Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$40 rental
$540 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size90
Small120
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
January 1, 2016
Loved the dress. Runs SMALL!
Chaffing underarm area...used vaseline to prevent as I read it in other reviews but still had chaffing. Beautiful dress. I am tall so it was short. One the beads came hanging off....needs sewed back on. You would think it would have been fixed before shipping back out to the next person.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 29, 2015
I was going to wear this dress to my friend's New Year's Eve wedding but it was way too small
I ordered this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding, and when it arrived today and I tried it on, I could barely get it up over my hips, and there was no way I could have zipped it up my back fully. I'm generally a 14-16 in dresses, but this 16 was probably at least 2 sizes too small on me. It is also a different color than the one on the model - the actual dress is more of a nude/flesh tone, whereas the model's dress looks almost champaign and much more sparkly. This dress is definitely not for women with curvier hips.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 6, 2015
Nice dress for a Christmas cocktail party.
This is a pretty dress that definitely runs small. It had the perfect look for the cocktail party I attended. As previous reviewers mentioned, the slip under the dress hung down a good 4 inches below the outter part of the dress and looked very strange; I had to fasten it up with fabric tape. Other than that, it was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 19, 2015
Very small
I did not end up wearing this. I usually wear between a 12 and 14 and I rented the 14 and 16 after reading the reviews that it runs a little small... well even the 16 was way too tight and it was pretty short (especially in the back...). The dress was very pretty, I just wish it fit true to size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
October 8, 2015
While everyone else was wearing dark winter colors, this dress stood out! Winter lights are a thing!
The silk underlay is definitely the tightest and longest part of the dress. I would recommend going one size up for the first dress and 2 sizes up for the second. I wish I had! I ended up wearing the size 10, even though I am usually an 8. Spanx helped, but I still wish I had a 12 so I could've felt more comfortable and could've breathed easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 2, 2015
Couldn't wear it :(
I rented this for my bachelorette party, but wasn't able to wear it. The dress is SUPER fancy and didn't seem appropriate for the bars we were going to. The dress is covered in sequins and lace. Save it for a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 30, 2015
I couldn't stand this dress.
Way too small. Way too short. I would never be able to bend over. I went up two sizes and couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 28, 2015
Great fit!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. It fit great. I wish it was a little bit more sparkly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2015
Sparkly & Fun
It's a gorgeous dress and I received many compliments. It's very form fitting and definitely runs small. I wore a dress 2-3 sizes larger than I normally would. You can tell it has been worn a lot because the overlay has shrunken and the slip is much longer than the top layer. I tried covering it up, and it wasn't possible, but I didn't let that stop me from wearing it and feeling fabulous. I'm small on top and have big hips, but it fit well throughout. A bigger chest would have had room to fill it out more on top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 17, 2015
Sparkle for a winter wedding
I love the style and quality of this dress, but it is much too small. I would say order two sizes up. I ordered my normal size (4) and one size larger (6) as my backup and the size 6 was still too fitted in the hips. The quality of the dress was nice though. I did notice it riding up in the front (like other reviewers had mentioned), but that didn't bother me. My boyfriend, as a groomsman, was wearing champagne, and I wanted to match. The sparkle of the dress along with the sparkle on the belt made this dress perfect for a winter wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
March 22, 2015
Very small
This dress is cut extremely small. I'm usually an 8 but after reading reviews I ordered a 10. It was still very snug and the zipper was broken upon arrival. Thank goodness I had ordered a back up that was wonderful. Also, the sash was very worn. Definitely not " new" looking.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2015
Just enough sparkle for some class and glitz
Fits perfect at the bust for girls who are smaller in the general chest and torso. True to size, but handy to have a spare the next size up. I had some trouble securing the slip with double-sided tape as some women recommended, if you would prefer the slip to be hidden above the hem of the dress. With the dress being a bit more snug on my thighs I wasn't able to get the slip secured with the tape, but the dress still looked great!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
Pretty dress but...
This dress was gorgeous on the hanger, and as I had read that it runs small I had chosen sizes 6 and 8 when I'm normally a 4. I was pretty confident the 6 would work, but it wouldn't zip over my shoulder blade area. I work out a lot and I'm sure most people would not believe I had to wear an 8, so that was a bit of a buzz kill. Not a RTR problem, but seriously - designers, what are you doing?! The stomach area was not as slim-fitting as I'd have liked, but for my shoulders it just had to do. Now for the worst part - the bottom. I noticed this was more pronounced on the 8 than the 6, but the silk lining does indeed hang absurdly low. The back slit also poofed up, it looked so odd. Even with my attempts at using fabric tape, it looked funky and totally lowered my confidence. I would not recommend this dress, but I have had positive RTR experiences and will continue to tell my friends about it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 17, 2014
The dress was the perfect amount of glam for the occasion, a company holiday party
The 2 fit well so I didn't even try on the 4. The lining of the dress does extend past the dress itself but I found that kept my legs from getting scratched up by sequins. My arms etc were fine though, and I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
November 24, 2014
Beautiful dress, was perfect for the fundraiser I attended, belt absolutely makes the dress.
The lining was longer than the dress it self as mentioned in other reviews so I had to tack it up for the night. Sequins were a little uncomfortable under the arms but is to be expected with such a dress. Was a little snug in the hips and bust so wore the 6 instead of the 4. Overall was a good dress for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 10, 2014
WONDERFUL DRESS for any occasion!
I loved this dress! I wore it for the 48th Annual Country Music Awards in Nashville, and it was PERFECT! The only reason I did not give it 5/5 stars is that it ran small. (Luckily, I read prior reviews to know to get a full size up!) I am usually a 4 or 6, but I definitely needed an 8 on this dress. I could have even wore a 10. I do tend to be on the chesty side, but the length was also very short, so the extra material/length was needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
The bride wanted us to wear champagne colored dresses and I really loved the look of the dress!
It really does run small, I am typically a 2 and even the 4 I received was really too small. I didn't like the slip hanging out the bottom so I did pin that up, and the dress was a little shorter than I would have preferred. Especially since there is a slit in the back. I still loved the dress, and if i had ordered it earlier and been able to get a size 6 as a back up I think it would have been perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2014
Beautiful dress.
Okay, I wasn't crazy about how I looked in this RTR because I was OTR. ;) Lucky me on my wedding day! So I definitely had bloat going on and it depressed the heck out of me. I give it 5 stars because how I looked wasn't the dress's fault. The dress itself is gorgeous. There is a sheen to it in the picture with the model on this website, but it's a lace dress with sequins that sparkle and made the dress "shine" in the right lighting. The material itself isn't a shiny material. I walked out wearing it and, despite feeling the way I did in it, it was a head-turner. So many women genuinely seemed to love it and tell me how good I looked in it (then again, I was the bride and who is going to tell her she looks bloated and in need of sweat pants and a hug?). I would definitely rent this dress again, just at a different time of the month. :) I wore with gold heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 3, 2014
This dress is gorgeous but the 12 definitely was more like a 10. Order up!
Very snug and the top layer tends to ride up, exposing a chunk of the slip underneath. But a beautiful dress nonetheless.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2014
Glad I ordered a second size as the 4 was too small. It was perfect for my bachelorette party.
Smaller than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
August 4, 2014
Bachlorette party
This was a beautiful dress but was a small 6 for me. I did not get to wear it that night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 16, 2014
Perfect bachelorette dress!
Wore this for my bachelorette party. I ordered the 6 and 8 based on user reviews. Ended up with the 8 because the 6 was just short enough to be inappropriate. The underlining does ride up a bit, and I wouldn't recommend wearing spanks - the full body one would go past the length of the dress and the panty spanx seam line would show through the fabric. The sparkles are understated enough if you don't want to go too flashy. I thought it looked more pale gold/nude then the pink shade it looks in the photo. Loved that you could wear a regular bra with it.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
July 7, 2014
I didn't wear the dress but it was a beautiful one!
I didn't wear the dress because it was skittle smaller that I expected and the slit in the dress under neath was longer the one over it so you would be pulling your dress down all night. But the dress was beautiful just not right for the occasion and just seemed like to much work to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 23, 2014
Super gorgeous
Only it was a little too short for my taste-- but very pretty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
Too narrow
You need to be a bit narrow for this dress. Also, the hem has a tendency to curl. I AM happy to report that RTR allowed me to send it back, and they credited me! Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
June 8, 2014
Compliments, compliments. Everyone loved the dress!
Glad I ordered up a size. Usually in 0-2 and had to wear the 4 because it was more comfortable and got perfectly! I used double sides tape to tack up the lining at the hemline, it really did look better that way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2014
Way too small and NOT for busty girls
I was so disappointed when this dress arrived. It is very beautiful, and fit me perfectly, until the zipper reached my bust. Not for girls with full busts like many of the reviews said.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 13, 2014
wedding for a great friend
I didn't end up wearing - dress was kind of wrinkled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2014
I loved this dress but order a couple sizes larger as it runs small ion chest and arms
loved this dress, but should have ordered a couple sizes bigger for some room
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress for my engagement party.
I usually wear a 2 or 4 in dresses, so I ordered each of these sizes. The 2 was a bit too snug on the hips/butt area, so I thought the 4 would fit perfectly. Wrong. The 4 was even smaller than the 2. I couldn't even get it on! So I was unable to wear this dress at all because of the odd sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 22, 2014
Perfect for a party. Loved the sparkle.
This dress runs small. The sequins and belt were gorgeous, and I got a lot of compliments. I was not pleased with the quality of the dress though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
April 22, 2014
I did not end up wearing the dress even though it was lovely.
The fit was much too constricting in the bust. I have a large chest but there was no wiggle room whatsoever. I normally wear a size 10 dress but go up to a 12 for my bust. The 12 was way too tight and this dress has no stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
April 21, 2014
Not the dress
The dress was not what I expected. It was not flattering. Not as pretty in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but couldn't wear it due to cut.
The dress is extremely pretty, it just did to fit my body type. It is extremely unforgiving and if you have a but it will be barely covered. I wish I could have been able to fit the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 9, 2014
this dress is amazing!!! I got so many compliments- felt like a movie star but it is very small
I usually wear a 10-12 and had to go up to 16 to have some room!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 29, 2014
great dresses to choose from
The rent the runway team did an excellent job of sending me a new dress in a timely fashion since the sparkle in the sky dress ran SOOO small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 28, 2014
I didn't end up being able to wear it unfortunately
I rented this dress for NYE but due to a snowstorm it didn't arrive on time. But I did try it on and it was a beautiful. Would rent this style again
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
March 28, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress and left town before I could get a replacement
The torso of the dress fit wonderfully, but the bust/sleeves fit oddly and pulled on my 36DDD bust. Also, it was so much shorter than I expected, the slit in the back went up to my panties!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 15, 2014
Beautiful dress fit perfectly.
I rented this dress for my friend's bachelorette party. It was beautiful and fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 13, 2014
Sassy number for a wedding.
The dress is beautiful--the color, the details, the jeweled encrusted waistband. It'd be perfect for anyone 5'2 or shorter. I'm 5'3 and had to constantly pull the dress down because it got inappropriate. The delivery got a little shaken since the UPS guy left it with a neighbor of mine instead of inside the lobby. It became an inconvenience because I had a flight to catch and neighbor was at the movies. Had to reschedule my flight to leave the next day. That's all to say, that the UPS delivery folks should drop off at address and not require a signature.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×