BCBGMAXAZRIA

Carbon Color Chaos Dress

$72 to buy
$288 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Speechless! Rent this BCBGMAXAZRIA color block shift. You'll be the talk of the party and the most fashionable lady there. Pair with Coralia Leets' Sapphire Druzy Ring and the Lilly Pulitzer's Golden Elephant Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS - L

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS - L

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and seamless underwear; dress has built-in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multi color-block silk(100% polyester). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Belted waist with tie back. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

72 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 47
Large 18
Photos 14
Platinumtraveler
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am with mixed emotions about this dress. I think the most appropriate body type is for straight & narrow or petite. The belt is not very long in the small size and doesn't tie properly as in the photo. Perhaps if I had no waist at all it would look better. I also ordered the medium and it looks too baggy. I like the colors as it is "different" but the quality of the material can be improved. I am noticing 3 of the 6 dresses I rented seem to be cheaper quality material. I have rented from rtr before and hope to continue but if the material is going to be the cheapest possible, I may have to reconsider future rentals.
morningperson
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered a small and x-small of this dress and wore the small (I typically wear a 2-4). I LOVED it. It was incredibly flattering and just the right length (I worried it might be too short since I am tall.) I got compliments on it throughout the night.
Mol
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 22, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I rented this dress because the length was short on the model. I figured it would be just at my knees given that I'm only 5'4", but boy was a wrong! The large fit below my knees. I had to improvise by gathering more fabric above the sash to bring the length up. By the way, the dress is actually a drapey shift dress that hangs like a paper sack. It becomes tucked at the waist when you wrap the sash around. Also, the dress is navy and black, not just black. The fabric is kind of static-y, but not so much to say it's cheap. I think the fabric was fine. On a good note, this dress was SUPER CUTE!
ozzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this great dress for a nice dinner and it was perfect. It's not form fitting but the belt adds a great compliment to any body type. DO IT!
Designed2Think
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this to wear to Jersey Boys, but ended up wearing the Studio 54 Halston to the show because our dressy dinner was immediately following the show without time to change. So I didn't get to wear this dress. But I did try it on. The XS fit perfectly. A bit longer than expected, but it was so cute on! I was crushed I didn't get to wear it. I'm looking for an excuse to rent it again so I can actually wear it! FYI it's not really black, it's more like 2 shades of navy. Very flattering. The sash really cinches in your waist and it is slimming. But for us short/average girls it does fall a bit longer or closer to the knees, depending on how much you blouse the top. Very striking dress and very comfortable also! Someone mentioned the quality of the material, but I thought the quality was very nice. Maybe I got a garment that had not been rented very often therefore had very little wear and tear. But I was happy with the quality, it was what I expected for a BCBG Runway garment.
MIssEmme
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I actually never wore this dress as both the XS and SM were too big!
jenhart
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was a really cute dress, but not sure it works as "bump friendly", as was recommended. I wanted to wear the belt above my bump, but it kept shifting around all night. Then, the blue color block on the front would show under the belt, which looked odd. Plus, the "belt loops" were in the wrong place for my bump, so I couldn't use them and they ended up flopping around all night, looking like loose strings. Would definitely recommend the dress, but not to my pregnant friends!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

Loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It's cute, conservative, and stylish. I wore it to a holiday party. Looks great with tights. It might be worth finding a great necklace or earrings. I didn't do that and it seemed like something was lacking. Overall great, comfortable, and good quality. Loved it and wish it was permanently in my closet!! The belt comes totally off so sometimes it would slide around, just FYI.
Alice
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Perfect! Exactly what I wanted

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress, loved the service, RTR makes it so easy to track your order and then return it once you've worn it. Dress is great quality fabric, comfortable. Wore it to a work holiday party = perfect.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Cute dress but big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This is a really cute dress. I ordered for a casual company party, and it would have been perfect except the small was too big for me, and the XS was not available. The sash was great because you could cinch it up to show your waist even though the rest of the dress is loose and flowy. The liked the way the skirt was not flared. It laid nicely. Length and neckline are conservative.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Sooooo Comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my little sister's birthday dinner. It was a little large on me but I was able to use the belt to tie it up a bit. I was happily surprised at how comfortable the dress was! I could have pigged out and would have still looked great in it.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 11, 2012

Tight around thighs

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The picture does not show this, but the dress fits much tighter around the thigh area than you would think.
Kristyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 17, 2012

Very Cute Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Great dress! Wore it to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments!
Naydeen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

fun

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
as soon as i took the dress out the bag i thought wth!! it looked kind of like a potatoo sack. then after i tried it onn and added the accesories it all fit together. in the end it fit really nice and i was happy with how i looked. where the colors meet it kind of looks ripped and cheap and the sash is not flat like in the picture.just make sure to really i mean really zoom into the picture bfore renting.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2012

Baggy fit, unflattering on me.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress. I'm glad that many smaller women loved the dress - maybe it just wasn't good for my body type? The dress just kind of hangs, and the belt didn't do enough to save it. It was long enough, which I was initially concerned about, given my height. I also agree with the other reviewer who wrote about it looking frayed - a fashion technique, perhaps, but not appealing to me. I'm glad I rented this as my second dress - my first was fantastic and I was going to wear this the second night - so I was only out the $25.
Carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Super cute but not for pears

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I fell in love with the dress when I saw it on the website because it has a chic, arty vibe. And it does have that vibe in person. As previous users have mentioned, some of the seams are a bit (purposely) frayed, but I liked that. I am all over the board when it comes to sizing (usually a 10 but sometimes an 8 or a 12 depending on the cut of the garment) but I went with a medium because of the reviews here. The top fit fine, and maybe even was a little loose, but the bottom was tight across my hips/upper thighs. So much so that it looked like I was wearing two pieces - a blousy top and a too tight skirt. And maybe I could have gotten away with that if it was not for the pockets - the tightness in the hip area made them stretch open. I rated this as being true to size, but the top definitely ran big and the bottom was true to size or a bit smaller. I was bummed it didn't work out for me because it is a cute dress.
Ekaterina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 20, 2012

Nice Colors, Snug Fit

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is lovely. The description is right - there is no give in the fabric of the dress. The fabric, while not stretchy, is comfortable and light. The sash needs a bit of fussing to sit right, but didn't move around easily for me once I got it situated.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Baptism

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this 4 months pregnant, usu I am an XS but I went with a Small for a little more room. Very flattering, sophisticated. I'd buy this dress. Wore to a baptism and family party afterwards. the sash doesnt stay as nicely flat as in the picture, but I just kept adjusting it. BCBG is always reliable.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 22, 2012

Birthday dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my birthday in March, and it looked really cute with black tights. It definitely needed the belt to make it a bit tighter and show off my waist.
EBF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Casual Chic

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great BCBG dress though more on the casual side. It was perfect for the party I attended and very flattering due to the cut and the belt. I would rent this dress again. I typically wear a medium at BCBG though so I would recommend that if you are in between, go a size up.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Cute Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a cute dress but I wasn't a fan of it. It has a distressed design to it along the edges and I wasn't fond of it. I think it would look great on other people, but it wasn't for me. It was my backup dress so it's alright.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Sep 6, 2012

Great work-to-cocktails dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this my birthday weekend, its great to dress up or down, very unique looking dress. I usually wear a medium (dress size 8) but it was slightly tight and this is supposed to be a sort of loose fit, so I went up to the large. There isnt any lining in this dress and the material is a little thin, so I recommend tights for cooler nights.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

So easy and great colors

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is such an easy wear, it is flattering and comfortable. I was sad to send this one back! The color is an off black/navy almost? But the colors all go so well together it looked great. Pair it with semi sheer black tights or even charcoal an it looks great. I love the look with tights and ankle boots.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

super modern and different

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i rented this for a wedding and never actually got to try it on as i loved my backup dress as soon as i tried it on. i was really cute but i probably wouldn't have ended up wearing it for a wedding.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Great dress for an occasion for which I had NOTHING to wear!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was between sizes S and M, and the dress was too tight around the hips to wear the small, and the fabric has no give to it at all. Thank goodness for the two size shipments! The sash was a little annoying, as it kept folding over itself and moving around even though I taped it. It's a fantastic look, especially with a good statement necklace like the model has in the photo. I wore it with high boots, but I'd probably go with ankle boots or pumps if I were to do this again.
Molly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Simple but stylish!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good thing this dress has a sash- without it, it would be truly shapeless! It took me some time to get the sash just right so that the dress didn't hang funny or make me appear frumpy. I think the best thing about this dress were the two pops of bright color- making it more unique/current than a typical LBD. I wore this to a wedding and it was just perfect for such an occasion: dressy, but not over the top. This is such a versatile dress !
AY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Not a flattering shape

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks fabulous from the front. I love the color blocking. It's comfortable and easy. Unfortunately, from the side and back the shape was very unflattering on my body, and made me look rather dumpy. I tried both the medium and the large and vetoed both. It seems to have flattered the figures of other reviewers, so it may simply be a mismatch to my shape, which includes a very curvy rear. This was my back up dress and I did not wear it. I was thrilled with the dress I did wear, which was a different BCBG MaxAzria dress (Colorblock Perfection).
Face
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

I rented this dress for a christening and it was comfortable and I received compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was true to size and fit very well, it was really comfortable. No cons of the dress and the belt was
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

I wore this around women with serious taste and means, and was so gratified by their compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Super flattering on an hourglass figure, and very easy to move in. I would definitely rent this again.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

Comfy and put together

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a very comfortable dress to wear. Since I ended up not having an event to go to, I wore this to work. It was very work appropriate and I got several compliments. I will say, as others mentioned, the lime colored belt is actually a sash and I had to keep adjusting it. Otherwise, a very nice dress. Everyone liked the color-block look.
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Perfect for a cocktail party or a night out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sash seemed too small, but luckily, it fit around my waist.
jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Nice Dressy- Tricky Belt

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress overall. I got great compliments on it and it was the perfect dress for an engaement party (not too dressy, but just right) The only tif I had with the dress was the belt. The picture makes it look very flattering and "just right" however the belt was a very light silk material, wrinkled and because its not sown onto the fabric the belt doesnt stay in place. I had to use the complimentary fabric tape which worked wonders!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×