Party All Night Gown

$90 rental
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look radiant in this all black sequin gown by Badgley Mischka at the black tie gala. Mix and match your accessories with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Envy Necklace and Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle.

Also available gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs short in length. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits many cup sizes, size up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'3'' woman in 3'' heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs short in length. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits many cup sizes, size up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs short - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'3'' woman in 3'' heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins(100% nylon). Strapless neckline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
615 reviews
Fit
Large47
True to Size472
Small39
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 1, 2015
Perfectly formal, no need for tall heels!
Shorter ladies, this is your dream dress. I went to a black-tie hot-air-ballooning party, and was warned ahead of time that flat shoes were the way to go. As someone who's under 5' tall, that's a scary thing to hear, but this dress was absolutely perfect! The petite size was just right for some low wedges, and I got to feel glamorous and fun rather than worrying about tripping over the bottom of the dress. The boning can get a little bit pokey if you're moving around a lot; I'm not sure that I'd wear this dress for dancing, but it's great for less active events.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
November 25, 2015
A fun evening with friends for a worthy fundraiser. The dress was stunning!
Pros- the dress was beautiful and elegant-- just what I wanted! Cons - Strapless was difficult. The weight of the dress pulled the dress down so I was constantly pulling it up! I should have ordered a size 2 so that it was more fitted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 24, 2015
I felt amazing!!
This dress is great!! It was a little big and long, I'm 5'7 and usually a 4/6 but it was fine the night! The dress is stretchy and the way the sequined laid, it was flattering and comfortable. Also.. the sequined didn't bother my arms either like I thought they would.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
November 23, 2015
I got tons of compliments on this dress!! It fit and looked perfect!
I am 5'3 and 105 and I wore the 0. It was just the right length and size. Stayed perfect the whole night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2015
Great dress!
This dress was simply stunning on. Many compliments and definitely one of the best dresses of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 12, 2015
I attended a 007 themed event and this dress was perfect for the occasion.
The dress was perfect! It has a very comfortable fit and of course I loved the many compliments I received wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2015
Loved this dress. I rented the silver 1 a few years ago & knew the black would not let me down
Everything was great. I am 5"5 and the regular was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 8, 2015
RTR: SO helpful & made sure I had the perfect dress! Made for a magical, memorable night.
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and I've never felt more like a movie star! I tried to order this dress in a size 4L, but unfortunately it wasnt available as it came back damaged from another return. Rent the Runway was amazing about alerting me ahead of time and made sure I would have something that would work for my big event. They even sent me several replacement options overnight. However, it all worked out and it's a good thing I went with the size 2 Long in this dress. The dress started out tight but slowly got looser throughout the evening, to the point where I was constantly pulling up the bust area. This is the reason I gave 4/5 stars and said it runs slightly large. Also, the long is incredibly long! I am 5'9 and with 4 inch heels, I was still tripping on the beautiful train of this dress! So if you are any shorter than 5'9, you might want to consider getting the regular length. Overall, it was an amazing experience and certainly made for a magical, memorable night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
November 7, 2015
This was a wonderful experience for my first RTR time.
This was an absolutely wonderful experience for my first time. The dress was the perfect length with my heels...which never happens because I'm so petite. I couldn't be happier !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 2, 2015
Dress was SUPER tight but fabulous. Definitely order a size or two up. I wore this to a military ba
Once it's on it's easy to move in.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 2, 2015
Kim Kardashian has more fun!
I used this dress to be Kim Kardashian for Halloween and it was a huge hit! I went to a Halloween party and almost everyone came up to me and said how hilarious and fun my costume was! I ordered a 10P and 12P. The 10P fit me perfectly but because I was going for the fake butt look (just like Kim!) I went up a size so my pillow would fit in the dress. The dress was so beautiful that I would definitely wear it for a date night or wedding night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
October 31, 2015
Very flattering - fun to wear something that's not my typical style
I wore this for a National Guard dining out. Pros: gorgeous dress, I felt very glamorous, husband loved (and picked) it, fit well enough, fairly comfortable. Cons: zipper was very difficult (on both sizes), left scratches/small cuts from sequins, wish it were a little longer I ended up wearing my normal size, the 6R, though it was a big shorter than I would have liked. My heels were probably 2". The 8R had a little more length (why?) but was too baggy in the chest.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
October 26, 2015
A gorgeous dress that fit absolutely perfect!
Perfect fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
October 22, 2015
perfect black dress for formal events
beautiful silhouette that fit perfectly. bust has a light padding. was not heavy even with the sequins.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
October 22, 2015
The dress was stunning. I received rave reviews the entire night. I attended a black tie wedding.
It was a little long when I took my shoes off, but overall was amazing. Had to get a larger size because of my chest, but it worked perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 18, 2015
Very forgiving for my 6 months post-baby body.
Great dress, tons of compliments. Very comfortable and forgiving for my post-baby body. Did wear a slimming garment underneath, but could have gotten away without it if I had to. Felt very confident in this gown!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
October 18, 2015
I was complemented all night and felt like a goddess in this dress!
Very snug, and accentuates curves very well. I ordered a 2L and a 4L but felt that the 2L was better fitted for me. I cannot recommend this dress high enough!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 12, 2015
An appearance for a pageant title at a charity event.
Great fit! Made a mistake of not wearing a bra so it was sliding down throughout the night but the fit was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2015
I wore this to a formal banquet at the Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta. I received many compliments!
Usually I wear a size 4. However RTR was booked for that size so I opted for a 6L and a 2L. I found that the dress ran a bit big so the 2 fit. Unfortunately the clasp was broken on the 2L when it was shipped to me - and because this is a strapless gown, you need the clasp. So I ended up having to wear the 6L. It was definitely large in the stomach and hip area on me, but thankfully because the ruching of the gown it wasn't too noticeable. I ran out to get a strapless bra before the banquet to help the dress stay up - this event was the Tudor United Sportscar Championship banquet so I was in a different city and didn't have one with me. I would recommend not going by the size chart on RTR for length. I reserved the L length based on that and the gown was too long. I am 5'6" and wore 5 inch heels. The dress was still dragging so I held it up most of the night. The gown itself is beautiful. I was worried the sequins would irritate my arms but they did not at all! The dress has just the right amount of sparkle to turn heads, but still look classy and elegant for a formal affair.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2015
So easy!
This dress definitely has wow factor. The fabric is thick and the ruching hides any little problem spots you may be worried about but at the same time, it does add a bit of volume to your midsection. I didn't have any trouble with it staying up all night and the boning wasn't painful. Even after a night of dancing, the sequins didn't irritate my underarms (one of my big concerns when renting this dress!).
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 4, 2015
Fabulous dress for a formal affair!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to to an Emmy awards gala - definitely a swanky affair! It was a perfect fit and I got so many compliments! It was a bit long, even with 4-inch heels, so I had to pick it up frequently to avoid being stepped on or from stepping on it myself. But it was super comfortable - I would definitely recommend it for a formal event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 30, 2015
Gorgeous Dress!
This dress is gorgeous!!! I rented it for a black-tie holiday party and it couldn't have been more perfect! The dress was well made and had great boning in it (a huge plus for my size D's)! I am average height so the Regular was a great fit and the dress has a very small train which made it feel extra fancy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
September 28, 2015
Loved this dress - it was absolutely stunning! It was a show stopper and everyone asked about it!
It can be a little tricky to zip, but that is normal with sequin dresses. I got a 0P and it hit the floor enough for me to wear short heels, may try a 0 next time I rent this. Love the fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 27, 2015
So glamorous!
I will miss this dress! I felt beautiful all night. It sparkles from top to bottom. The way it gathers in the back is so pretty and so flattering. The length surprisingly was perfect for me at 5'6" in 3.5" heels. I received compliments all nights. This was my first rental - and won't be my last. The dress was in near perfect condition (the boning had been removed, which concerned me at first, but I was able to wear a strapless bra), it arrived exactly when I expected it and I felt like I would have had emergency options if I had needed them. Wonderful experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
September 22, 2015
I couldn't give it 4 stars (there was a little "pull" that I had to repair). I LOVED this gown!
I felt like the Belle of the ball! The dress fit perfectly, I'm 5'1" however so it was a little long with platform peep toes. I wasn't stumbling though. The dress has a little stretch and although I bought a strapless one-piece undergarment it fit so well that I didn't need it and I am short and full-breasted as you can see! I got SO many compliments. Zipper was a little challenging, but that's to be expected given the millions of beautiful sequins. Once up, everything stayed in place! This is my first experience with Rent The Runway. CERTAINLY not my last...
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2015
Perfect gown for a Ballroom Wedding!
This was my Bridesmaid dress for a Ballroom Wedding, and it was gorgeous! It might not look like much on the hanger but it photographs really well! The material is stretchy and very forgiving. I recommend ordering your exact size or a size down. The fishboning in the top was slightly uncomfortable but tolerable. I'm also 5'2" and ordered a regular based on the specs, it dragged on the floor. Short ladies, order a petite!
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 15, 2015
The dress made me feel comfortable all night and I got so many complements!
Fit was great, loved that it was stretchy so it fit over my hips. I'm 5'10" and I ordered a long and the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 1, 2015
A classic gown!
This dress is beautiful. Overall really comfortable and hugs all the right places. I don't recall having issues with the sequins irritating my under arms. I loved it so much I almost rented it for a second wedding, even though the same group of people will be there as the wedding I wore it to - I luckily found the gold version instead. My biggest regret is that I didn't take any pictures in this dress - don't make the same mistake, you'll want to remember what you look like wearing it for the rest of your life!!!
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 26, 2015
Show Stopper!
This dress was amazing! I recieved so many compliments on it from other women & men at the Gala I attended for a non-profit. The petite was perfect length for a gal 5'2 with about 3 inch heels. It is super stretchy and comfortable, I didn't have any issues with the sequin rubbing or irritating my arms. I am also have a small chest so my push up bra filled in the wire space perfectly. Only issue I had was the zipper...so hard getting it zipped up at home with my mom's help. So to avoid asking my date to help me zip it up (we were away for the weekend) I just slipped it over my head already zipped up, thank god for being stretchy...slid on with ease! :) Really happy with my rental and this dress in particular!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 23, 2015
Classic & forgiving!!
I wore this lovely dress to a celebrity wedding & I felt like a queen! The cut of the dress makes it very forgiving & adds a few curves. The train is subtle but sexy as ever. Luckily I requested a delivery date 2 days prior to the event bc I wasn't sure how the dress would fit. Initially I ordered a size 10R & 12R. The size 10 fit the breast with room but the material around the stomach seemed stretched out. The dress does have bones to keep your breast up & has a good amount of stretch for the bottom heavy ladies. RtR's amazing customer service overnight me a size 8 & included the MOST amazing necklace to go with it. I personally would've NEVER picked this necklace BUT it looked amazing & it gave me the POW POW POW I was looking for. I'm a 36DDD (depending on my water intake maybe a 36E lol) and I stand at 5'2. I ended up wearing a waist cincher to give myself a little more shape & sticking to the size 10R bc of the sequins possibly irritating my armpits after a few hours in the 8R. Sure it looked a little big but I was comfortable!! I wore flats with no problem. So if I DID rent this again, with intentions of wearing heels, I'd consider a 10L. Overall amazing dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 12, 2015
Customer service and ease of ordering.
Gorgeous and stunning dress. Unfortunately as I have a very broad back the dress was too small around my chest/back and I was unable to wear it. I think going up sizes the dress would have been to large in the hips and length.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
August 3, 2015
I felt so pretty and the sequins made me stand out.
The sides were very uncomfortable because the sequins were scratching my under arms. Other than that it fit perfectly
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 30, 2015
Drees was absolutely stunning
The wires on the breast can be a tiny uncomfortable but not a big deal at all. Very much worth it. Wore it for a Gala event and it was perfect. It was a little short with my very high heels even though I used the regular size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 22, 2015
Amazingly beautiful dress!! I received a million and one compliments!!
The dress for the most part ran true to size, I have pretty athletic body and usually wear between a 2 and 4 and I was able to comfortably fit in the 2. The dress was really comfortable and didn't feel uncomfortable from the sequins until the end of the evening, even then it wasn't bad!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 17, 2015
My event was NYE, and to be honest RTR made it unforgettable!
At 5'5 (almost 5'6) I was nervous that since the 0 L wasn't available that this dress would look silly with my heels. I like VERY big heels and the dress looked perfect! I was comfortable, don't remember any itching and had no issues with the dress. It was very clearly a well worn dress by other ladies, but who cares- less for you to have to worry about. And you couldn't tell unless you're actually staring at the dress up close. I ordered my dress last minute & there was confusion about my backup- RTR sent me a third back up free & expedited it AND sent chocolates for their error which was really super minor and understandable a week or so prior to NYE. Absolutely amazing customer service & dress across the board!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
July 2, 2015
Great fit, the dress stole the show!
The dress fit great! It was a little long for me but I am only 5'3". I didn't wear a platform heel but my heels were about 5". I got tons of compliments and the process was so easy. Can't wait to order something else!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 2, 2015
Endless compliments and significant confidence while wearing the dress.
I wore this dress to chaperone Prom. There are zero cons with this dress. It was comfortable, easy to move around in, easy to zip on your own, and especially flattering for someone who is busty and curvy. I got endless comments all night from students, coworkers, and even people staying in the hotel where our Prom was held. I felt comfortable and glamorous! Definitely a dress I would consider buying to keep in my closet!! My favorite dress I have rented from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 30, 2015
The dress was truly beautiful and the right length.
The dress was truly beautiful but was a little irritating under the arms because of the sequins. The ribbing used in the corset of the dress can also be irritating. Not the most comfortable dress but very pretty.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 30, 2015
Received so many compliments all night long!
Wore this dress to a black tie formal wedding. Absolutely loved the dress when it came. The length was perfect and it fit like a glove everywhere else. It actually gave me some curves. A little big in the breat area, but fixed that by wearing cutlets and a strapless bra. A couple cons about the particular dress I had: the boning on the right breast had become exposed. I covered the top metal part with a bandaid, but because it was no longer sewn in its place, it constantly moved around and would poke my rib cage at the bottom. The sequins on the top of the left breast area were no longer there. Because it was black sequins on black fabric, you couldn't tell from a distance or in photos that they were missing. But once people were close up to me, it got pointed out to me a bit (which was a little embarrassing and am surprised the dress was even sent to me in that condition). Also, the sequins under my arms would stick up and scratch against my arms all night while walking or dancing. All in all, the dress did its duty, I just hope this particular one gets retired after me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
June 27, 2015
Great fit
This dress is stretchy so it molds to your body. The petite size is great for someone 5 feet tall.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×