Badgley Mischka

Venetian Wine Gown

$105 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look classic in this wine colored Badgley Mischka off the shoulder gown. A beautiful choice for the gala or black tie affair. Go with accessories like the Dannijo's Marguerite Necklace, Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, and Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Also available in black, navy, and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Cranberry jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(38)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2014
The dress, makeup, hair, and jewelry made the night amazing. I've never felt so beautiful!!
This dress is great for a formal occasion, and for girls who want to feel comfortable. The only cons I had with the dress were that there were wires down the sides for bust support, but they dug into my skin and hurt. The other problem were the black straps because they wouldn't stay in my dress, but that can be easily tucked and fixed. Overall, this dress is so amazing, I loved the how it shaped my body and I received nothing but the highest compliments. I definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 75
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
April 17, 2015
It was my stepson's wedding.
I got so many compliments on how beautiful I looked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2011
I have bought gowns in the past to wear to this black tie event. From now on I'm going with Rent the Runway. I received compliments on this gown all night long.
This dress was gorgeous and very flattering. The color is beautiful. I received many compliments. May I also say that as a 48 year old, the off shoulder design and carefully placed "arms" of the dress hid all that flabby underarm jiggle. My only complaint, and it's not a big one, is that you do not get the shirring( like in the picture) on the bust. I chose the smaller size out of the two, and even with the next size up I still didn't achieve the results in the picture. The model must be very flat chested to get that effect. I rented the "Cluster necklace and earrings" to go with it and they were perfect! The necklace was noticed by many. I attended a benefit gala for "Toys for Tots," with all those handsome Marines in dress uniform..it was a night to remember and I felt like a PRINCESS in your gown ! BTW, my girlfriend Meg, to the right of my husband is also wearing one of your gowns. She also received many compliments on her beautiful gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2012
I wore my hair in a Veronica Lake style and I felt like a movie star all night!
I rented a 10 and an 8 in this dress - normally I wear a 10 but the 8 fit wonderfully! I added a pin to the size to give it a little sizzle but the dress is just beautiful on it's own. I received non stop compliments and danced all night with no problem. I highly recommend this dress if you have a little tummy that you are trying mask!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
Attended the fourth annual Fraser First Valentine Fundraiser Dance . My husband was told I was the sexiest woman there. (sure felt like it)
I felt and looked like a million bucks!! I would normally wear an 8, but ordered a 6 & 4 knowing woman's designer clothing run large for the size.The 6 fit but the 4 fit much better. Don't be scared to order size smaller. I have recommended Rent the Runway to everyone I know and have plastered all over my Facebook wall. Will order again for any occasion.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
February 29, 2012
How easy it was to rent! The dress was gorgeous. The dress arrived earlier than I expected (it stated before 8pm - mine arrived before noon). Great service! Highly recommend RTR!
I wore this to a friend's wedding. The color (in person) is stunning. The fit was great however I did notice it runs slightly large. I am a 32DD and usually wear a size 2 in dresses. I was going to order a size 2 and a size 4 (as a backup) however I am glad that I changed my backup size to a size 0 because the size 0 was the size I ended up wearing. Beautiful gown - wonderful and user friendly service by RTR! I already rented another dress for another ocassion and have referred this site to my family and friends. Highly recommend it!
LizApril 23, 2012
Hi Allegra, was wondering what color shoes you wore...the necklace I'm wearing has rhinestones & gold accents. I wanted to try & get away w/ a silver shoe... Thanks, Liz
RTRApril 23, 2012
Hi Liz, you can wear a black, nude, silver or gold heel with this style depending on your accessories!
LizMay 6, 2012
Thanks! Wore it w/ a lighter gold/silver shoe...looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2012
Gown was a hit at Airforce Ball!
Gorgeous Color would go perfect for any military ball, Amazing Fit typically due to my bust I have to go up to an 8 in dresses and the 6 fit was just amazing. Got tons of compliments and matched with the jewelry by RTR it was drop dead gorgeous combo! I felt so elegant and loved that no one came close to the look I had. My husband even complimented me ( which typically I just get a that looks ok) Saying I looked stunning and even later that night stated " Your dress was the best one at the ball!" Yeah!!! Thank you RTR I will be renting again very soon ( actually for an event in just a week!) Your stylists are amazing and what a great concept!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
November 20, 2012
Elegant and classy!
The dress was pretty. I felt very elegant and classy in it. It was great for the first military ball I went to. Its a bit plain (and might not stand up to the flashy sequin dresses) but I think it was appropriate for my event. The fit was very very long and its a bit hard to move your arms in because of the sleeves but it fits well otherwise. Rent it for a classy formal event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 8, 2013
Perfect mix of comfort and sexiness.
This dress was wonderful for my formal charity event. I ordered the 6L and 4R based on other reviews. The 6 was perfect on the first try out of the box. I did wear Spanx & a strapless bra which was a good idea despite other reviews that both are optional. It was comfortable, warm enough for a cool room but not too hot to dance in. The train was nice and easy to dance in as well. I am still getting compliments 24 hours later. This dress looks great on everyone. I will definitely rent again in a different color.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2012
Understated and classy
Rented this for a formal NYE party. I ended up wearing the 2nd dress I bought instead. It's very nice but very simple. The picture made it seem that the fabric had more of a sheen, it's completely matte. I really didn't have the jewelry needed to jazz this up. If you want something understated and conservative then this dress is for you. It's also very forgiving on the body.
LizApril 23, 2012
Hi, was wondering what color shoes you would've worn based on the true color of this dress. Thanks, Liz
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2012
Great dress!
This dress is very flattering & looks beautiful on. It does not ruche at the bust, but not a big deal at all.The jewelry is fabulous. I'm 5'3 & wore 4 inch heels & the regular length was still a little long. The 0R & 2R were slightly different lengths. It runs slightly large. I'm in between a 2 & 4 & ended up wearing the smaller size. Overall, very pleased!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 29, 2012
Received so many compliments!
This dress is very comfortable and flattering. I wear a 34D and the top was a little loose, but the 4R was too small. The color is brighter than the picture, a little more burgundy. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
November 9, 2013
Felt amazing and beautiful in this dress-even 4months pregnant!
This gorgeous and very comfortable dress was perfect for the gala I attended. It is "bump friendly" and looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2015
I wore this to the 2012 inaugural ball and it was perfect
Seriously structured dress. Very gorgeous and great for winter - very much a ball gown
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×