Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
357 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size271
Small49
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
May 2, 2016
Lovely dress, very high quality.
This dress was very nice. It did hug a little to closely to my stomach, even with Spanx I felt it drew attention to my mid-section too much for my liking. The length was perfect. I would have worn this but I went with the Slate & Willow tuxedo wrap gown instead.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2016
Cute dress, but WAY too short
I ordered the 2 regular and a 4 petite and they both fit the same--comfortable fit everywhere except the length. I'm only 5'2" and I read the reviews thinking, "oh great! This dress runs short so it won't be crazy long on me"... Well I wasn't expecting it to be THAT short. I would ONLY order this dress if you are really little, like under 5 feet tall. Otherwise, if you're cool with your feet and ankles showing, it's a really pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
April 5, 2016
.
I am not tall, and this dress was ankle length, so you could see my shoes. I didn't like the way that looked, it was tight, and maybe that was why? I think I would have liked it much better in size 8, but it wasn't available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2016
Pretty dress. Form fitting.
Very elegant classic dress. I read a lot of the reviews before I rented the dress. And I do agree that seems a little short in the front. I wore the four regular. I'm 5'3 ..but I had sparkly heels on and it looked like I was showcasing my shoes. I wish I had a picture to show you that was full length but I don't sorry! Is cut it little longer in the back. If I could've got the long I would have but they didn't have it in stock when I needed it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
March 5, 2016
Even the long is too short.
Went to a gala event. Read the reviews that said it ran short, but the long length wasn't available in my size (4). Ordered a 4R and a 6L, ended up with the 6L. The 4R was laughably short... it hit ABOVE my ankles in flats. With shapewear. The 6L was better... but in 2.5" heels, most of my shoes showed. It hit just above the floor in flats. Because of the shape of the dress, and the way the bottom flares out, it hangs better when you wear heels. Some of the beadwork was coming loose, but nothing too bad. Fit wise, the top was actually a bit big (which is not normally a problem for me in a 6)... I ended up having to tape down the armpit to keep it from gaping. It definitely needs shapewear to keep you from looking lumpy-bumpy. Overall, I liked the way the dress hung, and accentuated curves... but in retrospect, I wish I'd picked something a lot longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 15, 2016
LOVE this dress. Very comfortable and slimming.
Great fitting , I was able to use the smaller size(10L). Thanks to the reviews I ordered the long which was a perfect length. ( I am only 5'6").
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 10, 2016
The quality of this dress was amazing. Will make you feel like a queen.
I am 5"5. The dress didn't hit the floor. I do have hips and a butt so maybe if you don't have that, it would hit the floor. I usually wear regular length dresses and wear 2 inch heels and the dresses hit the floor. Not the case here. But was a great dress! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
I didn't wear this dress
This dress was too clingy
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
January 4, 2016
Comfortable and Classic!
The reviews were right, the dress runs short. I rented a long and it fit well (I'm 5"7). I thought it comfortable and a classic. It also was a slimming dress which I always appreciate!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 30, 2015
great elegant dress,
Wore this for a holiday black tie affair - had the wow factor from my husband's reaction. Is very fitted, shows your curves.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 28, 2015
Gala for work
Good fit, snug but cozy not binding. Length was perfect for me and it worked well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 28, 2015
The one I received the zipper had been stretched a bit so I couldn't wear it but it was beautiful.
The one I received looked like someone with a larger stomach may have worn it prior and put some stretch and strain into the zipper so it didn't lay flat even though there was room to move. It also does run short, I am 5'7" and with the regular length my full foot would have been showing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2015
The dress fit perfectly and was super comfy!
Glad I got the long-I am 5'8 and the extra length was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2015
I actually didn't end up wearing this. Too short, and flimsy fabric. Luckily rented 2 dresses.
Hit tea-length not floor length; flimsy fabric, beautiful design
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
November 23, 2015
Lovely gown.
Runs very short... Should have reserved the longer length. Fabric was stretchy and easy to wear. Received many compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2015
Very flattering and comfortable dress!
It does run short, i am 5'8 and the regular showed my feet. I don't like wearing high heels so it's okay but it was a tad short. Other than that, it is simple, elegant, and classy! I would love to have this in my wardrobe as it is so versatile.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 30, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress!
I wore it for my Dad's retirement ceremony. The dress fit perfectly but the dress wasn't that long enough I got the 6L. Overall I loved it though!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
October 13, 2015
Perfect for work formal Gala event
The fit of the dress throughout the body was absolutely perfect and the material was somewhat forgiving. Very comfortable. BUT, it does run very small. As you can see in the picture my feet were totally exposed. This was a 10R and I am only 5'3. Tons of compliments and overall great experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 29, 2015
Classy but fun!
I rented this dress for a work gala dinner. The fit was flattering and the dress felt very comfortable. The fabric was a little heavy for an outdoor Florida event, but thankfully black doesn't show sweat! The bead detailing on the shoulder was nice from far away, but looked cheap up close. I actually would have liked it better without the little shoulder train. Overall I was happy with it.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
September 24, 2015
This dress was amazing! It was perfect for the occasion and I got so many compliments!
The dress fit great! It definitely runs a little short like other reviews have said. I got the extra length and was still able to wear decent heels. You will need spanx or something underneath because the material hugs very tightly and will show lines. But it is super comfy and easy to move in. I got comments all night on how great it looked. The beading on my particular dress is starting to show some signs of wear, but you could only tell from very close up. The dress arrived on time so there were no stresses before the event. I loved everything about this experience!
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
August 18, 2015
This dress was a head turner at our junior/senior prom.
This was the first dress I ever ordered off of RTR, and I was a little nervous to rent my dress as well as to put it on, but when I did it was absolutely stunning. The dress fit just as it looked in the picture, the dress was not restricting in movement in any way, except that it is hard to get into a lifted truck. This dress made my night ten times better, and being able to return it and never having to deal with it made it even better. Only tip is the beading on the dress has a hint of blue for anyone who has to match a vest or tie with your date.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 12, 2015
Great dress for a great evening.
The dress is really beautiful on and the drapey bit on the back is so elegant. This dress runs short! I am 5'2 and I needed the long to wear heels of any height. I ordered the 0L and the 2R. The 2R was more comfortable around the mid-section, but gaped open at the top (plus too short!). I went with the 0L and although I am pretty slim, I preferred to wear spanx to smooth everything out. I was super comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
July 29, 2015
Good enough.
Get the long! Get the long! Get the long! At 5'2" this dress was still way too short! I wore flip flops to a gala! The seams along the sides are unflattering on the hips. What woman wants to add bulk to to her hips?! The bead work had flaws but only noticeable close up. Overall a nice dress but probably wouldn't order again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2015
So many compliments on this dress!
Dress does run a little short with the Regular length. I wanted it to skim my toes and the Long was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 27, 2015
It would have been fine, but it was my backup dress. I just liked the other one more.
Light, easy, simple. Did not feel like it was going to fall off. Covers more than you think. Conservative- more than you think anyway. Very nice.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 26, 2015
The dress is beautiful and so so classy. It was a bit short, but I loved it.
I weight 128 lbs and I'm 5"9. I have a small bust and a thin waist. The dress was a bit short so I wore very short heels, but I loved it overall. This was not the original dress I ordered but a replacement. I had ordered a dress that fit too big. I called RTR the next morning with this dress in mind, and received in the next morning. I am amazed by their awesome customer service. The back has a beautiful detail that hangs from one shoulder to below the other arm. The jewels on the shoulder section are gold, silver, and blue(which was a surprise to me since I didn't notice that in the photo). Overall, it was very elegant and I loved it; for those of you, who were like me, that are nervous to rent a dress, do it--you won't regret it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
May 20, 2015
great
Fit perfectly
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 11, 2015
The dress was classy and comfortable.
This dress runs a bit big, did not even have to unzip it to put it on. It was very comfortable but also looked like it was hugging your body in the right ways and like a well-made dress. I would definitely recommend it.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
April 26, 2015
Beautiful
I had both the 6L and 8L rented. The 6 fit perfectly but was a little short (I am 5'7" and it hit right at my ankle when standing up). I tried the 8 and it wasn't any longer and too big at the bust so I wore the 6! I did wear heels and just didn't worry about the length. The beading is BEAUTIFUL and the flowy thing on the back was absolutely beautiful and it was my favorite part. Perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
Dissappointed
Pros: I really wanted to wear this dress and was excited to try it on when it arrived. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the beading on the shoulder has tones of blue in it. It was very lovely. The draping on the front and back of the dress was classy and comfortable. Cons: WAY TOO SHORT. I'm just about 5'5" and was assured by a stylist that the regular length would work perfectly for my height. Unfortunately when I put the dress on, it fell right above my ankles. It was laughably short, really. The zipper puckered at the side too, so there was no smooth silhouette. No matter how much I tried keeping the dress down, it refused to lay flat. I tried on the size 0 too, which lay better on the hips, but it was obviously even shorter and the arm hole was super tight. Bottom line: I didn't wear this dress. I suppose it would have worked in a long size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
April 16, 2015
This dress runs short
I am 5ft 6 in 125 lbs and this dress came to right above my ankle. If you are 5ft 5 or taller I would rent the long.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 90lbs
April 13, 2015
The dress put it all together got so many compliments.
It fit perfect! I recommend this very much. True to size. Not heavy for me being a small girl.
RebekahJanuary 15, 2016
What size heels did you wear?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
April 2, 2015
Very pretty, but wayyyy to short.
I'm very short but I ordered a 0 long just incase, and a regular as we'll. both dresses were extremely short, even when I was flat footed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
March 31, 2015
Too short for black tie event
Overall this dress is nice and safe but way too short. I think it should be longer to cover the shoes. Considering I'm not tall at all (actually petite size at 5'3"), it wasn't the problem of my height but design itself. Beading was great but it could have more. Fabric wasn't the one what I expected either. I wanted to order 2L but it wasn't available. If you like the design, I strongly recommend to go with longer version.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2015
All my friends told me they LOVED the dress!
This dress was perfect an upscale wedding. Classy, sexy and elegant. Hugged my body like no other. The petite length was perfect for my. 5'4 height, didn't drag on the floor at all! I like how the material has a slimming effect - allows me to eat without being worried about a bulging stomach.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 21, 2015
Beautiful dress, fit great, yet unfortunately I could not wear it as it was too short
I am 5'8" and the dress came above my ankles without shoes. I ordered an 8L and it was still way too short. Otherwise it fit like a glove. I was sad not to be able to wear it.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2015
Lovely dress.
Did not wear this dress,had to use the back up dress instead. Sadly ,even though I ordered the 12L, it was too short for me. Wish I could have worn it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161lbs
March 17, 2015
Beautiful Wedding, I was a bridesmaid, this was stunning
We were to choose a black dress of our choice as a bridesmaid. This dress was stunning, I received a million compliments all night. It was so nice to not have to shop or dry clean..the process was easy & there is just something about wearing a high-quality piece of material, it just fits so perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 12, 2015
Dress was beautiful with thick liner so wore well.
True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 6, 2015
Hourglass girls....DON'T!
Ok how can I describe the fit of this dress. As you can see I'm curvy but I can usually pull off a 12 if the fabric is stretchy. Well this fabric was very stretchy (Thank God) and a wonderful weight and feel. But it fit like an 8 at the bottom and like a 14 at the top!!! The regular length showed my whole foot! I wore it anyway and my husband thought I looked stunning but this was not meant for me! Lol. The person who would be ideal is someone who is stick straight and very busty. Even if you have belly issues, no worries this will hide it well. The shoulder detail and extra fabric made it stand out. Also if you're taller than 5'3" go with the long.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×