Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(337)
Small
(181)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2012
Service was unbelievable ! Second time I've rented, but definitely not my last.
Beautiful dress! Did not wear only because it was my backup and my first choice was better for my occasion
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Stunning dress!
Absolutely loved this dress! However, I ended up wearing another dress as this was my back-up choice. If I had gotten this dress in a size smaller, I might have chosen this dress for my company's holiday party. The color is stunning and I felt so elegant wearing it. Due to its popularity, you could tell this dress was worn quite a few times, but didn't have any major flaws.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
December 3, 2012
Great dress!!
The dress looked about the same on me as it does on the model in the picture. It was shorter than I expected reading the other reviews. I guess if you have long legs be prepared that it will be quite short. I got many compliments throughout the night!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2012
flashy but elegant
enjoyed the dress, the sleeve was ripped but otherwise perfect
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 6, 2012
Excellent Customer Service!
While this dress truly is gorgeous, it has NO GIVE. Before my daughter was born, 6 months ago, I was a solid size 4-6. It's taken me a little longer than I would like for my hips to return to their proper size - but lately I've been getting away with sizes 6 & 8. This was the first time post-baby that I felt uncomortable in an 8 and actually couldn't wear the dress. I had to return it without being worn. RTR's awesome customer service fully understood but I wish I had ordered an 8 & 10 vs. 6 & 8. ALWAYS size up with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
December 8, 2012
Gorgeous, gorgeous dress
I expected this to be a loose and flowy fit, but it was much tighter than expected. Would be great for NYE, but between the fit and the sequins, it was too flashy for the conservative wedding I was attending. I advise going up a size if you want it to look loose like on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
December 9, 2012
Felt like a star
Wore this to the Hobbit film premiere and gala and felt great in it. Got lots of compliments. The only issue I had with the dress is that some of the sequins were missing, especially along the zipper, and the dress kept riding up. But other than that, it was great! Order a size up. While the tight fit is great while standing, the minute you sit, it can become dangerous! I kept thinking I was going to come out of the dress every time I sat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2012
Tons of compliments!
The 2 fit perfectly although the lining was a little snug but not too constricting. I danced all night in this dress! This is the perfect party dress...sexy but not too revealing... who doesnt love sequins!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
This is a super cute dress...but it runs super small!
I am pretty much always a size 10. So I ordered the size 10 in this Badgley Mischka. Well it is really more like a 6. Just be careful about that. I had orderd a different dress (just to have options) and that size 10 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 10, 2012
Lovely dress; tons of compliments - and comfortable!
I serve as a Board member for a nonprofit charitable organization and wore this to flagship event attended by more than 2000 people. This dress is lovely, ideal for a winter time event. The sleeves make it less "showy" than some more revealing cocktail dresses but the length is young and fresh - and the rhinestones are killer! I received tons of compliments from my fellow board members and strangers alike. I wore it with nude platform heels and the rhinestone earrings were my own. Totally fun and overall seamless experience with RTR. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
I rented this dress for my company's Christmas party. This dress was absolutely beautiful. Fits a little snug, but was gorgeous. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2012
Beautiful dress!
This dress is stunning in person. The clusters of sequins are just beautiful! I wore it to an Indian wedding where I was surrounded with women wearing gorgeously adorned clothing and definitely fit in. It does run small, I ended up wearing a size larger than what I typically wear. I'm average height and the dress was not nearly as short as it shows on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2012
Really Classy but Hip Dress
I really enjoyed wearing the dress, I received several compliments, and my husband loved it the most! Fit-snug If you are busty, it might not work. I am a 36 dd, and it was snug, but not tight If you have a fuller figure in the hips/thighs area, it will be really snug/tight as well. I am tall, 5'10, and the dress was super short when I sat down. This dress would not be for someone conservative. I think it's classy and hip and very much about showing off your legs. I wore Spanx nude fishnets, and a pair of Stuart Weitzman silver heels, and a black evening clutch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
Many of my coworkers said they didn't recognize me!
This was a GORGEOUS dress. I ordered the 10 and 10, 12 fit better around the hips...waist up including bust area was way to big but still looked and felt great! The size 10 was a bit tight and short...the color wasn't as vibrant as in the 12. The sequins were beautiful, the dress wasn't as fragile as I thought it would be, didn't lose any sparkles!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
I don't recall what size I wore, actually. But, I loved this dress!
I wore this dress to a fall (warm) wedding and it was a big hit! I felt very comfortable in that it's classy and covers everything, yet the mini length made it young & still fresh. The sparkles on this dress are really impressive - when I was out in the sunlight I was aware of all the sparkly lights it created. You must be careful that your jewelry doesn't get caught on the outer sheer layer or the sequins. I really loved this dress and would consider renting it again!
mFebruary 13, 2013
Where did you get your shoes? Love them!
MeloraFebruary 13, 2013
Thanks, m! These shoes are Nine West, color "pewter" and they went perfectly with the sparkles in this dress.
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Right! "Shoes?" is my question, too! Thanks for the info!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2012
This was my first RTR experience and it will not be my last! So happy this exists!
I was looking for something classy with a sleeve for my boyfriend's company holiday party in Chicago. When I saw this dress, I fell in love. Being short and petite, I was a little nervous about the length being too short or too long, as it's hard for me to find a short dress at a good length for someone who is "fun" size. I received the size 2 as backup just in case I needed a smaller size, but the 4 was perfect! It wasn't too snug anywhere and was comfortable to move around in and also after dinner. I also rented a silver clutch as well as the crystal cluster earrings, which were larger than I had expected, but I LOVED them and they looked fabulous with my down-do. I pulled out some black peep-toe pumps which looked great with the dress. I got several compliments (especially in the ladies room from complete strangers.) My mission to be a hot, classy date was accomplished!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this it was too small and not as cute in real life
There were several threads that were hanging and it looked a bit much in person. It ran very small and was short. Not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2012
Great to highlight legs
I really, really wanted to love this dress. It fit exactly as described. Mini length, fitted through the hips and lower belly, looser top. I just didn't think it was the most flattering for me, whose tummy is not my greatest asset. I opted not to wear this dress, instead choosing another Badgley Miska design.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
December 19, 2012
Stunning dress!
Dress runs a little small, the 4 fit but was a little tight around the hips, causing it to ride up when I was dancing or sitting, I probably could have sized up to a 6. The sequins are gorgeous and not at all uncomfortable the way some sequined dress can be, but a lot of sequins were already missing when I received the dress, particularly from the back. Overall renting was a good experience and I would definitely do it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2012
Beautiful, sexy dress
I wore this to a formal affair where many women were wearing full length ball gowns but it is fancy enough that I didn't feel underdressed. I got a ton of compliments and my husband thought it was one of the hotter dresses that I've worn. The 6 fit perfect with a little room in the tummy so I could actually eat at the dinner. It was slightly snug in the shoulders (I have broader shoulders), but I could still dance all night. The 8 was too small, which was puzzling. It is definitely as short as it looks in the pics and with killer bejeweled silver platforms, the legs are fully on display if that's the attribute you are looking to highlight.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
I love the way this dress fit. It was perfect for a wedding and I got so many compliments!
The fit was great and the sequin detailing was amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 26, 2012
The dress is gorgeous and sparkles more than I could have imagined!
LOVED the dress, but it was a little more snug (esp in my hips) than I had expected. I would have loved it to be a little looser all around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 29, 2012
Stunning Dress!
I picked this dress for a winter wedding. I asked for the size 0 and 2 but when they shipped the dress, size 0 was out of stock and they sent me a similar dress in XS. I was very concerned about the size of this dress since I'm normally a size 0, and I didn't want to wear any other dress! Well the size 2 worked me perfectly. The dress had the proper length for the occasion, neither too long nor too short. It was stunning, elegant and fun. I would def. recommend this dress! I got many compliments on this dress on this dress. My boyfriend totally loved it!! Thumbs up RTR! I'll def. rent another dress here!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2012
It was a beautiful dress!
It was a little long on me so I had to use a belt unfortunately!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 1, 2013
Perfect for New Years or a Fancy Winter Wedding
I really liked this dress! It was perfect for a winter wedding or NYE party. I wore a 2, which is my usual size and it was snug across the hips, but not awkwardly or uncomfortably tight. It was a little loose in the chest, but I am only an A cup, so that is not uncommon for me. The fabric/design had enough depth and variety to masque anything like minor mis-fits though. Like all sequin dresses... if you have long hair it may get snagged in the sequins! The hemline was appropriate for a wedding, i.e. not too short on me (but I'm 5'2"). The only strange thing I noticed was the underskirt hem hung below the overskirt hem, in the front. Overall, would highly recommend.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 1, 2013
lovely dress, but not for girls with hips
I'm normally a 10/12, but ordered a 12 and a 14 in this dress thinking it would run small. Even the 14 was just too clingy in the hips to be that comfortable. I might have been able to get away with it, but I wanted to dance so I went with another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
January 1, 2013
The dress was a showstopper!!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. The dress fit like a glove and was true to size. Photographed really well. I got compliments on it all evening long. One thing to be careful of is there is not a lot of room in the hips. If you are more curvy, I would size up for sure. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 2, 2013
Great dress. It was a good choice for a NYE wedding and I liked not needing a shawl.
Length was just long enough to feel comfortable, but if you are taller it may be too short for a classy occasion. I felt like it was acceptable at the NYE wedding. Fit was true to size, though you don't get any wiggle room. I usually wear size 4 from most stores, though I wear a size 2 in business skirts from Ann Taylor, BR, etc. I could not get the size 2 of this dress over my rear, but the size 4 was fine. When ordering, keep in mind there is absolutely no give in the fabric. Luckily, I learned from my now-snagged Christmas dress to bring a snag-proof clutch and bracelet when rocking adorned dresses such as this one. This is important to note, because the sequins on this dress will cause huge problems if you do. Plus, I think this dress is better with minimal jewelry and a simple purse. I wore narrow long diamond dangle earrings and a plain silver bracelet. I also wore sparkly silver shoes, though more simplistic navy or silver ones would have worked well, and probably better for non- NYE occasions. Lastly, I'm not sure if I am asymmetrical or if the dress is sewn a little off, but the bottom of the zipper kept riding far to my left side all night. I've had some problems with this before, though never to this extent. The dress still looked fine, but I had to keep adjusting it back to the center all night long. Again, this could just be my body or the partcular dress and probably would not happen to everyone. Overall: I really liked this dress, and even moreso when I saw that Carrie Underwood wore it to an event last year. Despite the minor issues, I am happy I wore it. RTR's service was great. The box arrived on-time and sending the items back in the pre-posted envelope was easy. You just slip the dresses in the package and put it in a blue mailbox. I will definitely use RTR again and highly recommend their service!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful, Fun Dress!
Loved it all: the fit, color, length, sparkle. It was perfect for a chilly November wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2013
The perfect NYE dress!
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect. The color was amazing, and so were the sequins. I rented a size 4 and 6 and wore the 4....never even tried on the bigger size. Wearing long sleeves was a little awkward to get used to as the whole dress shifted whenever I put my arms up. I dance a lot at weddings and it got pretty hot because of the material. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Perfect for NYE!
Such a fun dress, loved it!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2013
If you want a dress that will turn every head in the place - this is it!
Fit was wonderful, hides a multitude of sins. Length is a bit short (and I say that as someone with short legs). Wore it for a charity cocktail gala and didn't stop being asked about it all night - AMAZING!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111lbs
January 4, 2013
I got a thousand compliments.
I wore this for my husband's office holiday party. All the women told me they loved my dress and a few asked me if I've lost weight (I haven't). I have a gala coming up in March and am thinking of renting this or the white version for that event. I usually wear a 2 but I wore the 4. I could have pulled off the two but since it was a fancy office party and my husband is a VP, I went a little more conservative. Plus the 4 fit me just fine.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
January 4, 2013
Loved it!
I ordered the 10 and 12. Last time I ordered from here I wore a 10. However, I tried on the 12 first and it fit with plenty of room to dance. It was not form fitting at all. We were in a hurry so I didn't even try on the 10. The 12 was roomy enough I think the 10 would fit for a more figure flattering look but the 12 was fine. I just ran out the door. Thus no pictures. I wore it for NYE and had heels similar to the photo which I wore to dinner. We ended up outside and it was really cold. I wasn't expecting that so at the last minute I ended up wearing it with a jean jacket and black boots. It was super cute. I was amazed how versatile that made the dress. The clutch fit my phone, cash, etc. I wish I had something with a strap by the end of the night though.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2013
This dress was a magic maker!
What drew me to this dress was the fact that my favorite singer, Carrie Underwood, wore it to a red carpet event. I loved how she rocked it, and I loved that the blue would work with my eyes. This dress was perfect, it had sparkle and glamour without throwing it your face. Everyone told me I looked like Carrie Underwood, even without knowing she wore the dress! It was a little short, and the sleeves were prone to getting stuck on the dress or even other dresses nearby. However I love it, and would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2013
The dress is fabulous. It is very easy to wear as it is cut in generously. You will LOVE it!!!!!!!!!
The color is beautiful and it photographs so well!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Sparkly Holiday!
I am into sleeves for winter parties - this is I think my 4th rental in December w sleeves (I have a problem...) I had worn the cream sleeveless Badgley Mischka last December 2011 so I opted for the navy this year. I do like this sleeved version better than the sleeveless bc the sleeveless cuts your armpit a bit. Love the sparkle, love the length, doesn't itch bc it is lined. Sleeves are slightly sheer. Wore to a family party w black nylons and black suede heels. I am three months post partum (as you can see in the picture) so I opted for this dress bc it doesn't cling. Good for all body types I think bc it is forgiving but does have shape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2013
Loved all the compliments!
I thought the fit was a little tight, but I received a lot of compliments and would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 10, 2013
Sparkly winter cocktail dress
The 0 fit better than the 2 but it seemed like the material was kind of messed up so I wore the 2. The 2 also had a slip about 2 inches longer than the top sparkly layer. Not sure if it was supposed to be like that but no one noticed if it wasn't, but I did feel like I had to keep pulling it up.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 14, 2013
i returned this item
I did not like the material of this dress, it does not feel like a true sheath style dress. The sequins are a little too much. I returned this dress for credit.
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×