Off-the-shoulder Beaded Sheath

$58 to buy
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This eye-catching LBD by Badgley Mischka is the perfect party dress. With sparkly beading and a shoulder bearing cut, you simply can't go wrong with this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Square neckline. Cold shoulder detail with beaded straps. Ruched body. Hidden back zip.

Share
80 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2012
Dress runs super small
Really pretty but incredibly tight. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and even the 4 didn't fit. Also the material is a little "cheap" feeling to me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Sexy dress but too tight
The dress was very sexy but very tight as well. Too tight for a hot summer day and it was hard to go to the rest room in it. I LOVED the service and will definitely be using it again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2012
knowing I had a top notch dress for a night on the town made me feel so comfortable, like I belonged there. The best compliment was my husband saying he wished he could come with us so he could keep looking at me in that dress...
I rented this dress for my sister in law's bachelorette in NYC. I ordered the 10 and 12, the 10 wouldn't get over my hips, but the 12 went on with ease. I was never uncomfortable, and made me look smooth and curvy. fabulous. The only drawback is that the 12 was a little long at the knee and in the beaded shoulder straps, which slid down all night. but it looked fine! this picture is me with the Bride, in her RTR dress, too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2012
Loves Your Curves
This dress is wonderful for highlighting shoulders and complimenting curves. It's comfortable and runs true to size. I received many positive comments and one woman, who is always beautifully dressed, told my husband I looked stunning. What could be better? Deciding what to wear for special events used to be depressing and time consuming (not to mention pricey). Not any more!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2012
Tummy tucker
I loved this dress. It hid a multitude of sins especially tucking in my tummy. I felt comfortable in it and got many compliments on it too.
StephanieFebruary 14, 2012
Thanks for your input. Your one of the first that are closest to my size. I am alot shorter, 5'2. Nice to not see just tiny ones loving the experience
CKJuly 28, 2012
I second that!! I get so worried since I am 5'3 & a size 12
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2012
When I was told..."It looks like the dress was custom made for you".
Stunning, amazing, breath taking, HOT. Just a few of the adjectives use by my hubby and friends when they saw this dress! Rented for a New Years Eve Florida wedding, and was very comfortable in this dress even after dinner! The stretch in the dress helped with that :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 23, 2011
What a Hit
This dress fit beautifully. I wore this to a black and white wedding. It was perfect. Thank you so much.
RobinDecember 28, 2011
I am having a hard time picking out shoes for this dress :) what did you go with?
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 12, 2011
Bday Dress
Wore it for my birthday dinner. I'm 5'7" 150lbs 36-29-38, hourglass in other words. Got size 6 and 8. Wore the 8, gorgeous! Super warm for my Oct 29th bday- didn't wear a jacket. Pearls were a little worn down looked white instead of shiny or metallic. Very snug so I would order a size up. Very flattering. A little shorter on me than shown in the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2011
Great LBD
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it was perfect! I got several compliments on it. My back-up size of 6 was not available. The 4 was tight, but with the ruching it didn't look too tight.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 2, 2011
I loved this dress. Beautiful beading. It is very fitted so I may have been able to go up a size. I rented an 8 and 10. The 10 fit snuggly and fit every curve. The material has a bit of stretch so it was extremely comfortable. Lots of compliments too.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2011
I loved loved LOVED this dress! Heavy, so not for hot weather, but I rented it at the end of October, so it was perfect. Gorgeous, I felt like a goddess!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2011
This dress was truly great. It fit well, while allowing me to enjoy my dinner since the ripples hid that after dinner belly. The sleeves did make it hard to dance, but I would not let that deter you from renting the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 25, 2011
Loved it! Got tons of complements when I wore it to a black tie wedding. Tough to go to the ladies room in it though! It's tight fitting but very flattering.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
The beads on this dress were scratched and some were missing, so there were threads sticking out from many places. I was disappointed with the beading, as I felt it looked cheap. The material of the dress was pretty, but I have big shoulders and I felt like they were accentuated by the drape material on the shoulders. It was very slimming, however, so I give it a 3 star rating.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2011
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! It hugged my curves without being too tight, and made me feel like a glamorous movie star!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2011
I was so happy to see the dress when I pulled it out of the box...it was perfect for the event I was to attend (a black tie optional fundraiser)! BUT sadly, I could not get the dress to zip over my ample bust. The dress is true to size everywhere but does run tight in the bust. So just know that when ordering. I was unable to wear it. Darn! Super cute!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 5, 2011
This is a beautiful and elegant dress. I usually wear between a 2-4. In this case size 4 fit me better, size 2 was too snug.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2011
The pictures do not do this dress justice... the dress looks a little bit big and bulky on the model but I can assure you that is not the case. I rented it for a very high society wedding in the fall. The length and neckline keep the dress classy while at the same time the snug-as-a-glove fit and dropped shoulders are super sexy. The neck line beading is surprisingly beautiful and appreciated. The dress is a heavier material which makes it great for cool weather. I can not recommend this dress enough.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
September 21, 2011
absolutely loved this dress although ran very small...thank God I ordered a backup size...and thankfully weather was cool because dress is a very heavy material....got many compliments and look forward to ordering my next dress!! Thank you RTW!!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2011
This is a pretty dress but it is a lot of dress. Very heavy and I wouldn't want to wear it in hot weather. It is very tight through bust and rib cage but fine through the hips. It was too long for me so I didn't wear it--it needs to be worn by someone tall with a small rib cage.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
September 12, 2011
I really liked this dress. I expected it to be a lot lighter than it actually was. It was a little longer on me since I'm short, but overall it was wonderful to wear it. BM has a wonderful collection.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 23, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and got a ton of compliments on it. The ruching hugged my curves and looked great on and the beading is very sparkly. The only thing that bothered me was that the sashes on the sides prevented me from lifting my arms while dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 21, 2011
Subtle statement-making dress. Didn't upstage the bride but stood out amongst the guests
Gorgeous dress but the fabric was SO heavy. I wore a 6 which fit like a glove & the length hit right the the knee.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2011
Just rec'd this as my "backup: dress in case my other one didn'tt work out. I actually liked this one better, but yikes, did it run small. I am 6'7 and 125 lbs and the size 6 was way too small. Thanks and good luck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 16, 2011
Great for a fancy event!
Received a lot of nice compliments on this dress. It's great for showing off your figure without revealing too much. Fit like a glove except in the bust area. Surprised b/c I'm a 36C and still needed to tape it down. The beads were chipped in places but I'm the only one who seemed to notice. The length was great but tended to ride up a bit and the fabric kept 'tucking' under itself. Otherwise was very pleased with the overall fit.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 28, 2011
Lovely dress! Wore to Black Tie event at Beverly Hilton. Ran a little tight so ordered one size larger and fit fine. Gourgeous lines and detail. Perfect match for event.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2011
Absolutely beautiful dress! Wore it to my hospital department's Christmas party in December and received many compliments. The shirring and form fitting fabric hid many a body flaw and smoothed things out beautifully! Would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2011
Pros: beautiful beaded neckline, interesting shape, very unique dress, excellent dress for showing off curves, conservative and easy to wear. Cons: Not best for shorter women. Notes: There is a lot of stretch in the fabric, but its heavy and thick, so its a little bit difficult getting the dress on. Once its on and zipped, its so comfortable. Until you have to walk if you're short. I had to take small steps because it came right to my knees, so I recommend it for taller women with longer legs.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2011
Most "body-hugging" styles accentuate my hips and thighs in all the wrong ways (which is why I tend toward A-lines), but the heavier weight of this fabric is very forgiving. It was also nice to have a more substantial dress in the winter. Be careful about sizing, though. I'm usually an 8 (sometimes a 6), and based on the fit specialist's recommendations I ordered an 8 with a 10 as back-up. I couldn't even get the 8 over my shoulders, and although *technically* the 10 fit it was uncomfortably tight. RTR overnighted a size 12 which arrived just in time for my event and fit nicely (although a bit large in the waist). All three dresses I received had some chipped beads, but I just spun each one around on its thread until I found a better side.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 21, 2011
Beautiful dress but definiately request a size up. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes 4 and based on the reviews I requested a size 8 and that is what fit the best! Dress was perfect for a winter event with very nice beads on straps and along the front. Great rental price. Will use Rent the Runway again. Thanks Kati S. for the recommendation.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
January 5, 2011
Ick! I rented 3 dresses and this one was the worst on me by far. The thick fabric plus the ruching was so unflattering on my petite/hourglass frame. My boyfriend actually said it looked like I had pillows stuffed under it. The length hit below the knee which was also not cute. That said, I think it could be flattering on really stick straight or very curvy girls because the dress is pretty on the hanger.
Chelsea September 22, 2015
*I'm 5'1" and don't want it to be too long!
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 31
December 29, 2010
This designer runs small overall - I usually wear an 8, but even the 10 in this dress was snug. The fabric was very heavy. It was a beautiful fit, but beware the beading on the dress - both of the sizes I rented arrived with the trim not up to par. The colored beads were peeling, leaving cheap plastic white beads showing along the neckline. Not flattering. RTW was terrific about refunding my money, but I was forced to shop for a dress the morning of my event as there was no time to ship another selection.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
November 10, 2010
This dress is gorgeous. However, I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up not wearing it for two reasons. One, the material was much heavier than I anticipated. Two, this dress is not meant for petites - the size that fit me well around my body had too long of shoulder straps and went well below the knee on me. Not for petites!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
I loved this dress! And received many compliments. The material is a bit heavy, but that worked well for a fall wedding.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
I wore this to a black tie event and felt so comfortable in it. It was a cooler evening so the heavier fabric was very appropriate and it was just clingy enough without being trampy. My only negative note was that in a not-so-busty girl, the neckline had a tendency to sag a little so smaller chests may benefit from some inserts or extra padding. All in all, I loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2010
This dress is gorgeous, I absolutely loved it. I received many compliments!!! The dress is somewhat heavy, but this is to be expected with all the beautiful beading. Thank you RTRW, I looked fabulous
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2010
I am usually a size 4 but got the 6 too just in case. well NEITHER dress fit. I think I may have been sent the wrong size. It looked very odd on my and made me look bigger. The dress itself was very heavy and the ruching I only know how to describe as intense. It looks great on the model and the beading was pretty, but it did not come to me as pictured. I'm glad I ordered another dress (which the size 4 fit with room to spare).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2010
I loved the look of this dress, and it is very pretty on! However, it is very heavy fabric. I thought it would be lighter. This dress is very appropriate for winter events.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
October 4, 2010
I didn't end up wearing this dress but it was lovely on, but slightly tight in the bust/rib case.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 27, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress! It hugged my curves in the appropriate places, and was still very comfortable. The beaded neckline is unexpected, and I received a lot of compliments!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×