Badgley Mischka

Up To No Good Gown

$148 to buy
$850 retail
Stylist Notes

Watch out Angelina! Strut your stuff in this sequin sensation by Badgley Mischka.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Strapless with boning on bodice. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
202 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(48)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 6, 2013
The sequins!
This is a great dress and I got lots of compliments but BEWARE- it runs very small in the bust. If you are over a C cup you may want to consider another dress. I had to cleans for 2 days to get it zipped and even then it required quite a bit of maneuvering... once it was zipped I barely fit in the top but made it work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
April 28, 2013
PERFECT!
I loved this dress. The top was small, I am a 36D so I had to size up. 12 wouldn't come close to zipping. I would rather it be flattering than worry about the size. It was beautiful and I got so many compliments. So structured that I didn't even need to wear a bra. Sequins got in the way to zip up and you definitely need 2 people to help you zip it. Overall it was perfect and I didn't want to send it back. the XL was the perfect link for 5'11'' with 2 inch heels.
KaylaSeptember 16, 2013
You both look great, where is that lime dress from?!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
The dress was subtle yet flashy just in the right ways!
I was skeptical at first about renting from RTR just because of the used dress aspect, sizing, coming in on time, etc. However, my experience was great. The dresses came in on time, and it even came with a little goody bag! Whenever I had questions about sizes or anything, the online chat tool was the way to go and super helpful. I had seen that the dress was long in other reviews so i initially ordered a 2R and 4R however i second guessed myself and changed to the 2L and 4L and im SO happy I did! I wore about 5 inch heels and it was maybe a half inch off the ground. Although I was pulling it up all night, I didnt mind because of how gorgeous the dress was, I had SO many compliments on it, and wouldnt change a thing if I had to do it all over again.
MaileSeptember 24, 2013
Guns up!!! Go Texas Tech!! You look gorgeous!
CindyDecember 27, 2013
Wreck 'Em Tech!! Looks great!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
May 25, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior prom and it was perfect!
This dress was just what I was looking for to wear to my prom. I absolutely loved the way the sequins looked, and I got many compliments! The only thing was that it was very long on me. I ordered the regular length and it was still dragging with 5-inch heels on. Other than that, the dress fit perfectly, but I would recommend ordering a size up because the top on the size that I normally wear seemed to run a bit small. I'm so pleased with RTR's service! The dress came right on time, and it was such an amazing deal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2013
Absolutely stunning dress. Crap zipper.
The fit is small. I have a short waist and this dress straight up had the waist area on my lower ribs. Thankfully I had bought the size up so it fit a little more comfortably. The dress IS stunning and will look great in photos and everything else. However...you cannot wear a bra with it...no room and if you have a short waist...order up! The length is FANTASTIC. I am 5'10 and the extra long allowed me to wear heels with a full length dress...a feat not easily accomplished. All in all a good dress.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
This gown was GORGEOUS, I felt so beautiful and I got so many compliments the whole night.
I recommend not to wear a bra because the dress is corset like and it can be tight. I ordered a 4R & 6R and ended up wearing a 6R because it was veery tight. Overall the dress was super comfortable I danced in it the whole night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 9, 2014
not for large busts
This was my first pick for a black tie wedding that I recently attended. I have previously worn a similar style by this designer (the green Flora Chiffon Gown), so I felt confident ordering the same size that had worked before. However, this style fit much smaller than I had expected -- despite the fact that I'm a little smaller now than when I last wore Badgley Mischka! I have a very large bust (34 F) and this dress barely fit over my chest. Thankfully, the customer service rep was wonderful and we found a replacement option that would work at the last minute.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 21
April 10, 2014
Trying it on
This dress was absolutely stunning! Was so excited to try it on when I got home, but sadly it did not fit. It was a bit small! But it's okay. This dress is just beautiful. The only thing I could say is that the dress is kind of heavy and long even with the regular.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
May 7, 2014
Gorgeous dress but it would not fit in either size!
This was a beautiful gown but sadly it did not fit in either size. I ended up purchasing a dress from Cache in the same size as I had ordered so I'm not sure if this designer is just not for me. I have broad shoulders and wear a 36 DDD. But hopefully this dress will fit you--I'd definitely recommend it to some of my more petite friends!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 15, 2014
Elegant!
I wore this dress for a black tie ball. I normally wear a 12 but I am busty and had trouble getting the smaller size zipped. The dress was super flattering and very elegant. My only complaint was that the elastic hem was worn around the top of the dress and slipped a bit, although it was not enough of a problem for me to return the gown!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
May 23, 2014
I absolutely loved the sparkles!!
I loved the dress for my senior prom and when I got it and I thought that it fit pretty well in most categories. The only thing I could say about it was that it subtly emphasizes love handles if you have them and if you have a larger chest like I do the dress sits lower on your body. I also felt the need to buy fashion tape to keep the dress up but it was a small purchase and once I did I felt much better about dancing through the night. Other than that I loved the dress and got so many compliments from everyone at the prom!! It was a great night and i would still highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 15, 2014
Rent the runway is my new obsession! They were so awesome with helping me get the right size!
If you are a busty woman like me, this dress runs small! I am usually a 10-12 and I had to send both those sizes back and get a 14. This dress is really long too so unless your 6" I wouldn't think you would need the long. But RTR was so awesome about overnighting me the right size! I couldn't believe it was on my doorstep the next morning! It was like Christmas! I love RTR and will definitely be using them again and telling the world about them!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 15, 2014
Didn't wear the dress it was too small for my bust I'm a 36 DDD and the dress just couldn't zip
It was too long and too small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2014
I definitely didn't wear this dress. The sequins were overpowering and I felt way too fancy!
The length was fine but the bust was way too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 5, 2014
Good for Black Tie
Definitely fits a bit tight, I found the P to be long even with 4in heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
October 17, 2014
It's was a show stopper. I stuffed myself in there and although tight, it hid my imperfections.
Awesome dress. Great for hiding the pouch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
November 2, 2014
too big and too small in all the wrong places
Ordered 2 sizes. they were basically the same in the chest/zipper area. I am 6' tall and wear a small C. With no bra and my breasts completely smashed down, my husband still couldn't zip it - in either size. The sizes were basically the same. The bottom half ( where I normally need extra room for the hips) was hugely oversized. Too much fabric on the bottom - which made it look frumpy. Not flattering! I think it would look good for a true 2-6 sized woman, But as the sizes go up, the added on the fabric which makes your bottom half look wider. Had to send them both back - wearing something I own because I didn't have time to swap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Attended the National Kidney Masquerade Ball, this dress made me look like I belonged at a gala!
This dress was stunning. I received many compliments and the length was perfect. I wore 4 inch heels and if you're around 5'7 or 5'8, the R size is perfect and won't drag on the ground. I sized up merely because the bust area is rather tight and didn't want my girls popping out. However, this dress is good for bustier women since it's tight around the bust area and with some Hollywood Fashion Tape, it stayed up. You almost could pull it off without a strapless bra but I wanted everything to stay in place! Also, the waist area is a bit bulkier and since it's not form fitting, I wouldn't recommend this gown for someone who is on the shorter side since there's a lot of extra fabric that is below the bust area and could easily make you look like you're drowning in fabric. Overall, was perfect for my event. One note: the sequins by the armpits might be a little itchy, don't be alarmed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
November 19, 2014
Stunning!!
I loved the dress and how it looked in person but it didn't fit true to size like I thought (no I didn't gain any weight! lol). It fit ok from the waist down but it was definitely tight on top with and without the strapless bra. The material wasn't stretchy on top either so I could barely breathe but I had no choice but to work it out for the evening. I'm 5'11" so the long was just right. I initially got the extra long but that was too much. I should have gone up a size. I did receive a lot of compliments on the dress and had a wonderful time. I would definitely rent it again but just go up a size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
January 8, 2015
I am 6'1 and the dress was perfect, I normally wear a 10 but the 12 fit. Pretty dress.
The top of the gown had a bit of fabric that looked droopy. Great looking dress
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 10, 2015
Didn't even make it to the event
The picture for this dress is very misleading; it made it seem more shiny and sleek than sparkly. I was very disappointed when I took this out of the box because I thought it was going to be much shinier intead or sequins. Also, the zipper on this dress is nearly impossible to zip up even when the dress isn't on. You have to really wrestle with the zipper on this dress especially on the bust because the bust runs very very small. I ordered this and another dress for my event and I definitely will be wearing the other one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 11, 2015
NYE 2015
Dress was beautiful. Based on reviews I knew it ran small but the only size available was 4R. It was super tight. Luckily I had help getting into it. It was a solid dress though, felt like a sophisticated princess. The length was just right.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
February 17, 2015
Dresses didn't fit :-(
Runs small. I wear an 8 and couldn't fit the 10 or 12. The sequin has no pull. Great quality dress, just runs small.
Size worn:
10XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 22, 2015
Stunning!
Wore an Extra Long and it was great! Still not long enough for heels, but perfect for flats! The zipper is tricky around the waist, but fit perfectly once on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2015
AWESOME
Don't let the funny face I'm making on the right deter you, this dress was PERFECT for the wedding I attended in late August. I have a very large bust (36 DD) so if you have a large bust you NEED to size up. I usually wear a 12 but had to wear a 16 because I couldn't get the zipper closed in anything smaller. I rented the long and wore with flats (it was a long wedding day affair) and the length was perfect for a 5'11'' frame. The weight of the dress is heavier than expected, but not uncomfortable. I wore this dress for about 13 hours (like a said.... a loooong wedding day affair) and I was completely comfortable and felt glam the entire day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable dress!
Wore this dress to a formal Oscar Night. The dress definitely runs small in the chest area, but it was beautiful and I received countless compliments! The black sequins catch the light and have a great understated GLAM look! I would recommend this dress to anyone for a formal evening out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
December 16, 2015
I felt glamorous!
This dress was actually a back-up dress. RTR did a fabulous job with customer service, and I am so glad that I ended up with this dress! The dress is very heavy and I felt that the bust area was tight. I had to wear a NuBra and that helped, but I still felt like my boobs were being smothered a bit. All in all, I felt beautiful! The length was just right with a pair of two inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
January 6, 2016
Sequins were great for the winter event. They were not itchy either. Overall great dress.
Once I got it zipped it felt great. Dress runs small in the rib cage, so I had to go up a size. Going up a size made my bust disappear a little bit. Great dress and would recommend if a formal black dress is needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 17, 2014
Beautiful dress
Ok ladies! This is a beautiful dress! If you are tall, make sure to rent the LONG version if you are going to wear heals. Please please please if you have a large chest consider a different dress. I literally had to have my boyfriend zip me into this dress and hold my breath! There is NO GIVE thru the bust of this dress, so just be aware of that. Otherwise, it's beautiful and I still had a great night in it (just no deep breaths!!).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
May 17, 2014
Beautiful and simple!
At first I was a bit weary about renting after reading the reviews. Girls said that it runs a bit smaller so I decided to order a 2P which ended up being perfect (in flats). I'm usually a 4R which I ordered as a back up size which fit fine but it was way too big in the chest area. It's great and comfy but after a while the lining on the inside of the dress began to rub against by hips. A little bothersome after eating but nothing too bad. Also the zipper was really hard to get up over the top half of the dress! I'm guessing it's from all the wear over time but me and my mom figured out that of you put pressure onto your hands when you place them on your hips, the dress will stick out a bit on the back and make it really easy to zip up! Overall it's a gorgeous dress that's timeless and looks great in pictures!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 27, 2014
Lots of Compliments
I received a of compliments for this dress, and it looked great, but I had a few problems with it. It was tight on the chest (which is not a problem I usually face), and the ribbing kept poking me at the top of the dress (see picture). These created a weird shadow in pictures. It was a heavy dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful, but runs small!
This dress was absolutely stunning. I normally wear a 6 and the reviews all said it ran big. For me this was not the case! I ordered a 4 as my back up size based on reviews and based on my sizes in other dresses and I did not get to wear it! It was too small and there was no 8 in stock last minute. That being said, had it fit it was still beautiful and I could not have asked for a better experience with rent the runway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
February 7, 2013
The dress was simply phenomenal
Originally ordered the 0R and 2R after speaking with a fit specialist, but wasn't able to zip up either, EEK! Called RTR and they immediately sent a 4R and 6R, and the 4R fit like a glove. It looked absolutely fabulous on and I got 1000 compliments. I wore it with 3.5 inch heels and it just grazed the floor. Wish this was in my closet permanently.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2013
Was too small, unable to wear
I ordered this dress (4L, 6L) as a backup for my school's gala. Unfortunately, I was unable to fit into the 6L. I am pretty busty, however, relatively proportioned everywhere else. I would recommend sizing up for girls with a little more on top. beautifully crafted, wish I could've worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2013
I loved the sequins!! It was long, fabulous and fun.
I loved this dress. I am between an 8-10 normally. I ended up getting this dress in a size 12 and 14 because I was nervous it would be too small. It ended up that I could have gone one size smaller and worn a 10. I went braless. It had some fit issues up top (if it was mine, I would have altered it and taken it in up top) but overall I loved it -- it was a fun, exciting dress and looked gorgeous. I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 10, 2013
Once again super customer service from RTR
I rented this gown in a size 10xl and 12 xl I normally wear and 8/10 but after reading reviews thought Id better go a little bigger. First of all I am 5'9 and wear 3-4 inch heels with all my gowns, the XL was wayyyy to long. Secondly I am a 36DD . The 10 was too tight in the chest and the 12 was ok in the chest but too big everywhere else and it just pulled down on my breast. I do not suggest this dress if you have implants.. this dress needs breast that can be shaped and poistioned to follow the stays and the preset shape of the bodice. So I shipped it back Friday morning and called to get a replacement, it arrived Saturday AM by 11. That dress was great and all was wel,l once again with my RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184lbs
January 22, 2014
DIDN'T WEAR, SECOND CHOICE
This was actually my first choice, but it runs about a size and a half small, so I couldn't get it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 13, 2015
If you have a large chest, this is not for you!
I loved the dress, but it was cut very small in the bust. I couldn't even zipper it. If you have a large chest, this is definitely not for you.
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 23, 2015
: )
was a little long but was a great dress! compliments all night - black tie wedding. def order a size or 2 up!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 20, 2015
Perfect for a wedding, not a look-at-me dress but you will not go unnoticed! Doesn't wrinkle!! A++++
The reviews stated the dress ran large so I went for my true size (4R) I decided to make 6R my backup since I knew the 4 would fit, and if it didn't it wouldn't be to the point of falling off & I'd just use fashion tape to make it work. The 4 fit but was really tight on the chest (I don't have a broad back) and it made me look awkward, I wish i had the 6P because the R was a little long and I had to stand tall or pick up the skirt but totally doable. Only big drawback was the boning would poke out and there was nothing -not even fashion tape- that could/would fix it. All in all, GREAT dress, everyone loved it and if i had to, I would do it all over again!!! Get this dress it's definitely a classic -- subtle but sophisticated and you will not go unnoticed!! :) :) :)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×