Badgley Mischka

Red Carpet Beauty Gown

$98 to buy
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed award by wearing this gorgeous Badgley Mischka royal blue silk gown. For an over the top look, go with the Kate Spade's Kaleidoscope Necklace!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - bust are runs large, yet can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at mid-section
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or a NuBra due to deep V
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - bust are runs large, yet can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at mid-section
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or a NuBra due to deep V
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Royal hammered satin. V neckline with twist detail. Draped skirt with tulip hem. Twisted straps. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

133 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 92
Large 29
Photos 89
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Beautiful Dress!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was lovely! The only complaint I have about the dress is that the bust area is really big! (And I have a bigger than average chest). I had to use fabric tape to keep the top part from exposing myself.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Feb 27, 2013

Gorgeous color and great fit! Made me feel glamorous!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit great, it ran a little large on top. Make sure to have plenty of double stick tape for the bust. It's a low cut, but with enough tape to make sure nothing slipped out place it's incredibly flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again!
ALB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Too big in the bust, too small around the ribs.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress to the opera and my husband kept telling me beautiful I looked, but I was uncomfortable. My bust is large (dd cups), but I couldn't fill the top out if my life depended on it. I needed two cutlets for each breast and a push up bra to begin to fill in the cups. Oddly, the dress fit too tight through the rib cage. The slit gives the dress beautiful movement when you walk, but wear panties or sitting could become a peep show.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 10, 2013

Pretty but not long enough

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as a back-up dress and did not end up wearing it to my event. Mainly because since I am almost 5'8" the 6R was too short when I put my heels on. However, it was very pretty on. I would have had to have used some serious fashion tape for the top of the dress but the color was amazing. My favorite thing about the dress was the slit as you walked! Stunning!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
So, this dress was a disaster for me. The color was gorgeous but it was gigantic in the boobs. I couldn't fill it up if I tried and it was VERY low cut.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 10, 2013

Gorgeous color, but didn't fit.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Picked this as my back up dress for a formal wedding. Ending up being too tight on the hips, causing the slit to start very high, and I was unable to sit down comfortably it in. It did however fit my bust - and RTR includes fashion tape so you can adjust the bust slit as needed. Gorgeous dress though - wish it worked!
lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

everyone loved this dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I own a dress from this designer and usually they run small. That 's the reson I order a 10 and 12. I wore the 10 but could've taken an 8. The top runs really large, and I'm a 34D
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Didn't wear

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my first pick but since I had a back procedure that left me in bed and in pain I could not attend the function. I did have my sweet husband help me try it on and it looked great. I think I will rent it for an event real soon.
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

This dress was fantastic

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and I love it, will definitely do it again. So easy. Dress fit like a dream, it was a bit long, I wore 3 inch heels and did ok, no tripping. You def. need the fashion tape. I thought I'd be falling out of it, but it drapes perfectly and wasn't wrinkle. Just a flattering gorgeous dress.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

The dress color was amazing, and the cut was really neat!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a bit long for my legs @ 5'4", but the short front made it a bit easier to walk. The cut was slightly too big for my frame, and the middle could have used a little something. I'd recommend getting a smaller size
Shannon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Dramatic dress

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Front line cleavage created a bit of a problem, but nothing a little two-sided tape couldn't fix. Beautiful flowing dress.
Nikki
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful color. Beautiful shape. Beautiful dress.
Leticia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

I absolutely loved this dress. I received so compliment.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little large on the bust
ILARIA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Could not wear it. It was a disaster. The dress arrived crumpled up and it was unwearable.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gaping at the neck line and tight around the hips. Shame it is a beautiful color. Please note, it does not hang like you see in the picture. The dress is very straight.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Pretty but not great for the busty

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing fabric, not great for busty girls.
DDP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Fun Sexy Dress

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a very fun dress that's a beautiful color The material was a little thinner and shinier than I had expected. It ran true to size however it didn't seem to fit right in the bust. I am very small in the bust and the way it fit was not flattering. I believe this would be a beautiful dress on someone that has more of a bust.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Too long and slit too high

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately the slit was too high. Combined with the dress being too long, I couldn't wear it.
ADot
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Mardi Gras ball gown.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful on that tall model, but not on me. It was too long, way too fitted at the waist, and extremely loose at the bust.
Brianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

It was a great dress but i had just chosen another dress i had over this one.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit great, I just decided to go with another dress I had rented because i liked the color better.
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Rent the runway

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding the slit was beautiful but the bust area was too small, and lacked support. Not for bust woman like myself.
Reese
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

The dress runs large!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
At 5'4 and 110lbs, the 0R was a good length with heels on but was still too big! I ended up not wearing it.
stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 1, 2012

The dress was very comfortable! The slit in the leg is very trendy.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The bust part is a bit awkward. The top is not fitted so in certain photos, the lighting and shadows can do unflattering things to the top. I think this dress is better for bigger busted people. Overall, the dress was very pretty and comfortable.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Stunning gown

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding and so many guests commented on how gorgeous my dress was. The dress was a little bit in the chest area for me, large in the stomach area, and just a tiny bit tight in the thigh area. The slit doesn't actually show unless you purposely attempt to hold an "Angelina Jolie" like pose. The color an style of the dress make the person stand out from the crowd.
Corina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Was sent as a back up dress I wear a size 6 and it was too tight bummed really wanted to wear it!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
n/a
Tiy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

Slinky

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has a great color, fits true to size, and flows nicely. Great for a wedding! However, I think that the one I wore might have been missing a stitch to keep the front together (the 8 had it but the 10 didn't), so I had to tape it. A liiiitle revealing with the low front and high slit when sitting, but that's not always bad!
Susie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Sep 19, 2012

I wore this to my senior prom and it was beautiful.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is gorgeous except it was loose in the bust area if you have a smaller chest like me.
Esme
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Beautiful Color but Well Worn

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color of this dress is incredible. You can see it in the uploaded photos- and I really wanted to wear it for the event I attended, however, I chose to wear my other rental option for 2 reasons. First, it was 102 degrees and I didn't want to sweat through the thinner unlined silk of the gown. Second, the fabric of the rental I received was obviously worn. The side seams rippled and it was going to need a lot of steaming to attempt to lay right. It's a gorgeous, MATURE dress, perfect for a cooler (less sweaty) day. I rented a 2L and it fit perfectly.
Leanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Showstopper -- great dress

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely beautiful! I wore it to an awards show where my boyfriend ended up proposing to me. The only issue I had with the dress was the fit on top -- I had to use tape and safety pins to keep everything in place and not flash anyone. Loved it!
Carla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 16, 2012

Perfect wedding dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a destination wedding in Mexico. The color was stunning and so was the material. If you have big ribs it may be a little snug as it was for me but it still fit. The only downside was you need incredibly strong double-stick tape to make sure your bra doesn't show or worse (if you decide to skip the bra). Since I was in Mexico and dancing the night away... the sweat was not helpful with my sub par double stick and I ended up changing later in the evening. All in all- gorgeous dress.
Debbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2012

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress, but is tricky to movbe in. The front is cut very high, and I had a hard time sitting down without showing too much. The color is very pretty though- just be careful when you sit!
Lana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

I felt so glamorous!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this gown to a Ball held in a beautiful museum. I got a ton of compliments and felt absolutely glamorous! I love the flowing material, it moves with you while walking. I have no complaints!
Alyson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

MEH

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was blown away by the picture of this dress but when it arrived I was less than enthused. While the color is lovely, the waist sits at an awkward place not giving it any definition. Additionally, that dramatic slit in the middle of the dress will only appear while walking very fast or if you are facing a wind machine, it is not at all structured. In the end, decided not to wear it.
Kirfie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 25, 2012

Beautiful, but Not as Pictured

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress itself was a beautiful color, and fabric, but it does not look like it is pictured. It doesn't actually flow outward at all, it falls staight to the ground, and only opens a bit when you walk. The fabric is a lot thinner than I thought when you look at the picture. If you have a fuller chest, this will NOT be the most flattering. There are pleats in the bust of the dress, and it makes the girls look very wide. This dress IS a beautiful dress, but for someone thin and not too chesty.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Loved this dress

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a perfect way to end my senior year. I wore it for my college's Senior Formal and did not stop getting complements on it all night. Although the fit was perfect, I wish I ordered a 0R instead. I am 5'7 and I wore it with 3" heels and the 0L was still dragging on the floor a good amount. With a 32A bust, the low v-neck was not too sexy or revealing and when paired with a few strips of fashion tape, everything was perfect.
kyra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Runs true to size. If you're taller and planning to wear heels I would suggest going for the long variety of the dress.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Great Color

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is a great color. Really stands out in a sea of black. Beautiful material. The deep-v wasn't as deep as it looks like on this picture.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

prettier in the photo

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a formal wedding. I had tried it on in the store and really liked it then a friend of mine told me about renting it on this site. I was thrilled because I couldn't see owning this dress as it was one of those things you really only wear once. When the dress arrived I found that it a bit dull from the cleaning process and the train was cut off. I wasn't pleased with it so I returned it. I still like the idea or rentals, this one just wasn't for me but the service was fast and well as the refund.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Red Carpet Ready

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my graduation banquet, and I received never-ending compliments! The deep V and the high slit in the front is sexy but not trashy. I usually wear size 2 on dresses, but this dress runs large. Wish I rented the size 0. But nobody could tell this dress was a little big on me - YAY! I'm 5'4" and this dress is too long for me (I had my 5 inch heels on too!)
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the color of this dress, especially with the silky shine. However, because it is silk, and therefore no stretch, there is no room for error on the fit. It fit well in the chest although of course needed double-sided tape otherwise it would gape when leaning forward ever so slightly. The waist and hips were loose but it still wore well because of the flowiness of the skirt. The shape looks AMAZING when you are walking around -- when standing it is just kind of meh. I wore it for a dinner/dance so I went with the 4R and 2.5" heels. Because the skirt moves so much I didn't have problems stepping on it. I wore it with chandelier earrings rather than necklace because I went with mystery bling and that's what was sent -- it still looked good as I am somewhat flat chested and had a pretty good tan going :)
KpopFashionista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Jun 22, 2012

Made for the Runway

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as my back up dress for my Husband's Army Ball. I didn't end up wearing it to the event but I loved this dress and it fit perfectly but only splits when you walk and looks great but it really shows everything when you sit down. I have a small bust and would have had to use a lot of fashion tape to make sure there wouldn't be any wardrobe malfunctions either. I just wouldn't feel comfortable wearing this to an event like the Army Ball but it would be perfect for many other events and I'm sure that I'll rent it for something else. It is a very beautiful dress in person and is comfortable, the fabric is great and being 5'11" with the Long you can wear up to a 3" heel and it still be very close to the ground.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×