Badgley Mischka

Yellow Peacock Chiffon Dress

$149 to buy
$422 retail
Stylist Notes

Work the dance floor in this vibrant yellow cocktail dress by Badgley Mischka. Perfect for the girl who can throw off her shoes and dance the night away with her girlfriends!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust with structure and boning; fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - lossely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to built in support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Yellow chiffon(100% Polyester). Strapless neckline. Ruffled bodice. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder the hem. Imported.

Share
419 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(276)
Small
(81)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
July 24, 2012
STILL receiving compliments!!!

This was my first time renting from the runway, and it was a GREAT experience. I got both the 0 and 2 to be sure, and the 0 fit me perfectly. The dress has great structure, and I didn't have to keep yanking it up while dancing. The boning inside is great at the top, yet it's still flowy at the bottom. I'm still getting compliments on the color whenever people see pictures from this July wedding :) I paired the dress with nude heels, "I kissed a frog" Kate Spade clutch, Kate Spade's chandelier earrings, and the house of harlow bracelet. I'll definitely be back for more!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2012
Delivery was reliable.

Wore to a southern wedding in June - was so thankful to be wearing something breathable! Got so many compliments on the color, and it's perfect with a bit of a tan. Bodice fit great, no need for a bra, but I wore one to get a little more oomph out of the sweetheart neckline. Was lots of fun to dance in, the right amount of flashy and sophisticated. All around, great dress! Only con: you will definitely need a skirt slip as the bottom is VERY sheer.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
This yellow really POPS! Fellow wedding guests couldn't help but take notice and give compliments!

My rental experience was good and bad. First off, many kudo's to the RTR customer service team. Although I had a few issues with this dress, they were very prompt in addressing them. Looks-wise, this dress is beautiful. The color really stands out (even in a sea of colors) and the fabric is very delicate. So delicate, in fact, that I discovered several visible snags on the front of the dress. (This was when I emailed RTR for an alternate. Long story short, I ended up having to wear the one with the snags, but was credited back my rental). Fortunately, you can't see it in the photos that much! Fit-wise, I borrowed a 8 and 10. The 8 proved to be quite snug and the boning of the corset top poked out by the waist (quite pinching). The 10 was much easier to manage. There was a rubbery grip that lined the top inside so it prevented slipping. I wore this to an outdoor wedding and it was boiling that day. Everyone was sweating and I was no exception. Fortunately, even after sitting for nearly an hour, the dress handled the heat. Thank. God.

HeatherAugust 13, 2012
I love your dress, but do you know where your friend in the green white and blue dress got hers from?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Brightened up a rainy wedding

After reading reviews that said the dress runs a little small, I was worried that the 8 wouldn't fit (I usually wear an 8) so I got the 10 as a back up size. I tried on both and the 8 fit me like a glove. It was perfect. I didn't have to worry about constantly pulling up the dress. I did have to pick up a slip from the drug store since it was see-through in the back, but received compliments throughout the night. But other than that, I loved it! I paired it with the "RJ Graziano Crown Jewels Necklace" -- it was my first time to rent from RTR and I'll definitely be back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
I got compliments all night long on how fun and pretty my dress was! I felt on trend and classy!

I absolutely loved this dress. It fit well and the draping hung perfectly around my bust and hips. The color is about what you'd expect from the picture, bright but not too bright. Slight, but manageable, downsides were that you could see almost all underwear through it and the boning in the bust on my dress started to poke through a bit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
The dress gives you confidence from the color! Loved it!

I wore this to an evening wedding in August and it was perfect! I received so many compliments on the dress and it was really fun to wear. The dress is very sheer in the back and a bit more fitted that the front of the skirt. But a little help from a slip did the trick! I would definitely buy this dress! It was amazing!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2012
Perfection!

I absolutely loved this dress! I rented it for a summer wedding and it was amazing. The fabric is light and and the front flows very nicely. After a night of eating and drinking it hides everything. I got so many compliments on my dress and I wish I needed to rent it again for another event!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2012
the dress

Loooooved this dress! would reccommend highly for anyone. great color, makes you standout. perfect length for formal affair. comfy

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Bright and Cheery!

This dress was great! Very bright and Fun! The dress came a little above the knee which I thought was very class...especially since the top has a little bit of a plunge. I would definitely recommend it for more of a summer wedding or vacay. Too Bright for Fall.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Everyone saying that yellow was my color!

Fit great everywhere and pinched nowhere. Good length. Didn't feel like anything was out of place. best rental yet !

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
Perfect for a spring wedding

The yellow was gorgeous, got compliments all night. The ruffle on the bust is flattering and its roomey around the waist.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress, loved the color and fit!

I would say that this dress is a bit sheer, I wore nude spanks to hide panty lines. Also, the boning is sharp and was painful at timse when sitting down. Overall, loved the dress and got a lot of compliments at an outdoor summer wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was amazing! A must rent for any formal affair!

I rented this for my friend's wedding. The dress was so beautiful in person and the color is stunning. I received so many compliments all night. It was a little difficult to zip up because I have a fuller bust, but once I got it zipped, it fit like a glove. I would definitely reccomend this dress to everyone! This is my favorite dress I have rented so far!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2012
bright and summery

I wore this dress to a friends wedding and received compliments all night! I think the bride wished she had picked yellow as her color theme. The only downside was that the boning was a bit painful.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 16, 2012
Pretty Color

It was nice and bright at the wedding, never had to adjust the top which is why I almost never wear strapless dresses. Only thing was the he boning kept coming out and stabbing me in the hip. Kind of bothersome. Definitely needs a statement necklace!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 26, 2012
LOVE

I wore this dress for my bridal shower and it was a hit! I usually wear a 4 or 6 and the 6 fit perfect, the 4 was too tight.

MeredithOctober 26, 2012
where did your necklace? I love it, especially with this dress!
RTR CustomerOctober 26, 2012
Hi Meredith! This is our Kate Spade Swirl Triple Row Necklace! You can find it here: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/swirltriplerownecklace
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 18, 2012
Yellow Rose of Texas

I wore this with boots for a Texas party. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 fit better. The color and fabric are great! The boning in the dress is a bit uncomfortable and you will need sheer underwear or a nude slip as it is a little see-through in the back. Fun dress and I received lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 19, 2013
I didn't even want to wear my graduation robe!

I wore this for my Masters graduation. It was the perfect pretty spring dress for the occasion. I didn't want to wear my robe, but it was perfect for lunch afterwards, and dinner later on that night. I even wore for my sisters high school graduation in the same weekend! It fits true to size, and the boning inside made it great for me since I am small chested. Gorgeous color, but I would recommend a tan if you want to really shine.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
This dress was perfection. I loved the color for a summer wedding.

Comfortable for dancing.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 24, 2013
Great color!

I wore this to a summer wedding and received a ton of compliments on the color. The top fit well but the ruffle on the bottom can make for a puffy look. Overall, I was pleased with the dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 27, 2013
This was my first RTR rental. Very easy process and I will definetly rent again!

This dress had really great reviews and I agree. It is a fantastic dress, comfortable and easy to wear. I got a lot of compliments on it. I would definetly recommend renting this necklace too. It makes the dress. I paired with purple heels. I wore to an art museum fundraiser but there are so many possibilities with this dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
March 19, 2013
Fun and Flirty, But Not Flattering

I wore this dress to the rehearsal dinner for my friend's wedding. It's gorgeous, but a bit shapeless, so you really need to be lean and tall to wear it and that is not exactly me! I structured it with a blazer and wore a bright necklace to draw the attention up. Overall, it was a fun dress, but I wouldn't rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
April 3, 2013
Gorgeous color, flattering on any skin tone, forgiving on all body types.

This was one of four dresses I rented for my bachelorotte party that was celebrated in vegas over three days. Absolutely gorgeous, loved the color and it fit pretty true to size. I felt really pretty in it and wanted to repeat it as a night dress and a day dress . This is one dress, I would definately want to purchase. You can accessorize the heck out of this dress without taking away from it. definately my favorite dress from RTR so far.

SaraApril 3, 2013
LOVE the necklace! Where is it from?
MahaApril 3, 2013
Thanks :) I just bought it on Ebay - just type turquoise bubble necklace. Etsy sells them too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress! Such a fun color and a fabulous fit!!

I loved this dress and wish I owned it! The color was fun and the fit was perfect. I ordered both the 4 and the 6. The 4 was actually a better fit throughout but the 6 was easier to zip. I got so many compliments!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2013
Lovvvve this dress!

Fit perfectly- not small at all. The boning cut me when I sat down but you can fix that with some kind of band aid I'm sure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2013
Great dress, great color!

I loved the look of this dress - it definitely fit me well. A couple of drawbacks: Wearing this for more than a few hours might be a bit uncomfortable with the boning in the bodice. Also, you'll need a slip! Even nude underwear shows through the back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect spring choice!

The dress fit perfect, which I was not expecting. Made for a very happy moment. The material was crinkle chiffon and look a little bridesmaid-ish, but with a black bolero, black wedges and some dangling earrings, it looked awesome! The built in corset was amazing and held everything in place. The sweetheart neckline gave great coverage but felt like cleavage! The only downfall was the dress was pretty see-through on the bottom. Enough so you could see my tattoo on my back! Yikes. Spanx fixed that (thank god) and overall it was a great decision! I will definitely rent from RTR again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 24, 2013
I want to rent it again!! Seriously, I heart this dress.

This is by far my favorite dress I've rented from RTR. It is the best shade of yellow and the fit and flow of the dress is top notch. I got continual compliments all night from people of all ages - it was so much fun to wear! It has a built in corset that I wasn't prepared for but it added so much support and allowed for the rest of the dress to be light and breezy. The chiffon was perfect for the rehearsal dinner I went to.

MollyMay 24, 2013
I am around the same bust size and was wondering if you wore a bra with this dress?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 28, 2013
bright bold color

Rented this dress for my boyfriends Law School Graduation. Loved it! Fit great and I received a lot of compliments on the bright color. Would rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2013
Fun dress! Made me look and feel great!

I am so happy I went with this dress for a wedding. It was fun and a beautiful color, and I received so many compliments. The fit was great all over - not too tight or loose anywhere. Will be renting more Badgley Mischka in the future!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 30, 2013
Great dress, gorgeous color, super comfortable

This was my backup dress for a summer wedding. Both dresses I rented were yellow, however this one had such a bold, pretty color and had beautiful fabric that I ended up wearing it instead. The 6 fit perfectly, although it is a little sheer so sheer undergarments required. The boning in the dress provided great support and I didn't need to wear a strapless bra. The dress was in great condition and I got tons of complements. Loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 30, 2013
So So So pretty!

The color is a wonderful pop of yellow! Unfortunately it fits true to size and I was a few months pregnant at the time! I was hoping the stomach area would be a little bit more loose and flowy, alas, I was wrong. However, if I weren't pregnant I would've worn it in a heartbeat!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
Very pretty dress but not as flattering on non-model body type!

Beautiful dress and color, a bit uncomfortable though... definitely tight around the bust and underarms and not super flattering. I wore to my cousin's graduation party and it was definitely dressy and great for a summer day outside...wouldn't rent again because of the way it fit on me, but I think for a more petite person it would be great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 7, 2013
Got a lot of compliments!

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding and I didn't want to buy a yellow dress. The dress was flattering but the boneing (?) was very uncomfortable, I had stratches at the end of the night but I didn't feel the need to constantly pull up my dress all night. If you have a little pooch for a belly, best wear spanx. I loved how easy it was to get it and return it - I had my husband drop it off on his way to work!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2013
Had so many people complement me on the dress and even told that I was the Taylor Swift of the place

It was true to fit, I'm a bit smaller than a 4 so I had to pull it up a couple of times but fit nicely. Absolutely loved the cut, fit, and length of the dress. The only issue I had is how see through the dress is. You could see where it was bare skin and where the spanks started and ended so I had to pull mine up higher over my stomach so it wasn't as noticeable. But overall a very great dress for my first rental!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 11, 2013
True to size. Gorgeous color and fit.

I wore this dress to my college reunion. I did not stop receiving compliments all night. The dress was super comfortable and so flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2013
What a fantastic dress! Wore it for my sister's wedding. Lightweight. Beautiful. Wish I owned it!

The boning provides amazing structure and fit to the dress. Never once worried about it falling down, even on the dance floor! I have read past reviews of the boning being exposed on the Size 10 -- I'm not sure if RTR carries more than one of each size, but the one I wore was brand new (tag on it) and was very comfortable. The bottom of the 10 and 12 fit mostly the same, it was the top where I saw the most difference.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
June 18, 2013
the yellow is gorgeous

great fit, easy shape. got tons of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
Cute, flattering, not the most comfortable but pain is beauty, right?

The dress was definitely cute and I got a lot of compliments. It was a little tight on my chest, though, and the bones left a cut on my back. The front of the dress was super flattering and definitely nice if you want to hide anything. For me, I have a butt so the back of the dress bunched a little bit, causing the cut from the bones (and my awesome dance moves).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 20, 2013
felt like a million bucks!

A beautiful dress! Material is lovely, inner corset adds structure but isn't choking color is gorgeous. I really think it pairs well with a nice tan ;) Everyone at the wedding thought it was gorgeous and told me so. I would love to own this dress but then on the other hand, it might be too memorable to wear twice! thank god for RTR :) Of course, my most handsome boyfriend approved as well!

View photos (3)
See more reviews:
5 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×