Badgley Mischka

Starstruck Dress

$35 rental
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Sparkle and shine in this Badgley Mischka asymmetric sequin dress. Go with Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring and Polished Crystal Drop Earrings to really turn heads when you walk into the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Blush sequins over silk(100% silk; lining: 100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Draped ruffle side. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
231 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(133)
Small
(69)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 25, 2012
I rented this for a fashion show fundraiser. After the show, even the models complimented my dress!

This was my first Rent the Runway experience. I was so nervous when I tried on my usual dress size (size 4) and it didn't fit. Thank goodness for the back up size! I would say because of that, this dress runs a little small. Overall, the dress was so eye catching and comfortable for me to wear. The draping is really flattering. I rented this for a fundraising event/fashion show, and strangers did not stop complimenting me all night! It felt great when after the show, even the models who walked came up to me to say how stunning my dress was. Needless to say, my boyfriend felt lucky to be my date! ;) RTR thinks of everything. I used the fashion tape they included on the top portion of my dress just to make sure the strapless portion stayed in place all night. Thank you, will definitely be a return RTR customer.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2012
I received compliments on this dress by everyone that approached me! Would definitely recommend!

I am usually a size 4 in dresses....I just had a baby 2 weeks before I was to wear this dress so I got a size 4 and a size 6. This dress tends to run a little small so the size 6 worked out better. i am bigger chested, and it wouldn't zip up on the side in a size 4 without me being uncomfortable. This dress was very comfortable and I received so many compliments :) In the picture it looked like a more gold and pink color, but in actuality it is a more champagne bronze color....

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
I had rented this dress along with another, I ended up going with the second choice

Beautiful dress! Just isn't made for someone with a larger chest. I'm a full C, and I could NOT get it to zip past my ribs.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Didn't work for me

I REALLY wanted this dress to work ... but I usually wear a 6. They don't have this in a 6. SO I tried the 4 and it was a no go. It's also more mauve in color than this photograph. I love it though and wish I could have worn it.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2013
Not a good choice at all.

Marked a size 12 and couldn't zip at all. Was a gap of 6" between edges of zipper. I am 5'4" and 125#. This fit more like a 2! Very disappointed. Also the color was not blush. It was a true mauve. Won't try again

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Loved this dress!! I got so many compliments, both at my party and from pictures!

The shape of the dress will compliment a lot of body types and it was just SO fun to wear. I felt like a celebrity. The lining does tend to pop out of the bottom a bit. Nothing a little fashion tape cant fix.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2013
Felt very glam!

I wore this to a fashion show and felt great. Lots of compliments... but...I've got a butt, so the sequin layer was kind of riding up a little and I found myself tugging on it throughout the night. I got the 8 & the 10, I normally wear an 8, and it "fit", but it was REALLY snug. The 10 felt better but was a little big under the arm, but I needed the room in the bottom.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2013
Very heavy dress, great for a winter event

Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress for the wedding. The zipper wasn't working properly on the size that fit, and the back up was too small. I would definitely recommend this for a winter event as it's very heavy! It would have been way too hot for a summer wedding in Virginia which is what I had rented it for. But, RTR was amazing and gave me a credit since the zipper was defective. Overall the dress was snug, so I would recommend getting a size bigger just to be safe.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 19, 2013
Dress was a stunner!

Was sent two size 12's and only one fit. Not sure what to make of that....I usually wear a 10 so I would say this dress ran a little small. Loved the cut...was very flattering and very comfortable! Compliments all night long!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162lbs
March 3, 2013
A stunning dress that will not be duplicated!

Runs small. Definitely order one size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2013
Adorable Dress, but small fit.

I ordered this dress in an 8 and a 10 and both sizes were too small. RTR was not able to send another dress since it was a Sat delivery, but I was provided a credit. If you are curvy or wide in the hips I would really recommend sizing up. I will rent this dress again in a 12.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 1, 2014
This dress is very flattering and forgiving.

It drapes over the body to hid your imperfections. What I didn't realize is that this dress actually has a hue of blush pink. Much nicer in person. LOVE.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 23, 2014
Pretty but tight in the middle

Badgley Mischka is my favorite designer so I was very disappointed when the SIX (I usually wear a 4) was too small in tummy of this dress. This dress looks like it is more of a shift fit but it's not, it is tight all the way through your mid section and then it drapes right down the middle. I was looking for somethign a little looser because I wanted to be comfortable on new years. The dress was very pretty but it just didn't fit right.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 3, 2014
Gorgerous Dress, Crazy Small

This dress was incredibly small.. the 14 was way to short and skin tight. Needless to say, I went with the back up option provided by RTR, but I wouldn't recommend this for curvy girls who usually wear 8-12.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2014
NYE sparkle

Fun dress, fit snug, but that might have been because of the holiday goodies before wearing it out on NYE, overall loved wearing this dress and dancing the night away.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 1, 2014
Order a Size Up:)

Great dress! Be sure to have fashion tape ready as the lining in the dress tends to hand out longer than the dress. I would suggest ordering a size up because it can fit pretty tightly. But a beautiful dress and I got lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
March 19, 2014
Gorgeous blush color! First Rental, Not the last!

I felt like a goddess in this dress. It ran small since I am usually a size 6 but wore a size 4. The hem line kept running down but I corrected it with fashion tape. I would def recommend this dress!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
March 22, 2014
I chose the dress to wear to my senior homecoming in highschool. Runs small.

#homecoming The dress fits a size smaller than planned. Inside of the dress is a tad bit longer than the outside. Not that noticeable if you wear the right size but if the dress is too small you can tell.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
Not quite my style!

I usually wear an 8, but couldn't zip it up. I called Customer Service to get a larger size - they were great to work with - and they sent a 10. Even that was a bit snug, and was very short. Like others, when the dress was on, the lining ran longer than the dress - i think it looks like it is supposed to! Order up 2 sizes, and you should be fine!

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2014
Cool dress - way too small

I rented this for my bachelorette party. I usually wear a size 10 or 12 in dress, so I ordered a 12 and 14. I could barely squeeze into the 14, even with Spanx. The flap does cover some tummy issues, but it was tight, and because of that rode up all night. I had to keep stuffing the lining in the bottom of my Spanx (classy, huh?) just to keep them out of sight. I should have gotten some fashion tape but didn't think about it in time. The side without the drape did rub under my arm all night, and in the morning I had the red scratches to prove it! Overall it was pretty, very sparkly, and I had fun regardless. But I wish I would have had a backup.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2014
Runs small!!!

I rented this for my bachelorette party.... Disappointing to say the least. It didn't fit at all and it has no stretch. The stylist told me it wasn't fitted at the hips.... It definitely is! Please size up!!!

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
June 15, 2014
I rented this as a backup and it didn't fit at all, so I didn't wear it.

Was much smaller fitting than I expected

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 8, 2014
Did not wear it

I'm usually between an 8 and 10. Rented both the 10 and 12 because of the reviews. The 10 didn't fit over my hips and the 12 would barely go over my hips but couldn't zip up in the rib cage/chest area. I was really disappointed because the dress looked great in the pictures posted and I wanted to wear this for my bachelorette party. Two friends (who are smaller than me) tried on the 10 and they could barely get it on. The dress is definitely more rose colored than it appears in the RTR model picture.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
July 12, 2014
For those who want to be noticed

The dress is a beautiful blush sequins...olive the design but it runs SO small. Rented a 6 and 8 and really wish I would have ordered a 10 because it was very tight in the hip area. Also, like most reviewers I have to use double sided tape to hide the liner which was extremely annoying. All in all, great dress but order two sizes up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
August 23, 2014
The dress was SO sparkly! I felt like a million bucks and had so many compliments :)

I ordered the 10 based on reviews, with 12 as my backup size. I have a VERY athletic body type (I'm a CrossFitter) and the 12 was extremely snug in the boobs (lats) & thighs/butt- I would have worn a 14 if one was available- I couldn't wear a bra and my ladies were squished into the dress. My butt & thighs are that of a weightlifter so the fit was very snug as well. I let the slip show underneath- if I hadn't everyone would have gotten a serious eyeful. I needed help zipping & unzipping. I loved the dress but had to keep adjusting the neckline (sequins were a tad itchy due to snugness of neckline) and pulling the bottom hemline down- just the sparkly part (the slip stayed put). It's a little pinker in person than in the photos- almost a blush- VERY pretty. I wore it with nude heels & chocolate pearl earrings- no necklace. Side pony on the side opposite the shoulder as the sequins would catch. I would definitely rent this dress again in a larger size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 26, 2014
The dress is beautiful and it made me stand out in the crowd.

First it felt like it was too tight, but than it stretched. I am 5'10 and it was just a little too short.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 4, 2014
I wore this for a New Years party. I got tons of compliments all night and loved the glamorous look!

It fit pretty snug across the bust but I didn't have the problem with the slip showing that other reviewers had. I'd definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 21, 2014
Size mis-labeled?

I think this dress must have had the wrong size sewn in it somehow. It was teeny tiny but labeled a 12. My friend who is a size 4 tried it on and it fit her perfectly. This isn't just a "runs small" situation. It did look beautiful on her though!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
September 30, 2014
Looks great on the hanger but material didn't have any give to it.

Size 10 ran small and the material didn't have any give to it. The 12 was even smaller than the 10! Had to call for a different dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 6, 2014
Beautiful dress

I was unable to wear this beautiful dress. It runs small. Length was perfect though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2014
Wore this to a 70's themed Disco Holiday Party. Totally fit the part!

I normally wear a size 2 - but with the one shoulder and the bust on the dress I had to size up to a 4. Overall nice dress but the lining does pop out longer than the dress itself. Either bring some hem tape with you or rock the exposed slip like I did - no one seemed to notice it wasn't the ideal "look" for the dress. For a 70's themed party it was great - while everyone wore gold or silver the blush pink was a nice stand out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2012
Great Dress!

This was my first sequenced dress and I loved it! The dress was definitely more pink than the picture makes it look. It was more of a blush/mauve. I loved the sparkles and received compliments the entire night! It was a great dress to dance in, too!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 34
September 4, 2015
I Received LOTS of compliments on this dress!

This was a backup dress sent to me by RTR after my initial back up size wasn't available. At first, it seemed to be a bit too tight for me, and I wasn't going to wear it. After some coaxing from my friends, I decided to go for it and I am glad that I did. I received so many compliments on it, and it photographed really well. It was very comfortable to dance in and the blush color is really beautiful. I would have gone a size up if I had initially ordered this dress, but with a spanx underneath it ended up working out just fine =)

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
I couldn't walk past one person without being complimented on this amazing sparkling dress!

I ordered a 10 and a 12 because the reviews said it runs a little small which is true...it definitely took a while to get into the 10, but the 12 I ordered was DEFINITELY not a 12! As in, I could get into the 10, but couldnt even get the 12 over one leg! I was a little upset because the event was only a day away and I didn't have time to get another dress but it did look AMAZING so I just sucked it up (and in) and wore the 10. EVERYONE LOVED IT, I got soooo many compliments and it looked great in pictures! I wish I could afford to BUY this dress (a size up, of course), because it made such a great impression and would be perfect for New Year's! Overall, the dress was fabulous and I'm still getting texts asking where it was from 2 days later!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
February 6, 2013
I Loved the dress, and got lots of compliments.

The dress is defiantly tight around the chest and the side zipper was pretty difficult to zip. It was very comfortable to wear. I usually wear a 4, but needed to wear the 6 because it was too tight in the chest.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
Perfect Wedding Dress!

I got endless compliments on this dress! I was kind of scared about the size because I'm quite large up top. I'm usually a size 4/6 but I'm really glad I got size 8 because the size 6 did not contain the ladies! The size 8 was perfect because it wasn't too tight. Also, I thought that it would be itchy/scratchy because of the sequins but it was quite comfortable as well! My first rental and I loved the service! Can't wait to use it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
August 2, 2015
I wore this in Las Vegas to a show and nice dinner with my husband.

I felt beautiful in this dress. Although there are a few small flaws, I had read others' reviews and was aware of them before it arrived. But, the lining does show below the hemline some, but I found that it did so less on the size 10 than the 8, so I wore the 10. Also, the 8 was MUCH shorter and small across my ribs, so the 10 seemed like a better fit all around. As others have mentioned, the dress is absolutely mauve in color. But I really like mauve, so I thought it was beautiful. I paired it with nude heels and I loved the two together. I thought that in some ways, the layered look across my tummy hid my not-completely-flat belly, but the draping stops right BEFORE the tummy, so I kinda felt like that made my tummy more obvious. I did love the dress, and my husband said it was definitely a "10" so I think that's a WIN! I would rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2012
so fun

i rented this dress for new years and it was a blast. i usually wear an 8, but hips don't lie and i'm very happy i got the backup 10 -- it fit perfectly -- not too tight and the length was great. i am always prepared for sequins to rip the bottoms of my arms apart, but this one barely left any scratches even as i danced the night away. i thought the sequins would be more silvery - but i ended up pairing the dress with gold earrings and more goldish nail polish. very fun dress -- the sleeve wasn't attached on the outside though, so it wasn't as dramatic when i lifted my left arm, but fell beautifully on the side. enjoy!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
SHORT!

I was so looking forward to wearing this great dress. I'm only 5'3 with not a lot of leg length, and this dress hit the middle of my thigh! Also, the lining beneath the dress looked as if it had been cut about 2 inches (with rough edges and strings hanging down), showing leg through the sequin fabricI'm not comfortable wearing dresses that show a lot of leg, so I couldn't bring myself to wear this. It looks longer on the model than it is in real life. Also, there was not a lot of difference between the way that the size 6 fit from the 8. The 8 was tight across the chest as well, so if you're looking for a blouson effect, size up. There might be a little stretch in the overlay sequin fabric, but there is NONE in the lining under the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
I went by the suggestions on fit and when it arrived it was clear it runs very small.

The dress is scratchy, runs very small. Not for anyone with a pooch in the belly area it clings there. Also the lining is not sewn well and would have worried about it all night riding up and showing the liner. Sad not to get to wear it. Would not recommend this dress based on quality of dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×