowd of red dresses I still managed to stand out. It's the perfect mix of classy and sexy. Not to mention, my husband loved it too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 15, 2015
Fit like a glove; difficult zipper & missing clasp
This dress was stunning and eye-catching. I always shied from peplum because it's not my style, but this has a gorgeous, artistic and structured style that makes it not too girly. The first time I tried it on when it arrived before my prom, it took 4 pairs of hands and almost 35 minutes of sweat and struggle to get the zipper to go up. It was not because it was too small -- nay, the fabric had loads of room to spare. It simply wouldn't budge. We tried everything, and my mother is a seamstress so she knows zippers very well. There was no material stuck in it, the zipper was perfectly on the tracts; there was simply no explanation except poor design. FINALLY, after I was ready to give up and call it a prom-dressless day, it zipped. It was a miracle. The second issue with this dress was that it arrived missing a clasp. At the very top of the dress in the back, there is a hook type clap that holds the top together. It was missing the hook, and so the top fabric would sort of fall away from my body. Since my mother is a seamstress, and we had a spare hook, we just sewed one on with matching thread, no big deal. But it certainly was annoying. The night was a major success and the dress required no fidgeting. This RTR business is a tricky process -- you must be very careful. Have a back-up plan.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2015
n/a
true to size. great color! would totally wear again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 9, 2015
This dress could not have been more perfect!
It fit like a glove! It was absolutely perfect to wear to my friends prom. It was so classy and elegant and looks perfect with simple jewelry, hair and make-up. The only conflict I faced was the length but that was mostly due to my height haha. So, if you're a similar height to me, I recommend getting a R size and a higher heel so it doesn't drag as much! Other than that, I couldn't have asked for a better dress or a better experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 7, 2015
Very classy dress. Wore it to a black tie gala. Striking color and received many compliments.
The only fit issue with the dress was the straps were loose. Not falling off my shoulders but if I was wearing a regular bra, I would have been concerned that the straps were showing. I opted for a strapless bra and had to use use the backless bra converters as the clasps on my bra was slightly showing in the back. Material is very nice and nice weight. I was concerned that the dress would be too short since the long wasn't available however it still worked with 3" heels on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2015
Looks great
Great looking dress but if you are short be prepared to wear very high heels as it will most likely be dragging on the ground (but you would probably be used to it if you are about 5 feet tall anyway).
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2015
The dress fit perfectly and was the perfect length!
I'm 5'6 and ordered a 4R because I had 4 inch heels that I got to wear with them. It fit really nicely but the fabric was so heavy and it was really warm. It was perfect for prom or any formal event. The black in the pictures is just the slip i got for the dress, it's not actually on the dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2015
Great dress made for a great night!
Got so many compliments!! This dress looks sleek and classy. I would definitely recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2015
Classy, comfy and head turning dress
Perfect fit and very comfortable. Length was perfect, I wore 4 inch heels. I received many compliments all night and was told I was the fiercest person at the party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
May 3, 2015
Classy and comfortable
The only complaint about this dress is that it was a little tight on my 32 ddd's. But that was to be expected. I am 5'9" and the 6l was a little long w flats, wouldn't have been able to get away with anything over 2 inch heels. Other than that the dress is super flattering. Does wonders for your figure, I was getting compliments all night long. The deeper back is the right amount of sexy to balance out the front. If you're on the fence about this dress as I was, RENT IT you won't be sorry
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2015
Stunning dress!
Fit is true to size. I am 5'4" and wore 4 inch heels, and the dress was the perfect length. I received compliments all night long... A stranger even stopped their car on the side of the road as I was walking into the venue to ask where I got my dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 27, 2015
Wore this dress to my senior prom and it fit like a glove. Got so many compliments! Just AMAZING!!
I receive the 0R & 2R and when I first tried the 0 on I thought it was a bit too tight but the 2 was too big. Wore the size 0 and it looked amazing! Got so many compliments! Had many say I was the best dressed at prom. Very figure flattering (gives you curves even if you don't have any). I wore 3 1/2" heels and length was perfect. Such a classy dress! Wish I could keep it! Totally recommend Rent The Runway & this Dress!!!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×