Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
228 reviews
Fit
Large19
True to Size132
Small67
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
I couldn't walk past one person without being complimented on this amazing sparkling dress!
I ordered a 10 and a 12 because the reviews said it runs a little small which is true...it definitely took a while to get into the 10, but the 12 I ordered was DEFINITELY not a 12! As in, I could get into the 10, but couldnt even get the 12 over one leg! I was a little upset because the event was only a day away and I didn't have time to get another dress but it did look AMAZING so I just sucked it up (and in) and wore the 10. EVERYONE LOVED IT, I got soooo many compliments and it looked great in pictures! I wish I could afford to BUY this dress (a size up, of course), because it made such a great impression and would be perfect for New Year's! Overall, the dress was fabulous and I'm still getting texts asking where it was from 2 days later!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2012
I received compliments on this dress by everyone that approached me! Would definitely recommend!
I am usually a size 4 in dresses....I just had a baby 2 weeks before I was to wear this dress so I got a size 4 and a size 6. This dress tends to run a little small so the size 6 worked out better. i am bigger chested, and it wouldn't zip up on the side in a size 4 without me being uncomfortable. This dress was very comfortable and I received so many compliments :) In the picture it looked like a more gold and pink color, but in actuality it is a more champagne bronze color....
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
November 8, 2012
I felt beautiful in this dress
I was pleased with this dress and received several compliments throughout the night. I will say it is pink! It appeared to be kind of a gold color in the pictures, but I was surprised that the sequins are a pale pink. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and was happy that the 4 actually fit better. Gold accessories definitely look best with it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 7, 2012
Color and sparkle were amazing
It fit well. Only problem was that the material on the side was a lot, and it added width to the person wearing the dress. But I got a lot of compliments, and great for dancing.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
The dress was beautiful, I loved the sparkle and was the perfect dress for a formal affair calling f
The dress fit very well, but didn't hug curves or photograph that well. Since it is one shoulder and has fabric running across the waist. But having just had a baby I didn't mind much!;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 4, 2012
I wore this dress to the taping of the CMA Country Christmas special, and it stunned! Perfection!
This dress is more of a mauve color, with bronzy sequins. It is gorgeous! It "reads" as gold in most photos, so just be aware of that. Like most of the other reviews, I would have to agree that the hip area of this dress has no stretch and it is not "full" as described. I had to size up, as would most women who have hips, I would think. Not a negative, but something to take into consideration. Overall, this dress was simply dazzling! My husband loved it! And I was super happy with it too! It feels great to be the belle of the ball, knowing that when you walk into the room, you are lighting it up!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
November 2, 2012
Being so sparkly! Felt like a fairy princess.
The fit was good overall, fit my hips and waist well, my biggest problem was the chest. I am by no means small up top (wide shoulders and 32D) but the top was either stretched out or just too large, I ended up pinning it so there was no gap under my arm. It was a little awkward when the sleeve flapped open and the really pale inside showed, but it was gorgeous in photos when it was draped correctly. The sequins were wonderful, they can tend to be scratchy but these were flat and even felt a little soft. Loved the fabric and colour, just wish the top fit hat been better.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
October 31, 2012
It was great and perfect for the occasion!!
The fit was great, I read the other reviews and got a 4 and a 6 and the 4 was just right!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2012
wasn't a fan of this dress
way too short and too small, fabric didn't look right on my body
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 25, 2012
I rented this for a fashion show fundraiser. After the show, even the models complimented my dress!
This was my first Rent the Runway experience. I was so nervous when I tried on my usual dress size (size 4) and it didn't fit. Thank goodness for the back up size! I would say because of that, this dress runs a little small. Overall, the dress was so eye catching and comfortable for me to wear. The draping is really flattering. I rented this for a fundraising event/fashion show, and strangers did not stop complimenting me all night! It felt great when after the show, even the models who walked came up to me to say how stunning my dress was. Needless to say, my boyfriend felt lucky to be my date! ;) RTR thinks of everything. I used the fashion tape they included on the top portion of my dress just to make sure the strapless portion stayed in place all night. Thank you, will definitely be a return RTR customer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got lots of compliments! I feel that the dress runs a tad small around the hips and thighs, so I sized up from my usual size 8. The 10 was a tad bit loose around my bust but I would rather have more room in my hips than less room in the bust. Either size would have worked, though. I felt like a million bucks in the dress. I accessorized with crystal chandelier earrings, pearl and crystal bracelets, and a fun rock crystal statement ring that I already owned. I wore nude wedge peep-toe heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2012
Loved it!
Received many compliments on this dress. It does run pretty form fitting, so going a size up from your usual size is suggested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 15, 2012
The dress did not fit well at all.
After reading the reviews, I was surprised that this dress did not fit. The zipper hit at a weird spot and I could not get the dress all the way up. I was disappointed because while I am a curvy girl, I haven't had problems with other 12's.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 15, 2012
Everyone LOVED my dress! It was the talk of the night - despite just being the bride that is! ; )
The hem of the dress hung below the actual dress itself. Not sure that was supposed to happen, however I didn't have another back up dress. Both size did that. I wore it anyhow and honestly no one seemed to know otherwise - so I went with it. This dress was flashy, comfortable and like I said the talk of the night!
MeganApril 21, 2013
What color shoes did you wear?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
October 15, 2012
Beautiful dress
The sequins are a little uncomfortable, definitely don't wear this dress to any type of theater date where you want to be more comfortable. It is best sitting up straight or standing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 10, 2012
Loved it! I received so many complements that night from people.
Proabably true to size for most people, I'm really small so it was a little big for me and there was a lot of material in this dress. Other than that this dress was perfection! (In the picture I'm second from the right)
zuriDecember 11, 2012
i love the black sparkly dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I wore this to a cancer awarness event. Great dress! Very comfortable! Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Efficient, Impressive & Fabulous!
Enjoyed wearing this dress to my husband's 20-year high school reunion! It was my first rental and I couldn't have been happier with the results. Received dress right on time, which was Friday for a Saturday night event, and it was in a fine condition. I received so many compliments and do plan on renting this dress again. At first, I was reluctant to rent a dress but hopeful since they provide 2 sizes. I am big-busted (32 G) and it is really difficult for me to wear number-sized dresses (as opposed to sizing based on S and M). My lower body generally fits in a size 4 and my top can range between 6 to 8. The 6 worked just fine and I never bothered to try on the 8. Thank you RTR for an Awesome, Worry-free evening!! Can't wait to come back for my next event!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 6, 2012
Love this dress! Just the right amount of sparkle!
Sexy and classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
October 5, 2012
Gorgeous dress, but no wiggle room if you've got big hips!
I ordered this in both the 12 and the 14, and the 14 would've been great except that on one side the seam was completely ripped out and looked like someone had tried to fix it themselves (giving RTR the benefit of the doubt here because I wouldn't expect them to use a completely different color thread in their alterations). The 12 would've been okay too but have a little too much in the hip/butt area and the slip kept showing underneath so I sadly had to send them back without wearing them to my event. I was super bummed, but the customer service people were super nice and sympathetic when I called. I'm definitely going to try renting again and hope it works out better this time! :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 4, 2012
perfect dress to stand out in!
i was nervous about this dress at first bc i am short 5'2 and i was reading it runs long. it doesnt. it is perfect length . the fit is perfect, the material is not stretchy, i did get a size 4 as my back up but the dress does run true to size and size 2 was perfect. i did use the tape they supply you over the side not over the shoulder as it seemed a little stretched , it worked perfect. also the pink slip does show from the bottom of the dress about a 1/2 inch... but only you notice it i promise!!! I got many compliments on the dress. and everyone on facebook wants to know where its from! haha :) this was my first time with rent the runway. THEY ARE AMAZING. i rented a back up dress as well (which i wore to the church) you would never be able to tell that either were worn.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 1, 2012
Great dress for dancing, and having fun all night long. You will get a lot of compliments!
I loved the dress and I had fun all night dancing in it at a charity event during the springtime. The only thing I would mention is that the slip sometimes showed, and the sequins were a little annoying at times, but overall it was a great dress. I definitely recommend it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 28, 2012
I had to return it and never got to wear it.
The dress couldn't even fit over my head. It seemed like it wasn't labeled with the correct size and looked more like a size 2 than a size 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 25, 2012
Awesome dress! Prefect for Vegas B-Party!
I wore this dress for my Bachelorette Party In Las Vegas! I loved the overall look, but I should have gotten a 2 because the 4 was a bit baggy for my build!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
Super shiny and elegant!
I loved this dress, but it fit me a little too snug in the hips... and as a result the sequins rode up and showed off the slip. I got a bunch of compliments but it wasn't a slam dunk. Probably not great for ladies with curves. I would not wear this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 22, 2012
Just did not work out.
This dress is NOT for ladies with curves. I usually wear a 10, and I couldn't even wear the size 12. It is so narrow in the hips and tight around the tummy-- not a forgiving dress at all. Plus, when I was trying it on, the sequins were very scratchy under the arms! It is a very pretty color though.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2012
The website is user friendly, my garment shipped fast, and the return was really easy!
I ordered a 10 and a 12 because I run between the two sometimes. The 12 fit me like a glove! I have a pretty large chest and was able to zip it with a tiny bit of room left. I wore a body shaper spanx thing to look more streamlined around my midsection. That seemed to help with any love handles showing or a little belly pooch. It was fun, sassy, and I got lots of compliments! One thing to note is that it's a little more bronze-y in person than it is in the photos.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
I went by the suggestions on fit and when it arrived it was clear it runs very small.
The dress is scratchy, runs very small. Not for anyone with a pooch in the belly area it clings there. Also the lining is not sewn well and would have worried about it all night riding up and showing the liner. Sad not to get to wear it. Would not recommend this dress based on quality of dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2012
Looked better on computer than in person
Too snug around the hips. Couldn't wear it. I sized down and not up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 15, 2012
It was my 30th Birthday party and the theme was "Glittery 30" Lots of compliments!
Fit was great through waist and thighs, but a bit big through chest. This is a common problem I have being small busted. Still felt amazing in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Pretty dress
Arrived the day before the event as planned. Tried on size 8 - fit was perfect. Only problem was the underlay extended beyond the hem of the dress by at least 2 inches. I called RTR and the customer service wad superb! They overnighted me a new size 8 which arrived the morning of the event. The underlay was still an issue but not nearly as bad on the replacement dress. The color of this dress is a beautiful blush color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 5, 2012
Way too small
This dress is WAY to skimpy to wear if you have a butt! It was sooooo short, there was NO WAY I could have worn it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
Loved the fit
I got many complements on the dress. It was gorgeous and was tru to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
August 24, 2012
Stand out of the crowd!
I wore this dress to an event called Night of a Thousand Gowns and I managed to stand out! Loved the color and the fun, flirty design. It runs small so order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
August 23, 2012
This dress is truly amazing. It made my night so special and I felt so beautiful in it.
I rented this for my 21st birthday party and was so pleased with it. It runs pretty true to size. I rented a 2 and it fit like a glove. The only problem I had with it was that the hem was slightly shorter than the lining. But this problem was easily solved with the garment tape that RTR sends with it. Overall I had a blast and loved the dress.
biancaAugust 30, 2012
if you have big hips is this a bad dress to wear? or will it look fine?
RTRAugust 31, 2012
Hi Bianca! This dress will be extremely flattering if you have big hips! It is a very easy fit and looks great on just about everyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
SHORT!
I was so looking forward to wearing this great dress. I'm only 5'3 with not a lot of leg length, and this dress hit the middle of my thigh! Also, the lining beneath the dress looked as if it had been cut about 2 inches (with rough edges and strings hanging down), showing leg through the sequin fabricI'm not comfortable wearing dresses that show a lot of leg, so I couldn't bring myself to wear this. It looks longer on the model than it is in real life. Also, there was not a lot of difference between the way that the size 6 fit from the 8. The 8 was tight across the chest as well, so if you're looking for a blouson effect, size up. There might be a little stretch in the overlay sequin fabric, but there is NONE in the lining under the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Fun!
I rented this for my Vegas weekend and it really stood out! The 4 fit perfectly, not too short either. It was a bit itchy with the sequins, especially on the right arm. This is definitely a light/life of the party kind of dress with the dramatic draping and sequins. Not particularly form fitting, more fun. It's slightly more pink than I was expecting from the picture, so keep that in mind when choosing shoes/accessories.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2012
The Color is Differnet
I loved this dress online. When it arrived I was disappointed that the color was different then what the picture looked like. It washed me out. I needed to be tanner to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 16, 2012
Not what I expected
It was to big and I could not wear it. I wear a size 12 but this dress was too big.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 9, 2012
Extremely Small but Lovely
This dress runs extremely small to size. Although I ordered a size 12 it fit more like a 4. I would recommend this only for straight & narrow/athletic body types. as the side zipper does not allow for much room in the chest.
See more reviews:
5 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×