Badgley Mischka

Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$88 to buy
$900 retail
Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
482 reviews
Fit
Large
(104)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2014
I loved this classic look!
I ordered this dress in a 4R & 4L for a new years eve masquerade ball, and despite a few picky issues with it I absolutely loved it! -I was planning to wear black one inch heels to the event, as I knew there would be a fair amount of stair climbing, dancing, and standing around and wanted something comfortable, and the R ended up being a bit too short while the L was far too long. The mini train on the dress still touched the floor in the R but it showed a bit more foot than I really would have liked; however, this was favorable to having an overly long dress so I just bought some black hose and it was fine. The second (and sort of third) issue I had with it was that it was a bit too big in the chest - at least it was for me, at a 32D/34C - to begin with (nothing a padded bra couldn't fix though), but throughout the night the dress loosened up even more and it became a bit of an issue. Nothing that some strong fashion tape wouldn't have fixed though! Like I said, these are very nitpicky things and I'm sure a fair amount of them could have been solved by ordering the dress in a 2 instead of a 4, so overall I was really happy with the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2014
Stunning dress!
I used RTR for the first time needing a dress for a formal NYE events. The first dress I selected arrived and both sizes were to big, so I picked this one out kind of in a panic. It arrived at 5 PM on NYE and the event was at 9PM - thankfully it fit like a glove! The beading detailed is difficult to see in pictures, but it is beautiful and really adds to the dress. It very form-fitting and hugged my curves in all the right places. I ordered the long because I'm 5"8, and with 4" heels it still hit the floor which I loved. GREAT dress overall, it was glamorous and elegant, I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 19, 2014
Very strange fit
I received this dress as my backup for a work event. I am petite with a small torso but hips/butt on the larger side. This dress was way too tight around my hips, but huge on my torso. I could fit my first between my chest and the dress. Perhaps it was just my body type, but there was nothing I could have done to make this dress fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2014
...I wish it fit!
I loved this dress! It is a beautiful style with great movement to the fabric. Unfortunately, it runs large and was way too big! The chest practically fell down, despite the corseted interior. I think I would have taken a 00 instead of a 2. I am 5'4" and 115 pounds with an athletic build. My back is small (28") but I wear a D-cup bra. Had the dress fit, I definitely would have worn it. It was gorgeous!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 10, 2014
Too big!
Unfortunately, I could not wear this dress because it was just way too big and since I'm a size 0 there were no smaller options for me. The top portion was so large that it would fall down to my waist! Not even 3 bras could keep it up! I'm sure with the right fit, the dress would have looked gorgeous but it is just not meant for petite girls. Thankfully RTR was able to get me a different dress at the last minute which fit perfectly :)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 12, 2014
Classy black dress.
I ordered size 0R and size 2R. Oddly enough, the size 0R was much bigger on me than the 2R. Maybe it was just stretched out from too many wearers, but I just ended up going with the 2R, which I still had to keep pulling up all night. It didn't hug my body as much as I would have liked. The length on both were fine for me. The boning was also poking me in the ribs all night long. It was a decent dress, though, and I think it would work much better on someone who it actually fit properly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2014
Not a great dress for the very tall ladies or high heel lovers
I am six feet tall and made sure to chat with a stylist prior to ordering to make sure this was an appropriate choice. I wish I had read more reviews! The 8L was about 5 inches too short barefoot and the 10L was about 2 inches short barefoot. Very glad I paid extra for a backup dress!!! The bust is a bit oddly shaped as you can see in others photos. I could barely zip the 8 but the 10 was so loose that the ruching all hung down giving it a strange and unflattering effect. Just not the right dress for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
June 13, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding at the Waldorf Astoria in New York.
I ordered the size 6 and the size 8 (I can switch between both dress sizes normally) and I ended up wearing the 6. The dress was a little big on top, but I believe that could be from multiple people renting this size. The waist and hips fit true to size however. I wore at least 4" high heels due to the length of the dress and my height. I got many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2014
Classic black dress
It was nice. Glad I sized down. I went with petite because everything is usually extremely long on me but should have gotten regular length however, petite wasn't bad. The top runs a big large, could be from various people wearing the dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2014
Several compliments on this dress. Stunningly understated elegance.
Fit ran slightly large. Normally I wear a 4 in this brand, but found it too large. The 2 fit perfectly. Best for bigger busts. The boning helps support the weight of the beaded neckline, and was comfortable. The small train was lovely. Perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2014
Lovely gown
The dress is very nice. It's very stretchy. I found the dress to run large. I had to go up in order to fit my large chest (36DD). So, it was a little big on my bottom half but it was comfortable. Lovely dress. RTR was wonderful and sent me this when the dress I ordered wouldn't zip up (chest area). I received compliments all night. Thank you, RTR!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 22, 2014
very simple beautiful dress
very simple beautiful dress, just a little big on me my waist is 24 inches.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
October 22, 2014
Beautiful, well-made gown
This dress was pretty and wll-made. I liked how it draped, but I ended up not wearing it. I got it as a safe back-up dress to another dress I rented from RTR and ended up not wearing this dress because it was a little large. Next time I'd size down in this dress. The length was great if you are tall and still want to wear heels, and the fabric is nice and thick and drapes well.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2014
Very comfortable!
I would recommend this for curvy girls. Very flattering. Although, it runs large. It fit my lower-half wonderfully. It was sale little large on top and I am a true size two. If you're smaller than a size two, I wouldn't recommend this one. I would say I needed a size zero regular. I did find it very comfortable though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 179lbs
November 6, 2014
Pretty Dress, But the Bust part was way too big :-(
Wore this dress for my boyfriend and I's first date for his work Gala at the Ritz Carlton, DC. Lovely dress but the bust part was too big. (im a 36D). It was like someone had stretched it out or somthing. Normally I'm a size 12, but the 10 fit really well, it def stretches and fits the body very well. I always get a size L(ong) as well because i'm 5'8" and usually wear 4" heels, which I had on that night as well. It had a little train which was really cute too. All in all great dress, but the bust/boobie part was too big so unfortunately I was adjusting/pulling up the dress in front all night :-(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
November 9, 2014
Beautiful dress, but too big
I rented this dress for a black tie affair, but it was just too big. I have broad shoulders and a large chest and it wasn't tight enough around the middle. Maybe it was my fault -- perhaps I should have ordered down a size. Coincidentally, I saw someone wearing this dress to another black tie event I attended and she looked amazing. So it's a beautiful dress, but I didn't get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2014
Great Dress - formal but casual, subtle elegance!
This dress was great - I wore it to an awards show. It was formal enough for the event, but super comfortable because of the fabric and rushing style. I normally wear an 8 or 10 in dress size, but even the 8L was a little big, i was pulling it up a lot of the night. So i would say it runs big and size down! It is a great dress for curves - it hugs them and looks great. There is a slight train on the dress which is hard to tell from the pictures. 8L was plenty long for me - i'm 5'8" - i was wearing probably 3" heels. This was my first rent the runway experience, and I will defs use again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2014
I got numerous comments on the dress, it was a big hit!
It ran a little big, I am normally a size 2/4 and should have rented the size 0. But, overall, it was a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2014
very disappointing. the boning was screwed up. was really worn and old looking.It was also too short
The fit was terrible. It was too worn out so the boning was spoiled. The someone who previously wore the dress altered it so it was too short (without my heels) also even though it was a Size4R and I am petite at 5'3"
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2014
Comfortable and flattering
I read all the reviews before ordering, and decided, at 5'5" and a 4-inch heel wearer, that I should get the 8L with the 6L as a back-up. As it turns out, I think I probably could have done with the R length. Even with the heels, the dress pooled a little at the ground (you can see this is the second picture). I also ended up going with my backup, smaller size, and even that was a bit loose around the waist. It was really flattering, but I think it would have been even more flattering had it been tighter. That being said, it was extremely comfortable and it received tons of compliments; I would definitely recommend it. I paired it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Gold Denari Necklace, which I thought might be too much with the beading detail on the top, but was completely perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2015
Wonderful night
It was beautiful but too large. I had to keep pulling up the top. I think the 0 would of fit perfectly. The length was nice and just touched the floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 31, 2015
Comfortable gown
This gown fit perfectly. It runs a bit on the large size as I am normally between a size 6 and an 8. The material has stretch. For a topless gown, it was very comfortable. I am a 36C, and the gown stayed put all night. I did wear a strapless bra for added support. I felt really elegant in this dress, and received compliments. The stylist who helped me via a phone call was right when she suggested this gown. Thanks for the great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress, but loose, size down needed
I didn't end up wearing this though I thought it was beautiful on. I thought due to my larger chest and wider hips a 10 would fit just right. The material is stretchy and most definitely hides the imperfections of my stomach area, which was great, however was still loose in the back, hips and chest area, even with a strapless bra. I visited the Chicago store to exchange and found an even more perfect dress for the occasion. I am very happy with the choice I made, but would still love to rent this one in the future again, just a smaller size.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 22, 2015
Could not wear this dress.
The size 8R would not zip up all the way and the size 10R fell off me it was so big. I think the size 10R was my size but it was so stretched out from over wear. I loved the style and it would have been perfect for the black tie wedding I was attending but the sizing was horrible. I had to return it and buy a new dress the morning of the wedding. So stressful!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2015
amazing fit
runs big
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
September 14, 2015
Great for post baby event!
This dress was definitely flattering. I just had a baby 4 months ago and not quite back into my own dresses so this was perfect. Black with some nice stretch to cover any flaws. I am only 5'3 and without heels this dress wasn't dragging and with heels was actually just perfect. However for anyone over 5'3, I would suggest the Long dress otherwise it will hit you at the ankles with heels on. Also the boning in the right side chest is almost poking thru the material. I am guessing this is from repeated wear. Hurt a little as the night went on but nothing major. Great dress though!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 19, 2015
I only tried on the dress
I ordered two dresses for the same event and wore the other dress. I tried this dress on and found that it runs large. A size 6 was too big for me. It also runs short. At 5'7" with 4" heels, it was several inches off the ground.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
October 6, 2015
Beautiful formal dress
Comfy, flattering, material a bit heavy but very pretty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 6, 2012
This dress is amazing without being to flashy!
I rented two dresses and my sister was able to wear the one that I didn't wear. She looked amazing in the dress, even though the 4R was a bit large on her. She was able to add a cute belted detail to the dress to make it fit better. The top has the perfect amount of bling on the dress and the ruching is to die for. Overall a great pick for someone who doesn't want to be over the top. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
I felt beautiful with a hint of sexy!
This dress was perfect! I danced the night away feeling classy but a little on the sexy side. I usually wear a size 8, but ended up wearing the size 6L. Even the "long" wasnt quite where I wanted it with 4.5 inch heels. I was showing a little more than I wanted to, but had to wear a bra and pads with it to keep it up and keep from looking flat chested. Overall very pleased with the rental and cant wait for my next one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Comfy stunner
It wasn't much to look at on the hanger, but this is the kind of dress that is "guy hot" not "girl cute". My boyfriend adored me all night, and other guests called us Bond & Vesper. I ordered this as my back up and to be safe picked a size 12. However, the material was very, very stretchy and I guess all of my diet and exercise has paid off as I think I would have been better off in a 10 or even 8 and had to spend all night pulling the dress up. Edit: I remember now that I got a 12 b/c the stylist fit info says to size up for length if you're curvy. I wore a less-tall pair of heels and the length was perfect, but do consider sizing up for length and make sure to wear a strapless underneath.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Great dress, but I loved another one!
I chose this dress as my first pick, adding a smaller size as the back up. Then, I added on a second dress in a different design. I usually wear a 10, but the 8 was big on me! The dress stretches, which is probably good after a few cocktails and dinner. I had a hard time picking between this and another dress in blue, but the blue won out. I think this is a great classic dress for any formal occassion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
June 14, 2014
Beautiful gown. Figure flattering but runs large
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. It is very elegant and comfortable although it runs large. I am petite with a large bust. This dress in 4p had enough extra room that a size smaller would have definitely fit better. However, I still really enjoyed wearing it. I felt beautiful & got lots of compliments. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 26, 2012
So elegant!
I wore this gown to a very formal company Christmas party at a symphony hall. I ordered the 0 and 00, ended up wearing the 00 because the dress was a little heavy and I wanted to make sure I wouldn't have to pull it up the whole night. I got so many compliments and felt gorgeous the whole night! Absolutely loved it and the sparkle at the top of the dress are a great subtle touch to make the dress not too boring
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
great dress
I wore this for a black tie wedding. Wore the size 2 but was a tiny bit too big, probably could've worn the 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2012
Not flattering for curvy girl
The boning in the bodice was not very flattering on my hourglass shape. It gave me more of a straight torso, which made me look bigger. I considered adding a belt, but the boning doesn't really allow that comfortably. This dress runs large and neither the 6 nor the 8 fit me. I would suggest ordering a size down. This would look great on a thin, straight figure.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2012
Looks better on the model!
This was my original dress choice and I ordered a back up just in case. Happy I did because the overall fit of this dress was not as flattering as the picture! I rented a 4reg and a 6reg and the size 4 had a better fit but was too short and the 6 felt a bit too big for me. The view from the back and the side were flattering on my figure, it is a slimming dress, however the view from the front was very flat and boring. The picture of the model shows the dress cinching in and accentuating the waist but that was not that case for me at all! Disappointing but I ended up loving my back up dress better anyways!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 29, 2013
This dress is beautiful, but may not fit everyone...
This dress may not be flattering on all body types. The chest area seemed really big (I'm a big B/small C) and the waist wasn't very defined. You can't really tell from the picture, but the dress is much shorter in the front, with a little train in back. Surprisingly, it turned out to be ankle length in front on me, and I'm only 5"2. But, it's a sexy number and the sparkle detailing is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 18, 2013
Didn't fit quite right
Just wasn't a great fit on me - the torso was too wide and the boning hit in strange spots. Not very flattering all in all, ended up choosing my other rental instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 27, 2013
Pretty dress, but too big for me.
This gown is lovely; however, it was too big all over and too long. I ended up going with a Nicole MIller gown in size 0R that I rented, which fit me like a glove.
See more reviews:
3 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×