Up To No Good Gown

$148 to buy
$850 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Watch out Angelina! Strut your stuff in this sequin sensation by Badgley Mischka.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Strapless with boning on bodice. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
200 reviews
Fit
Large15
True to Size121
Small48
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 5, 2014
Beautiful gown, hid my baby bump!
Picked this gown for a formal when I was almost 4 months pregnant - it was perfect! The gown is gorgeous - simple black but the sequins really make it stand out (in the most subtle of ways if that makes sense). The regular was still a bit long for me (but I'm only 5'4''), even in heels I was still picking up the dress to dance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
May 5, 2014
The dress was absolutely amazing, the fit was perfect, I received complements all night at prom.
Perfect dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2014
Great dress for a black tie wedding!
I ordered a 4R and 6P and ended up wearing the 4R as the 6P was too big on me. Even though the 4R was long, I toughed it out and really enjoyed wearing it. I was able to dance all night, though I did hold it up for majority of the time. Either way, it was a great dress for a formal affair, just be sure to order early and get the length you need!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 1, 2014
Not your average black dress
This dress was perfect for being onstage, crowning girls at a pageant. My only complaints are that it isn't as flattering as it may seem, the top fits a tad strange, and that the top of the dress rolls a little bit, if that makes any sense?
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
The perfect amount of sparkle!
This was my first experience with RTR and I couldn't have been happier! This dress was absolutely perfect for my sorority's masquerade formal and I got so many compliments! The dress was just the right amount of sparkle without being over the top! Pictures certainly don't do it justice! Like so many other reviewers said, you will need two people to zip up the dress, but it stayed in place all night without being uncomfortable. If you are on the shorter side like me, try your best to get the petite size. I made the regular length work with some rather substantial heels (like 5 inch heels) but I had to hold the dress whenever I walked to avoid stepping on the hem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
I wore it to our schools masquerade formal and I LOVED IT! I got so so many compliments.
it fits true to size. However it is really long and I can't wear heels so I had to keep picking up the dress when I walked so that was kind of annoying. It's a beautiful dress, and it's not too heavy for being full of sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
April 24, 2014
Derby glamour
When Derby comes to town, I recommend RTR to all my friends. This dress made me feel fun for a small gathering at a friend's house. I love the sparkle and flow of this dress. A little itchy under the arms due to the sequin but nothing too unbearable. And I didn't have to wear heels!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
April 24, 2014
Sparkly and fun without being over the top.
The top definitely runs a little large, so I ended up wearing the 8L. At 5'11", the long was just perfect enough to scrape the ground when wearing flats. I was pulling it up a bit throughout the night, but for a strapless dress, it really wasn't bad at all. I absolutely loved the dress and had a really hard time sending it back! It was sparkly and fun, but I didn't feel like I was trying too hard.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 20
April 10, 2014
Trying it on
This dress was absolutely stunning! Was so excited to try it on when I got home, but sadly it did not fit. It was a bit small! But it's okay. This dress is just beautiful. The only thing I could say is that the dress is kind of heavy and long even with the regular.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 10, 2014
Looks better in person!
I originally planned on wearing a different dress from rent the runway, but the night it was supposed to be shipped to me I got an email saying the size I needed had been damaged beyond repair! Ugh!! I had already selected this dress as a second choice. I ordered my regular size and a size smaller based on reviews. I ended up going with the 2L because the dress was a bit large in the bust. I wore a strapless bra to help keep the dress from falling but still spent the night pulling it up. Like some other reviews said, the sequins rub your underarms and can get pretty uncomfortable as the night goes on. I am 5'7 and wore 5 inch heels with this dress, but still kept tripping throughout the evening. I would suggest ordering regular length to anyone 5'7 or shorter especially if it is a dance event like mine. Even though there are a few downsides to this dress, it was definitely a wonderful choice. I felt like a rock star and got compliments from random strangers all night long. Everything worked out perfectly because at the event, another girl was wearing the same dress I had originally planned on wearing!!! Nothing like running into a complete stranger wearing the same dress as you :) My dress hiccup ended up being a blessing. Overall, I definitely say Rent this dress if you want to feel gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2014
Beautiful, but too big
I ordered a 2 and 4 in this dress for a masquerade ball. It's absolutely stunning. I wasn't able to wear it as it showed up late, but when it did arrive I tried it on for fun and the 2 was too big. It's also a bit heavy. I do recommend this dress for someone looking for a beautiful yet simple dress. Just don't forget to size down!
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 4, 2014
My hubby and I were the best dressed couple at the event! It was a great night!
This was an absolutely beautiful dress!! My hubby and I received compliments all night long! My only problem is that the dress was about half an inch too long. I'm 5'1" and wore 4" heels. The dress was a 6 petite. I also had the gold 6p and the length was perfect. So I guess the dresses may vary a bit. I opted to wear the black because it was a better match for what my hubby was wearing.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 2, 2014
The event was okay.
The dress was great. A little heavy and a lot of material though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2014
Too tight on top!
Top is not made for larger busts.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 11, 2014
an elder lady asked " how does it feel to be the most beautiful woman in the room?" Worth the Dress
Have someone there to help you zip the dress. other than that it was an AWESOME fit!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2014
Shined like an Oscar!
I rented this gown for a formal Oscar party. From the rental pictures, I thought this dress was black with silver threading. It is all black sequin. The dress is not heavy! The 4L was a bit short with heels, but the 6XL was too large. If you are between a 4 & 6, the 4 will do. The only 'annoying' thing about the dress was the bust wiring on the chest. It kept cupping in and pulling fabric. NOT A PAIN, but something I noticed when the dress first arrived. The dress was easy to style and you will receive many compliments :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 5, 2014
It was a gorgeous gown. Photographs don't do it justice.
Runs long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
March 3, 2014
This sparkly long dress was definitely different from anyone else's dress at my event.
Fit was true to size & the length was perfect with my heels.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 1, 2014
This dress was awesome! Super sparkly, but not over the top. I got compliments on it all night!
The top definitely runs large (I have a huge chest and it just about held everything in). Other reviews also said that it ran long, and I ordered the regular thinking it would be long enough, but it was much shorter than expected and I couldn't wear heels with it. It was incredibly flattering though and would look good on pretty much anyone!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 28, 2014
The dress looked amazing in photos, especially black and white pics.
True to size, bodice runs a tad bit tight but on the bright side it stays put and I didn't feel like I was trying to pull it up all night. Perfect for a black tie wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2014
This dress is so much more stunning in person!!
This was my first RTR experience, and I couldn't be happier! This dress was even more beautiful than I had anticipated. It was the perfect black dress, gorgeous but not too flashy. My normal size is usually a 6 or 8, and I ended up wearing the 8, with some room to breathe. I literally have no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2014
Not For Me
I rented this dress to wear to a Black Tie Wedding on New Years Eve and it wasn't m favorite. It was a bit too heavy for me and the length wasn't right. It made me feel bulky.. i think it was the fit not the dress, as it is very beautiful.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 20, 2014
Beautiful dress and great RTR customer service!!!!
This dress is beautiful in person, I would have given it 5 stars but you need two people to zip up the dress...and even then it was tough to zip! The dress is very long so expect to wear very high heals or order the short! Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 17, 2014
Beautiful dress
Ok ladies! This is a beautiful dress! If you are tall, make sure to rent the LONG version if you are going to wear heals. Please please please if you have a large chest consider a different dress. I literally had to have my boyfriend zip me into this dress and hold my breath! There is NO GIVE thru the bust of this dress, so just be aware of that. Otherwise, it's beautiful and I still had a great night in it (just no deep breaths!!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 9, 2014
not for large busts
This was my first pick for a black tie wedding that I recently attended. I have previously worn a similar style by this designer (the green Flora Chiffon Gown), so I felt confident ordering the same size that had worked before. However, this style fit much smaller than I had expected -- despite the fact that I'm a little smaller now than when I last wore Badgley Mischka! I have a very large bust (34 F) and this dress barely fit over my chest. Thankfully, the customer service rep was wonderful and we found a replacement option that would work at the last minute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
February 5, 2014
I did not wear this dress.
I ordered this dress as a backup. I did not wear it because my first-choice dress was a fantastic dress. I thought this dress was very heavy.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2014
Beautiful, but Damaged
I loved this dress, but unfortunatly a wire that was in the bodice was sticking out and I was unable to wear it for my best friends wedding. I'm usually a 6, but the size 8 (the damaged one) just barely fit over my chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 23, 2014
Great Dress for any body type
At first, I thought this dress looked like a black trash bag but it is a great dress. The picture doesn't do it justice. I just watched some video of me in this dress and the dress (and me) looked amazing! This dress will go well with pretty much any body type. Couple of tips: My big boobs were tucked in and the dress never felt like it was going to fall off my chest, zipper sucks, dress runs long... even the petite one. Go easy on the accessories and don't overdo your hair. The dress wears you!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184lbs
January 22, 2014
DIDN'T WEAR, SECOND CHOICE
This was actually my first choice, but it runs about a size and a half small, so I couldn't get it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
Pretty in person, not in pictures
So I LOVED the dress in person, once I got it zipped up. Because of the sequins and heavy material, it was very difficult (and traumatizing for a woman!!) to get the dress zipped up. If you have this problem, soap up the zipper. Once it got zipped up, it fit beautifully and I felt pretty all night. However, pictures don't do the dress justice. If you want to wear this for the sake of nice photographs, don't. Very beautiful and flattering dress in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2014
I wore this dress and earrings for a Great Gatsby themed NYE party. I got tons of compliments!
The dress was a little tight in the on top, but otherwise comfortable. Was able to wear with 3 1/2 inch heels and the petite length and was good. Dress is not to heavy either.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 5, 2014
Good for Black Tie
Definitely fits a bit tight, I found the P to be long even with 4in heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
Thanks for making my NYE amazing! Easy experience, dress was perfect and in great condition!
I ordered a 6L and an 8L in this dress and I ended up wearing the 6L. Surprisingly, this dress was a touch long on me, which isn't a problem I normally have since I'm 5'10" and was wearing heels. I think it was just the specific dress I had - I tried on the 8L and it seemed shorter. So the Long is plenty long if you're 5'10" and wearing 3" heels. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2013
Very comfortable and tons of compliments
I ordered this for a black tie Holiday Party. I am usually a size 4 and it was suggested to size Up, but the 4 was too big. I could've used a 2, but the 4 still worked, as all the other dress styles I ordered were too big as well. I had to pull it up throughout the night but I don't think it was obvious to anyone and it was still very comfortable. Not at all heavy and I got a ton of compliments. Had it been one size smaller it would have been Perfect but it still did the trick for the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 4, 2013
Very comfortable, feels amazing on, truly flattering
Very comfortable, feels amazing on, truly flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 30, 2013
This dress was beautiful and arrived in great condition. I will definitely rent again!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. This was my first time renting from RTR and I will definitely be a repeat customer. I had a short notice formal with no time to shop for a dress. I was concerned if I bought a dress online that it wouldn't arrive in time and if it did, it wouldn't fit. Renting allowed me to get a gorgeous dress without worrying about having it not fit at the last minute. I rented both the 4 and the 2, but wore the 2. I'm 5'5, 115 pounds, and usually a size 2 in department stores. I wore a bra with the dress, but it's lined very well and there's boning in the bodice so you could probably get away without wearing one if that's more comfortable. The only challenge I had with the dress was the length. I wore 4" heels and still found the dress to be a bit too long. I had a great experience renting and loved wearing this dress!
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 25, 2013
This dress is beautiful! It sparkles and so will you in it!
Wore this dress to the Marine Corps Birthday Ball and felt flawless. I was surprised that this dress was long enough but it was actually a little too long on me, had to wear 4" heels! Regardless it is absolutely beautiful and comfortable. Not too heavy and stays put! I wore a bra but I think that is totally optional. Loved it!! I felt like a million bucks in it and didnt want to send it back after the ball!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2013
Gorgeous second dress!
I rented this as my second option, it is very pretty & actually made the choice of "which one to wear" very difficult. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 10, 2013
Once again super customer service from RTR
I rented this gown in a size 10xl and 12 xl I normally wear and 8/10 but after reading reviews thought Id better go a little bigger. First of all I am 5'9 and wear 3-4 inch heels with all my gowns, the XL was wayyyy to long. Secondly I am a 36DD . The 10 was too tight in the chest and the 12 was ok in the chest but too big everywhere else and it just pulled down on my breast. I do not suggest this dress if you have implants.. this dress needs breast that can be shaped and poistioned to follow the stays and the preset shape of the bodice. So I shipped it back Friday morning and called to get a replacement, it arrived Saturday AM by 11. That dress was great and all was wel,l once again with my RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
November 5, 2013
A complete stranger made her way to me to let me know how beautiful I looked.
This dress is was stunning. Photos actual don't do it enough justice because it glitters all over. A few notes... the petite was still VERY long on me since I'm 5ft but I had a 4/12 inch heel with a 1/2 inch platform and was fine. Stairs were a little tricky but nothing holding the bottom up couldn't help. You absolutely could NOT zip this alone. I'm not sure if it was just the dress I got but it took two people and me sucking it in to zip. The dress FIT it was just impossible to zip. I'd give it five stars if it wasn't for the zipper!! However, once I got it zipped, it fit perfectly. I didn't need a bra at all since the top fit almost like a corset. Aside from those notes... the dress was stunning and moved so fluidly, I loved wearing it!!!
LizFebruary 15, 2014
Is your friends dress black or blue?
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×