Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Sliding Shoulder Dress

$48 to buy
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a flutter sleeve and jewel embellishment shoulder, this Badgley Mischka dress is a chic solution for any evening affair. For maximum glamour, complete the look with the Alexis Bittar's Crystal Vine Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched detail, concealing midsection
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy or tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with split sleeve and beading detail at right shoulder. Draping with exposed shoulder at left sleeve. Side ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

222 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 197
Large 6
Photos 74
JillB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved loved loved this dress. Received many compliments. Size 4 fit perfect. Size 2 fit but wouldn't be able to eat much. I am 5'6" and weigh 122 lbs if that helps anyone. My boyfriend loved it! Thought it was sooo sexy. Would not have been able to zip it without him though, as it was a little tough to zip from all the use. Absolutely fantastic.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Didn't love it, but didn't hate it either. Very long on me, hit just above my knees. Hug curves. Wore it during a photoshoot, and it photographs very similar to what you wear during senior portraits. Probably wouldn't rent this again...
Beth
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first experience with RTR and I loved this dress. I wore it do an evening wedding was very pleased with how amazing the quality was.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress, very elegant. Fits perfectly. Very comfortable.
shorsie
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: Small
runs a little small but quite stretchy and forgiving. the neckline is very flattering. rouching hinds any imperfections around the tummy, and the draping provides a little coverage on your upper arms. A nice twist on the LBD.
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is ok. In the pictures you can't really see that there is a BIG bedazzled jewel thing on top. Not really my thing.
Erica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Flattering and Comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very flattering and comfortable. I would say its true to size or slightly big (especially on top). The zipper can easily get stuck so be careful. Overall this dress made my first rtr experience a success!!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2011

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress. This was my first time renting from RTR and I was really impressed with the overall experience. The dress fit perfectly and looked sexy AND classy at the same time - not an easy thing to pull off. I wore it to my boyfriend's sister's wedding and it was a hit! Many compliments. The 2 and 4 both fit but I was more comfortable in the 4 so I chose that one. I wish I was able to keep this one in my closet. It's the perfect little black dress.
Diane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

snug

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really loved the look of the dress but felt it was too snug in all the wrong places.
Sissy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2011

This dress is gorgeous

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful. The material of the dress is comfoirtable and allows for easy movement (especially around the dance floor)! I received a lot of compliments. I love how the dress is off the shoulder (super sexy) yet very classy. Love this dress...
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

Simple and Sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress on my honeymoon and loved how it managed to be form fitting yet forgiving at the same time!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 4, 2011

Beautiful and Elegant

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress, would have kept it if I could! I am small busted so I loved being able to wear an off the shoulder dress that fit perfect on the top (not too loose and no indecent exposure). The dress material has some give to it and hugs well to your body, very comfortable. I received compliments all night long. Can't wait til my next RTR dress!
kd_ring
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2011

Very thick fabric!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Normally I love Badgley Mischka but this dress didn't hit the mark for me - I liked the shoulder detailing but overall it felt too snug and the fabric was very thick and heavy, and it had a weird synthetic feel to it. Luckily it was just my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. Definitely not good for any sort of warm-weather event!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

Great date!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wanted to rent something for a fun date night out - we went to a fancy dinner and a musical. This dress was great - classy and sexy! I am usually a 4 - that size fit ok, but had extra material in the bust. The 2 was perfect for my smaller chest size.
Karrie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

Boyfriend wishes I owned it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress! Great style that is flattering through the midsection, sophisticated enough for a company party but still fun and flirty. My boyfriend's comment at the end of the night was that he really wished I owned this dress. Loved it and would rent it again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

classy in black

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I wore it to a friend's wedding and got several compliments on how classy it looked. I think the off the shoulder gives it a little sexy too. I paired the dress with gray suede peep toe platforms and a colorful clutch. I'm usually between a 2 and a 4 and struggle with sizing, but the 4 fit just a little more comfortable than the 2 this time. The draping fit just right with my petite frame and the fabric was very comfortable and easy to move in. I'd highly recommend this dress! Home run for my first rental from RTR!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 23, 2011

Great Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this and another dress for a recent date to a Symphony. I actually ended up wearing the other dress, but dress was also great. I rented a 4 and 6 and preferred the 4. It is classy and sexy, and pretty comfortable. It hides flaws and is flattering even for a undefined waistline. The only trouble I had, was zipping its side zipper. It never got stuck on any fabric, it just had a lot of material around the zipper so it would have a hard time zipping/unzipping (even when I wasn't wearing it). Also, I feel it was a bit large around the bust area for a A or B cup. It wasn't too bad, but it just seemed slightly baggy, but that just might be me. It was a lovely dress, and I will probably rent it again to wear it out!
Elyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect for a classic body (i.e., small waist, boobs/butt)! Very classy and sexy without being garish. Had a great experience with RtR!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Jan 19, 2012

Good go to Black Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable! Wore to a wedding and danced the night away and felt great. I usually wear between a 2 and 4 and the 4 fit better but was a little loose in the top. Was my first Rent the Runway experiance and will definitely do it again.
Kristy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 23, 2012

Flattering fit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was perfect for the wedding I attended this weekend: dressy enough to fit the formal reception, but not so formal that it felt weird to walk around Bourbon Street. I would definitely recommend Spanx to smooth anything underneath, but the fabric is pretty thick, so I think it could still be flattering on some body types without Spanx. The side ruching is also nice & camouflaging without looking like oddly bunchy fabric. I'm 5'4, and the skirt hit about 2 inches or so above my knees. And since the top isn't low cut at all, it should work with any bra size. A couple minor annoyances: the zipper is difficult to unzip, as several people have mentioned (zipping up was a little easier), and the very thin lining in the skirt doesn't stay in place. It kept twisting and riding up. I don't think you could tell from looking at it, though, given the thick fabric of the dress. I would definitely recommend looking over the beads on the shoulder when you get it. The center one was unsewn on one side when I got it. Easily fixed, just something to check. The hem in the front also had some threads coming loose. Overall, definitely worth renting again. Unless I can buy it, since my husband didn't want me to send it back.
kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

RENT THIS DRESS!!!!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this was my back-up dress and I just fell in love with it! YOU MUST RENT THIS DRESS!!! I'm a bigger size (size 8) and i felt like a size 4. the dress is quality and you can feel how well the dress is constructed. I got complements all night long. This was my first time renting from RTR and this dress is the reason they now have a life long customer. One of my favorite things is that the dress hides the fatty part of the underarm area. I also really liked how it was sexy (the shoulder showing) without being skanky.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

Just fabulous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks great on and does wonders for your body. I felt like a movie star and that doesn't happen often enough at my age. The ruching cinches in the waist. It's comfy and glamorous at the same time. And yes, I am renting it again.
Gab
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 12, 2012

Amazing dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a benefit event for school, I ordered an 8 and a 10 and I wore the 10 because the 8 was missing a stone and was very obvious. That is the only reason i gave it 4 stars because the dress is beautiful and got lots of complements I felt I was a size 6 but I couldn't wear the left don't because it was to big so I wore it as asymmetric neck :)
Catherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2012

First Rent-the-Runway....LOVED

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose this dress for a fundraiser at my son's school. Got loads of compliments and really loved it.....as others have said, the zipper is a pain (need an extra set of hands), but once you have it on, it's perfect.
LG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 17, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress...it fit flawlessly. It both looked comfortable and was incredibly comfortable. I got lots of compliments and definitely did not want to take it off. Note: I am tall: 5'11" and the length was great.
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 24, 2012

WOW WOW WOW

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is perfect. its just quality all around. It hugged me where it should and made me look sophisticated and lovely. The zipper on both sizes I got in this dress had issues...but was able to get it up with hubby's help. I would rent this dress again in a minute as it just screams awesome and classy. Loved it.
jngr
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jul 25, 2012

AMAZING!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing! My friend requested that her bridesmaids wear a black dress of their choosing for her wedding and this was my backup dress. The jersey hides all sins, stretches enough to accomodate any body parts that are bigger than the size and the rouching and shoulder details are gorgeous. I wore the sliding shoulder all the way down. It is a little longer (I'm tall and it was almost knee length) which I thought was perfectly appropriate with the fit and shoulders being bare. It was a little difficult to zip, as there is so much fabric around the zipper (the pull actually came off the zipper when I was putting it on, but it still zipped up with the help up a safety pin), but other than that it is comfortable, sophisticated, on trend and classy. This dress will look amazing on anyone!
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 9, 2012

Cute-ish

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this as a backup. It fit fine but the top was just weird. Happy it was my backup and not my only choice.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Perfect little black dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For an evening wedding this dress was perfect. It's classy yet sexy and I received many compliments. It is tight and form fitting, so I wear a slimming slip underneath. The zipper was a little warn as well as the beads, but nothing noticeable.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 15, 2012

Fun Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. The only problem with the dress was some freying at the zipper and the emblem was a bit "worn" looking. But overall it was a fun and elegant dress
Cheryl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

THE Black Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Buy it, buy it, buy it. This dress will make everyone feel gorgeous. It is stretchy, hangs and drapes off the shoulder perfectly. Eliminated my mental arm issues. The detail of black sequins gathered in a nice styling over the gathered shoulder was something I originally missed, but it gave it that extra pop. A little oomph. The waist gathers at one side seam down a bit to give everyone the perfect figure and confidence on those ugh days. The dress fell great on the leg and was not too short, or even that I would consider it short. I received endless compliments. This was my first RTR dress and it sealed my love for RTR instantly. It also swooned and impressed my husband so much that he agreed with using RTR for everything. Hands Down! Everyone should have this in their closet. It is a little more then the little black dress, but not too much where you can't wear it to many events. Rent this one with confidence. This one did hang a little more looser. However not it the way that I couldn't wear either size, but gave me a choice to hang more with the 12 or a little more fitted with the 10. Using fitted in th loosest form because the comfort could be matched with jammies. I believe this was also when I was closer to a 10, but scared from store dresses varying in sizes so much. Great first RTR dress. Have a blast.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Classy Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental from RTR and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and convenient the process was. The dress came packaged nicely and was ready to wear. It fit perfectly, though it seemed slightly longer than it was in the photo (or maybe I am shorter than the model). In any case, it was a hit at the party, which was a fundraiser event. If you're looking for something classy and understated but still sexy...this is the dress for you!
Nancy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 25, 2012

Great Dress! Would rent again.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Flattering dress and comfortable. I am petite and the length/fitting was fine. I wore it to a "casual cocktail" fund raiser and felt it was perfect. The zipper was difficult as others indicated. However, it is such a great dress, I would rent it again.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect Party Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was perfect for the event I was going to . I ordered a size 6 and 8. I wore the 6 and the fit was excellent. All the comments about the zipper were TRUE! The zipper on both dresses were awful. The zipper on the 8 broke even though the dress was large on me. Aside from that, the dress is beautiful and the side ruching is great to hide any "flaws". The shoulder detail was simple but very pretty and was enough sparkle so no need for a necklace. I would love to rent again if the zippers could be fixed.
Galina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Aug 31, 2012

Odd fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't hate this dress, but it just happened to fit my body weirdly. Maybe it was just me, but the bust and skirt was fine except that the lower torso was uncomfortably tight! I don't know why, I'm a pretty proportional person :(
Jennette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

Love

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress... great fit! LOVED!!!
Cascare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

decent

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
dress fit well (a bit big, but i ordered up since rtr did not have my size). it is far more conservative and casual than it looks in photos.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Smashing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and received a ton of compliments! The fit was flattering, and the off-the-shoulder effect was sexy!
deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Sexy, Glamorous, Perfect

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Though I had some concerns about BagleyMishka dresses that I've owned in the past, I decided to give this dress a chance since it was the perfect combination of being appropriate but sexy. The dress was very comfortable and fit perfectly. I received so many compliments. I thought it was an easy dress to style. I wore my hair a la Eva Longoria - loose bold curls and. My sole jewelry were bronze earrings with black crystals. My bag was a Bottega Venetta and my shoes were from Via Spiga - an irredescent gold and silver fabric. Thanks RTR - I'm coming back to you for my next occasion.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Sep 19, 2012

Loved!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to an evening wedding. Was super cute and fit perfectly. Love the drape and the detailing on the shouler. Is definitely a great rental!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×