Ray of Light Dress

$73 to buy
$415 retail
Stylist Notes

You shine in your sassy Badgley Mischka one shouldered little number. Rock the bow, and your fav pumps and don’t be afraid to steal the show! Go with a blingtastic bangle set like the Chamak's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout dress - pleated and thick fabric helps to conceal midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt is slightly narrow but material has stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout dress - pleated and thick fabric helps to conceal midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt is slightly narrow but material has stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow shantung. One shoulder neckline with petal at shoulder. Ruched skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
58 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 4, 2014
Great color, walking advertisement for RTR!
I got so many compliments from complete strangers at a wedding I wore this dress to. The color is great (I am very pale, blonde hair, and it still worked on me) and the big shoulder bow adds the flair I wanted. The material is stretchy so it forms right to your body. It does run "small" by normal standards - I wore the 6 when I am normally a 2 or 4 at places like Banana Republic (which notoriously run too small). But I think it's true to size for a real size 6.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2015
Got a ton of compliments, so many people loved it, the dress is flattering and well made,
the quality of the dress is amazing, you can't help but look and feel amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 2, 2015
Flattering fit!
Even though the dress was form fitting and snug, it was still comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2011
Pefect for a Derby Party!
I am 5'9, 130 and ordered a 2 & 4, the 2 fit better. This dress is almost a burnt yellow, not as light as the picture suggests. It was super flattering and cute, it's a thicker fabric so hides any flaws. I wore it to a derby party and received a ton of compliments. Very cute- perfect for a derby event, and I actually think it would be very cute as a bridesmaid dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 16, 2012
I love not having to worry about drycleaning!
I wore this dress to a wedding in June. I received so many compliments on this fabulous dress!! I usually wear a 0-2, but by reading reviews I ordered a 2 and 4. This dress does run small, so size up for your back-up dress. The 4 fit me to a T!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
July 31, 2012
I loved the color, I loved the design and that it came with two size options just in case.
I rented this dress for an outdoor/barn wedding that was on the fancier side. I loved this dress! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2012
I got lots of comments from other guests at the wedding and it was really fun to wear a not-commonly-worn color.
Rented this dress for a friend’s garden wedding and loved it! It is a very pretty yellow color. It is quite tight-fitting but stretchy so I wore a size up. I was a little worried about the hem being too long as that often happens with me and short dresses, but it hit just above the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 22, 2013
Beautiful color that stood out!
I wore this dress to a beach wedding- it was great. I ordered a 6 and a 8 and ended up wearing the 8. It definitely is a snug fit but I think it was still pretty flattering. The color is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments on it. I thought the bow thing on the shoulder would look weird- it's actually not too big and stayed in place. It looked great. The dress did ride up a little bit so I kept adjusting but it wasn't horrible. I was worried it was going to show sweat since we were in 90 degree weather on the beach but it didn't. I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 3, 2014
LOVED it! Fun color in a sea of black cocktail dresses.
I loved this dress. Very simple but sexy. I was so worried that it was going to look like a bridesmaid's gown, but not at all. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and honestly I couldn't tell that big of a difference between the two sizes. I decided on the 6 because the event had a ton of good food and I wanted breathing room. Highly recommend this dress if you want to stand out in a vibrant color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 31, 2014
Someone actually asked me, "who are you wearing?"
Fit like a glove. Hugs curves in the right places. Beautiful color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Amazing fit. Sophisticated but sexy and understated.
Tight in chest but plenty of room in hips and waist. Perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2014
Great color. Great Dress
The dress does run small as suggested in other comments. I suggest ordering a size up. Otherwise, it was a great fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 19, 2015
Stunning! Wore for the Breeder's Cup 2014 Championship day. Felt like I was the best dressed.
In keeping with the purple and yellow-gold colors of the flowers of the blankets of the winning racehorses at the Breeder's Cup Championships, I fell in love with this dress. I wore it on the Saturday's big race card day. With my yellow fascinator and the chic oversized shoulder bow that reminded me of a red dress that Nicole Kidman wore to the Oscars years ago, I felt like I should've been in the running for the Longines Prize of Elegance. I entered but didn't win. I ordered a 4 and 2 as a back up. I wound up going with the 2 as it was more form-fitting through the chest. Although the 4 fit slightly better in the butt. I am a 32A-24-32 with a J.Lo booty (37" around). Wore my VS "Bombshell Add 2-Cups" convertible bra. (I also wore that same bra with the Herve Leger strapless dress I rented.) Was able to wear a thong and there was no VPL. Zipped up easily and fit beautifully. Was bit short when bending down to sit. The ruching on the left side was subtle and added definition to the waist. The bodice cut was great for showing off toned arms. Wish I could've kept the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
May 23, 2014
Great dress, better on than on the hanger
I usually wear between a 2 and a 4. In this dress I ordered the 4 and it fit perfectly. The fabric is stretch and thus the dress is flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2012
Beautiful; fits like a glove on curves
I wore this for my friend's wedding as a bridesmaid. She said wear a yellow dress...it was just as described and a great dress. Love the shoulder detail. If you are worried it would be "too much" don't be!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 18, 2012
Many compliments!
Loved the color and fit, easy to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2012
Didn't wear it, did't fit.
The fabric didn't have as much give as it looked. I only ordered one size because this was my back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 7, 2013
It was a beautiful color and fit very well.
I wore this to my first bridal shower. The 4 fit better but there was a stain on the seam. The 6 just made the length longer, which was fine. It photographed beautifully and paired really nice with turquoise earrings. A very fun dress, i would recommend it for any daytime even!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×