Badgley Mischka

Venetian Wine Gown

$105 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look classic in this wine colored Badgley Mischka off the shoulder gown. A beautiful choice for the gala or black tie affair. Go with accessories like the Dannijo's Marguerite Necklace, Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, and Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Also available in black, navy, and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Cranberry jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(38)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
February 15, 2013
Complimented first thing when I walked in the door!!

Took a chance and ordered one size. With spanx and help getting the zipper up, it was perfect and comfortable. Like other reviews, there was boning sticking out when I got it, but I put in a few stitches to close the hole, otherwise it would have been nearly unwearable. Thought it would be longer based on the reviews but perfect length in bare feet, had to get lower heeled shoes and pull the dress down some to make it work-it did! Would rent again, but there are so many great choices, will probably try something different next time. First experience with RTR, and will do again. Wish I'd known about this when my daughter went to prom. probably could have saved some $!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfect dress for our New Year's Eve event!

The dress was very flattering and I got a ton of compliments! The reg was long enough only for a small heal. I loved the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2013
LOVED this dress, I had a hard time returning it!

I have a large rear (squats do a body good) I was worried this dress would make me look huge, but it didn't it hugged in all the right places. There were a few minor issues, 1. I'm short, this dress is long 2. because the dress is form fitting and I have a curvy shape the zipper did that weir bulge thing, but nothing fashion tape couldn't fit...

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 18, 2013
I loved how comfortable this dress was and how flattering it was for my figure!

I received endless compliments about the dress. It was very comfortable and the material allowed me to move easily. The necklace accessory matched the dress perfectly, but hung down a bit low so I had to keep moving it up on my neck so it didn't get lost inside the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
April 4, 2014
I would definitely rent from RTR again

Wore this to a ball. It was a little big at the top and fell a couple of times but I am quite small so it very likely runs true to size. In any case, the dress still looked really pretty and I got quite a few compliments.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
April 25, 2014
Tons of compliments esp on Facebook!

It is very flattering. The ruching wasn't as apparent when I put it on, but maybe I should have worked with it more. It's very forgiving - no spanx necessary. I'm 5'4" and sadly at my heaviest 136 - but you wouldn't notice my belly in this dress. It was very cofortable. Wore a strapless bra - I'm a 34D and that is usually another hurdle in finding a dress. For me the appeal was the sleeves - don't like my arms and this is a wonderful compromise. I wore 3.5 inch heels and it hit the floor nicely - not too long. The bodice shows a very tiny bit of wear in terms of shine and as I mentioned earlier, the ruching is not as "perky" as it could be.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 24, 2014
The dress, makeup, hair, and jewelry made the night amazing. I've never felt so beautiful!!

This dress is great for a formal occasion, and for girls who want to feel comfortable. The only cons I had with the dress were that there were wires down the sides for bust support, but they dug into my skin and hurt. The other problem were the black straps because they wouldn't stay in my dress, but that can be easily tucked and fixed. Overall, this dress is so amazing, I loved the how it shaped my body and I received nothing but the highest compliments. I definitely recommend it!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 75
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
April 17, 2015
It was my stepson's wedding.

I got so many compliments on how beautiful I looked!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2011
I have bought gowns in the past to wear to this black tie event. From now on I'm going with Rent the Runway. I received compliments on this gown all night long.

This dress was gorgeous and very flattering. The color is beautiful. I received many compliments. May I also say that as a 48 year old, the off shoulder design and carefully placed "arms" of the dress hid all that flabby underarm jiggle. My only complaint, and it's not a big one, is that you do not get the shirring( like in the picture) on the bust. I chose the smaller size out of the two, and even with the next size up I still didn't achieve the results in the picture. The model must be very flat chested to get that effect. I rented the "Cluster necklace and earrings" to go with it and they were perfect! The necklace was noticed by many. I attended a benefit gala for "Toys for Tots," with all those handsome Marines in dress uniform..it was a night to remember and I felt like a PRINCESS in your gown ! BTW, my girlfriend Meg, to the right of my husband is also wearing one of your gowns. She also received many compliments on her beautiful gown.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2012
I wore my hair in a Veronica Lake style and I felt like a movie star all night!

I rented a 10 and an 8 in this dress - normally I wear a 10 but the 8 fit wonderfully! I added a pin to the size to give it a little sizzle but the dress is just beautiful on it's own. I received non stop compliments and danced all night with no problem. I highly recommend this dress if you have a little tummy that you are trying mask!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 8, 2013
Perfect mix of comfort and sexiness.

This dress was wonderful for my formal charity event. I ordered the 6L and 4R based on other reviews. The 6 was perfect on the first try out of the box. I did wear Spanx & a strapless bra which was a good idea despite other reviews that both are optional. It was comfortable, warm enough for a cool room but not too hot to dance in. The train was nice and easy to dance in as well. I am still getting compliments 24 hours later. This dress looks great on everyone. I will definitely rent again in a different color.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2012
Understated and classy

Rented this for a formal NYE party. I ended up wearing the 2nd dress I bought instead. It's very nice but very simple. The picture made it seem that the fabric had more of a sheen, it's completely matte. I really didn't have the jewelry needed to jazz this up. If you want something understated and conservative then this dress is for you. It's also very forgiving on the body.

LizJanuary 5, 2012
Hi, was wondering what color shoes you would've worn based on the true color of this dress. Thanks, Liz
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 29, 2012
Received so many compliments!

This dress is very comfortable and flattering. I wear a 34D and the top was a little loose, but the 4R was too small. The color is brighter than the picture, a little more burgundy. Great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
November 9, 2013
Felt amazing and beautiful in this dress-even 4months pregnant!

This gorgeous and very comfortable dress was perfect for the gala I attended. It is "bump friendly" and looked great!

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×