Take the Stage Gown

$70 rental
$795 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get the bombshell glam look in this gown by Badgley Mischka. A standout option to make an entrance at the gala! Bring out the green with Sequin’s Emerald Entrance Earrings.

Also available in plum.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-20W .

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-16 & plus 14W-20W .

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Emerald Sequins with Black Crepe Trim (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with contrast details. Fitted skirt with trumpet hem. Hidden back zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
1646 reviews
Fit
Large81
True to Size1184
Small75
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 111lbs
March 25, 2016
I received so many compliments! This was one of the most comfortable gowns I have worn!!
I wore this gown to a Mardi Gras Ball. The sequins sparkled beautifully and only searched under the arms a tiny bit. I was able to wear a normal bra and with heels in the end of the dress just hit the floor. Because it was such a large affair, there was another women wearing the same dress. She apparently paid over $300 for her dress and was so upset when I told her about rent the runway. I come here for all of my formal gowns because who really can afford a new ball gown every year and only wear it once?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
March 24, 2016
Lots of compliments. The color is beautiful.
Can wear a normal bra. Comfortable but the sequins do rub under the arms after a while, but just for the night was fine. It was just the right length with 4 inch heels. I was worried about sleeveless because I don't like my arms, but after spray tan it was fine. Would recommend this dress and would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2016
Great dress!
After both my original dresses were not returned on time, RTR saved the day and ended up sending me SEVEN different dresses/sizes to make sure I had a dress I loved. This was the last dress they sent and I couldn't have been happier with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 22, 2016
I really received compliments galore on this dress!!
This was my third dress for this event as the first two I tried did not fit - so this was my Hail Mary and I couldn't have been happier!! The stylist on the phone recommended this and it was a great choice. It was comfortable and only occasionally did I notice the sequins under the arms . Totally a winner!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 20, 2016
Loved. This. Dress.
Wonderful figure-skimming gown without being tight. I'm a size 12, 160 lbs with 36DD and the bodice was not tight, nor did I feel like I had mono-boob. I got so many compliments on this dress and felt like a million dollars for my event. I danced like no one was watching and felt very comfortable. I'm actually sad to have to send this back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Weight: 175lbs
March 20, 2016
A great option for a standout dress. Highly recommend.
Being on the short and curvy side, I was nervous to wear this to my roomie's wedding, but it was PERFECT! Black band helps to define waist and length was great with a pair of patent leather wedges. Received complements all night. Recommend as alternative to a black dress when attending a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2016
Many compliments on the gown- perfect fit!
Gown and length were very good based on other reviews. Arms were a little scratchy, but not enough to not recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 20, 2016
I went to a black tie event and never felt prettier in my life. Got compliments all night!
I never felt prettier in my life! All night people told me how beautiful I looked! I'm 5'2 and wore shot heels so if u want To wear high heels get the long! You won't be disappointed with this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 0
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
March 17, 2016
I wore this dress to Prom. It was absolutely stunning! It made me look like a million dollars.
Fit is true, length does run a little long.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
March 15, 2016
Awesome color & comfortable fit
This was my first experience with RTR and it was amazing! I never thought I would like a dress with this type of bottom but it flowed nicely when I walked and was very comfortable. I could have worn the size I tried on in the store and ordered (8L) but after wearing it again, I opted for my backup size (10L) due to the arms being slightly snug. The black "belt" and the waist cinch makes for a wonderful hourglass shape. I wore the dress to an optional black-tie affair and received compliments on the dress all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 183lbs
March 12, 2016
So Many Compliments!
This dress was amazing! The cut and color was perfect for a fundraising gala I wore it to. The dress is a little heavy, but it is covered in sequence. I got a few scratches under my arm from the sequence, but not terrible. The dress was so comfortable and had some stretch to it without being baggy. AMAZING DRESS!!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 9, 2016
The color is awesome! Great pic for my event.
I got many compliments on this dress. It runs true to size, great length for my height. 5'4". The black band at the waist is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
March 9, 2016
I got the dress for my mother and the gown looked even better than the picture.
It fit like a glove and the color is beautiful
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2016
Beautiful well made comfortable dress
I wore this to a holiday charity ball. The dress was so comfortable. I loved it. Funny but we are a small town and of all the hundreds of dresses on here another girl had the exact same dress. I told her she looked absolutely stunning! :-).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
March 7, 2016
The most compliments I've ever received!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a winter wedding and it was perfect! I felt so classy and elegant, but the sequins gave it a bit of a fun feel. The color is absolutely beautiful in person - pictures don't do it justice. The sequins were also in really good shape as opposed to some other sequin clothing I've seen/worn. I wore flats and the regular length was perfect. I felt that it fit true to size, but I wore the next size up for more comfort. I didn't realize that this dress had a slight mermaid cut to it, which made it fun to twirl and dance in. It felt very heavy on the hanger, but the weight wasn't an issue when it was on. Others mentioned that the sequins under the arms were uncomfortable, but I didn't notice this until the very end of the night when I had been wearing it for many hours. I was showered with compliments all night and truly felt beautiful in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 7, 2016
Senior prom was such a fun night!
This dress fit me just about perfectly! It was only a little bit longer than I would have liked for dancing at prom, but it wasn't much of an issue. Just had to make sure no one stepped on the little bit of extra fabric at the back. My usual problem is that dresses are way too short, that's why I LOVE Rent the Runway for carrying longs. Overall, this dress was very comfortable, the sequins scratched up my underarms a tiny bit, but it wasn't that bad at all. Also, huge plus of this dress, the material is thick enough so I didn't have to wear a bra!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
March 6, 2016
This dress has great coverage and a wonderful shape. I was very comfortable all night.
I loved everything about this dress. The color is amazing. The fit was perfect for my body type. The shape is fun. I loved how it swished when I walked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Weight: 120lbs
March 5, 2016
Amazingly organized system.
I felt SO beautiful in this dress. My date's face when I came out was unforgettable. The dress fit me just right, and it was very slimming. Not to mention, my butt looked so good. I wore 4 inch heels, and it was still a TINY bit long, but I didn't have a problem with it as long as I was paying attention. Some of the reviews said that the sequins bothered them, but I didn't find that to be the case. The color is so amazing and I just didn't want to take it off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
March 4, 2016
STUNNING!
I am 5'7 and wore the regular length, it was perfect but I only wore an inch and a half heel with it. If you are taller or want to wear a higher heel you may want to get the long unless you want your shoes to show. It was comfortable and warm for a winter event. A little heavy if you want to dance the night away but worth the work because you will get compliments ALL night! My fiance said women were commenting how stunning it was as we walked by. I also had a complete strange come up to me and compliment me!! Amazing dress if you want to stand out in a crowd !!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
March 3, 2016
Felt beautiful!
I loved wearing this dress to a black tie Oscar party. I ordered the 4R and 6R, knowing that I love to dance and would be wearing 3.5-4 inch heels (I'm 5'5.5"). The length was perfect. My toes peeped out and the back was slightly longer, it was really pretty. While both fit, the 4 was perfect. The dress was a great weight and felt well made. It was slightly tight under my arms (I have broad shoulders) but not uncomfortable and definitely not a deal breaker. I loved the way it sparkled. Super glam!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
March 2, 2016
The perfect evening dress
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and got so many components. I usually wear a 4R, but got the 2L just in case. The 4 was WAY too short, I'm 5'5 and usually don't have a problem with things being too short, so it was a little weird. The 2 actually fit just right and with heels was the perfect length. Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 2, 2016
Dark green sequins are unique, and gorgeous.
Fit was great albeit it was tight in the bust (I'm a 34G, so that isn't unusual).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 196lbs
March 2, 2016
Hugs the curves in all the right places!
The color on this dress is amazing! I am 5'7" and typically a size 14 in women's clothing and an 18L in Badgley dresses. Based on the reviews, I went with the 16L and the 14L as my backup. I ended up wearing the 16L because RtR sent me the 14R and not the 14L. I could have worn the 14L. Badgley dresses are SUPER short. I had to wear 2" heels and I still wished the dress was longer. The green color was beautiful and the dress hugs the curves in all the right places. I wore a regular bra and spanx just because it made everything feel smooth but I definitely didn't need the spanx - the sequins are very forgiving. Overall - unbelievably flattering dress for curvy girls!
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 1, 2016
This dress looked great and was comfortable- I got a ton of compliments! The color is great.
The dress rubs a little under the arms, but nothing unbearable. The 12 was a little tight in the chest, so I'm glad I sized up for my backup dress. It is definitely form fitting!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2016
Spectacular dress!
Based on other reviews, I ordered both the 2R and 4R. The 4R fit perfectly and the length was just right with 3" heels. The dress was in excellent condition when it arrived. I have to say that I felt like a million bucks in this dress - it's very flattering on. You have to be careful with the train, but the dramatic look was worth it. The sequins didn't bother my arms at all. This was my first experience with RTR and I was very happy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
February 29, 2016
Glamorous statement dress without a lot of fuss
I rented this gem (no pun intended) of a dress for a 1920's Wedding at the Cicada Club in Downtown LA. I loved how you couldn't miss the dress in the a slew of wedding attire without having to fuss of trying to find the right bra, and shoes to go with it. This Emerald number shines on it's own with little need to over accessorize. It is a tad heavy because of the number of sequins, however nothing that would deter me from renting again. Also, I read other reviews about the dress rubbing underneath the arms, and I even prepared to apply Vaseline in anticipation of discomfort, but it there was no need. The dress is difficult to zip up and down, that was the only downside. So be prepared to fiddle with it a little and have help. I felt so glamorous and received so many compliments...loved how it showed up in photos...very Hollywood! Enjoy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 29, 2016
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but I absolutely could have!
It's such a flattering cut—it worked well for my pear/apple hybrid shape, and the stretch in the material makes it versatile for so many body types. The heaviness of the sequins made it feel especially luxe (and was perfect for concealing any lumps and bumps). The only size available was a 12L, and I would have worn the 10 instead (I'm a toss-up between the two sizes). I may rent this again in the future!
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2016
It was so easy to rent and the dress was a hit at the ball! I even had a twin in the same dress :)
I really loved the dress! It had weight to it but it was. It unbearably heavy. I'm 5'9" and I wore 4 inch heels and I was stepping on the back of the dress which was obnoxious. I need it floor length....so I guess that's a what I got. Oh well, I GOT SO MANY COMPLIMENTS! <3 Overall, I loved it! I will definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2016
Got a million compliments! Sequins are a bit scratchy, but definitely worth it. I loved this dress!!
I'm 5'5 and the regular was so short I had to wear flats. It was still totally cute, but I think that's nice to know.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 27, 2016
Gorgeous gown!
The dress is a bit heavy (as should be expected with the sequins), so be prepared for that! Gorgeous gown, lots of compliments. Green gives a bit of fun but still dark enough to have a formal feel and not look cheesy. Liked the black band around arms so that sequins didn't scratch skin. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2016
Great dress for a formal affair!
This dress fit true to size. I wore shoes with a little wedge and that worked perfectly. I wouldn't of wanted to go with any higher of a heel as you would of saw more of my feet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2016
Felt Old Hollywood Glam!
The dress is amazing! It does have some weight to it, but it was still very comfortable. Accented my figure great and I loved the dress! Received compliments all night! Great for a formal wedding. Glam, but not over-the-top.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2016
Great gown for a formal event. It makes a statement but is not too over the top.
It said the Regular Size would be fine for those up to 5'6, but I wasn't planning on wearing high heels, so even though I am 5'7 I got the Regular. It was definitely a bit short, I wish I would have gotten long. The zipper was also terribly difficult. Aside from that, the dress is actually very comfortable! The fabric is stretchy and not very heavy, and the sequins don't scratch at all. I got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 25, 2016
Great dress, but doesn't do athletic body types justice.
This dress is beautiful. I wore it to an Army ball and got several compliments. This was my first RTR experience and I wasn't entirely sure what sizes to order so I got the 2L and 4L. I'm 5'7" with a slim and athletic body type (bust 33"/A cup, rib cage 29", waist 26", hi-hip 31.5", lo-hip 37"), so I figured the 2L would be best. I also haven't tried on a dress with numerical sizing in several years so had to look up Badgely Mischka sizing charts online to get a good idea of what to order. When they arrived I didn't even try on the 4L. The 2L was the perfect length and fit pretty well in the bust area with a push-up bra, but it was pretty loose around the rib cage and waist. I probably could have ordered a 0L and had it fit perfectly. All in all, the dress fit pretty well and looked great. I typically tend to go for more skintight styles to show off my body so I didn't feel like as much of a stunner in this dress as I would have in something that wasn't so loose on me. If you want a beautiful, classy dress that is comfortable and forgiving then this one is a great option. If you like to show off your body definition and/or muscles (shout-out to my fellow female weightlifters) I would suggest another style because this one really didn't do my body as much justice as I'd have liked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 25, 2016
Stood out in sequins
The dress fit like a glove, true to size. The fabric has some stretch which was nice and comfortable. The dress was just a touch long on me with 3.5 inch heels. I stood out with the sequins, and the green is more vibrant in person! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 24, 2016
Absolutely loved this dress!
My husband and I were invited to a formal ball and I did not want to look like my dress was a typical prom dress or bridesmaid dress. I wanted something special, but I didn't want to spend heaps of money for just one evening. I'm so glad a friend told me she had used RTR last year. I was nervous about not getting the dress until the day before the event, but after reading all the reviews, I was hopeful that it would work out. The dress was beautiful. It arrived on time, was in good condition, and was such a pretty color. I was really surprised with how comfortable it was to wear. I'm glad I got the long, because it was JUST long enough with 3" heels. I was complimented throughout the evening, which was a pleasant surprise. I will definitely RTR in the future.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
Loved the color!!
This dress was beautiful and very comfortable. The color was unlike anyone else's dress so I stood out without having to wear something too showy. The only thing that bothered me was that the sequins slipped under my fingernails every time I pulled the dress up so it was not dragging in the back - ouch! I got lots of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 23, 2016
Amazing dress for a winter formal event!
Perfect length (Wore the long with about 2-3 inch heels). High-quality. Kind of heavy material, but was great for my husbands Marine Corps Ball in November. Can wear with a regular bar, and fabric is very forgiving so spanks really are not needed. Highly recommend this dress if you want a classy show-stopper that is so easy to wear!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2016
Glamorous and flattering
I wore this to a black tie event. It was beautiful and fit just right. The material has a little give which was great for my body shape. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
February 22, 2016
I absolutely loved this gown. It was comfortable and made me feel beautiful.
I'm 5'5" and 130 lbs. I felt this gown ran small, so I wore the size 8. The 6 was fine, but I was looking for a bit more modest look. I loved this so much, I'm wearing the same gown in plum for another ball in a few weeks.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 42

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×