Badgley Mischka

Off-the-shoulder Beaded Sheath

$58 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This eye-catching LBD by Badgley Mischka is the perfect party dress. With sparkly beading and a shoulder bearing cut, you simply can't go wrong with this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Square neckline. Cold shoulder detail with beaded straps. Ruched body. Hidden back zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

80 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 46
Large 0
Photos 29
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Sep 27, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress! It hugged my curves in the appropriate places, and was still very comfortable. The beaded neckline is unexpected, and I received a lot of compliments!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 4, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I didn't end up wearing this dress but it was lovely on, but slightly tight in the bust/rib case.
LoLo87
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 9, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved the look of this dress, and it is very pretty on! However, it is very heavy fabric. I thought it would be lighter. This dress is very appropriate for winter events.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I am usually a size 4 but got the 6 too just in case. well NEITHER dress fit. I think I may have been sent the wrong size. It looked very odd on my and made me look bigger. The dress itself was very heavy and the ruching I only know how to describe as intense. It looks great on the model and the beading was pretty, but it did not come to me as pictured. I'm glad I ordered another dress (which the size 4 fit with room to spare).
Carboni
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is gorgeous, I absolutely loved it. I received many compliments!!! The dress is somewhat heavy, but this is to be expected with all the beautiful beading. Thank you RTRW, I looked fabulous
Ingrid
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a black tie event and felt so comfortable in it. It was a cooler evening so the heavier fabric was very appropriate and it was just clingy enough without being trampy. My only negative note was that in a not-so-busty girl, the neckline had a tendency to sag a little so smaller chests may benefit from some inserts or extra padding. All in all, I loved it!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! And received many compliments. The material is a bit heavy, but that worked well for a fall wedding.
T
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Nov 10, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is gorgeous. However, I ordered this dress as a backup and ended up not wearing it for two reasons. One, the material was much heavier than I anticipated. Two, this dress is not meant for petites - the size that fit me well around my body had too long of shoulder straps and went well below the knee on me. Not for petites!
Elizabeth
Age: 30
Dec 29, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This designer runs small overall - I usually wear an 8, but even the 10 in this dress was snug. The fabric was very heavy. It was a beautiful fit, but beware the beading on the dress - both of the sizes I rented arrived with the trim not up to par. The colored beads were peeling, leaving cheap plastic white beads showing along the neckline. Not flattering. RTW was terrific about refunding my money, but I was forced to shop for a dress the morning of my event as there was no time to ship another selection.
LL
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Jan 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Ick! I rented 3 dresses and this one was the worst on me by far. The thick fabric plus the ruching was so unflattering on my petite/hourglass frame. My boyfriend actually said it looked like I had pillows stuffed under it. The length hit below the knee which was also not cute. That said, I think it could be flattering on really stick straight or very curvy girls because the dress is pretty on the hanger.
Barbara S.
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Beautiful dress but definiately request a size up. I normally wear a 6 and sometimes 4 and based on the reviews I requested a size 8 and that is what fit the best! Dress was perfect for a winter event with very nice beads on straps and along the front. Great rental price. Will use Rent the Runway again. Thanks Kati S. for the recommendation.
Tracy
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Most "body-hugging" styles accentuate my hips and thighs in all the wrong ways (which is why I tend toward A-lines), but the heavier weight of this fabric is very forgiving. It was also nice to have a more substantial dress in the winter. Be careful about sizing, though. I'm usually an 8 (sometimes a 6), and based on the fit specialist's recommendations I ordered an 8 with a 10 as back-up. I couldn't even get the 8 over my shoulders, and although *technically* the 10 fit it was uncomfortably tight. RTR overnighted a size 12 which arrived just in time for my event and fit nicely (although a bit large in the waist). All three dresses I received had some chipped beads, but I just spun each one around on its thread until I found a better side.
CAR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Pros: beautiful beaded neckline, interesting shape, very unique dress, excellent dress for showing off curves, conservative and easy to wear. Cons: Not best for shorter women. Notes: There is a lot of stretch in the fabric, but its heavy and thick, so its a little bit difficult getting the dress on. Once its on and zipped, its so comfortable. Until you have to walk if you're short. I had to take small steps because it came right to my knees, so I recommend it for taller women with longer legs.
Janet
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely beautiful dress! Wore it to my hospital department's Christmas party in December and received many compliments. The shirring and form fitting fabric hid many a body flaw and smoothed things out beautifully! Would definitely rent this dress again!
salina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Lovely dress! Wore to Black Tie event at Beverly Hilton. Ran a little tight so ordered one size larger and fit fine. Gourgeous lines and detail. Perfect match for event.
Kate B.
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 16, 2011

Great for a fancy event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received a lot of nice compliments on this dress. It's great for showing off your figure without revealing too much. Fit like a glove except in the bust area. Surprised b/c I'm a 36C and still needed to tape it down. The beads were chipped in places but I'm the only one who seemed to notice. The length was great but tended to ride up a bit and the fabric kept 'tucking' under itself. Otherwise was very pleased with the overall fit.
RTR customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Just rec'd this as my "backup: dress in case my other one didn'tt work out. I actually liked this one better, but yikes, did it run small. I am 6'7 and 125 lbs and the size 6 was way too small. Thanks and good luck!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 21, 2011

Subtle statement-making dress. Didn't upstage the bride but stood out amongst the guests

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress but the fabric was SO heavy. I wore a 6 which fit like a glove & the length hit right the the knee.
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding and got a ton of compliments on it. The ruching hugged my curves and looked great on and the beading is very sparkly. The only thing that bothered me was that the sashes on the sides prevented me from lifting my arms while dancing.
Katie
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I really liked this dress. I expected it to be a lot lighter than it actually was. It was a little longer on me since I'm short, but overall it was wonderful to wear it. BM has a wonderful collection.
Georgia
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Body type: Petite
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a pretty dress but it is a lot of dress. Very heavy and I wouldn't want to wear it in hot weather. It is very tight through bust and rib cage but fine through the hips. It was too long for me so I didn't wear it--it needs to be worn by someone tall with a small rib cage.
micki
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
absolutely loved this dress although ran very small...thank God I ordered a backup size...and thankfully weather was cool because dress is a very heavy material....got many compliments and look forward to ordering my next dress!! Thank you RTW!!!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The pictures do not do this dress justice... the dress looks a little bit big and bulky on the model but I can assure you that is not the case. I rented it for a very high society wedding in the fall. The length and neckline keep the dress classy while at the same time the snug-as-a-glove fit and dropped shoulders are super sexy. The neck line beading is surprisingly beautiful and appreciated. The dress is a heavier material which makes it great for cool weather. I can not recommend this dress enough.
lesleycarolina
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a beautiful and elegant dress. I usually wear between a 2-4. In this case size 4 fit me better, size 2 was too snug.
DJ
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was so happy to see the dress when I pulled it out of the box...it was perfect for the event I was to attend (a black tie optional fundraiser)! BUT sadly, I could not get the dress to zip over my ample bust. The dress is true to size everywhere but does run tight in the bust. So just know that when ordering. I was unable to wear it. Darn! Super cute!
Cyny
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! It hugged my curves without being too tight, and made me feel like a glamorous movie star!
Aletha
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The beads on this dress were scratched and some were missing, so there were threads sticking out from many places. I was disappointed with the beading, as I felt it looked cheap. The material of the dress was pretty, but I have big shoulders and I felt like they were accentuated by the drape material on the shoulders. It was very slimming, however, so I give it a 3 star rating.
Amy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it! Got tons of complements when I wore it to a black tie wedding. Tough to go to the ladies room in it though! It's tight fitting but very flattering.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was truly great. It fit well, while allowing me to enjoy my dinner since the ripples hid that after dinner belly. The sleeves did make it hard to dance, but I would not let that deter you from renting the dress.
SamIAm
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved loved LOVED this dress! Heavy, so not for hot weather, but I rented it at the end of October, so it was perfect. Gorgeous, I felt like a goddess!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I loved this dress. Beautiful beading. It is very fitted so I may have been able to go up a size. I rented an 8 and 10. The 10 fit snuggly and fit every curve. The material has a bit of stretch so it was extremely comfortable. Lots of compliments too.
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 5, 2011

Great LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and it was perfect! I got several compliments on it. My back-up size of 6 was not available. The 4 was tight, but with the ruching it didn't look too tight.
Pamela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Bday Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Wore it for my birthday dinner. I'm 5'7" 150lbs 36-29-38, hourglass in other words. Got size 6 and 8. Wore the 8, gorgeous! Super warm for my Oct 29th bday- didn't wear a jacket. Pearls were a little worn down looked white instead of shiny or metallic. Very snug so I would order a size up. Very flattering. A little shorter on me than shown in the photo.
Nancy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 23, 2011

What a Hit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit beautifully. I wore this to a black and white wedding. It was perfect. Thank you so much.
Shapely in PA
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 11, 2012

Tummy tucker

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It hid a multitude of sins especially tucking in my tummy. I felt comfortable in it and got many compliments on it too.
Sistah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Feb 5, 2012

Loves Your Curves

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is wonderful for highlighting shoulders and complimenting curves. It's comfortable and runs true to size. I received many positive comments and one woman, who is always beautifully dressed, told my husband I looked stunning. What could be better? Deciding what to wear for special events used to be depressing and time consuming (not to mention pricey). Not any more!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Sexy dress but too tight

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very sexy but very tight as well. Too tight for a hot summer day and it was hard to go to the rest room in it. I LOVED the service and will definitely be using it again!
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Dress runs super small

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Really pretty but incredibly tight. I usually wear a 0 or 2 and even the 4 didn't fit. Also the material is a little "cheap" feeling to me.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Very Classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a VIP meet and greet event I attended. The length was appropriate and the neckline and beading gave it just enough to stand out without it being over the top. Perfect cocktail dress!
J
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Sophisticated

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal affair and loved the dress, although the fit wasn't perfect on me. I had to wear the 4 as my ribcage/chest wouldn't fit in the smaller size (I often have this issue - my hips are small, but my ribcage is not :)), so the straps were too big and as I was going straight from work and ordered at the last minute, they kind of flopped around on me all night. Otherwise, I thought the dress was beautiful and think it's great for a formal affair.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×