Badgley Mischka

New York Wonder Dress

$60 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

An absolutely beautiful shade of red, this Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress is the rental for a charity event, formal dinner party, or Christmas delight. Paired with Badgley Mishchka's Big Bow Bracelet to finish the look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup size or bigger - Note: asymmetric neckline is fairly fitted so very full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - ruching detail is flattering on any body type
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup size or bigger - Note: asymmetric neckline is fairly fitted so very full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - ruching detail is flattering on any body type
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Scarlet silk. One shoulder neckline. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

66 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 56
Large 3
Photos 27
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 6, 2011

was told I looked famous!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. It was so sophisticated and polished. I was told all night how beautiful it was! The dress just looks expensive because of the fit and the material. The only flaw in the fit is that the top is just a tad big and it felt like it got just a tiny bit looser as the night went on, but nothing very noticeable. Very easily worn with strapless bra. I didn't feel the need for spanx either! Such a great dress!
lliveslv
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 12, 2011

fit perfectly, accentuated the positive. glamorous and classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED wearing this dress. The color is a clear beautiful red. A previous reviewer posted the exact color number. The fit was amazing. I usually wear a 4 but the 6 felt better. I wore it with gold dangly earings and thin gold bangles, nude high heel sandals. Many compliments!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 15, 2011

This dress fit so well, and was comfortable all night. I felt like a million bucks, and definitely stood out in a crowd!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was FABULOUS! I wore it to a military ball and everyone loved it-- even the cadets! I would definitely recommend it. It is classic and fun!
KT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Jun 6, 2011

My family loving the dress, and all the compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't immediately fall in love with this dress, but I wore it cause it was the more appropriate option and as the day went on I fell more and more in love with this dress! it is very figure flattering and the pouching everyone is commenting on, is seriously such a minor issue that you don't even need to worry about it. The dress photos as the color shown in this picture... but yes, in person, in some light it can come off pinkish red. Overall, I LOVED it.. my only complaint would be the shoulder is slightly cap sleeved, which can make lifting your right arm hard.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 9, 2011

The color of the dress was phenomenal!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I word this dress last weekend to a wedding and LOVED it. I ordered the 6 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 4. Like other reviewers the top was a little big and with the ruching, you really want this dress to fit. It looked amazing though and I received a lot of compliments. It is more of a raspberry color in person, but still vibrant and fun. I styled it very much the way it looks here. Great rental.
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 3, 2011

Friend said I looked "stunning" and that several people asked him "who's that girl?!"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a charity gala. Unfortunately I don't have any full-length photos from the night, but the dress fit just perfectly and was extremely comfortable to dance the night away in (and still enjoy all the awesome food, too)! Definitely recommend.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 2, 2012

My boy loves the color red, I could not go wrong

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Easy to wear, very nice lines. Great design. Perfect dress to begin your rent the runway experience with!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

My boyfriend could not keep his eyes off me. I felt beautiful and elegant the whole night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stunning! The color is gorgeous I got compliments on it all night. Perfect for looking high class but still comfortable. I usually wear a 4 and the 4 fit perfectly.
Renee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 24, 2012

I absolutely LOVED wearing this dress as I touched up the makeup for the bride before she walked down the isle!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Although I had to get a little assistance zipping this up at the top, the 4 fit amazing! I've actually never worn a red dress before and I can't wait to add some more color to my wardrobe! I loved my experience with RTR and I'm totally looking forward to renting again!
jazzkim
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

It made my valentine's day perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress made my day! My boy friend told me that this was the best dress he has seen on me. The fit was perfect! Since it was quite cold I wore black tights and It looked okay. I wish I could just wore without it though! I felt very confident whole evening on Valentine's day.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 15, 2012

All of the raves about how I looked as well as the ease of the process

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a military ball in Key West. I didn't want to wear the usual black, I wanted color. I loved this dress! It was very comfortable especially when dancing. It arrived in great shape and all I had to do was take it to the cleaners for the wrinkles and it was ready to go. I got so many compliments. My husband said it showed all the right curves. My only note would be that it is not as bright red as the picture. In fact I thought it was more of a fuschia/red although several people commented on my red dress. Would definitely wear this again. I wore this with the Ocean Moon Earrings, awesome, and the Black Ice Bangle Set.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 29, 2012

Great fit and color.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting. The service was easy and I would definately do it again. Dress was a stunning color. I ordered size 6 and 8, both fit but I chose to wear the 8 becuse I was doing ballroom dancing and needed more room for longer strides. So I needed tape on the left side under arm where there was a little gap. The size 6 fit like a glove and if I was just going to a party, it would have been amazing.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
May 30, 2012

Extremely Flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Hesitated on renting this because the dress didn't do much for the model but given all the pictures of the "everyday" woman looking great I went a head and did. Extremely flattering, the dress creates a nice hour glass shape and has a little stretch to fit nicely without having to go through tailoring. I was also concerned that the rouching would add extra weight but it didn't and if you had a little bit of stomach or bumps i think it would cover it nicely. Also the color is not as orange as it appears in pick. I usually wear a 4 and wore it in that size but with the stretch i would say it was on the larger end of a normal 4.
tawnya
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

Not red

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was nice, it was comfortable and easy to wear. Didn't feel that it was very flattering on me, though I got alot of complements on it. I was disappointed that this dress wasn't the vibrant red it appears in the photo - it is definitly more pink/magenta. I think others called it "Raspberry" which is a good description. The zipper is in an awkward spot and kind of diagonal so its difficult to get the dress on alone.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 13, 2012

Great Color and Fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress, awesome red color and fit was perfect. I am curvy on the bottom and the dress worked very well for my figure!
Joy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

The dress was classy and fun without being too conservative or boring

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental and when I first rented it, I was nervous about how it would fit. The 2 fit like a glove, though I did shorten the hemline a little with the fashion tape. I received compliments all night. It was such a hit that my boyfriend has been encouraging me to rent from RTR again. I'm totally hooked!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 17, 2012

odd

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding. The color is gorgeous. It was very snug on my waste but was big on my bust- the the point you could see in my bust line. I obviously could not wear it- I was disappointed.
Jenn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

total wow factor!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was amazing. it fit like a glove, the ruching was incredibly flattering, and the dress itself was unbelievably comfortable. i felt completely at ease to dance to my heart's content. i ordered the 4, with the 2 as my back-up size. the 4 had a small but noticeable tear, but the 2 actually fit better anyhow, so it all worked out!
Mandie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

My husband's face when he saw me in this dress was priceless!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It fit so well and I felt amazing in it. I'm a perfect size 10 generally and this dress was spot on. Perfect length, perfect fit. Loads of compliments and a great time had by all! :)
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

This dress was perfect! I had so many compliments and felt amazing the entire night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore to a fundraiser at a private artist studio.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

I felt amazing in this dress! Looked and fit great on me!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a military banquet and it was perfect. The dress is sophisticated and fits great. I can't tell you how many compliments I got.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

Don't diet...Rent this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress months in advance and am consistently a "wishful" thinker, meaning that I had good intentions of losing 5 pounds before my event. In any case, the 5 pounds were never lost but it didn't matter...the dress took them off for me! This dress is perfect for camouflage and flattering your curves at the same time. I felt like a million bucks and you will too!
Debra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Great night and many compliments on the dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfect, seams were very good
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a beautiful dress that stole the show. I'm a size 4, but the 2 was a better fit for me. Thank goodness for the alternate size option. Great great dress.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Dec 1, 2012

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for an April wedding. It was a perfect fit and lovely color!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Very pretty dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was very pretty. However, size runs smaller than i expected. The size I ordered included the back up size were too small. I was not able to wear dress.
Maddie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Almost wore it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this because it was a little too conservative for my event, but I loved the color and the way it fit. Very classy and flattering.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress. Looked great, felt great. I will definitely rent it again!
ALB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

I felt fantastic. Compliments all night long. And my husband loved it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tight, but very forgiving. Felt like a dream.
Katrina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 24, 2013

Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very small...I usually wear a size 10, but the 12 didn't even fit. I ended up returning this, which was a very easy process, and wearing something I had in my closet. Luckily, the return process was very smooth and the credit was sent to my account which I used for another fabulous dress later on. :)
Myrna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

ridges

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
skin tight
Meridith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
May 26, 2013

This dress will make you shine like a star without being too over the top!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress totally exceeded my expectations. It looks AMAZING in person, even better than the photos can show. It fit true to size and was classy, yet sexy at the same time. I highly recommend this dress. I received compliments on it all night. Truly amazing dress!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Oct 10, 2013

Loved this dress for the 2009 Tony Awards!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my very first rental at RTR and was so happy with it! I ordered a size 2 and 4. The 2 zipped up but was a bit snug, but the 4 fit perfectly. I didn't want to return it! The color is a bit more pink in person, but still a great color!
Querismatic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Very chic and festive

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company holiday party and it was a knockout! Fits true to size and the ruching is figure-flattering.
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Beautiful dress, so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and received so many compliments in it. The fabric is somewhat thick, which I liked because it hid flaws and made it look very expensive. The rouching was very flattering. I rented this dress a while ago but it is still the standard by which I judge other dresses that I've rented!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Loved it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a special occasion, wore a 2 (my usual size). Loved it.
Teah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

All the wrong places

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The red color wasn't as vibrant as I'd hope, it was more pinkish (which I'm NOT a fan of). The ruching hit all the wrong places, highlighting the cons instead of covering them up. The hips were tight & the one shoulder sat funny. I ended up loving & wearing my back-up dress
Kimberlynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 1, 2014

Vibrant color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was beautiful but considering ordering up!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Flattering. Great color.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Thick material makes you look slightly bigger, but the draping is forgiving. Great for a holiday party.
Katelyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Perfect dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was very true to size. I am small chested for my size, so I had to tack underneath the arm. The way the dress gathered was very flattering and enhanced all the right features. I would highly recommend this dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×