Badgley Mischka

Pastel Petunia Gown

$123 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ready for your red carpet close-up in this gorgeous pastel gown by Badgley Mischka. Go with Ben-Amun’s Antiqued Crystal Bracelet to really let the dress shine.

Also available in navy

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust. We recommend fashion tape to secure bust area.
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - lining runs narrow at the hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Lavender crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. V neck with twisted overlay detail. Open back with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
331 reviews
Fit
Large
(37)
True to Size
(226)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 164lbs
September 1, 2015
Ethereal beauty!
Rented this for daughter's prom. She looked stunning and classic. Like a goddess. She is 5'5", 108 pounds, she wore a convertible bra.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 3, 2016
This dress was perfect for me and the reviews helped greatly!
This dress fit very well! It was very comfortable and the fabric was light and flowed beautifully. It was perfect for my schools spring prom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2016
order a size up
Very pretty dress for the right person, but make sure you order a size up in order for the lining to hang correctly. This was my primary dress (I ended up wearing my back-up) and I ordered it in my usual size 10 and back up size 12. The 10 did not fit right because the lining runs small and it was also very tight around the waist. The 12 fit fine, but with my large chest all the fabric made me look matronly. Recommend this dress for thin, athletic, and hourglass.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2016
Beautiful dress, some minor issues
Top fit nearly perfectly though bust was slightly big (not a real issue). Slip underneath small and ended up bunching underneath the dress quite a bit so had to readjust. I am ~5'7", wore 3" heels and the dress was 1 1/2 inches too long. The clasp also came broken, though customer service was incredibly helpful in finding a solution to the broken clasp and length. I ended up getting temporary alterations and the clasp fixed at a local tailor and RTR has said they will reimburse up to $25. Overall, beautiful dress for a great night! Got so many compliments from friends and random students :) Loved the chiffon texture and the modest open back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 19
May 16, 2016
so so beautiful, and got so many compliments!
I wore this to my senior prom and I couldn't be any happier with the dress I chose. I got so many compliments throughout the night; it ran a bit big still on me even at a zero (had to use some fashion tape to fix that). either way though, I LOVED this dress so much and it's definitely something to get for any formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2016
So comfortable. Didn't need to worry about a bra.
perfect fit. I'm 5'9" and got the regular, but could have gone long. It was long enough, but just barely with a 2" heel. If you are wearing heels, get long. Flats - Regular.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
June 20, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress. Loved it!
Definitely consider getting the petite if you are under 5'4". I am 5' 3 1/2" and if I had worn the regular, I would have had several inches of hem dragging along the floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 22, 2016
Beautiful Color
Had to Fabric tape the dress to me so I didn't have a wardrobe malfunction but other then that the dress fit great!!!!
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
July 8, 2016
Great night
Awesome dress. I felt great and got lots of compliments. Definitely need boob tape!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2016
Loved this dress The color was perfect a light Lilac color.. Loved The Fabric
Loved the style and Color and fabric .. The only thing that was a pain in the butt was the chest area.. It runs a little big.. So I had to safety pin it so my boobs wouldn't hang out.. That's the only thing though
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 27, 2016
Pretty.
Pretty but I wouldn't wear again. It was a formal wedding in the summer so this fit the bill. Just wasn't one of my favorite rentals but it works.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2016
Sexy but Elegant
This dress is stunning. It very fitted and has a very low V in the front and back so you cannot wear a bra. I had to tape myself in place because I have boobs. The fit through the shoulders was a little big but I am only 5'1" so I think if you are taller than me it should be fine. I got lots of compliments including one from the most beautiful person there (the bride).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
August 11, 2016
Black Tie Optional Gala
I felt so elegant and beautiful in this lavendar, chiffon gown. I had to use some fashion tape to secure the bust area and part of my bra strap was showing in the back, despite using a low strap attachment. Still loved the dress nonetheless!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 19, 2016
Gorgeous color!
I'm small chested so it did require a lot of fashion tape to keep it from gaping, especially when sitting. I wore this for a military ball, so didn't want to be showing too much cleavage. I loved the open back and the flow of the dress. It is long and I did step on it all night, however. The dress looked absolutely gorgeous and I got tons of compliments though!
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2016
Beautiful gown!!
I originally ordered this dress in sizes 0R and 2R for my junior prom which was canceled the day of due to weather - RTR was kind enough to give me store credit to use on any future order because I wasn't able to wear the dress! I then rented the same dress for my re-scheduled prom. On the new weekend I needed the dress, my original sizes were not available so I ordered a 2P and a 4P - the 2P ended up being a better fit than the 0R! This dress is definitely better for taller people though, seeing as I am 5'3 wearing 4' heels and the dress still brushed the ground. I also had to use a safety pin on the front of the dress to keep everything in place. Other than that, no complaints! This is such a beautiful gown that was perfect for my prom - I would definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Weight: 126lbs
August 24, 2016
Lovely dress
Great length for the petite. However, was bigger in the bust and I am very busty. It would need some tape to hold still.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
October 6, 2016
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
The dress fit true to size. The actual dress color is a little darker than what appears in the model photos. I ordered a tall size, as I am 5'7 and was intending on wearing heels. The tall size was very long, and a regular length dress would have sufficed.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
October 9, 2016
Ok dress, but not my favorite.
The dresses arrived on time and in the sizes I ordered. The length was perfect (I ordered P) but the dress was very tight, even in the bigger size. I had to pin the front as it exposed my chest and there was a rip at the bottom of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 10"
October 22, 2016
Open backed beauty!
Loved the open back but maybe wasn't the best choice with my 34DD. The sticky pins weren't great. But the dress looked fabulous and I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
November 18, 2016
Beautiful dress, great fit!
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was extremely flattering. It made my waste look small, it fit my boobs snugly, I'm a double D. I would recommend sticky boobs and fashion tape, to make you feel more secure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
November 19, 2016
Wonderful dress!
Loved the fabric of this dress. Fit true to size and I felt like a Disney princess all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 6, 2016
I wore this to a ball hosted by my University. My boyfriend and I had a blast!
This dress was very nice! I got many compliments the night it was worn. The fabric was comfortable and flowed nicely as I walked. It was a good length, not dragging on the floor, yet not awkwardly short. I wore flat sandals with this dress, since it would be more comfortable, but if you are shorter, I would suggest wearing heals, or getting a short version of the dress for backup. The keyhole design at the bust did tend to fall open, but it was easily fixed by a piece of double sided tape. The twisted fabric design went well with my date's bowtie too! We matched on whole different level!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2017
Too tight on the hips
The slip kept bunching up as I walked, ended up returning and getting a different dress overnighted that worked great!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 5, 2017
Lots of compliments but constantly falling
Hi so I'm 5'5 and 112lbs. I ordered a 0R and 2R. both fit well but someone had sewed the button on the 2R that actually made it hold up better on than the 0R. Even though I'm average height, it was pretty long but looked great when I walked with my 4 inch wedges. I put dress tape all over the front and the back and still had trouble keeping the dress up but I got a ton of compliments. All in all, if you wear it, be prepared to constantly check yourself.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 20, 2017
Size up for larger bottom half
I was so excited to wear this dress b/c it fit my event perfectly. I was going to an adult prom with the theme of enchanted garden. Unfortunately, the lining underneath was very tight on my larger thighs and hips. You could see the fabric pulling across me when I put it on. I contacted RTR immediately and they were going to send me a larger size at no charge. Sadly, there was a bad snow storm in my area and the package wasn't going to make it in time for my event. Of course, RTR did not charge me for this order (love you guys!). I would definitely try renting this again for another occasion but I will be sizing up one, possibly two, sizes to compensate for my curves on the bottom. A gorgeous dress though and a beautiful material.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2017
True to size
needs body tape
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 22, 2013
So perfect for the Great Gatsby party I hosted!
I rented the 4R, which fit like a glove. The length is on the longer side - I did wear the dress with 3 inch heels, but it still skims the floor so I had to lift the dress to walk, which I'm used to. If you're 5'5" wearing 3" heels, it will be the perfect length for you. The color is beautiful. I've never worn this color before and it looks beautiful on. The bust area is really interesting though I'm definitely needed some fashion tape to hold it down around my chest and slouching of any kind is also not an option. I also went braless, but wore petals. Everyone loved the dress - and I loved telling everyone it was rented! Thanks RTR!
nancyMarch 25, 2013
Oh, I wish you would have posted a picture! I ordered it as one of my 3 free try ons too. Planning to drop some weight, so I scheduled mine for late April. Super excited!
OliviaMarch 27, 2013
you should post a picture! I just rented this dress and would love to see what it looks like on someone besides the model.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 27, 2013
Stylist Review
I wore this dress for a Rent the Runway video shoot and this dress could not have been more stunning. The color is so delicate and perfect for the Spring season. The nude slip underneath is a little fitted so I would say if you are curvier in the hip to size up in your free backup size. I also wore a NuBra with the dress since it has the low back. Overall, this dress is a must rent!!
RTR CustomerMarch 30, 2013
Are you wearing heels in the photo? If so how high are they? I'm stuck on whether to rent the dress in a long or a regular.
RTR CustomerMarch 30, 2013
I'm also 5'7" haha!
LauraApril 9, 2013
How does the top fit? Im pretty small chested (34A). Does it slouch when you bend over or sit down? Also, does the material look "expensive" and nice? Or cheapy?
AmeliaApril 19, 2013
Hi I'm considering this for prom and from the picture you posted we both have similar body types, I have a long torso and I'm worried this dress may be unflattering. This is an odd question but I was wondering if you also have a long torso.
LaineyBApril 24, 2013
Laura - It looks high end and very good quality - not cheapy at all. It's delicate and gorgeous. You will need fashion tape for the cleavage area to avoid slouching when sitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2013
It was such a beautiful gown and I received many many compliments on it!
The gown is very beautiful. I weight 130 lbs and am 5'7" and chose to wear 4" heels. The dress size I wore was a 6L, which was ok but I think I shoud have gone with a 6R because even with the 4" heels, the dress was still long and I had to lift it a bit when dancing to avoid stepping on it. But the dress itself is BEAUTIFUL with an intricate front and an open-back that closes with a little purple diamond as a button at the top. I had to wear one of those silicone bras that stuck to my breasts and was backless for this gown. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
AH-MAZE-ING
Be prepared for compliments all night - I completely lost track of how many I received. The fabric/fit is so light and airy - perfect for elegant comfort. The fit is true to size and double sized/hollywood tape is needed since the cleavage is low and open. Runs long. I'm 5'8 and the regular was still long on me with 5" heels, seriously. The color is PERFECTION and it's such a unique gown, you will love it!
SophiaApril 11, 2013
Im 6'1, would the regular length be long enough if i was wearing flats?
LaineyBApril 24, 2013
Sophia - sorry just saw this. If you're 6'1 and wearing flats I would think it would be ok...but go for the long if you're wearing heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2013
Didn't actually wear this dress simply because the second option looked better & fit the event more.
I was a hesitant to rent this particular dress since there went pervious reviews but I went ahead and ordered it anyways. BIG MISTAKE. I thought the color would look on skin since I am pale but it didn't look right at all. I'm a very warm beige skin tone. This dress looked beautiful on the model but it wasn't the same. The material was very light and the length was perfect but it didn't look nice on me. My friend of the similar body type also tried it on and it looked much better on her skin tone. She is pale, tall and blonde. It looked much nicer on her skin tone. Especially since the mesh part of the dress (on the sides) blended in more. the pictures are of my friend and not of me. They look nicer on her. She is 5"9 and weighs 135. She is wearing the size 8 long she still had enough length to wear 5 inch heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2013
This dress looked amazing, everyone kept commenting on how it looked like a red carpet dress.
It fitted well except around the breast area. The cleavage is very open and low cut so it shows a lot off. Also I couldn't wear a bra with it and I have a 34DD and they were fine. It was also quite comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2013
Elegant, classy, fun, and fabulous!
This only thing i disliked about the dress is the nude fabric inserts, they were a bit to pale for my own skin tone however with the right pose, it's barely noticeable in the pictures. I n the website's picture f the gown the model was quite pale and made it seem as if they were cut outs. On a seperate note the chest area of the dress was a smidge too big, better fitting for a woman with a larger bust. The length of the dress is quite long too. Even in full 5 inch heels the dress still had about an inch of fabric on the floor. All of these are minor things and in total i truly had an incredible night in this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
April 19, 2013
Beautiful dress. Nothing but compliments throughout the evening.
Accidentally got the long version even though I'm only 5'2". I'm sure the length would have been just right if I had gotten the right size, but I wore it regardless. The fit was really nice and overall, the look was just what I needed. The dress was so comfortable, I could wear it just lounging around. The color also looked really nice with my pale skin. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2013
Beautiful color and great design!
In a sea of black dresses this lilac really stood out! The color was very flattering and the fit was true to size. I'm 5'7" and ordered the 2L and 4L as a backup. The 2L became unavailable right before my event, so I went with the 4L...it fit like a true 4 but was very very long. I had to wear 6" heels in an attempt to keep the dress from dragging on the ground and/or being stepped on. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat but would probably go with the "Regular" length instead of "Long."
KristenApril 25, 2013
I'm also a 32D, how did the dress fit you in the chest? Did you have to use tape or feel like you we showing 'too much'? Thank you :)
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Kristen, This dress is not super revealing! Highly recommend.
Caryl AnnMay 3, 2013
Hi Kristen, the RTR response is correct. I did not need any tape and never felt like the dress was showing too much...I thought the top fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
April 22, 2013
LOVED this!
I adored this dress. It was absolutely STUNNING and I received endless compliments. I wore it to my prom, and it was great to dance in! I've lost weight, and am now a size 2, but the four fit well. The only issues with the dress were its length (it's very long), you can't wear any sort of bra, and if you aren't careful if you have a smaller bust, the fabric will get loose around the chest and you may show a little too much boobage. With any dress, you must be a little careful, but I loved this dress. I wish I could keep it and wear it again.
KirstenApril 23, 2013
Would you say it is true to the color on the website?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Kirsten, Yes! This dress is a beautiful pastel purple but doesn't wash women out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
April 26, 2013
Beautiful dress..but not right for me. :( Santana wore this on Glee!!
The dress is gorgeous, but it's just not right for my body type. Even with 6 inch heels it was too long and the front was a little loose. I got it for my trial and oh how i wish it would fit the way i want! Regardless, with the right body type, this will look amazing on you.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2013
Great dress! Definitely a 10 out of 10
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore it to my boyfriend's military ball and it was perfect for the occasion. A lot of girls complimented me on the color which is a lot more lavender than shown in the original model photo. As other women reviewed though, this dress needs fashion tape if you are smallish in the boob area. The material was loose there for me and I'm a size B. So I taped it down underneath. The tape held without a problem so it really wasn't a stress. But I would recommend choosing a different dress if you're a size A. Otherwise, great dress overall.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Received so many compliments!
This was my first rental, but it couldn't have worked out better! I received so many compliments on my dress!!! It really was a hit. Fits true to size, I was very comfortable all night. Ran a bit long, I ordered the 6L, and I had to hold my dress when walking or going up/down stairs. I'm 5'8" and wore 2" heels. Seriously though, I've never received so many compliments before!! I really recommend this dress, the color and design are beautiful. Thanks RTR :)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2013
This dress was SO gorgeous and unique for prom! I loved wearing it and got lots of compliments!
I am 5'3'' and wore about 3.5 inch heels and the dress was still a bit long. And you need LOTS of fashion tape in the bust area. I also put some in the back because it was gaping a bit. The slip is pretty tight fitting in the hips, but overall true to size.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×