Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(337)
Small
(181)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 27, 2013
It was so beautiful and even though I was 12 weeks pregnant it was very flattering
It fit true to size and was not too tight through the middle
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2013
Great for winter event!
I rented this dress for a late November wedding and it was perfect with black tights & pumps. Loved the sheer sleeve for this time of year. In terms of fit, this dress definitely ran true to size for me (many other reviews recommended a size down). Overall happy with the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
December 5, 2013
Beware curvier girls!
I'd been eyeing this dress in my Shortlist for quite some time. I ordered it in anticipation to wear to my annual Nutcracker outing, wherein me and my mom or me and my friends dress up in black tie/opera regala and go out on the town for a night. Unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress. I am a true size 8 and was blessed with curvier hips and thighs. This dress style is more of a sheath style that runs straight down - perfect for girls who are straight up and down or with slight curves. The 8 was snug in the hips and thighs, but big in the chest/abdomen area. I called RTR immediately upon receipt of the dress and Katie was SO helpful in finding me a replacement. I probably gave her a headache in the process of trying to nail down my style/what I was going for in shopping for a dress, but we did narrow it down to one that she found to be AVAILABLE in time for my event!! This just shows you how impeccable RTR's customer service is. They are willing to work with you because they WANT your evening to be memorable. Hopefully with my new dress it will be memorable but so will RTR's impeccable, top notch customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
December 9, 2013
This Dress Runs true to size. However, It has no give so if your a bit larger on the top size up!
I was not able to wear this dress and wore my back up. The material does not stretch at all so it was quite tight on the top for a 36D. It looked tight and I would not have been comfortable hugging people and didn't want to pull the dress in that area. However, everything else about the dress was great and I will probably order again for another event in a bigger size!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2013
Great dress. Super comfortable and got tons of compliments (this pix is with no hair/make-up!)
Ordered the 4. It was a little tight on the bottom section, but the size 6 would probably have been too big on the top. Nothing some spanx couldn't fix! Dress was comfortable. I liked the sleeves...they had kind of a billowy feeling to them. You didn't need much jewelry because the dress was super-sparkly. I wore it in Vegas, was perfect for a night out! Rent the Runway experience went really smoothly; I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
December 9, 2013
Not great for my body type (slim, small curves)
This was a backup for the dress I wanted (which was damaged by the previous client, so I couldn't get it). I got both size 0 and 2. I usually wear a 2, but the 0 fit. However, it hung in a way that made it look a bit shapeless. I tried belting it, as seen in the photo. It was ok, but not great on me. I ended up wearing something else to the event. The dress is pretty, and would look better on someone with a bigger bust and hips.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2013
Countless compliments!
I absolutely loved this dress! I received countless compliments and RTR could not have been easier to work with. I ordered the 2 and 4. The sleeves on the 4 were a little longer than I had hoped so I opted for the 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding and received many compliments!
The dress runs a little small. Went up a size so it was not too tight for the event. The bust area is a little loose, but the rest of the dress fit well. Don't worry about the sequins falling off, they are well attached.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2013
Great Dress - Lots of Sparkle
I rented this for an formal wedding being held in a Museum. I received TONS of complements all night!! It fit just a bit snug in the the arm/shoulder area for my taste - but it was not bothersome that night and was a dress I could easily move and dace in. Would highly recommend for someone looking for a short sparkly dress that is a little on the formal side :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 17, 2014
For my second wedding reception.
Chic and comfy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2013
Great dress for a winter wedding
Dress fit really well and was definitely true to size. Perfect for my first rent the runway experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 30, 2013
Very pretty but did not wear it
I wanted to love this dress but unfortunately it was too tight through the hips and RTR did not have my back-up size. However, it's very pretty in person and would have been perfect for NYE! Despite the disappointment the RTR customer service is truly top-notch. They were able to overnight me a replacement dress that was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2014
Beautiful dress, perfect for New Years!
The dress was beautiful and fit well. I found it was a little tight at the bottom since I am bigger there, but overall the fit was great. I did notice that the hem was falling a little and some of the sequins were loose, but that comes with the territory with sequins. Overall I think it was flattering and beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 3, 2014
Perfect NYE dress :)
I rented this dress for NYE in Vegas and loved it! I will say that it is not as slimming as it looks on the model, so I had to pin it in the back. Other than that it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2014
Loved it!
Felt great all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 6, 2014
Classy
This is a beautiful dress. It's very classy and looks expensive. I think it is meant for a more straight and narrow figure. There were areas around the hips and butt that material bunched up a bit. That's why I went with a 4 rather than my usual 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 8, 2014
Wore this dress to my best friend's rehearsal dinner, first RTR and a huge success!!
My dress for the wedding was actually Badgley Mischka so I know the designer fits my body type well, but I was nervous for sure! The length was PERFECT for my height, that was what I was most nervous about. It was fairly loose around the middle which I'm fine with, but was still totally flattering. I didn't even try the 2, because I know things are usually long on me and I tried the 0 first hoping the length would be ok, it was not too short but definitely showed off my legs, which for some reason i can never find dresses that are the perfect length like this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 10, 2014
Great NYE dress! Very beautiful and sparkly!
I would have given the dress five stars, but the only issue with the dress for a 5'3 gal is that it is a bit long. The dress is a perfect length on the model. The fit though was great. It was easy to wear, no special bra or panty. It was comfortable and really fun!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
Great Wedding Dress!
I wore this dress for a formal beach wedding that I attended in Oct. down in Asbury Park. The dress fit me great, and ran pretty true to size, although the top of the arms was a BIT tight. Pretty flattering dress, and photographed awesome. I got a bunch of compliments on this dress....it was actually the second time I rented it, as I got it as a backup dress a few months earlier, and chose the wear the other one, but still really liked the way it looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2014
Fun and comfortable
My husband gave me a "wow!" for this dress and wanted me to buy it. It's not fitted in most places, but it was pretty snug around the bottom, which is good, because it is quite short. I was told by another woman that it made my but look extra perky. It was a very fun, sparkly dressy that felt classy and stood out in a crowd.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 13, 2014
Can I keep it? Please?
I LOVE THIS DRESS! I wore it to a formal Rehearsal Dinner at Ruth's Chris in Miami and it was a hit! The dress was so comfortable and fit like a dream. I really felt like a rock star. The sheer sleeves were perfect for the Miami weather in late December, especially since it was quite windy the night I wore the dress. I am recovering from a broken foot so I had to wear an unsightly walking boot with it, but the dress was so amazing that no one even noticed the ginormous boot. I hate to be cliche, but I really did not want to send this dress back! My heart still yearns for this beautiful cocktail dress. I will definitely be renting this again!
SonyaApril 1, 2014
would you wear this to a daytime botsmitsvah?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2014
Sparkly Dress - Great for a Dressy Occassion
I wore this dress for my Rehearsal Dinner. One of my bridesmaids (also pictured) wore the Carmen Marc Valvo dress. I had originally planned to wear the CMV dress and she was going to wear this dress. But when they arrived, this dress was too short for her (she is 5'10''). So we switched and it worked out perfect. The sparkles gave me an extra pizazz on the day before my BIG DAY! Dress fit well. Some evidence of wear and tear on the sequins/sparles. Some strings hanging. Not the easiest dress to sit in bc of the short, tight fit, but overall I was happy with it. Loved the bell sleeves and recieved lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 15, 2014
Dress was pretty but did not fit
I ordered this dress as a backup to the white version that I saw by the same designer. My size is 2, and I wanted to order a size 0, but it was not available in white so I got this blue one in its place. It said on the website that it ran on the larger side. When I received it, I found I actually liked the blue color better than the white, but the size 0 was just a tiny bit too small - if I had ordered a 2 it would have fit perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 17, 2014
This was a dress that stood out among the normal homecoming dresses.
I'm very picky about what dresses I wear because I want it to be something no one else will wear. This dress was spectacular because it was classy, but fun. The sleeves added that extra special something to the dress. Being tall I was a little worried about the length but it was perfect. The dress was a little tight over by large butt and hips, but it was fine. The dress was a little loose around the stomach so it was good for camouflaging what you just ate. Definitely, my favorite dress that I've worn to date. Besides, Carrie Underwood wore this dress, so it has to be fabulous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 20, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I wore this to a evening wedding in NYC this past weekend. The original dress I'd ordered didn't fit and the stylist got this one to me within 24 hrs! I am usually a 6, but found the 8 gave me a little more breathing room. The dress was a beautiful blue and so pretty with all the silvery sequence detail. I received TONS of compliments and think I even persuaded a few friends to try RTR! Once again, great experience!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 24, 2014
No give in the hips.
Beautiful dress; however, I couldn't wear either the 6 or the 8. The 6 was too tight through the waist and hips. The eight fit snugly through those areas, but was also loose in the shoulders. It was disappointing, since it is such a beautiful dress; however, the stylist at RTR was able to quickly send me other options.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 10, 2014
Got so many compliments on the dress, I felt amazing in it and had a wonderful night!
The dress was gorgeous and I got many compliments on it! It runs true to size, however was slightly short when i sat down (had to always have my napkin on my nap to cover up my thighs). Other than that, it is a great dress and my experience with rent the runway was fantastic! I will definitely be doing it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 11, 2014
Great, Comfortable Dress!
Got lots of compliments, and no one was wearing anything like it. It was the perfect length for me; short, but balanced well with the sleeves & high neck. It was a fun dress to wear, nice quality, and I would recommend it. Only negative: very fitted around hips, but a little baggy in mid section. Sometimes it would bunch a little, but overall really happy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 12, 2014
GORGEOUS (but tight fit!)
This dress was AMAZING!!!!! I can't believe I don't have a single picture of it. But I loved it so much I plan on renting it again for a different event. It does run very tight. I had to wrap my body in Spanx just to get into it. For both the 6 and the 4. I ended up with the 4 because once I squeezed into it, the 6 was too baggy on top.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2014
I wore this dress to the Bruno Mars concert in Las Vegas.
I'm so glad I was able to see how the dress looked on others. If I had only seen in on the hanger, I would have never even tried it on. It looked very shapeless and maybe even kind of matronly. But once it was on, it took on another life and looked fantastic. It did fit rather tight in the booty. I tried to pull it up over my hips first but no go. Had to go over the head and shimmy it down. Once it was all in place, there was no wiggle room at all. I thought the length was great but I was in a dark theatre most of the night so I wasn't too concerned about it riding up. If I was at a more formal affair, I might have been more concerned. Overall, this was a good choice for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 19, 2014
Soooo many compliments!
The dress was great! The sparkle is awesome and looked really good with the lights at the wedding I wore it to. The sleeves are sheer so I wasn't too hot wearing it. It is a short dress but the skirt went to the end of my fingertips if I put my hands down at my side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 19, 2014
loved it. sparkled, but not crazy.
true to size. short, but i'm short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Compliments from friends and strangers!
Beautiful dress, obviously expensive, unique, and comfortable for moving around/sitting/dancing/etc.! Can be worn by different body types!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Night out in Vegas
Beautiful dress and perfect for a night out in Vegas. The dress is definitely made for less curvy ladies. The dress fit very snug around my hips and backside. Overall such a fun dress to wear out and so many compliments especially from my husband.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
February 24, 2014
Everyone loved the dress
I rented this dress for a party. I ordered the size 12 and size 10. Unfortunately the 12 came without sleeves so I ended up wearing the 10. I would have preferred the 12 but I loved the 10 too. the dress is short but you get away with it because of the long sleeves. Overall a great winter dress and I great experience with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2014
Recommend Dress!
I usually wear a size 4-6 but had to wear a size 6 in this dress because it fits very tight around the hips and but, so if you are more curvy like me I would get a size larger just for this reason. It was a looser than I would like in the waist because I had to go up a size but was hardly noticeable. Great dress overall, was not too short and was easy to dance in for the wedding I was at.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 2, 2014
LOVE this dress!
This dress is amazing. It has the perfect amount of sparkle, is form fitting, yet classy. I adored this dress, and wish I could own it! It is so flattering, and I got compliments all night long. GORGEOUS!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2014
Fun dress to wear to a casino-night party!
The dress was very fitted and flattering! I was concerned it would be too short with my height, but it looked great. I received lots of compliments. The dress I wore was in good condition. The smaller size 2 which I also received had a little more "wear and tear" with respect to the sequins (lots of loose strings)-- I was thankful that the size 4 was a good fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2014
Memorable dress!
The only reason this dress gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because I didn't receive the backup size that I was supposed to get. I LOVED this dress. The 12 was kind of big, but since I didn't have the 10 I didn't have any options. This dress is classy and super comfortable. It's a little worn (hence the $30 rental) with missing sequins, so if it was a super polished event I probably wouldn't have worn the dress. Photographs well, and I loved wearing navy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2014
Loved the sparkles - perfect for a winter formal!
Some of the beads were coming a little bit loose, but not too noticeable from a distance. The blue was less bright than I would have expected from the picture. For girls with wider hips, beware that this dress is pretty fitted around the hips and butt.
See more reviews:
7 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×