Palais du Louvre Gown

$75 rental
$640 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed wearing this insane beauty by Badgley Mischka for the black tie event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''. Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' an above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''. Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' an above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
481 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(345)
Small
(50)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2015
Rent the runway has IMPECCABLE customer service
I ordered the Marchesa Note Percision Gown in a 4R and 6R. The 6R was not available so they sent me this in 6R. The style is absolutely beautiful but it was a little big so thankfully the 4R in Marchesa fit great. I was so impressed with their quick thinking and sending me this other gorgeous dress. If you order this make sure to order your size and maybe even one down it was a little loose at the top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2015
Absolutely perfect! Wish I could keep it.
Absolutely loved this dress. Compliments all night. I'm a bit larger on the bottom and usually don't go for form fitting silhouettes, but this dress was perfect. Flattering in all of the right places. A little itchy around the sleeves and bust, but well worth it. I wore 4" heels and the length was good. Maybe a little short, but I wasn't tripping all night. Wish I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 6, 2015
so many compliments!!
true to size..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 5, 2015
I loved the dress, but it was so small
It ran a little small. I usually wear a 12 but this was so tight I had to have a lace up corset on to make myself fit into this dress.. I loved the dress but because it was so tight I was so uncomfortable all night it hurt. it and the sequins on the arm bands and the top very almost painful
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
April 30, 2015
Great dress overall. Sparkly and feminine.
I enjoyed the dress overall. I was disappointed in the length though. I ordered the 14R and wound up wearing the 16R because it was WAY too short. I am 5'6, wore 2 inch heels and even without the heels on, my ankles showed. Definitely order a longer length. I wore the 16 because the length was a little better. My arms were pretty uncomfortable (the sleeves were tight) in the 14 which is another reason I went with the bigger size. The bust could have had a little more structure. For someone with swollen pregnant DD breasts it made me look really flat which is hard to do lol. I know it seems like all I'm doing is complaining, just want you to know what I would have wanted changed. I did feel beautiful in this dress. It sparkles like no other and it made me feel super feminine. However, I probably would not order this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
April 26, 2015
The dress is absolutely beautiful!
I ordered a 12R with a 14R as a backup. It has a nice stretch that hugs the right places, so I probably could have gotten away with a 10R. I'm 5"2, with 4 inch heels it was the perfect length. I suggest to wear a really good strapless bra for proper support. I received many complements on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2015
Super comfortable, looks great. Easy to walk and dance in. No need to hoik.
Definitely wear with shapewear (unless you're 21!). It helps to have a friend to do the zipper.
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 20, 2015
This dress was perfect! Strangers stopped me and told me how much they loved it!
I'm a 36D, and by the end of the night, i could tell the dress was loosening up at the top. The gathering around the waistline is so forgiving,. I didn't even need spanx (WINNING!). I'm 6ft and wore 4in heels, The back train drug the ground, and if i would have worn the larger size, it would have pooled on the ground in the front and the back. If you're tall, the XL length is fantastic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 19, 2015
Great service. Made me feel special.
I normally wear a size 14 but found the 16R fit better. It was a bit long for my 5'2 frame but with 3" heels I was able to work with the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 14, 2015
Impossible to zip up!
Dress ran small. Sleeves squished my arms and were very uncomfortable. I did not end up wearing this dress and went with a back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
April 13, 2015
Gorgeous gown got lots of compliments
Rented this dress for a wedding . Dress was very comfortable to wear . It runs true to size . I highly recommend RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2015
classy and elegant
I rented this dress for a friend who absolutely loved it! It hugged her curves and hid all unflattering areas. She said she got so many compliments. She rented the 8R and 10R and found the 10R to be more comfortable (even though she's normally a size 8) because the sleeves were tighter on the 8. If you have bigger/broader shoulders go for a size up. The fabric was stretchy and although full of sequins it didn't irritate her. She's 5'3" and 150 lbs with an hourglass shape and the size 10 fit her perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
Second time's the charm!
My first rental experience wasn't all that I expected it to be but this dress totally made my second! When I first tried it on it, I wasn't in love but the day of, everything came together! I received compliments that night and many more on social media. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2015
This dress was awesome.
It fit just right and made you feel like a queen.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2015
I had a complete stranger approach me and tell me that my look was so elegant. I felt beautiful.
First timer with RTR. Panicked at first with the zipper. It took four hands in the back to get it zipped. But once zipped the fit felt great (thanks to Spanx). I have an hourglass figure, so the dress was snug. I probably could have worn a 10L, but I was determined to fit in the 8L. I wore 3inch heels, and the bottom lightly draped the floor. Gorgeous dress. I paired it with emerald green jewelry. I felt fantastic the entire night. Will definitely use RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
March 25, 2015
This dress made me feel like a celebrity. Perfect for my special day!
I felt like this dress was true to size however for you taller ladies I would suggest getting the long if you plan on wearing heels. I am 4'11" and wore flats and it draped on the floor perfectly. Be prepared to have someone assist you with zip up in the back (for you ladies that did that independently good for you!! LOL) Amazing dress, amazing fit. I will definitely be back for more. The service is wonderful. Great company!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
March 24, 2015
G*L*A*M*O*U*R*
I rented this for a Glamour photo shoot, I made THE best choice! This dress fit me amazing, i had a 12r and 14r, the 14 zipped way to easy. So I opted for the 12r, it hugged all my curves, my ta ta's we're nestled in snug!!! This is an amazing dress, especially for curves!!! I'm 5'4" so I thought the R would be super long, but it was not, it was perfect w/my 3" heels. Would rent this again!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
March 24, 2015
I didn't end up wearing this dress, as it was damaged and I got a replacement.
Got this in a 12 and 14. The 14 fit best, however, the 12 would have fit, albeit a bit snugly, however, the arms were really small. There was no way I could comfortably wear it. If you have athletic arms, order the next size up just in case.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2015
Glam!
The only problem I had was the hanger straps kept popping up all evening. I would suggest pinning them down prior to dressing. This dress was comfortable throughout a formal event with a sit-down dinner. If you are any taller than me (5'2"), you should order the long size. The regular came to the top of my toes. This dress has a lot of stretch, and is pretty heavy (but not so heavy that I felt encumbered).
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2015
Wore this to a Junior League ball where the theme was Gatsby! It was perfect!
I'm 4 months pregnant so I went up a few size just in case. Really glad I did because the bust was still pretty tight. Pre-pregnancy I was about a 10, and I ended up wearing the 14R. I'm 5'0 so it was long but I was able to wear it and just pick it up when I walked.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2015
The dress was a hit! I felt on point and ready for the ball!
Don't wear stockings...the lining didn't go all the way down and sequines rip the sotckings up!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2015
Great dress! Fits great, lots of compliments.
Runs true to size. I wore this for a charity ball, and it looked and fit great! It is a little stretchy, which makes for a great fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 187lbs
March 12, 2015
Gorgeous dress, perfect for any dressy occasion.
I normally wear a size 12 but in the breast area I am big so decided the bigger size was needed. it was a little snug in around the arms but the dress fit perfect in my midsection and bottom area.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2015
I did not wear this. It was a backup dress.
It fit well despite my DDD chest. I just liked my original dress better.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2015
So Comfortable. Tons of compliments.
I am 5'3 and was worried about getting a long dress but the length was perfect with a three inch heel. Very true to size and stretchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2015
Everyone gave me compliments all night!
I LOVE THIS DRESS!!! It pained me to return it! It ran a bit small up top. I got compliments all night long and it made me feel like a princess! Love love love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 195lbs
February 23, 2015
Simple, classic, BEAUTIFUL
The dress has a stretchy material, so definitely wear spanx with it. But the sparkles detracted attention from my stomach, so I felt confident and comfortable in this dress. I would have worn the 12XL, but decided to wear the 14XL because I was wearing 3"+ heels. If I had been wearing my alternate pair of shoes, I would've worn the 12XL. I'm 6'1" and the 12XL was pooling (slightly) on the floor when I was barefoot! I never wear strapless dresses, but this one stayed up amazingly well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 22, 2015
Arms are tight
Awesome dress. I felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2015
Glamorous Dress!!
Very glamorous dress that fit my body curves well but I am 5'8" and wore 3 1/2 inch heels and I felt that the 6 long was a bit too long on me. (Maybe I was sent an extra long by mistake) Also my heels did get stuck in the train a few times while simply just walking. It was a very cold night and the dress kept me warm because of the thickness of the sequined material. This was my first rental with RTR and the whole process was very smooth and the return so easy. I will definitely be using them again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2015
This dress was sooo fun, classy and sexy!!!
I absolutely loved this dress for the black tie fundraiser I attended. It fit like a glove but was still very comfortable too, no spanx needed. It does also have a built in bra but being a 34DDD I still wore a strapless even thought it would have been fine without. It wasn't as heavy as I expected so that was a nice surprise. I did find the 8L still a bit long with 4" heels but it wasn't a big deal, would rather have it too long than too short. You do need help getting it on/off but also not a big deal. It was a little tough getting it on and zipped the first time, but then it was fine. This was my first RTR experience and I was 100% happy with everything. Wish I could have kept this dress!!! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2015
It is such a beautiful gown, definitely turns heads!
It fit perfectly, the length was great because it showed a little bit of my shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 14, 2015
Stands out in the crowd
Really glam option for a formal wedding. More glam than usual but I really enjoyed this fit! Lots of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 12, 2015
Great dress. Probably even better for someone with curves. Highly recommend!
This dress is really flattering. I felt very beautiful and received many compliments, I'm only disappointed I didn't get a good picture to share. I have a large bust and generally have to be careful with strapless type dresses but I didn't feel like I was busting out of this dress at all. I think this dress would be especially gorgeous on someone that has more curves than I do (my waist and hips are pretty straight). The material and ruching around the middle are also extra flattering if you are self conscious in that area as well. Regarding size- I would err on the side of going smaller rather than larger because of the fit of this dress. I also LOVED that it was offered in XL length. It was perfect for me with 3" heels. Oh, and... make sure someone is around to help zip you up! The way you put your arms into the sleeves won't allow you to reach behind to the zipper.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 11, 2015
This gown and standing next to my man ...I could not have asked for a better evening.
I was able to try the gown on at the Georgetown store though initially I selected a different dress. Should have gone with my gut feeling because I called the next day and changed my order to this gorgeous dress...as I woke up realized I made a mistake. So I reread the reviews that others wrote on the gown as I could not remember the size I tried on...typically I wear between a two or four. Thankful for the many reviews and for the two size rental option - the four was a perfect fit. The gown was not heavy at all and the best thing was it does not wrinkle. I am 5'3" and wore 3.5" inch heel. Personally, I tend to wear shorter cocktail dresses to events and was a bit intimidated at wearing a long gown - I felt amazing!!! Most of all, I would recommend RTR to anyone.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
February 11, 2015
the dress was one of the nicer ones at the charity ball. sophisticated and mature. Elegant
The 14R might have fit better in the body but longer length needed for me @ 5'10 plus heels. I wore 16L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2015
The back-up dress.
I did not care for this dress. The arms fit strangely and I do not think it is flattering. I wore the back-up dress instead.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 8, 2015
I received tons of compliments on the dress. It was great fun to be so dressed up.
I ordered two sizes – 10 and 12. Upon receipt, I tried on the 10 first. It would not begin to zip. I had a moment of panic thinking the 12 would be too small as well. There isn't a lot of difference between two sizes....The 12 was perfect with a little extra room. Just for fun, my 15-year-old daughter tried on the 10. She is slim and wears a size 0 or 2....the 10 fit her without it being "too big." I'm wondering if the 10 is sized small?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
February 8, 2015
Enjoyed this dress as it was great for a black tie.
The off the shoulder/arm area tends to have an odd fit. I couldn't get the ideal comfort level in this area and I kept trying to maneuver and fix but nothing seemed to work.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2015
Big Chest Needed!
Beautiful dress but definitely meant for someone with curves. It swallowed me. The fit is flattering and the material is thick enough to hold you in, but was just too much for me.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 183lbs
February 7, 2015
First of all the customer service at Rent the Runway is absolutely amazing!
This dress was fantastic. Totally had a classic, old school Hollywood vibe. I probably could have worn a 10L because the fabric did have stretch. You didn't need to wear any Spanx with jr at all because the ruching and sequins hid any imperfections. It fell so nicely due to the weight of the dress and it stayed up the whole night (even with it being a little big). The only con I can think of is the length. If you're tall like me, it's not going to hit the floor with heels on. It didn't bother me too much! Wearing it with sandals ruined the vibe of the dress so I just sucked it up!! Ladies if you have bigger boobs this dress will make you look like Jessica Rabbit!!!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×