Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(338)
Small
(181)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 21, 2012
Dress fits great!

I was worried about the arms being too tight, dress fits great! I'm not much of a "stand out" personality, so this dress was a little too much for me with the detail. But still a VERY beautiful dress.

LaurenSeptember 21, 2012
I love this dress but I'm short (5'2") ... worried it will be too long on me...I would like something mid thigh or right above the knee. Where did this dress fall for you?
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 21, 2012
The dress was perfect for the event

It fit true to size

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2012
Great dress-- wore it to the Emmy Awards in LA/Governor's Ball -- comfortable and well made!

Very pretty dress. Great color and the sequins were just the right amount of glitz-- not too much. The dress fit well-- it was a touch tighter through the hips than I would have preferred-- not alot of give in the fabric and also slightly shorter than expected but all in all, I felt appropriately dressed and my husband LOVED it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 30, 2012
Sparkle Show stopper

Great dress! I received lots of compliments all night. Very flattering to someone with curves. The size 4 was a little tight but the size 6 had some extra material just below the bust which made it look like it was too big. At current weight, I'm in between a size 4 and 6 on things, depending on the designer so honestly either size would have worked.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2012
Loved it!

I was concerned that the dress would not get to me on time, bit it did! The dresses were nicely packaged and well kept. I absolutely loved the fit of this dress. It was perfect for me as I am only 5'2" and sometimes dresses are a bit too long for me... This one was perfect! I received so many compliments and the decorative pieces on the dress did not pop off or snag on anything. Love, love, love this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2012
A beautiful dress. Great fit, many compliments! Thanks RTR!

Dress can fit a variety of body styles. It is a beautiful color and visually stands out in the crowd!

SaraOctober 2, 2012
what shoes did you wear? I've rented this dress for an event coming up and I cant figure out shoes. you look amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 3, 2012
This dress is a win-win-win: Sexy, sparkly and stunning!

I adore this dress! I ordered it for a wedding in the mountains and felt like a sparkyl Cinderella. I got a ton of compliments and didn't want to sent it back! I'm nearly 5'9 and was worried that it might be too short but it fit perfectly; the model in the photo must be very leggy! The one caution I have is that there is not a lot of give in the hips area. If you're not true to size in your hips, the dress might not work. In that case, err and on the side of caution and order a size up. Otherwise, this is a stunner and you will get compliments all night long!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 9, 2012
Glitzy!

I was THE best dressed at wedding for sure! Received a million compliments even from the bride :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 9, 2012
Perfect dress that's unique and stunning!

I got a lot of compliments through out the night. I usually wear a size 2, however, the dress came damaged so I had to wear the back up size 4. A little loose but it did the job!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
October 9, 2012
Beautiful, eye-catching dress perfect for a New York City evening wedding.

I rented a 2 and a 4. I have wide hips and was afraid the dress wouldn't fit over them well based on the other reviews, but I had no problem fitting into the 2 with my Spanx on. The torso is roomy. The length was perfect. The dress is a bit heavy, but I wore it to an October wedding on a chilly night and it was perfect for the weather. I wouldn't want to wear it in the summer though! Another thing I liked is how demure the dress is. It covers your chest and arms so you don't feel exposed, but you still look amazing.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
October 10, 2012
A wonderful party dress for any woman of any age

This dress was beautifully made and was true to size. I loved wearing it to a black tie wedding and I received many, many compliments. I don't think I would ever waste my time running around to purchase a "special" dress again. RTR was extremely time and cost efficient. I will definitely rent for my next big occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 13, 2012
Wore this to my bachelorette party and felt like a star!

This was perfect for my bachelorette party- I would never buy/wear something like this in my everyday life, so RTR was the perfect opportunity to get something fun and sparkly for this occasion. I got so many compliments! I loved this dress because it showed off my legs but had long sleeves (I like to keep my arms covered) and a covered up neck. I ordered "Mystery Bling" and it came with the Lauren Merkin Georgie Clutch, which went great with the dress. I wore this with gray peep-toe pumps.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable! Love it!

I got compliments all night on this lovely Badgely Mischka deep blue dress. And the best part was... no Spanx needed. I could have worn the 8 with Spanx, but opted for the 10. This dress would fit most figures and still be flattering. It does have a waist, but not too tight and it's not too loose like a shift. The sequins are beautifully arranged on the dress to look like starbusts and are of very good quality. My accessories were the Kenneth Jay Lane Deep Blue earrings and the "Dress Me Up" bracelet suggested by the stylist at RTR. Such fun. Thanks Rent the Runway!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2012
The dress was perfect for an evening fall wedding. It was eye-catching but not overwhelming

The bust line is a little tight, if you're larger-busted you may have a bit of trouble with the top fitting.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
The dress was perfect for the occasion, very fun and flirty!

The fit was good, it is short but not too short.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
Simply gorgeous.

I randomly tried this dress on in the RTR showroom months ago and instantly fell in love with it. I ordered the dress in a size 8 and 10. I could have gotten away with either size but, the size 8 was slightly tight on my bust (36D), so I opted to wear the 10. Very flattering and fun to wear to any evening event!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2012
I wore this dress for graduation. I loved it and received tons of compliments.

Fit perfectly, and I love that they send you a second size to ensure proper fit!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2012
My sister told me about RTR and we both rented dresses for a family wedding and looked fabulous!!

The fit was pretty close to true fit. I am taller (5'9") than the average girl so I was a little worried about length but it was almost perfect. The dress was beautiful and made me feel special. I walked around with my head held a little higher because that dress gave me more confidence. Sometimes it's a great pair of shoes or a fabulous dress that can make any women feel like a princess even if just for a night.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
LOVE IT!

I wore this dress for our 5 year anniversary night out in the city. It was fabulous! We had a wonderful time and the dress was still comfortable after 7 hours of wearing. The sleeves on this dress are magnificent!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
Great dress; everyone loved it!!!

Fitted on the rear, loose on the midsection, the sleeves are gorgeous. Never wore a dress that got as many likes!!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 24, 2012
Flattering and classy

I rented this dress as my backup when my original dress was not available in my size 1 day before my rental (major freakout moment!). While the original dress the other size fit and I didn't end up wearing this one to the wedding, I will be renting it again to wear on another event in the future!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
October 25, 2012
A Badgley Mischka star!

I absolutely loved this dress. It's my favorite rental from RTR so far. I actually wore it to the RTR launch event in NYC and it was a great choice for a chilly fall night in the city. The fit was snug enough to really show off my figure, yet had enough loose material to breathe. My only complaint was the fabric was really delicate- you definitely have to be careful not to catch any snags. Otherwise, the color is beautiful and the sequin design is so intricate and breathtaking.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 25, 2012
This dress was amazing! I had so many compliments. The embellishment is incredible!

I have broad shoulders, so the top was a little snug, but the fit well otherwise. Thank goodness because there was a mixup at the warehouse and my backup dress size (I ordered a 6) did not ship to me in time. The night and the dress were amazing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 31, 2012
This dress was super comfortable and cute. Lots of compliments!

Fit was perfect.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
November 5, 2012
Great dress. So pretty

little wear on the dress, bu tlooked great otherwise

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 10, 2012
I LOVE THIS DRESS

It is absolutely stunning. Very flattering fit and comfortable. I was at a night wedding, and this dress was a huge success.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 10, 2012
GREAT DRESS, GREAT FIT

I rented this dress for a cocktail-attire wedding and it was perfect and I received a lot of compliments. I am a true size 2 but can sometimes wear a 0 depending on the brand. The 2 fit. You'll love the dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Glitzy dress for night out!

Fun for a night out in Vegas! Comfortable and easy to move in, and dazzled in the lights on Fremont street!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 40DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 13, 2012
This dress was called "The Dress of the Night" and there was plenty of competition.

This dress fit perfectly. It was a dream.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 15, 2012
Glamour, Elegancy & Party Ready!

F.A.B.U.L.O.U.S. dress for the evening wedding I attended this summer. Fits runs true to size BUT it was a little shorter than I expected. Not a terrible thing but the hem was about 7-8” above my knees (my leg length is average).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 16, 2012
I'm not Mrs. Underwood...

...and this dress reminded me of that. If you have hips -- stay away. I don't have a picture because I didn't wear it. 2 hours before the wedding I scrambled to get another dress to wear. This is the FIRST time EVER something I ordered just didn't work. Oh well. It doesn't discourage me from renting -- I've been with RTR since 2010 and I love them just as much!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2012
Have Disco Ball, Must Dance!

Although the dress fit true to size, it was really heavy (LOTS of Beading) and very glitzy. Wouldn't work for my occasion, but as a New Year's party dress would be completely appropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2012
Pretty dress, but it jingles!

This was one of my back up dresses for a wedding. It was beautiful and I loved the color but I ended up not wearing it. (I wore the David Meister "Sass Meets Class" dress instead) I ended up not wearing this one because all of the embellishments jingled when I walked and I didn't really care for the 3/4 sleeves. I also wanted something a little more form-fitting. Although I imagine I would have really appreciated the dress after eating dinner... The length was good; and as I said before the color was fabulous, but it just wasn't my style.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2012
absolutely PERFECT dress to celebrate my 22nd birthday in Miami!

This was not the dress I had originally ordered but due to hurricane sandy my dress was unavailable so an abdolutely wonderful stylist from RTR ended up picking what she thought I would like and I have to say she did a great job because this dress was PERFECT! it was definitely a great dress to go party in Miami with since I stood out all night long. i am normally a size 4 but i was sent a size 6 and it actually worked out since i am hispanic and have hips and a backside and the 6 fit was not too tight so it was perfect to dance in. The length was a few inches above my knees. No need for jewelry since the dress already has so much detail to it, all i wore was a watch and ring. i definitely recommend this dress!!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Looked gorgeous! Tight in bust!

Loved the dress! I got so many compliments on it. I'm a size 6 and ordered a size 6, I wanted an 8 too just in case (because I have a bigger bust) and they were out. So after reading all the reviews I figured I'd be good with just the 6. Well, as I thought may happen, the 6 was soooo tight in the bust. It fit, they were just smushed in there though! Over all I loved it and everywhere else it fit great, just if you have a bigger bust and are smaller everywhere else, you may need the next size up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 27, 2012
Sparkle and Shine!

I was worried from the other reviews this dress might be small, but the 0 worked great for me. I agree that it is definitely slim through the hips, so if you are curvy there you may want to size up. But, I found the top of the size 0 to be a little baggy on me. Also, the sleeves were longer than I liked so I pushed the elastic up to get the effect of 3/4 sleeves. But the dress itself is gorgeous and well made. Got compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2012
Gorgeous dress!

Received this dress (along with another) as a replacement for my original order that was out of stock. I was contacted by RTR on Friday afternoon about choosing a new dress and they arrived at my hotel room the next day! Such great service. The dress was really fun and pretty to wear. I wore it out for a nice dinner and drinks in Vegas. Looked and felt great, very comfortable, though it was a little tight while sitting down.

AmberNovember 30, 2012
Hi! Wondering if it was super short? I'm thinking about wearing it to a wedding, but not sure. I'm 5'11 also
RTR CustomerNovember 30, 2012
Hi Amber! The model is actually 5'11 so it will hit you in a very similar spot to where it is hitting her.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2012
Service was unbelievable ! Second time I've rented, but definitely not my last.

Beautiful dress! Did not wear only because it was my backup and my first choice was better for my occasion

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Stunning dress!

Absolutely loved this dress! However, I ended up wearing another dress as this was my back-up choice. If I had gotten this dress in a size smaller, I might have chosen this dress for my company's holiday party. The color is stunning and I felt so elegant wearing it. Due to its popularity, you could tell this dress was worn quite a few times, but didn't have any major flaws.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
December 3, 2012
Great dress!!

The dress looked about the same on me as it does on the model in the picture. It was shorter than I expected reading the other reviews. I guess if you have long legs be prepared that it will be quite short. I got many compliments throughout the night!!

See more reviews:
7 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×