Putting On The Glitz Gown

$80 rental
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

All eyes will be on you at the gala when you wear this sequin sensation by Badgley Mischka.

Also available in champagne, navy, andgold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - standard bra can be worn
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor Length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - standard bra can be worn
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor Length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Ruched waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. See size and fit tab for length. Imported.

Share
579 reviews
Fit
Large99
True to Size368
Small26
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 12, 2015
Elegant
I rarely rate any thing I rent from RTR 5 stars but this dress deserves it. Everything from the color to the sequins to the fit was just perfect. I ordered a 12R & 14R, ended up wearing the 14 because I wanted the extra room and length. Surprisingly, although the 12 did fit me, I found it to be slightly short at the bottom, which is interesting because I'm short (5'2). I also noticed that whoever had the dress before me had made a little stitch in the bust because it does reveal a lot of cleavage if left alone. I actually ended up pinning it closed even more because I thought it would still be too revealing for my company party. I also found the sleeves slightly loose so I pinned those up a bit as well. Finally, I noticed that it kept getting caught on my heels when I would walk around, forcing me to hold it up so I wouldn't suddenly trip. This might not have been the case had I gone with the shorter 12, but I didn't want my shoes showing that much. Overall, it got the job done and I felt great in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 9, 2015
I rented this for a company Christmas party
This dress in beautiful and would have been perfect for my company Christmas party but was a little too big and wouldn't stay "Classy" (top kept slipping and would have exposed my bra) . If you are fuller in the top this dress would be perfect for you !
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Weight: 170lbs
December 9, 2015
I felt STUNNING the entire wedding. The dress was comfy enough to dance and not have to worry.
I originally planned on wearing the size 12, but last minute tried on the size 10 and it fit. Made my day. It flattered me so well. Comfortable to sit, dance, and walk in. Length was just right. I'm 5'4" and wore 10R. I dance the entire night. Beautiful dress that anyone would feel amazing in.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2015
First time renting was a success!
Great dress. Fit perfectly. very comfortable. I am 5' 3" and the 2R was pretty good length with 4 inch heels. I only wish I could have gotten the petite so that I could have worn shorter heels. But it all worked out great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
December 8, 2015
Comfy dress
True to fit
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
December 6, 2015
My first experience with RTR was just phenomenal! The dresses showed up exactly on time as promised.
This dress was truly gorgeous and surprisingly comfortable! Perfectly sparkly (yet not overwhelming), and fit true-to-size. I was worried about the sequins being scratchy, but they weren't at all. I am 5'3" and the regular length fit perfectly with 3.5" wedge heels. As mentioned in other reviews, the top is cut pretty large (and I am not very well endowed in the bust area) but I was well-prepared with a few safety pins and I was able to strategically pin it so not too revealing. Overall this dress was an amazing fit, flattering to curves, and a real hit at the black tie winter wedding I attended. So many compliments received!! Thank you RTR for a phenomenal first experience; I'll be back again for sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
December 6, 2015
Great experience and gorgeous dress!!
Glad I went with the long. I am 5'5" and wore 3 inch heels and it was perfect. I used fashion tape in the front and wore a normal bra and it was great. I did not feel like the sequins under the arms were bothersome at all. Dress was gorgeous and very thick which was great for a fall wedding! My first experience with RTR and it was perfect!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 5, 2015
Stunning dress and so comfortable!
I wore this for a red carpet themed Christmas party for work. This was the perfect dress. Simple and classy yet dazzling with all over sequins. It is a tad low cut, so I did pin the front to keep things in place. I am 5'7 and ordered a 16L after reading the other reviews that the dress seemed to be cut a bit short. I wore red pumps and the length was perfect. Without heels it hit the ground. I couldn't believe how comfortable the dress was. It hides imperfections and hugs all the right places. I felt stunning and was so sad when I had to send it back! This was my first experience w/ RTR and I am so pleased. Now I just need to find some more fancy parties to go to so I can rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2015
This dress was a perfect choice!
I received numerous compliments on this dress and felt very glamorous. The dress fit well and I didn't have any issues.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2015
So much fun and so many compliments on the dress!
I'm 5'4 and this dress is shorter than I'm used to. Not an issue but did have to be careful about what shoes I wore. The dress is also much bluer than it looks in the picture. I thought it was black in the picture but it's actually a pretty midnight blue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 2, 2015
Perfect for the Mascarade Ball!
Beautiful gown! Received so many compliments. I was worried about wearing a dress covered in sequins but it looked perfect for the formal occasion. There is a lot of fabric so I chose to go with the size 2 versus the 4 which I normally wear, especially since the front is a very deep V. The deep V was actually slightly stitched together at one point (maybe by a previous renter?) which made the front sit a little awkwardly but it still looked great. It was kinda tight around my rib cage but the 4 was just too big everywhere else.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2015
Received numerous compliments in this dress. It truly is stunning!
This dress fits pretty true to size. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was too large. The 2 looked like it was tailored for me. :) Be prepared with a clip or tape if needed because this one is definitely low cut. Overall, I would rent this one again if the occasion warranted!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2015
Didn't wind up wearing this, but a very pretty gown.
Pretty dress but made me look weirdly curvy because the material is so heavy. Maybe not the best for a shorter woman.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
November 24, 2015
Perfect dress for the Ball!
The fit is perfect! I wore it for the Marine Corps Ball and got lots of compliments. This dress would be flattering on anyone. I am about 5'4 and it hit just at the ground with 1 inch heels so I would suggest getting it long if you want to wear higher heels. I normally wear a 4 (5'4 135 lb 34C) the 6R was pretty big on me but the 4 was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
November 23, 2015
Beautiful! Perfect Length
GORGEOUS DRESS! I went to a young professional's ball, and the dress definitely suited the occasion. I ordered the 10R and 8R and I ended up wearing the 10R. I am sure the 12R would have fit even better. I am 5'0 and the dress was perfect length with 3 inch heels. I am also a 34G and the top filled out perfectly, just needed a pin in the front. I wore a regular bra. The dress was not uncomfortable nor heavy. The sequins were a special touch, not too glitzy. The only con was the zipper. It was quite hard to get up before I even tried on the dress. It took two people to get the zipper up but it worked out perfectly! Order your size and a size up not down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 23, 2015
This dress was PERFECT! It fit just like a glove and was VERY eye catching!
Fit was great and the length worked on me. I am 5'2 and I wore a 3 inch heel. It was a little low, so just be aware of that. Would love to rent this dress again!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 22, 2015
You can't go wrong with a sequin floor-length gown. This was for a Great Gatsby hospital gala.
I ordered a 2L, which I have ordered from BM before with no issues. However, this was not "long" in length and showed my ankles. I am 5'9 and the 2 was too short, I am still unsure if they sent the 2L or 2R. Regardless, they refunded me the full amount due to the issue. I was not able to wear my gown to the gala. RTR is an excellent company and I will continue to rent from them.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 66
November 18, 2015
Made a glamorous entrance and looked the part for a Casino Royale theme. Looks good with mink.
Neckline not too low and the drape works well for a pear figure. On older women not Everything needs to show, this was a nice balance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
November 18, 2015
LOVED THIS DRESS
The fit was perfect around my shoulders and back. I did have to pin the front closed a little higher (but with 34 DDDs that comes with the territory). The length was perfect for my three-inch heels. It had a nice soft lining, but wasn't too hot for the November wedding. There was much more draping in the front (below the waistline) than I could see in the photos, so I felt a little more "hippy" than usual, but the draping created such a great silhouette that it would be great for those with a little tummy or looking to camouflage full hips. In short, RENT THIS DRESS!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
November 17, 2015
I got SOOOO many compliments on this dress! It was perfect for the 20s themed gala I attended!
I am typically a 12 but the 10 fit like a glove. I am 5'7" and definitely needed the Long. I would have had to wear kitten heels with the Regular length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8XL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 15, 2015
Absolutely loved this dress!
Great dress for a sorority formal. My date and I were going for. "Hollywood Glam" and totally nailed it. Perfect length for us tall ladies and just gorgeous gown all around. Loved it!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 176lbs
November 8, 2015
I received a lot of compliments on this dress throughout the night.
I ordered a size 10L and a 12L as my backup. The size 10 fit everywhere except for the length and the person who rented before me had tacked the dress just enough in the bust area for more coverage however even with flats it was way too short. The 12L just barely skimmed the floor with flats on, there was no way I could have wore heels with this dress. While I ordered a Long there was nothing to indicate on the tag or otherwise that I was actually wearing a long, I wonder if they just sent the regular as they were so short? While the 12 was longer it was looser everywhere and I felt like my bosom was falling out despite wearing a very supportive s one wasn't tacked in the bust area). I also sinched in the straps at the base with some black thread by simply wrapping it around the strap then using the sequins to conceal the thread because the straps felt too wide. Pros: a regular bra can be worn, the sequins shined and photographed beautifully and they weren't over the top, it conceals the tummy area with the draping. The sequins are a little bit scratchy under the arms. Cons: Short, if you are over 5'8 I would pass up on this dress if you want to wear heels. It is revealing on the top so if you are more conservative you might want to reconsider. Other than the length the dress was as described. I already have another dress on order for my next event.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
November 3, 2015
I got compliments on it the entire night
The fit was very good and true to size especially for having a large chest. However even ordering the long was not long enough for my height to be able to wear the shoes I wanted to wear. I ended up having to wear flat shoes which is not my preference. Overall it was beautiful and I felt elegant but if I were to order again I would try the extra long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 24+
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
October 26, 2015
This dress is so beautiful. It cinched my waist, and made my post partum body look shapely.
It is crazy low, so if you have a large chest, be prepared to pin it. It's fitted on the waist, giving my post partum body the illusion of a waist. The Long was just long enough to cover my 3" heels. I would have liked it to be slightly longer
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 21, 2015
This dress made pictures and the dance so much, everyone was complimenting me!
I got this dress for my junior prom and it was absolutely amazing! I ordered a 12R and 10R as a backup, but ended up wearing the 12. I normally wear a 10, but the waist was tight, so I opted to go up a size just for comfort reasons. I found the neckline to be too low cut, but it was easy to fix with a safety pin. It was the perfect length for me, although I wore sandals so it would have been too short if I wanted to wear heels. The shoulders were a little bit and kept slipping down, but it didn't bother me too much. The sequins didn't bother me at all which was great, as I've had horrible experiences in the past with all sequin dresses. I would definitely recommend/rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
October 21, 2015
Absolutely loved this dress!
This dress was amazing! This was a back up to my back up and ended up being the best choice. I felt beautiful in this dress. Wore it to a fancy wedding and even had one of the staff comment on how gorgeous this dress was. As someone with a smaller waist and bigger hips, the fit was flattering and very, very comfortable. I was conflicted in the regular vs long but only the long was available so the choice was made. I am 5' 4.5" and wore 3.5 inch heels. It was only slightly long but very acceptable. I was sad to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 21, 2015
Wore to a formal dinner themed "Glitz and Glam" at the Clinton Presidential Library. Perfect!
This dress fit like a glove. It has a bit of stretch to it, so I can imagine it would work on a lot of different body types. I rented the long size and I'm glad I did. I'm 5'6 and with 3 in. heels, it was perfect. The dress it a bit lower than I anticipated. I filled it out enough that it was ok, but you may want to be prepared with some type to hold everything in place. I love that you can wear a normal bra with this look. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 21, 2015
Beautiful dress!
The fit and comfort of this dress was perfect. Very flattering and easy to accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 19, 2015
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding.
The dress was perfect for a wedding I had to attend. I didn't wear a bra (I'm a 34D) and didn't feel like I had to. It isn't low cut at all. The only con about this dress was the length: I'm 5'6" and just trying it on without heels was short on me. I felt it looked silly when I put the heels on (gowns should hit the floor, at least) but that was my only problem with it. The sequins weren't itchy at all and I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 19, 2015
Beautiful dress.
So I am 6'1 and 7 months pregnant. We had a black tie dinner to go to and this dress was gorgeous. My only complaints were that even though I had the long it was still to short, I had to wear flip flops because my feet were so swollen and it was still soooo short. I looked like I was ready for a flood. The bust was very busty, I had to pin it and it was still a little much for me. The dress was very comfortable, but my hair kept getting caught in the sequins and that was uncomfortable and it ruined my curls. I would wear my hair up next time. Overall the dress was beautiful, it worked well for me being pregnant and it was very comfortable. I would wear it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 19, 2015
Sequins really switch up a traditional black gown
The dress is loose through the whole body, tightest at the ribs. I probably could have gone a size smaller, so the dress runs large. I'm 5'4 and with 3 inch heels it was perfect although there is a lot of material so can be a little challenging to walk. Got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 18, 2015
Beautiful gown for formal event
Wore this to a wedding and the gown was just gorgeous. It was true to size and very flattering for my figure. Only heads up is if you have a large chest this dress is VERY revealing. Make sure you have safety pins handy :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2015
I rented this dress for a black tie masquerade. It had the perfect amount of drama, I felt fabulous!
I'm usually a size 4 but the size 2 fit perfectly. I'm 5'6 1/2 which put me right between ordering the regular and the long. I ended up choosing long and with heels it was perfect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 14, 2015
My Best Friend got married!
This gown was beautiful!!!! It does run a little big so keep that in mind. But it's so well made that the lines are perfect! Oh and I'm a nursing Mama, I had to pin the top just a little, FYI ;)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 13, 2015
Gorgeous and comfortable dress!
The fit was very nice. I went up a size and felt very comfortable. I'm only 5' 2" and the regular was the perfect fit for me with heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
October 10, 2015
Felt beautiful in this dress and it was my backup!
This was my back up dress but I felt so beautiful in it. It fell perfectly, covered up post baby tummy and draped in just the right places. It was a bit low cut for me, but I safety pinned it and it was perfect. I also got the long cause the regular was unavailable. I am glad I did, as it draped nicely for photos. I didn't mind holding it while walking.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 10, 2015
Glamorous dress with many compliments!
I was a bit nervous with no backup size available but it fit perfect. Plenty of room through the waist and hips and top fits with regular bra. Zipper can be a bit tricky.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
October 8, 2015
Compliments Galore!
30 weeks pregnant, the 12 L was a good a fit as I could expect. The waist band that hit high on the natural waist was a little tight for my bursting belly though. Also there is a small gab in the top in between the breast triangles of fabric. Nothing a little double sided tape or safety pins couldn't fix. Otherwise the dress itself is gorgeous. I like that it was all sequins and you didn't have to worry about it getting wrinkly in travel or throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2015
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it was perfect!
The dress ran true to size and the petite length was perfect for me. The one draw back is if you have a smaller chest I would wear a bra or inserts. I chose not too and it was a little open at times, so I ended up pinning it to make it tighter and you couldn't tell. I got a lot of great compliments on the dress and would recommend it to everyone! All in all great experience with rent the runway. Would definitely use them again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2015
Sparkly black dress
Though I think this dress looks best on women with large busts, it was still quite flattering on my smaller chest! I enjoyed wearing this dress, it is dramatic but very comfortable. I could wear a regular bra, which is always a plus. I have a big butt, and it was very forgiving. This is actually the second time I've rented this dress, I also rented the same dress in the champagne color. All around a solid choice!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×