Badgley Mischka

Sparkle in the Sky Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$540 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have everyone in envy at the party when you walk in wearing this eye catching Badgley Mischka sequin sheath. Earrings like the Gerad Yosca's Crystal Clear Nouveau Drops and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch is all you need to complete this celebrity chic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream lace with sequins. V neckline. Tie waist with embellishment. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
225 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(91)
Small
(123)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2013
New Years Eve Sparkle
This is probably the first dress I rented where I was a little underwhelmed. The 4 was just slightly too tight (though I could have worn it) so I went with my backup size 6 for comfort. However, both dresses were looking a bit worn to me. The 4 was wrinkled at the bottom in the back panel, and it would have been hard to iron it given the way the dress is constructed. Both dresses had very wrinkled ties (in the back), although I was able to deal with that using an iron pretty easily. Overall, it was a nice dress and had a subtle sparkle to it that was nice for a New Year's Eve party - just not as lovely as I had hoped it might be.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 9, 2013
I didn't get to wear this.
It runs a little small so I should have ordered the 4. It looks pretty when I tried it on but was a little tight around the waist area. It also was too formal for my family party so I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
So many compliments! I felt stunning all night.
A beautiful, classy, and unique dress- I was afraid it would wash me out but I got a number of compliments on how is complemented my skin tone. I received so many compliments on this dress. Everyone wanted to know where I got it from. My boyfriend couldn't stop telling me how lovely I looked all night- I felt like a movie star :-) it was perfect for the holiday party I wore it to. There were some cons to this dress- As a lot of reviewers have said, the nude lining hangs out. Mine was out a good inch or so, so I ironed the liner up a couple inches and fashion taped the hell out of it. That did the trick and I had no issues after that! Also, this dress runs small on a large booty girl! I tried on the 8, which is my usual size, and the tightness of the liner it made the slit in the back of the dress go off center and hike way up so that I was afraid my cheek would show!! I'm SO glad I got the 10 as a backup. The liner wasn't an issue with the 10 and everything fell flatteringly :-) no baggyness at all! So- if you have a sizable heiney, size up!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 17, 2013
The dress had too many holes
This dress was beautiful. The only down fall was that there were so many holes in it. The material is really delicate. Also, the ribbon when I got it was really wrinkled. I had to iron it 4 times. The great thing was Rent The Runway reimbursed me for the dress bc of the holes.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 28, 2013
Beautiful, but a little tight on top
The dress itself is very pretty. The color is more tan/beige/taupe, rather than white, and flattering for all skin types. I rented sizes 4 and 6 but ended up going with the 6 since the top, in particular, runs quite small. Even then, I felt a bit constricted and looked pressed in on top. If you are larger in the bust area, you will probably need to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
February 4, 2013
Eeek. Ran small!
Luckily, I had a backup for this dress since the dress was so tiny I couldn't even zip it! And, the dress itself was in pretty good shape, although you could definitely see that it has been worn as the gold threading was a little frayed and fuzzy. Overall, it was pretty dress but I would recommend sizing up.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2013
Did not fit
Usually wear a size 0, so I ordered a 2 and a 0 as a backup. Neither fit, and I had to return them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 18, 2013
It may have been pretty once...but now a worn out and beat up looking dress
I ordered this dress as a back-up and I'm sure it was lovely once upon a time, but I ended up not wearing it due to the strange fit and then obviously worn out status of the dress I received. First of all as many other reviewers have said the lining does stick out farther than the dress, for me it was a solid 3-4 inches and due to the way the lining is stitched to the back slit of the dress there was no way to used fashion tape to tack the lining up. It was clear that due to all the wear and tear and repeated dry-cleanings the dress was stretched and the fabric was distorted in ways that made the lining hang strangely, the back slit flared out making a sort of duck-tail on the back. The overlay of the dress itself had sequins hanging loose/falling off all over and large pulls in the thread that were very obvious. The attached sash was very worn in the back so the ribbon ended in a good 2 inches of frayed thread. overall the dress just looked a mess on. I was not expecting anything close to new but I was shocked at how old and worn it looked, especially for the price. I know this dress is very popular, and I think that has taken its toll on the dresses. I would never order this dress again and even for being only an extra $25 it was a waste of money. I would not have been as disappointed except the other dress I ordered had tears in seams on both the sizes I received, it would have been nice to have just one of the three dresses not have noticeable rips and damage. RTR could clearly benefit from some in house seamstresses for mending in addition to their dry cleaning service.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress!
It runs a little on the small side so if in doubt go up a size. The clor is a light gold not bright.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 25, 2013
THE jaw dropper of a dress!
This dress was seriously amazing. From the moment I put it on I felt like a million dollars. I wore it with nude heels and iridescent earrings and bracelet. I got so many compliments and so many people asking me where I got it. People kept saying I looked "HOTT" and "Gorgeous" in this dress. I recommend it to anyone. I wore a size two but got the four just in case and thought the two was better fitting for me. The top part sometimes would rise up and catch a little though, other than that, SUPERB.
LouiseSeptember 17, 2013
Were you a guest to the wedding? If so, did it feel like it was too close to white that it might compete with the bride?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2013
Rent the Runway made me feel like a million bucks—head to toe.
This dress was the backup to my backup, and I fully expected not to wear it. But when my full-length gown didn't work out as expected, I was so grateful that this dress fit. I read the reviews, and decided to order up a size (which was critical), and the 6 fit perfectly. I also rented earrings, a bracelet, and a purse, and I felt great all night. For the first time, I felt really pulled together (I never have a fabulous purse, and these earrings made the look), and I received so many compliments all night long. I attend a lot of formal events throughout the year for my business, and Rent the Runway will now be my secret weapon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2013
In the end the dress is fantastic but it will take some patience and topstick to make it work.
The overall effect of the dress was beautiful. I received so many compliments that night. Fit runs a little small so size up. The weird thing about the dress is the lining. You can't tell from the photo but the lining sticks out a good 2-3 inches from the hem so you either have to get creative with topstick tape and take it up or bunch up the lining under the lace overlay (which just adds weird creases).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 10, 2013
Beautiful dress; classy and sexy.
I typically wear a 2 in dresses but the 4 was even a little snug (for my liking). No one would have thought it though, it fit perfectly as if I had someone customize it for me but I would have preferred it to have a little more room. Highly recommend though!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 11, 2013
Perfect formal dress!
It was a gorgeous dress! However, I'll reiterate a few things that other girls have said. First, the lining is bigger than the actual dress, but I solved it by just folding it under as shown in the picture. It was a bit of a hassle to keep adjusting throughout the night though. Secondly, it does run a bit small. I'm usually somewhere between a 6 and an 8, and the 8 was pretty snug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2013
Dress was gorgeous and even arrived a day early...Bummed it didn't fit!
I got a 10 after reading the reviews that it ran small...and it REALLY does. I usually wear an 8, and I couldn't even totally zip up the dress! Definitely order up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 8, 2013
I recieved so many compliments on this dress and felt beautiful.
I wore this for a wedding three months after having a baby. I wasn't feeling super confident about the way I looked and was dealing with a chest I'm not accustomed to, but I felt great in this dress! I went one size up from normal and the dress fit and was extremely flattering. Hopefully I can add a picture soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2013
Glitz & Glam for a reasonable price
I rented the 4 and the 6. The 6 ended up fitting better around the bust, but overall was still a bit snug. I got a lot of compliments for the dress and it fit very comfortably. The only issue i had with the dress was the inside lining seemed a bit longer than what i was expecting and the dress road up every so often as i danced the night away. RTR is amazing. Their customer support team is super super responsive and helpful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2013
Nice dress but it runs small
I really liked this dress but unfortunately wasn't able to because it runs a little bit small. I would rent it again but in a size 6 instead of 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 21, 2013
In LOVE with this dress. I'd definitely rent again!
This dress was my back-up dress for an out of town event. I was originally concerned that I would feel naked because of the nude color, but it fit really well and I got tons of compliments. The hem of the lining underneath was slightly longer than the dress itself, but that was easily fixed with a few safety pins and a flat iron. Wore it with red lipstick and gold heels. Definitely recommended!!
AshleyNovember 5, 2013
You look beautiful sister!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2013
This was my first RTR experience and it was a great one. I think I might be hooked now. :)
Thank goodness for the extra size because the dress that came in the size I normally wear, a 4, looked soooo small that I didn't even bother to try it on. It looked like a size 2 or even a 0 to me. I knew it wouldn't work. The size 6, on the other hand, fit perfectly. It was form fitting but not in a way that was uncomfortable. I could breathe and move around, but I got so many compliments. I was sad to return it. Like others said, the slip is slightly longer than the sequined part of the dress, but I thought it looked nice. It was clearly designed to be that way. Overall, sad to have to return this!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 28, 2013
I got so many compliments on how well it made me pop! It fit me like a dream, it was fabulous!
It runs small, I'm normally a 4 and the 6 felt and fitted much better. It was very flattering for my body type (i'm like a pear/petite shape) and the color was easy to work with. I would rent this dress again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2013
Amazing dress for an amazing time!
Wore this for a prom and the fit was a tad bit small but other than that it was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 14, 2013
Pretty dress but fit is a little challenging
This dress was my backup for my wedding rehearsal dinner and I ended up not wearing it. The sparkle and details are amazing, but the fit is a little strange. The lining on the skirt sticks out the bottom unless you are always pulling down the top skirt (looking at photos on the website it appears many others have this issue too). Probably best for a narrow hip.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 17, 2013
Lots of compliments, great dress!
We had a destination wedding and then another reception back home for those that couldn't make the wedding. I wore this to the reception and it was perfect for it! About the dress, it definitely runs small and fits tight throughout. It's sexy yet classy. Also as other women mentioned, the inside layer hangs out below the lace overlay and needs to be hemmed up with double sided tape. Lastly, you could tell this dress has been worn quite a bit as the material was very fuzzy from the sequins snagging (it wasn't as fuzzy on the back up size 2 that they sent me). You couldn't notice this from afar though. The other thing is that it was delivered to me a day late. Luckily this wasn't an issue as I ordered it two days in advance of my event. All in all it was a great experience with RTR and I would recommend this dress and the service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 24, 2013
Didnt end up working for me....
Fit a little tight - the lace overlay didnt lay right
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2013
Great for my bachelorette party!
This dress does run small, but it has stretch in it to make it fit nicely all over. I am usually a 2 or a 4, and I went with the 4 on this dress. As others have mentioned, the slip underneath is longer than the dress. The night before I wore mine, I put in temporary tailor tacking on the slip so it was shorter than the dress. Perfecto! The dress does show signs of wear, as the lace all over was a little "fuzzy" from being cleaned so many times. I wore no necklace, and gold jeweled earrings of my own that actually matched the jewels on the sash well, along with nude pumps. The vent in the back of the dress tends to flip open when you put it on, so a good steaming will help those flatten out on the back of the legs. received a lot of compliments in this dress. It was classy yet sexy enough to wear as a bachelorette.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it.
The dress was beautiful. Longer than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
runs very small
i rented this as my first choice but the 10 was not available. i rented the 8 but it was SO small. I suspected that it would be so i ordered a second style that fit very well. anyway, this dress is gorgeous but make sure to get your size and for sure the size up!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2013
The amazing customer service and dress quality
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I ordered the 8 & the 10 and I would definitely recommend going up a size if your boobs are large. It fit like a glove, was super comfortable and the amount of compliments I got on it was overwhelming. Love RTR!
LouiseSeptember 17, 2013
Did this dress seem too close to white to wear as a guest to a wedding?
JessSeptember 18, 2013
Not at all! It's actually darker in person. It was more of a dark nude color
NicoleOctober 2, 2013
There's no way you're a size 10! Anyways, you look stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 22, 2013
Bridal shower beauty!!
I wore this for my shower. Thank goodness I got the 6 because even the six was tight. A bit worn out but still beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2013
Definitely not true to size
I ended up not wearing this gorgeous dress because I couldn't zip it up the back, I needed the 4 which wasn't available. It is very snug and I'm an athlete and I strength train so I bet the 4 would have been perfect.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
October 24, 2013
great dress for plus size teens!!!! I loved the dress!!! totally unforgettable.
wore it to my schools homecoming. loved it and got tons of compliments. ladies with a big bust and who are plus size, this dress is a winner! lovely fit and very forgiving! lace was itchy but wasn't too big of a problem, slip underneath extended a bit from bottom but was easy to fix with fashion tape. all in all I had a good experience I would recommend it to someone who wouldn't mind using some fashion tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
November 6, 2013
Dress fits like a glove!
This dress is stunning and classy. I loved it's understated elegance and the cut was clearly designer caliber. The dress was clearly worn, however, and had some serious pilling and some loose gems. The slip was also really annoying, but I was able to tape it up and it stayed for the majority of the evening. However, I would still rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 22, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress - was too tight. It's gorgeous, though!
Runs small; tight fit; order a size up from your normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2013
I got a ton of compliments!
The dress definitely runs small. I have a large bust and I couldn't wear a bra with it at all. Luckily, it still looked alright. The sequins also made it a bit itchy. I'm not sure that I would rent the dress again, but it was very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2013
Didn't fit
I normally wear a size 6, but also got the 8 as a backup. Even the 8 was too small to zip over my bust which was a little surprising since I'm only a C cup. Definitely recommend ordering up. Even if it had fit, I would have been disappointed though because the sequins and detailing on the front of the dress looked worn/broken in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments
The dress was a bit damaged when it came, and the slip underneath kept showing. Other than that it was a win!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
April 21, 2013
This was my backup dress.
Fits tight around the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2014
Just Disappointed with Both Sizes Tried
Pros: both dresses sent are in fantastic shape: beautiful beading work on the belt & sequin overlay; style is appropriate for a wedding, fundraiser dinner/dance or milestone anniversary evening out. Cons: both sizes 8/10 run small (the 8 even more so, I think I could work with the 10). However, I could not wear any undergarments (husband said he wouldn't mind!) & as other RTRs have noted, the sequin overlay rides up in the front to reveal the underslip...for me about 2 inches. The back lays fine & level with the slip. Even with using some fabric tape to tack it, I don't think I would have been comfortable wearing the dress. Nevertheless, RTR's stylists have come through & immediately worked with me to suggest & send new dresses which will hopefully work out. If not, that's ok & I will try again in the future just based on the fantastic customer service alone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress, form fitting and very flattering!
Beautiful dress I wore for a wedding. Got so many compliments! Runs a little small so I had to wear a size up. But the size up fit great and looked so good!
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×