Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(337)
Small
(181)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2013
Beautiful dress but did not fit me correctly.
I could not wear the dress unfortunately. The underskirt hung down below the hem line.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2013
Showstopper for your legs while still being conservative.
New Year's Eve party. I'm normally a size 6 and I wore the 6. I have wide hips and it was tight in that area, but not in a noticeable way. There are two layers to the dress and sparkles well distributed, so it easily hides tight areas that in a single layer, single color dress, you could not get away with. I've also worn the nude color for a spring wedding and got SO many compliments from women young and old. It's got just the right amount of sparkle so you don't take away from the host of your party - like the bride! It's also sexy (the legs!) but sophisticated (long, sheer sleeves).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2013
Perfect dress for wanting to stay classy & still show a little leg to look sexy!
Perfect fit. Wasn't too small or too large, hung to you in all the right places. Ordered a size 2, 4 & ended up going with the four. Absolutely stunning dress & perfect for a wedding or night out on the town. I received so many compliments & returning the dress was super easy & hassle free! I'm definitely recommending RTR to my friends & family members!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty dress, runs small
I ended up not wearing this dress as it was a bit snug through the midsection and thighs. It is very pretty however, and the color is really great for those of us who love black but want to branch out.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2013
Received many compliments
The dress did not look fresh and new but it was flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2013
"sexpot", no joke thats how a friend described it!
Beautiful, not much give in the middle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 1, 2013
Perfect for NYE!
It fit just how I thought it would. Ended up being a great length and wasn't too tight in the bum which is a problem for me sometimes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 1, 2013
Received 2 dresses in the same size.
Unfortunately the 6 was a tad big - and long. I had ordered a 4 and 6 but two size 6's were delivered so I didn't get to wear this dress. Very pretty, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 4, 2013
cute, but not perfect.
This was my backup dress, and while it's very fun and would have, I'm sure gotten tons of complements (it's a look at my dress), we decided my 1st dress was more sophisticated and appropriate for the event. Also, the inner navy slip on the size 6 hung below the outer sheath, so would have required some fashion tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 6, 2013
Someone from the symphony saying I looked 'Stunning.' :]
Fit was large. I had ordered a size 8 and 10 as backup, but wish I'd have gone with 6 & 8. Slightly boxy, but room to wiggle. Excellent for an event where you'd be eating and still want a little give! I'm tall - 5'7 without heels. I wore about 4 inches that night, and i almost say it was a little long! Appropriate for a night at the symphony, but for a party or birthday you may dare to bare a little more leg!! Highly recommend. So many compliments and for the price you can't beat it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
February 11, 2013
I wore this to the 2013 Grammy Awards. Put it on at 2:30PM and stayed comfy all the way till 11!
Dress arrived in perfect condition, although some of the sequins had gotten tangled up with each other. Had to be careful to get them separated. It was a little short, but not annoying so. I think it runs a little small, and I wore the larger of the two sizes I ordered (one size up from my normal size). Fabric has a little give, so is very comfortable for long events (I wore this one for nearly 9 hours). Got tons of compliments, and definitely stood out in a sea of black lace and other neutrals. Only drawback was someone else in the bar before we left for the venue--wearing the same dress! I would totally wear this again, though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
February 13, 2013
Great dress. Always a great dress from RTR. I wore it to a school gala.
I always order a 4 and a 6. The 6 was perfect. I am tall and the dress was short but good. Just make sure you have short spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 15, 2013
Fantastic Dress!
The dress fits your body and gives you shape. I thought, from looking at the model, it would fit more like a shift dress, but it is not. Its snug on the butt and gives you a shape which is fabulous. The length was perfect, about four inches above my knee and I am 5'5". The sequins are very bright against the navy and great for a flashy party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
pretty color
I did not like the dress. I thought the color was pretty and thought it looked very nice online and after seeing the reviews i was sure I would like it, but I did not. I thought the overall fit was odd. In areas where it should've been fitted it wasn't and vice versa. I was very unhappy with the dress. I thought once I put it on, the overall look was cheap and I ended up wearing another dress that I was much happier with.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2013
The second I put the dress on I knew it was perfect!
The fit seemed fairly true to size--both sizes fit but I went one size up so I could dance! It fit perfectly, and I got so many compliments! The length was just right, not too short but showed off my legs. I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 18, 2013
Perfect for a winter wedding!
This was the first time I rented a dress from RTR and everything worked out wonderfully! The dress fit true to size - not too short, not too long. It has a lot of sequins so it doesn't require extra accessories. It also photographs really well - some blue dresses photograph black but this dress looks great in pictures. I would recommend RTR and especially this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2013
Feeling like a celebrity!
A very pretty dress with lots of sparkle! The dress runs a bit small around the hips and tummy area. I recommend going the next size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 23, 2013
starry night
This dress is the perfect length and weight for a winter cocktail event. I rented it for an inaugural ball at a youth center. I usually wear a 12-14 and the 14 fit but was tight in the belly area. If you need to be sitting or kneeling down, I'd recommend ordering a size up. This is a beautiful dress and it's not too sparkly and the sleeves are a great length and good for cold weather. I wore black patent leather almond toe pumps with it - you could wear nude if you wanted as well. For earrings I rented the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster studs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 23, 2013
Gorgeous
The dress is a great fit. Most people said they had problems with the top half being tight but that was fine, but if you have more curvier hips I would suggest going up a size. It glittered beautifully and was effortlessly beautiful. I would definitely recommend it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 24, 2013
The dress did not fit properly.
This dress is not for people that have curves. If you do decided to rent this dress get a size up than you would normally wear because it's not very stretchy. I did not find this dress to be flattering at all and it did not fit properly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2013
Great dress!
The dress was too big on my petite frame, I had to return the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 26, 2013
I love this dress light and comfortable.
True to size it is very wearable light and comfortable! Great for dinner or a cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2013
Loved the dress, but both sizes (even when I sized up) wouldn't fit.
This dress is NOT for girls with any curves.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
February 28, 2013
Absolutely beautiful dress!
Looked stunning on my daughter and she was very happy with the fit and look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
Perfect for the event! Loved it!!! Getting it in two sizes helped a lot and very easy to ship back!
Beautiful dress!!!! Lots of compliments! I wore it to the MTV VMA's in 2012. I wish I had another event to wear it to! I would definitely rent it again!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
March 6, 2013
I got several complements on my look. The most memorable overall from a former Miss Delaware USA.
Just over 5' tall, needed the size up due to the waist being closer to my hips, but overall it still looked fabulous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 6, 2013
The dress was a perfect choice for an evening wedding. Received so many compliments!
So happy with my choice of renting this dress. The blue photographs beautifully and is actually brighter than advertised on the website. I didn't have any trouble with the sizing though I will say I didn't notice much of a difference between the size 2 or 4...I ended up wearing the 4. If you are very pear-shaped I would definintely recommend sizing up for your extra size as the dress is tighter than I expected in the hips. With all the sequins, it didn't take much to accesorize - I rented the Badgley Mischka crystal cluster earrings and wore a nude peep toe shoe.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
March 6, 2013
This dress is absolutely Beautiful!
This dress is absolutely Beautiful! It does run small (I usually wear a size 10) I rented a 12, and it fit but I was a bit tight in the leg. I would've like to have tired the 14, but it wasn't available. but over all, an amazing dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 7, 2013
Felt very glamorous and fit in well with the theme of our party.
The fit was perfect, and the length was surprisingly NOT too short. I was so happy that I didn't have to keep pulling it down. Tons and tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2013
Not the right dress for a pear shape
I really wanted to love this dress but it was ultimately my back-up dress and I only had it in one size (10). I normally wear a size 10 but the dress was too snug through the hips and thighs and very loose on top (am normally a 34B). There was also too much length between the chest and waist, which made the material bunch and sag right at the waist. Anyway, suffice it to say that the fit was not flattering and sizing up wouldn't have helped because the chest was already too big. But the condition of the dress was very good and it was pretty on the hangar!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 12, 2013
My original dress wasn't available, so I selected this one instead. Glad I did!
Fit true to size. Very comfortable and flattering! Received tons of compliments! Perfect for an evening wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 14, 2013
We looked like rockstars
This dress didn't fit me at all. it was large and baggy in the hips. if I leaned a certain way, the dress developed this strange looking pouch in the stomach area. Luckily I ordered another dress to wear for my birthday. My best friend ended up wearing this dress and since she has a larger behind than I do, it fit her perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 15, 2013
Rented this for a Santa Barbara Wedding
Fit tight around booty...loose in arms, and it was short...but I still loved it. My waist is the smallest part about me and I wish it were a little more fitted there, otherwise was fun to wear, tons of compliments and easy to dance in!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
September 18, 2014
I received many compliments!
Great fit! All pros.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 4, 2013
Great Dress for a Winter Wedding!
The dress was the perfect fit for a night winter wedding in New Orleans. I got lots of compliments. It really was a statement piece all in itself and didn't need any fancy jewelry or shoes. I usually wear a 4 but the 2 was def the better fit. It looks super short on the model but when I wore it - I thought it was an appropriate length for a wedding (and I'm tall). The only problem I had with the dress was that the lining of the bottom of the dress was longer than the sparkly dress material in some areas of the dress. I think this may have been due to someone before me stretching out the dress! However, I was able to use some dress tape and even out the lining before the event. Overall very happy with the experience with RTR. The dress arrived on time and the fit was PERFECT.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 10, 2015
The dress fit was amazing! I truly loved it and got complements all night
Great style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
Great night for a Bollywood themed wedding!
Great dress! I usually wear a 6, but went up to an 8 for my safety size. I could have made the smaller size work, but it just looked better a little bigger.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2012
I wore this to a Rent the Runway party.
It is a sheath dress and doesn't have a lot of give but it still felt comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 25, 2013
Everyone loved my dress!
Fit great. No issues with riding up, snagging, etc.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 11, 2012
It was an amazing dress for the rehearsal dinner, sooo georg!!
none
See more reviews:
4 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×