Sliding Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(196)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
July 20, 2012
Feeling great in my RTR dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress. It really is beautiful. Perfect for a wedding! I highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 15, 2012
My favorite moment in this dress was when my husband saw me wearing it for the first time.
This was a perfect dress for a cocktail attire wedding. I felt like I outshined everyone and it was because of this dress. Hard to wear a bra or panties in this because of the sleek fit. I highly recommend the breast petals and a very small thong panty. The ONLY problem was that the zipper did not glide well. The fit of the dress was not a problem, I wasn’t trying to fit too much body into the dress. Even off of my body, the zipper was not easy to zip up or down. I will actually rent this one again in the near future!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2012
Danced the night away in complete comfort.
This dress was great. I have a 6 month old and it hid all the post-pregnancy flaws great. People were complimenting me all night. I wore the 8 but probably could have gone with the 6 because the sleeve was a little low on the 8. The zipper was a huge pain to get up; it took my husband several minutes to get it up even though there was plenty of room in the dress. But once it was on it was super comfortable and I danced all night in it.
KatrinaJuly 15, 2012
I rented this same dress (size 6) and i totally agree about the zipper was very hard to get zipped although the dress was not tight.
RTRJuly 18, 2012
Hi ladies, we appreciate your feedback and will be inspecting all zippers on this style to ensure they are in good quality and replacing any that are too stiff.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 27, 2012
The whole experience was PERFECT. Exciting from start to finish. Love this company.
I wore this dress for a fundrasing event. The event was titled Little Black Dress Event. So obviously in a sea of LBD, I wanted to stand out! This dress did the trick. So beautiful, it was comfortable and hugs the curves just right. Loved every minute of this borrowed dress!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2012
So easy and So conveniet! I've rented for two separate occasions and it's now the only way to attend a party...RTR!
Loved it! The material felt great and the roushing (sp?) was great for hiding those middle flaws.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2012
Great dress!
I loved wearing this dress...it fit flawlessly. It both looked comfortable and was incredibly comfortable. I got lots of compliments and definitely did not want to take it off. Note: I am tall: 5'11" and the length was great.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2012
The whole RTR experience was great! I will definitely rent dresses in the future!!
I rented this dress as my backup dress and loved it so much that I wore it to the wedding. It fit perfectly and was so comfortable! I received soo many compliments. Rent this dress, you will not be disappointed!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
April 13, 2012
Since I was able to rent a great dress from RTR, I was able to go spluge on some awesome heels!
We had box seats at the theatre, so I wanted to wear something special. This dress was perfect. It fit great and I felt like a million bucks! The only complaint is that the zipper was very difficult. I the size 8 I got had plenty of room but I needed my husband and me to hold the fabric out of the way of the zipper, or it would get stuck halfway up. Once I had it on, it was easy to wear, comfortable and stylish. I can't wait to rent again for the next show!
carmenOctober 21, 2012
LOVE the shoes!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 1, 2012
This dress made me feel amazing! I looked and felt like a million bucks!
I rented this dress for my work Christmas party, and I LOVED it. I really wanted to keep it!! I can see now why people spend so much money on a dress... it fit like a glove, I felt sexy in it, the material quality was so high- overall an incredible experience. I'm 5'10" and it was the perfect length for me to feel comfortable- short enough to be sexy but not too short at all. I definitely turned some heads!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 6, 2012
Love the dress and the jewelry! Had a great night and tons of compliments :)
I run between a 6 and an 8 in dresses and although both fit I felt the 8 was more appropriate around chest area, especially for the event I was attending. The dress is made from great material and is super comfortable. I was dancing all night and didn't have to worry about any adjustments, etc. The ruching hides any problem areas but I wore Spanx underneath anyway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2012
First Rent-the-Runway....LOVED
I chose this dress for a fundraiser at my son's school. Got loads of compliments and really loved it.....as others have said, the zipper is a pain (need an extra set of hands), but once you have it on, it's perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
February 25, 2012
My husband loved this dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding, and what a perfect dress to wear to such an event. It was comfortable and flattering. I will say the last dress I rented was actually was more comfortable (Nicole Miller's lace dress---loved this dress), but I really enjoyed this dress, as well. I also like that the top looked great even though I am extremely small busted---a problem in some dresses. I usually wear a 2, but since I've been losing weight I think I'm mostly ending up in 0 sized dresses. So, I do think the dress is "true to size" even though I wore the 0 dress size. I definitely recommend this one!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 12, 2012
Amazing dress
I wore this to a benefit event for school, I ordered an 8 and a 10 and I wore the 10 because the 8 was missing a stone and was very obvious. That is the only reason i gave it 4 stars because the dress is beautiful and got lots of complements I felt I was a size 6 but I couldn't wear the left don't because it was to big so I wore it as asymmetric neck :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 27, 2012
Just fabulous
This dress looks great on and does wonders for your body. I felt like a movie star and that doesn't happen often enough at my age. The ruching cinches in the waist. It's comfy and glamorous at the same time. And yes, I am renting it again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
January 27, 2012
RENT THIS DRESS!!!!!!
this was my back-up dress and I just fell in love with it! YOU MUST RENT THIS DRESS!!! I'm a bigger size (size 8) and i felt like a size 4. the dress is quality and you can feel how well the dress is constructed. I got complements all night long. This was my first time renting from RTR and this dress is the reason they now have a life long customer. One of my favorite things is that the dress hides the fatty part of the underarm area. I also really liked how it was sexy (the shoulder showing) without being skanky.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2012
Flattering fit
This was perfect for the wedding I attended this weekend: dressy enough to fit the formal reception, but not so formal that it felt weird to walk around Bourbon Street. I would definitely recommend Spanx to smooth anything underneath, but the fabric is pretty thick, so I think it could still be flattering on some body types without Spanx. The side ruching is also nice & camouflaging without looking like oddly bunchy fabric. I'm 5'4, and the skirt hit about 2 inches or so above my knees. And since the top isn't low cut at all, it should work with any bra size. A couple minor annoyances: the zipper is difficult to unzip, as several people have mentioned (zipping up was a little easier), and the very thin lining in the skirt doesn't stay in place. It kept twisting and riding up. I don't think you could tell from looking at it, though, given the thick fabric of the dress. I would definitely recommend looking over the beads on the shoulder when you get it. The center one was unsewn on one side when I got it. Easily fixed, just something to check. The hem in the front also had some threads coming loose. Overall, definitely worth renting again. Unless I can buy it, since my husband didn't want me to send it back.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
January 19, 2012
Good go to Black Dress
Very comfortable! Wore to a wedding and danced the night away and felt great. I usually wear between a 2 and 4 and the 4 fit better but was a little loose in the top. Was my first Rent the Runway experiance and will definitely do it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2012
Loved it!
Perfect for a classic body (i.e., small waist, boobs/butt)! Very classy and sexy without being garish. Had a great experience with RtR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2012
My husband saw me and said "You look like a man-eater!"
I wore this dress for New Year's and received lots of compliments. It's super flattering and great to wear for a night of eating, drinking, and dancing. The off-the shoulder portion gives the dress a sexy, yet refined flare. I would definitely wear it again to an event.
UserJanuary 5, 2012
Would this be okay for a high school prom?
ChristinaJanuary 6, 2012
Absolutely!
CarrieJanuary 14, 2012
AshleyFebruary 1, 2012
You are about my height, were did the length hit you at? I am going to a black tie wedding
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 26, 2011
Without this rental I would have worn something I already wore to another function for the same company, and since I didn't have to made it great!
This dress was stunning on, I felt like everyone was looking my way. The zipper was a little difficult but other than that it is a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2011
Great Dress
I rented this and another dress for a recent date to a Symphony. I actually ended up wearing the other dress, but dress was also great. I rented a 4 and 6 and preferred the 4. It is classy and sexy, and pretty comfortable. It hides flaws and is flattering even for a undefined waistline. The only trouble I had, was zipping its side zipper. It never got stuck on any fabric, it just had a lot of material around the zipper so it would have a hard time zipping/unzipping (even when I wasn't wearing it). Also, I feel it was a bit large around the bust area for a A or B cup. It wasn't too bad, but it just seemed slightly baggy, but that just might be me. It was a lovely dress, and I will probably rent it again to wear it out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 20, 2011
classy in black
Loved this dress! I wore it to a friend's wedding and got several compliments on how classy it looked. I think the off the shoulder gives it a little sexy too. I paired the dress with gray suede peep toe platforms and a colorful clutch. I'm usually between a 2 and a 4 and struggle with sizing, but the 4 fit just a little more comfortable than the 2 this time. The draping fit just right with my petite frame and the fabric was very comfortable and easy to move in. I'd highly recommend this dress! Home run for my first rental from RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2011
Boyfriend wishes I owned it
Perfect dress! Great style that is flattering through the midsection, sophisticated enough for a company party but still fun and flirty. My boyfriend's comment at the end of the night was that he really wished I owned this dress. Loved it and would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2011
Great date!
I wanted to rent something for a fun date night out - we went to a fancy dinner and a musical. This dress was great - classy and sexy! I am usually a 4 - that size fit ok, but had extra material in the bust. The 2 was perfect for my smaller chest size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2011
Very thick fabric!
Normally I love Badgley Mischka but this dress didn't hit the mark for me - I liked the shoulder detailing but overall it felt too snug and the fabric was very thick and heavy, and it had a weird synthetic feel to it. Luckily it was just my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. Definitely not good for any sort of warm-weather event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2011
Beautiful and Elegant
I absolutely loved this dress, would have kept it if I could! I am small busted so I loved being able to wear an off the shoulder dress that fit perfect on the top (not too loose and no indecent exposure). The dress material has some give to it and hugs well to your body, very comfortable. I received compliments all night long. Can't wait til my next RTR dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 28, 2011
Simple and Sexy
I wore this dress on my honeymoon and loved how it managed to be form fitting yet forgiving at the same time!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2011
This dress is gorgeous
This dress is absolutely beautiful. The material of the dress is comfoirtable and allows for easy movement (especially around the dance floor)! I received a lot of compliments. I love how the dress is off the shoulder (super sexy) yet very classy. Love this dress...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
November 23, 2011
snug
I really loved the look of the dress but felt it was too snug in all the wrong places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2011
Gorgeous!
LOVED this dress. This was my first time renting from RTR and I was really impressed with the overall experience. The dress fit perfectly and looked sexy AND classy at the same time - not an easy thing to pull off. I wore it to my boyfriend's sister's wedding and it was a hit! Many compliments. The 2 and 4 both fit but I was more comfortable in the 4 so I chose that one. I wish I was able to keep this one in my closet. It's the perfect little black dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
November 17, 2011
Flattering and Comfortable
This dress is very flattering and comfortable. I would say its true to size or slightly big (especially on top). The zipper can easily get stuck so be careful. Overall this dress made my first rtr experience a success!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2011
This dress is ok. In the pictures you can't really see that there is a BIG bedazzled jewel thing on top. Not really my thing.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
runs a little small but quite stretchy and forgiving. the neckline is very flattering. rouching hinds any imperfections around the tummy, and the draping provides a little coverage on your upper arms. A nice twist on the LBD.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2011
Great dress, very elegant. Fits perfectly. Very comfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 21, 2011
This was my first experience with RTR and I loved this dress. I wore it do an evening wedding was very pleased with how amazing the quality was.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Didn't love it, but didn't hate it either. Very long on me, hit just above my knees. Hug curves. Wore it during a photoshoot, and it photographs very similar to what you wear during senior portraits. Probably wouldn't rent this again...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 13, 2011
Loved loved loved this dress. Received many compliments. Size 4 fit perfect. Size 2 fit but wouldn't be able to eat much. I am 5'6" and weigh 122 lbs if that helps anyone. My boyfriend loved it! Thought it was sooo sexy. Would not have been able to zip it without him though, as it was a little tough to zip from all the use. Absolutely fantastic.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2011
This dress fit beautifully--the ruching on the side definitely accentuated my waist, and the split sleeve and arm-drape are great for those whose arms aren't as toned as they'd like (ahem, me). It fit true to size, was knee-length on me (5'2", wearing heels), and looked elegant. The shoulder beading detail is gorgeous in person and looks great with an updo and understated jewelry.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 13, 2011
I LOVED THIS DRESS!! would definitely buy it if it weren't $500! Wore it to a wedding and was super comfortable. Off the shoulder was stylish but long enough to be appropriate
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 6, 2011
Wore this dress to a wedding and received dozen's of compliments on it. Fits great, very flattering and chic
See more reviews:
4 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×